Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 171 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is a genuine homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a brutal bounty hunter onto the hunt for the West's most infamous outlaws. Blurring the distinction between man and myth, thisFrom the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is a genuine homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a brutal bounty hunter onto the hunt for the West's most infamous outlaws. Blurring the distinction between man and myth, this adventure made of memorable encounters unveils the untold truth behind some of the greatest legends of the Old West. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. May 27, 2013
    91
    All in all I found myself really impressed by what Call of Juarez: Gunslinger brought to the table. It took a series name fouled by a recent entry and essentially turned it into a respectable property once again, without completely abandoning the setting or tone found in earlier titles.
  2. Jun 18, 2013
    80
    It may lack the sprawling epic world of Red Dead Redemption, but this is your next best choice for a Western fix that satisfies.
  3. May 20, 2013
    80
    There's so much stupid satisfaction to be had from Gunslinger's bloody headshots and from nailing sweet combos that its flaws quickly disappear in a flurry of gunpowder and shotgun shells. It doesn't look half-bad either, with a semi-cel-shaded design and some nicely detailed environments that drive the Wild West theme home.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    80
    After an über-boring trip to the present, Call of Juarez has finally realized what makes it special. Code word is a pulp thrill ride, but this is what Techland does best. It ain't a milestone in gaming history, but it is a nice shooter with a pretty good narrative. [Aug 2013]
  5. May 24, 2013
    77
    After the disgraceful neo-western The Cartel, Techland goes back to its Call of Juarez-roots with Gunslinger. And while the arcade mechanics rarely go beyond average, the imaginative narrative and the visual style draw you deep into the alternative history of Billy the Kid, Jesse James and Silas Greaves.
  6. May 27, 2013
    72
    Playing the game is a blast, as the whole "desperado" feeling comes through in spades. Story is a fun play through, and could be done in one sitting. But the Duel and Arcade modes offer a good amount of re-playability.
  7. May 20, 2013
    60
    No-one seems to have quite figured out how to do these correctly, but Gunslinger's combo of using the sticks to position the draw hand and focus your target – as well as waiting for the right time to shoot – is pretty good. Much like the game as a whole then.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. May 23, 2013
    10
    After the disappointing mess that was "Call of Juarez: The Cartel", the series managed to return to the old Western roots while still makingAfter the disappointing mess that was "Call of Juarez: The Cartel", the series managed to return to the old Western roots while still making it refreshing and enjoyable. The story telling and voice acting is, in my opinion of course, the best of the series, creating its most lovable and memorable character yet, Silas Greaves. The way the story is told beautifully connects to the flawless FPS controls. The game looks gorgeous, from its Borderlands-styled graphics in the environment to the blood gushing from the enemie's face after pulling of a satisfying headshot in Concentration Mode, making you feel like a real Western bad ass. The only very minor flaws are the frame rate and the low FOV, but since the FOV almost never gets in the way of shooting some in the knee cap, it's very forgivable, combined with all the amusing content "Gunslinger" has to offer.

    As a fifteen dollar arcade game, "Call of Juarez: Gunslinger" offers more fun than most of today's fifty dollar games even manage to get close to.

    Gorgeous, classic, amusing: everything a great and enjoyable game has to be. 10/10.
    Collapse
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    COJ: Gunslinger is an outstanding old-school score based shooter with bags of personality and a hardcore arcade mode.

    Story mode is well
    COJ: Gunslinger is an outstanding old-school score based shooter with bags of personality and a hardcore arcade mode.

    Story mode is well narrated and full of humour and legendary characters. It's an action focused game with an emphasis on choreographed set-pieces and masterful shooting. There's a nice XP system in both story and arcade mode which gives access to useful upgrades and sweet bonus weapons.

    The real meat here is the arcade mode. Free from distractions and story guff, each level is comprised of several enemy-filled areas to speed through. The idea is to link kills to build a huge combo score and this is made possible with solid shooting mechanics and a 'Dead-eye' style bullet time meter. Linking these areas is the key to massive scores.

    When it 'clicks' arcade mode resembles a shooty version of Trials HD, especially with friends on the leaderboards.

    The lack of multiplayer irks at first but I can't think of a way this would work with the game mechanics. DLC arcade levels would add even more replay value.

    An awesome game with genuine attitude and, in my opinion, Techland's best game yet.
    Expand
  3. May 22, 2013
    9
    Amazing, Call of juarez it´s back and it will win a lot of new fans. Perfect sound, more than decent graphics, plenty action, nice narrative,Amazing, Call of juarez it´s back and it will win a lot of new fans. Perfect sound, more than decent graphics, plenty action, nice narrative, no multiplayer(becose this way the game it´s longer), and it is more than amazing, one of the best games i had ever played in a long time. Don´t wait more and make your self with a copy.

    !The wild west is back!
    Expand
  4. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    i havnt been on call of juarez yet but have looked at the trailer and it is so good to see something else rather than special forces ori havnt been on call of juarez yet but have looked at the trailer and it is so good to see something else rather than special forces or aliens running around. I love the settings and the charactors from the old westerns so this is going to be a must nuy for me WAHOO lee http://www.fireboyandwatergirl.co.uk Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    8
    I loved first two games, but than cartel came up and it was really bad bad game. Now they turn back to their roots and made really great gameI loved first two games, but than cartel came up and it was really bad bad game. Now they turn back to their roots and made really great game from beginning of 19 th century, which is fun to play. Definitely worth of buying! Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    8
    This game offers a plenty of content for a relatively low price. The story is chaotic, nonetheless engaging. The combat system is great,This game offers a plenty of content for a relatively low price. The story is chaotic, nonetheless engaging. The combat system is great, however on hard mode, the textures get very often in the way of bullet time and force you to die. A lot. The graphics are Borderlands-ish in their influence and very thematic and good. The ending is rather clear as it is very similar to many movies. The negatives are extremely frustrating dueling system (especially if you try to do ''Honorable kills''), since very often it is simply impossible to be faster that your opponent, so you will die. Again A LOT. Also I strongly disliked the cutscene graphics, but that might just be me. The gameplay is definetly one of the best I've put my hands on in a long long time. Expand
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    5
    Wanna save $15? Pick the most brainless level in a Call of Duty game and replay it 10 times. I can feel my IQ drop 1 point per minute that IWanna save $15? Pick the most brainless level in a Call of Duty game and replay it 10 times. I can feel my IQ drop 1 point per minute that I play this. Point and shoot point and shoot x100. The fact that this is $15 does not save it from a bad score. I am stupider for having played this game. An entirely pointless experience. Just replay your COD games, those are way smarter than this. Goodbye $15. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews