User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 95
  2. Negative: 34 out of 95

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    3
    I was a big fan of Bound in Blood, the setting was good, the chemistry between characters was believable, and the shooting mechanics were above all else, great fun.
    It was not devoid of aesthetic problems, no doubt, but it was a great ride.

    This, on the other hand, is an absolute disgrace, we have a total of 2 good Western games in this entire generation of consoles, and instead of making
    a 3rd, they turn it around and shove it into a generic Gangster setting and don't even manage to make the shootouts fun.
    It's nothing but a mess of cliches, bad game design, and a desperate attempt at appealing to the lowest common denominator in the videogame market.
    Expand
  2. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    Anybody who rates this game higher than a 4 works for Ubisoft. It MAYBE would have been worth a 7 on the previous-gen consoles. I have my doubts about even that, though. Horrible graphics, horrible gameplay, horrible dialogue. Every aspect of gameplay is mediocre at best. Driving is a joke, the guns don't feel right, and the game uses non-standard FPS controls. The dialogue might be the worst I've ever seen in a videogame. It's Duke Nukem-esque minus the irony. There is not one single aspect of this game that could be considered polished. The developers should be ashamed of themselves as asking more than $20 for this trash should be a crime. I just learned today that Dead Island is running on the same engine (Chrome Engine 5) as this POS. I've been looking forward to DI but this has me VERY concerned. This engine is a joke and CoJ and DI are the only two games using it. Based on what I've seen here, it's going to take a miracle for Techland to produce something decent with Dead Island. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2011
    1
    Rented this thank god! Total garbage. Just an excuse to scream a bunch of profanity and show some boobs and make games look bad on tv. Don't waste your time
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    2
    The lack of effort put into this game is near mind-blowing. I cannot believe they put their name on it. There's a reason gamemarket has it listed as 39.50 and its a brand new game. Redundant. Boring. The Scenery and Gameplay are atrocious. The story-line is sloppy and uninteresting. I couldnt bring myself to play it for more than 20 minutes. Do not waste your money on this epic failure.
  5. Jul 26, 2011
    0
    The game sucks. Forget the game play and graphics. The story fall to the mud at high speed. There are too many climaxes and the ending is too predictable. The main character is purely unlikeable.

    This game needed more production on the story.
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    4
    Call of Juarez the Cartel brings nothing gamers havenâ
  7. Aug 22, 2011
    3
    My my, I am begining to miss ye olde days of Bound in Blood. The best game in the Call of Juarez saga had a competent and enjoyable FPS with a decent variety and a decent attitue. The Cartel, a modernised take on the wild west, should've stayed holstered in eternity forever more. The biggest problem with the Cartel is that it's so handholdy. Every mission you are guided by a white dot on the map to tell you where to go, you can't freeform in driving sections and there are times where you have to take cover from being obliterated. Having stereotypically stupid characters, who seem to fit the bill in this sort of game, only prolongs the sour tastes that Techland have stooped to for this threequel. There are plenty of things to be weary of in the Cartel. Techinical issues including clipping and low rez texturing (the hair on these characters look abominable) and some of the worst looking animation ever encountered- such as the spray tagging animation. Throw in repetitive objectives, repetitive door bashing and room clearing, a power up that only lasts about 15 seconds and the sheer lack of innovative ideas that made predecessor Bound in Blood quite good, has been totally lost here. Collapse
  8. Nov 28, 2011
    4
    This game is a skipper. The original Call of Juarez was amazing. Good characters in a awesome western theme. This game, ehhh. No. The Characters have been turned from badass cowboys to spoiled brats. And Let me say, About 90% of this game is Curses.Seriously Do not get this, Instead go out and buy yourself the original instead.
  9. Oct 12, 2011
    1
    Easily the worst game I played all year long. It has boring and repetitive gameplay, a terrible story with a stereotypical cast of unlikeable characters, ugly graphics, bad voice acting and ear piercing sound effects, and a frustrating multiplayer. This is easily the worst of the series which is to bad seeing that I thought the 2nd one (Bound in Blood) was a fantastic game. Thank god Dead Island was a good game or I would completely discredit Techland for now on. Expand
  10. Sep 22, 2011
    4
    This game fails in just about every aspect, and it honestly comes across to me as a budget title, the graphics are dated, sometimes downright bad, and it's full of glitches that will force you to reload a previous checkpoint, like when the character I was supposed to follow so he could open a door for me just disappeared, or when I couldn't move on because I had to clear out the area but the last enemy got stuck in the environment, also the story is boring and not interesting at all, the characters are completely unlikeable, the gameplay itself is solid but nothing we haven't seen before, the shooting works well and feels nice but honestly it's hard to enjoy killing some of the dumbest AI there is, and the driving sections aren't really that exiting, the game also supports 3 player co-op which is the way to play this game, but the only really fun part about that is when you and your friends try to bust each others secret agendas, but that just got too boring too fast, and it tries to add replay value by giving you two other characters to play as each with there own secret agendas and slightly different take on some moments in the story, but I could barely force myself to play through this game once, honestly save your money with so many better shooters out there you really don't need to waste you time with this bad game. Expand
  11. Apr 6, 2012
    2
    Let me start off by saying I only played the first level of this game. It was so bad, I couldn't justify playing any further. Let me save you time and money by telling you the game looks horrible! The controls are way too loose and the story is a dime a dozen. Save yourself some time and just punch yourself in the face as it will have the same result as playing this game... a headache!
  12. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    Dead Island is an Amazing game with one flaw..the gunplay.. take the gunplay from dead island (literally) and put it in a 7 hour campaign with idiotic AI, horrible graphics and horrible sound effects. i give this game a 4/10 because it has solid co-op, without co-op its a 2/10
  13. Aug 10, 2012
    2
    I'll keep this brief, because I can some up the whole game with one instance. There was a massive amount of enemies in a room I had to clear out, and my NPC allies couldn't hit anything in the room, but for some reason, I took all of the fire. Died about 100 times trying to clear the room, whilst my allies yelled at me for having bad aim, and when I did finally clear the room, without my allies getting a single kill, I heard something like,"You don't have to do this all by yourself, you know?" There is NO middle finger big enough!! To hell with this game! Expand
  14. Aug 22, 2011
    0
    My my, I am begining to miss ye olde days of Bound in Blood. The best game in the Call of Juarez saga had a competent and enjoyable FPS with a decent variety and a decent attitue. The Cartel, a modernised take on the wild west, should've stayed holstered in eternity forever more. The biggest problem with the Cartel is that it's so handholdy. Every mission you are guided by a white dot on the map to tell you where to go, you can't freeform in driving sections and there are times where you have to take cover from being obliterated. Having stereotypically stupid characters, who seem to fit the bill in this sort of game, only prolongs the sour tastes that Techland have stooped to for this threequel. There are plenty of things to be weary of in the Cartel. Techinical issues including clipping and low rez texturing (the hair on these characters look abominable) and some of the worst looking animation ever encountered- such as the spray tagging animation. Throw in repetitive objectives, repetitive door bashing and room clearing, a power up that only lasts about 15 seconds and the sheer lack of innovative ideas that made predecessor Bound in Blood quite good, has been totally lost here. Collapse
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 62
  2. Negative: 31 out of 62
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    72
    The newest installation of the Call of Juarez franchise brings the series to modern day. Unfortunately this is like taking a shot in the kneecaps. The game can't stand in it's own feet anymore. The game is crowned with some really stupid game design flaws. It was once upon a time in the west, now it's just west. And plain west is not the best. [Sept 2011]
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    30
    Call of Juarez has been downgraded and is disappointing in every aspect of gameplay and design.
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    40
    A woeful misstep into the pantheon of disposable first-person shooters, and a balsa wood ghost town of a game that no amount of support patching could possibly shore up. [Issue#113, p.96]