User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 96
  2. Negative: 34 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 12, 2014
    6
    Far from being perfect this game still does not deserve the terrible reviews lumped upon it.

    First off if you are looking for another wild west story don't get the game.
    It is not that it isn't a western, because you can admire the concept of trying to create a gritty western story in a modern day setting and at times this is successful especially within the classic juarez soundtrack
    and the beat down modern day western settings. But the story itself is at times forced by excessively cliché characters and overuse of profanity beyond the point of meaningful impact and the cars and guns quickly make you lose touch with the western theme playing what is essentially just another FPS.
    The story itself isn't bad and having three playable characters each with different story content does make the game more replay able than other fps which simply let you do the exact same thing again and again.

    The load out screen is good, the mission loading is nice, the multiplayer coop would be good if anybody still played this game. graphics are better than the previous Juarez games and in spite of a lot of naysayers criticizing the shooting it is altogether smoother than the previous instalments (I think it is largely people who cannot handle iron sights and little auto-assist) The game does have glitches I had 3 occasions on which I had to reload chapters because I got stuck or objectives would not complete but the chapters are short enough that it does not feel like a chore getting back to those points.

    All in all this is actually a very entertaining and decent game, still this game probably shouldn't be called call of Juarez. I guess the issue is that all of us who played the previous games wanted another wild west story.
    Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    awkward game-play mixed with technical bugs,bad story lines and mediocre graphics (the environments are all cloudy and undetailed make this a bad gaming experience
  3. Aug 10, 2012
    2
    I'll keep this brief, because I can some up the whole game with one instance. There was a massive amount of enemies in a room I had to clear out, and my NPC allies couldn't hit anything in the room, but for some reason, I took all of the fire. Died about 100 times trying to clear the room, whilst my allies yelled at me for having bad aim, and when I did finally clear the room, without my allies getting a single kill, I heard something like,"You don't have to do this all by yourself, you know?" There is NO middle finger big enough!! To hell with this game! Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2012
    2
    Let me start off by saying I only played the first level of this game. It was so bad, I couldn't justify playing any further. Let me save you time and money by telling you the game looks horrible! The controls are way too loose and the story is a dime a dozen. Save yourself some time and just punch yourself in the face as it will have the same result as playing this game... a headache!
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    After playing Bound in Blood i thought CoJ was crap. But boy, was i wrong! This game has what most of the FPSs out there do't have. This game has a STORYLINE, good characters one of the best gameplay i have seen in a while. The guns actually look realistic, unlike CoD and other boring shooters.
  6. Feb 13, 2012
    4
    Dead Island is an Amazing game with one flaw..the gunplay.. take the gunplay from dead island (literally) and put it in a 7 hour campaign with idiotic AI, horrible graphics and horrible sound effects. i give this game a 4/10 because it has solid co-op, without co-op its a 2/10
  7. Nov 28, 2011
    4
    This game is a skipper. The original Call of Juarez was amazing. Good characters in a awesome western theme. This game, ehhh. No. The Characters have been turned from badass cowboys to spoiled brats. And Let me say, About 90% of this game is Curses.Seriously Do not get this, Instead go out and buy yourself the original instead.
  8. Oct 12, 2011
    1
    Easily the worst game I played all year long. It has boring and repetitive gameplay, a terrible story with a stereotypical cast of unlikeable characters, ugly graphics, bad voice acting and ear piercing sound effects, and a frustrating multiplayer. This is easily the worst of the series which is to bad seeing that I thought the 2nd one (Bound in Blood) was a fantastic game. Thank god Dead Island was a good game or I would completely discredit Techland for now on. Expand
  9. Sep 22, 2011
    4
    This game fails in just about every aspect, and it honestly comes across to me as a budget title, the graphics are dated, sometimes downright bad, and it's full of glitches that will force you to reload a previous checkpoint, like when the character I was supposed to follow so he could open a door for me just disappeared, or when I couldn't move on because I had to clear out the area but the last enemy got stuck in the environment, also the story is boring and not interesting at all, the characters are completely unlikeable, the gameplay itself is solid but nothing we haven't seen before, the shooting works well and feels nice but honestly it's hard to enjoy killing some of the dumbest AI there is, and the driving sections aren't really that exiting, the game also supports 3 player co-op which is the way to play this game, but the only really fun part about that is when you and your friends try to bust each others secret agendas, but that just got too boring too fast, and it tries to add replay value by giving you two other characters to play as each with there own secret agendas and slightly different take on some moments in the story, but I could barely force myself to play through this game once, honestly save your money with so many better shooters out there you really don't need to waste you time with this bad game. Expand
  10. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    I think the game it self is excellent, but they could of made the guns have unique bullets instead of some guns sharing, the slow mo could of been abit more smoother, the plot is excellent too because you can't keep having game after game set in the same period.
  11. Sep 9, 2011
    4
    Call of Juarez the Cartel brings nothing gamers havenâ
  12. Sep 5, 2011
    5
    Hmmm was expecting a lot more from this TBH, nearly as bad as recent COD games with the gameplay with its flakey controls and terrible plot. God I hope they don't ruin Dead Island as well, the chrome 5 engine itself produces some decent visuals for the open areas, while not epic due to some of the lowest resolution textures I've seen in recent years, it does have some nice light and smoke effects. Sadly gameplay is rubbish, feels like a rush job. Expand
  13. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere, the music, the story... it was all pin-point perfect. Colin Farrell was absolutely amazing in this movie.
  14. Aug 22, 2011
    3
    My my, I am begining to miss ye olde days of Bound in Blood. The best game in the Call of Juarez saga had a competent and enjoyable FPS with a decent variety and a decent attitue. The Cartel, a modernised take on the wild west, should've stayed holstered in eternity forever more. The biggest problem with the Cartel is that it's so handholdy. Every mission you are guided by a white dot on the map to tell you where to go, you can't freeform in driving sections and there are times where you have to take cover from being obliterated. Having stereotypically stupid characters, who seem to fit the bill in this sort of game, only prolongs the sour tastes that Techland have stooped to for this threequel. There are plenty of things to be weary of in the Cartel. Techinical issues including clipping and low rez texturing (the hair on these characters look abominable) and some of the worst looking animation ever encountered- such as the spray tagging animation. Throw in repetitive objectives, repetitive door bashing and room clearing, a power up that only lasts about 15 seconds and the sheer lack of innovative ideas that made predecessor Bound in Blood quite good, has been totally lost here. Expand
  15. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    Giving this game a 4 or 5 out of ten is just being lazy or incompetent. It's flawed but full of original ideas. Techland will need to work hard to refine them but the potential is there. After beating it solo I played several missions in coop and it's even better that way. If you only play GOTY then I'm sorry for you. Anyone else can safely pick this up and have fun.
  16. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    I was really surprised when I read some of the reviews AFTER I finished the game. It has some flaws but it's a really fun game, one of really few that let you play in co-op. The ONLY ONE that features a good story to be played with 3 characters and what's more it differs for each character. I really had fun playing it with my friends. So the press reviews don't give this game justice imo.
    Good choice for me for this summer.
    Expand
  17. Jul 30, 2011
    9
    I can imagine some people quite hastily dismissing this game too soon,because of the 'not top notch,but still quite good in my opinion' graphics,& gameplay that doesnt have a cover system.but those who stick with it,with an open mind ,will find a satisfying game to,with solid,if not fantastic combat.Those who play the game properly,(& by that i mean dont rush in CoD style,but take your time,& pick your shots,use whats around you for cover,use the cruch alot,dont stay out in the open for long,as you would do in a real gunfight,because'like in a real gunfight,you cant take many hits),& you will soon appreciate the intracasies this game has to offer.Although as i said it doesnt have a cover system as such,the game does require you to use the cover around you,& maneuvering behind cover,rushing betwwen covers & ducking accomplishes this quite nicely.in fact,as your not glued to cover,you feel more free in regards to positioning yourself for a good shooting position.This is not a game about optical sights on your weapons,& night vision goggles,flashbangs or airstrikes.Its a rare game,that relies on good old common sense in a gunfight,& firing your weapon from the hip,or down your ironsight(apart from Sniper Rifles).This feels very refreshing in this age of constant games featuring military weapons,It gives it that 'western' feel,but at the same time,a modern feel.It was all i was hoping for,when i heard that this title in the series was going to be set in the modern day.A modern Western,I love it! The secret objectives you can try to accomplish while your partners arnt looking,is a good idea too,though if theres a sequel(& i hope there is)they should make the locations of those items to collect randomly placed.Hopefully they can fix it in this title with a patch.I love the slow motion door entrys too,& fortunately,they're in it quite alot.The campaign is pretty long too,with a good story.& its great to FINALLY get Co-Op in a Call of Juarez game(especially after the last one criminally didnt have it,especially with the two main characters)..I also have to say the complaints of too much bad language in The Cartel are over exagerrated,its no-where near as bad as made out(& thats from someone who doesnt swear).Go in with an open mind,& enjoy this western shooter with a modern spin.An easy 8 for me. Expand
  18. Jul 29, 2011
    5
    I rented this one instead of buying, and I am so glad I did. I finished the campaign in one night (on normal and only with one character, but still...) and I almost didn't make it to the end. Listening to my teammates shout "If it wasn't for us, you'd be motherf@#$ing dead" every time they killed somebody shooting at me made me want to rip the game out of my drive and chuck it out the window. The only thing that kept me going through it was the fairly large variety of weaponry (and the shooting engine is functional at least) and half-decent storyline. Other than that, this game has literally nothing going for it. Don't waste your money on anything more than a one-night rental for this. I can think of at least 5 games that have already come out this year and at least 5 more that have yet to come out this year that would be better to buy, so unless you're an absolute addict to videogames you're better off leaving The Cartel one alone. Even Duke Nukem Forever was better than this in my opinion. Expand
  19. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Personally, I have a good shuter.Zhal sure that they svernuli.Tak topic that I give 9 points

    I've not played the previous 2 Call of Juarez games,outside the demos,mainly due to their lack of Co-Op(especially criminal for Bound in Blood,with its 2 main characters)! but i can say i quite enjoy this game.I would have given it a seven,because there are better games out there,but the 3 player
    Co-Op does make the game better than alot for sure,& i dont want to take anything away from this game,as the gameplay is solid enough,& feels a ltttle old school in that theres mostly no scopes on the weapons,using mainly hip firing & aiming down iron sights barring sniper rifles(unless scope attachments come in later on,that i havnt seen yet)..Theres also no cover system outside of positioning yourself or ducking behind senery.I though that would detract from the game,but doesnt for me certainly. Expand
  20. Jul 27, 2011
    6
    Having played Call of Juarez: The Cartel to completion I can comfortably say that while it lacks polish in many places it is still a decent and enjoyable game, changing setting from the series traditional Wild West to present day south coast America is not surprising in the least, but that being said the game still manages to have a decent variety in terms of level location. There is a nice armoury of weapons to use and for the first time in the series, the shooting mechanics are spot on. While many will comment that the visuals aren't the best the 360 has to offer, the levels are varied and look pretty cool. The game isn't without its faults, many instances of clipping, "elastic banding" models and some doors that seem to lead to purgatory in the later levels are scattered here and there. On the whole there are some nice gameplay mechanics that set it apart from other FPS games, like the secret agendas and items that need to be collected out of site of your parterners. While the game is enjoyable and in my opinion a solid rental at least, it loses a point due to the lack of final polish. A 6 but a very high 6/10. Expand
  21. Jul 26, 2011
    7
    First, my opinion on the game regarding that it´s a Call of Juarez title: It´s a disgrace for the franchise (just read the other reviews to see why). But it´s actually a decent game and it gets better and better every single mission. There is a acceptable amount of unfair difficulties, the story evolves pretty good and personally, I like the characters and the setting. The graphics are not appropriate for a 2011 game, the whole environment seems to be dazzling all over the place. The gunplay is alright and there are some cool ideas like the "Team-Cover" system. Another negative aspect: Lots of graphic and script bugs, old dialog repeating after a cutscene, multiple dialogs at the same time and completely disappearing furniture when standing at a certain position in a doorway (nothing game breaking though)No must-buy, but a decent game if you´re ready to forget it´s CoJ name. Expand
  22. Jul 26, 2011
    0
    The game sucks. Forget the game play and graphics. The story fall to the mud at high speed. There are too many climaxes and the ending is too predictable. The main character is purely unlikeable.

    This game needed more production on the story.
  23. Jul 23, 2011
    1
    Rented this thank god! Total garbage. Just an excuse to scream a bunch of profanity and show some boobs and make games look bad on tv. Don't waste your time
  24. Jul 23, 2011
    5
    Fans of the previous games will be hands down dissapointed. For this price it is near complete garbage, I tried making the best of the $60 but I couldn´t. The game is short , the overall quality is lacking in all areas is lacking and they convinced themselves that continously activating slow motion sequences we would be amused like little toddlers, every god damn time. This isn´t complete garbage but for the price and being a fan of the previous games you will be dissapointed hands down. Last game in the call of Juarez series for me, ubisoft has lost it. Expand
  25. Jul 22, 2011
    2
    The lack of effort put into this game is near mind-blowing. I cannot believe they put their name on it. There's a reason gamemarket has it listed as 39.50 and its a brand new game. Redundant. Boring. The Scenery and Gameplay are atrocious. The story-line is sloppy and uninteresting. I couldnt bring myself to play it for more than 20 minutes. Do not waste your money on this epic failure.
  26. Jul 19, 2011
    3
    I was a big fan of Bound in Blood, the setting was good, the chemistry between characters was believable, and the shooting mechanics were above all else, great fun.
    It was not devoid of aesthetic problems, no doubt, but it was a great ride.

    This, on the other hand, is an absolute disgrace, we have a total of 2 good Western games in this entire generation of consoles, and instead of making
    a 3rd, they turn it around and shove it into a generic Gangster setting and don't even manage to make the shootouts fun.
    It's nothing but a mess of cliches, bad game design, and a desperate attempt at appealing to the lowest common denominator in the videogame market.
    Expand
  27. Jul 19, 2011
    5
    This review is only concerning single player. Don't expect this game to be on the same playing field as any of the COD series or any other top tier FPS. The story for this game was a good idea but was not fully realized in terms of actual gameplay from what I've seen so far. The level design has me scratching my head at times and I could not help myself in criticizing some of the decisions that were made. For instance, many of the levels are way too similar, the basic pattern is cut scene, drive, fight, drive. I would have no issue with the fighting except for the fact that the enemy AI is all the same as is the layout of the levels I've seen so far. If you dare wander two feet in the wrong direction at times the game will simply end and you get to start over. Not cool. There are some graphical issues that I would have never imagined seeing with an Ubisoft game including screen tearing and jaggies. I am not one to criticize character dialog most of the time, but I found the same repetitive juvenile language used in every other sentence a bit ridiculous, but then I guess a 12 or 13 yr old would get a kick out of it. I can tell you that if I knew someone that talked like any of these stereotyped characters they would not keep my company for long. It can be agonizing to listen to over and over again. The driving levels need work, the cars feel like you are driving a tank or RV. On a positive note the weapon variety and handling is decent, the aiming will take a while to get used to though. Overall I can't say that I would recommend someone dropping $60 bucks for this. Please take my advice and wait until the price is about half of that. I feel like this game is a bit of a step down in the Call of Juarez series. Expand
  28. Jul 19, 2011
    8
    I have just played 9 first missions with two of my friends. I really enjoy this game. Of course graphics isn't like in Battlefield 3 , but I saw worst (it's better then in Homefront anyway).
    The most fun is playing with friends and watching their moves. ( we have something like a secret quest different for all players, if you accomplish this quest you will receive additional XP, if you
    catch your friends when they are doing their own quest you will get additional XP, too). There isn't a cover system. (sometimes there is something like a cover system but we didn't understand how it worked ;( and it was really frustrating). I have never played a game like this one before. FPS with 3 coop, deep story, secret quest for each character, slow mo. It's not another call of duty clone. If Ubisoft made a little bit better graphics,put more effort in animations and dialogues, added a cover system it would be a great game. Now it is only a good game, to me 82/100. Expand
  29. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    Anybody who rates this game higher than a 4 works for Ubisoft. It MAYBE would have been worth a 7 on the previous-gen consoles. I have my doubts about even that, though. Horrible graphics, horrible gameplay, horrible dialogue. Every aspect of gameplay is mediocre at best. Driving is a joke, the guns don't feel right, and the game uses non-standard FPS controls. The dialogue might be the worst I've ever seen in a videogame. It's Duke Nukem-esque minus the irony. There is not one single aspect of this game that could be considered polished. The developers should be ashamed of themselves as asking more than $20 for this trash should be a crime. I just learned today that Dead Island is running on the same engine (Chrome Engine 5) as this POS. I've been looking forward to DI but this has me VERY concerned. This engine is a joke and CoJ and DI are the only two games using it. Based on what I've seen here, it's going to take a miracle for Techland to produce something decent with Dead Island. Expand
  30. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    This is not your grandfather's call of juarez. I was anxious when I heard about the change of setting but it's still a COJ game at heart. To me the cartel has all the highlights of the previous games in the series: the plot is excellent and surprised me several times. Unlike in most games, here you have no idea who is really on your side and no, it's not the 'double cross surprise' anyone can see coming.
    The gameplay is good but it really shines in coop. On top of the secret missions you get while playing with AI, there are also challenges. Combined with the game's conspiracy / distrust plot they make the 'work together but compete' idea real.
    Graphics are workable but they could use some improvement, the same goes for animations. I've seen better AI, one more reason to play this with live players.
    Do yourselves a favor and don't discount this game on a gfx glitch or something. It's a cop game with an actual plot and some devious mechanics for each character, with a delicious cooperative mode and what seems to be a cool competitive multiplayer mode (gotta check this one myself when more people buy the game).
    Collapse
  31. Jul 19, 2011
    0
    This is not your grandfather's call of juarez. I was anxious when I heard about the change of setting but it's still a COJ game at heart. To me the cartel has all the highlights of the previous games in the series: the plot is excellent and surprised me several times. Unlike in most games, here you have no idea who is really on your side and no, it's not the 'double cross surprise' anyone can see coming.
    The gameplay is good but it really shines in coop. On top of the secret missions you get while playing with AI, there are also challenges. Combined with the game's conspiracy / distrust plot they make the 'work together but compete' idea real.
    Graphics are workable but they could use some improvement, the same goes for animations. I've seen better AI, one more reason to play this with live players.
    Do yourselves a favor and don't discount this game on a gfx glitch or something. It's a cop game with an actual plot and some devious mechanics for each character, with a delicious cooperative mode and what seems to be a cool competitive multiplayer mode (gotta check this one myself when more people buy the game).
    Collapse
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 62
  2. Negative: 31 out of 62
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    72
    The newest installation of the Call of Juarez franchise brings the series to modern day. Unfortunately this is like taking a shot in the kneecaps. The game can't stand in it's own feet anymore. The game is crowned with some really stupid game design flaws. It was once upon a time in the west, now it's just west. And plain west is not the best. [Sept 2011]
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    30
    Call of Juarez has been downgraded and is disappointing in every aspect of gameplay and design.
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    40
    A woeful misstep into the pantheon of disposable first-person shooters, and a balsa wood ghost town of a game that no amount of support patching could possibly shore up. [Issue#113, p.96]