Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Juarez: The Cartel is the third game from the Call of Juarez series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 62
  2. Negative: 31 out of 62
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    72
    The newest installation of the Call of Juarez franchise brings the series to modern day. Unfortunately this is like taking a shot in the kneecaps. The game can't stand in it's own feet anymore. The game is crowned with some really stupid game design flaws. It was once upon a time in the west, now it's just west. And plain west is not the best. [Sept 2011]
  2. Jul 28, 2011
    60
    Call of Juarez: The Cartel isn't going on any short lists for 'Game of the Year', but not every game has to be a complete masterpiece.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    58
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    48
    At the end of the day the Call of Juarez franchise has taken a giant leap back with its latest installment in the series. Problematic controls, lackluster visuals, grating voice work, and unoriginal gameplay are some of the common themes when I sit back and ponder what went wrong with this game.
  5. Jul 19, 2011
    45
    Taking the story into modern times seems to have robbed it of its passion and charm, replacing it with asinine characters and more cuss words than an Al Pacino flick. It's not the worst shooter I've played, but it's got all the problems of a budget title and few redeeming qualities to make it worth recommending.
  6. Jul 27, 2011
    40
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Jul 27, 2011
    25
    On just about every level it could, Call of Juarez: The Cartel fails to be anything other than a frustrating experience you can't wait to end. Usually a game like this can be redeemed by providing a co-op experience that pulls players together, but the game intentionally tries to drive them apart and does so without making a point of it.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 31
  2. Negative: 14 out of 31
  1. Aug 29, 2011
    10
    I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere, the music, the story... it was all pin-point perfect. Colin Farrell was absolutely amazing in this movie. Collapse
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    I think the game it self is excellent, but they could of made the guns have unique bullets instead of some guns sharing, the slow mo could of been abit more smoother, the plot is excellent too because you can't keep having game after game set in the same period. Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Personally, I have a good shuter.Zhal sure that they svernuli.Tak topic that I give 9 points

    I've not played the previous 2 Call of Juarez
    games,outside the demos,mainly due to their lack of Co-Op(especially criminal for Bound in Blood,with its 2 main characters)! but i can say i quite enjoy this game.I would have given it a seven,because there are better games out there,but the 3 player Co-Op does make the game better than alot for sure,& i dont want to take anything away from this game,as the gameplay is solid enough,& feels a ltttle old school in that theres mostly no scopes on the weapons,using mainly hip firing & aiming down iron sights barring sniper rifles(unless scope attachments come in later on,that i havnt seen yet)..Theres also no cover system outside of positioning yourself or ducking behind senery.I though that would detract from the game,but doesnt for me certainly. Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    awkward game-play mixed with technical bugs,bad story lines and mediocre graphics (the environments are all cloudy and undetailed make this a bad gaming experience Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2011
    4
    This game is a skipper. The original Call of Juarez was amazing. Good characters in a awesome western theme. This game, ehhh. No. The Characters have been turned from badass cowboys to spoiled brats. And Let me say, About 90% of this game is Curses.Seriously Do not get this, Instead go out and buy yourself the original instead. Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2011
    3
    I was a big fan of Bound in Blood, the setting was good, the chemistry between characters was believable, and the shooting mechanics were above all else, great fun.
    It was not devoid of aesthetic problems, no doubt, but it was a great ride.

    This, on the other hand, is an absolute disgrace, we have a total of 2 good Western games in this entire generation of consoles, and instead of making a 3rd, they turn it around and shove it into a generic Gangster setting and don't even manage to make the shootouts fun.
    It's nothing but a mess of cliches, bad game design, and a desperate attempt at appealing to the lowest common denominator in the videogame market.
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2011
    0
    The game sucks. Forget the game play and graphics. The story fall to the mud at high speed. There are too many climaxes and the ending is too predictable. The main character is purely unlikeable.

    This game needed more production on the story.
    Expand

See all 31 User Reviews