Captain America: Super Soldier Xbox 360

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 37
  2. Negative: 4 out of 37
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    Even though it does rise above the usual movie-licensed tripe, with its fun core gameplay (which is basically a 'cut and paste' copy of Batman Arkham Asylum. One major factor that made arkham asylum so engaging was the creative and emmersive game world 'Rocksteady' created. This game does not provide this and that is an essential aspect to get right in a game like this. I can look basedEven though it does rise above the usual movie-licensed tripe, with its fun core gameplay (which is basically a 'cut and paste' copy of Batman Arkham Asylum. One major factor that made arkham asylum so engaging was the creative and emmersive game world 'Rocksteady' created. This game does not provide this and that is an essential aspect to get right in a game like this. I can look based the boring story or the sub-par graphics, but I can't forgive the lame, forgettable game environment. Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    A surprisingly enjoyable 5 hour experience. This game is clearly a budget clone of the Arkham series (especially Asylum), but that doesn't make it bad. The combat is rather excellent in fact. The story is simple, but it holds together and gives you a reason to keep moving forward. The game fails to capitalize on its semi-open world (more like semi-open castle place), but they comes down toA surprisingly enjoyable 5 hour experience. This game is clearly a budget clone of the Arkham series (especially Asylum), but that doesn't make it bad. The combat is rather excellent in fact. The story is simple, but it holds together and gives you a reason to keep moving forward. The game fails to capitalize on its semi-open world (more like semi-open castle place), but they comes down to 2 things that I'm sure would have been improved with more budget and time. 1) The environmental design leaves a lot to be desired. Lots of re-used assets that were boring to look at the first time you saw them. 2) They have jammed so many meaningless collectibles into the environment it is almost funny (if it wasn't sad). I can't blame the developer, in fact, I commend them. The game is good fun. They clearly picked their priorities with a limited budget and I'd guess they accomplished 90% of what they set out to do (knowing it was a move tie-in game). I can't think of a better movie tie-in game actually. I'd probably compare this to the Wolverine game that came out with the first Wolverine movie, but I probably enjoyed Captain America more. Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    While this game does have its share of flaws, it is not too bad, and proves that not all movie to game adaptions are bad. The combat is fun and addictive, and is easy to tell that it is influenced by Batman: Arkham Asylum/City. The graphics are average, the voice acting is pretty rubbish (English accents fail at trying to replicate a German one) and the story is fairly lightweight.While this game does have its share of flaws, it is not too bad, and proves that not all movie to game adaptions are bad. The combat is fun and addictive, and is easy to tell that it is influenced by Batman: Arkham Asylum/City. The graphics are average, the voice acting is pretty rubbish (English accents fail at trying to replicate a German one) and the story is fairly lightweight. However, Captain America is a good beat 'em up, and will please fans of the movie. Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    6
    i was looking forward to this game quite a lot, and i will admit, the game has good graphics and a good story. however i also have to say how disappointed i am at how short and how easy the game was. almost none of it challenged me at all. it is fun to play but really, under worked.
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    7
    Captain America: Super Soldier isn't dreadful. It's not horribly broken. It's not as bad as Iron Man 2 or Thor. It's just drab, forgettable and a missed opportunity. Roll on the inevitable disappointment of next year's inevitable Avengers game...
  6. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    While this certainly isn't the best superhero game out there (Batman holds that honor), it is an entertaining day's gaming if you are willing to forgive less than optimal graphics, control that's a tad off, and really cheesy German accented English voice acting. The game is fun to play, but I couldn't help but to wonder what could have been - there was no backstory and no hints of Cap'sWhile this certainly isn't the best superhero game out there (Batman holds that honor), it is an entertaining day's gaming if you are willing to forgive less than optimal graphics, control that's a tad off, and really cheesy German accented English voice acting. The game is fun to play, but I couldn't help but to wonder what could have been - there was no backstory and no hints of Cap's life or contacts outside of the narrow scope of the game. The game was pretty linear and held your hand throughout, with maps of objects making it far too easy to find all the "hidden" goodies. I can't help but to wish another studio had taken on the title. Sega is like one of those exs that always promises to change "it will be better this time, really" but in the end just breaks your heart. Cap deserved better treatment than he got here. Expand
  7. Dec 31, 2016
    6
    Captain America: Super Soldier é um jogo até legal, oque eu mais gostei foi da jogabilidade do jogo, que se inspirou muito nos jogos do Batman da Saga Arkham, o enredo é igual do filme, com algumas mudanças, o grafico é aceitavel, mais tem alguns defeitos, a trilha sonora é apenas ok, e dificuldade ate que é boa, tem algumas partes bem chatinhas. Nota 6.7
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    88
    The combat's fun, the plot's well executed and the multimedia's solid. If you don't mind a heavy dose of platforming with your non-gun combat, you won't be disappointed by Captain America.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Sep 19, 2011
    65
    A competent knock-off of Arkham Asylum which stands head and shoulders above Sega's other Marvel tie-ins. [Nov 2011, p.107]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Sep 18, 2011
    60
    A faded Arkham Asylum facsimile. [Oct 2011, p.103]