Captain America: Super Soldier Xbox 360

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 31, 2016
    6
    Captain America: Super Soldier é um jogo até legal, oque eu mais gostei foi da jogabilidade do jogo, que se inspirou muito nos jogos do Batman da Saga Arkham, o enredo é igual do filme, com algumas mudanças, o grafico é aceitavel, mais tem alguns defeitos, a trilha sonora é apenas ok, e dificuldade ate que é boa, tem algumas partes bem chatinhas. Nota 6.7
  2. Jan 7, 2016
    8
    Video games that are intended as tie-ins to major Hollywood films have a deserved reputation for being shoddy. They're produced with limited budgets under tight deadlines by people ultimately more concerned with having the maximum possible publicity for their film than with creating a worthwhile game.

    Captain America: Super Soldier is the rare case where the end result somehow manages
    Video games that are intended as tie-ins to major Hollywood films have a deserved reputation for being shoddy. They're produced with limited budgets under tight deadlines by people ultimately more concerned with having the maximum possible publicity for their film than with creating a worthwhile game.

    Captain America: Super Soldier is the rare case where the end result somehow manages to rise above this. It is not a great game but it is a damn good one: A fun, exciting chance to play Cap pummeling Nazis during behind enemy lines World War II mission.

    The game design and storyline both do a really good job of evoking both the film and the comics. Actor Chris Evans lends his voice as Cap and for true nerds there are some nice callbacks to the comics. A section where you escape from an underground prison is especially well done.

    Where it really shines is in the combat system. The designers gave Cap an acrobatic melee fighting style that is easy to learn and a blast to watch on screen. After playing a while, you'll be stringing together elaborate combos that allow Cap to take out entire rooms full of Nazis -- often with crushing finishing blows. Trust me, this *never* gets old. The game has a nicely balanced difficulty curve to keep it challenging too. As many others have noted, the combat system, ahem, "borrows" heavily from the Batman Arkham games, but, hey, if you're gonna steal...

    The game does have its flaws. It can be repetitive at times and the designers stocked it with a ridiculous amount of items to scavenge for. It just seems out of character for Cap to take a break from trying to sabotage Nazi plans so he can root around looking for golden eggs. But these are minor quibbles.

    Give the designers credit: They clearly put some serious effort into doing right by Captain America and producing a game they could actually be proud of.
    Expand
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    Even though it does rise above the usual movie-licensed tripe, with its fun core gameplay (which is basically a 'cut and paste' copy of Batman Arkham Asylum. One major factor that made arkham asylum so engaging was the creative and emmersive game world 'Rocksteady' created. This game does not provide this and that is an essential aspect to get right in a game like this. I can look basedEven though it does rise above the usual movie-licensed tripe, with its fun core gameplay (which is basically a 'cut and paste' copy of Batman Arkham Asylum. One major factor that made arkham asylum so engaging was the creative and emmersive game world 'Rocksteady' created. This game does not provide this and that is an essential aspect to get right in a game like this. I can look based the boring story or the sub-par graphics, but I can't forgive the lame, forgettable game environment. Collapse
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    7
    A surprisingly enjoyable 5 hour experience. This game is clearly a budget clone of the Arkham series (especially Asylum), but that doesn't make it bad. The combat is rather excellent in fact. The story is simple, but it holds together and gives you a reason to keep moving forward. The game fails to capitalize on its semi-open world (more like semi-open castle place), but they comes down toA surprisingly enjoyable 5 hour experience. This game is clearly a budget clone of the Arkham series (especially Asylum), but that doesn't make it bad. The combat is rather excellent in fact. The story is simple, but it holds together and gives you a reason to keep moving forward. The game fails to capitalize on its semi-open world (more like semi-open castle place), but they comes down to 2 things that I'm sure would have been improved with more budget and time. 1) The environmental design leaves a lot to be desired. Lots of re-used assets that were boring to look at the first time you saw them. 2) They have jammed so many meaningless collectibles into the environment it is almost funny (if it wasn't sad). I can't blame the developer, in fact, I commend them. The game is good fun. They clearly picked their priorities with a limited budget and I'd guess they accomplished 90% of what they set out to do (knowing it was a move tie-in game). I can't think of a better movie tie-in game actually. I'd probably compare this to the Wolverine game that came out with the first Wolverine movie, but I probably enjoyed Captain America more. Expand
  5. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    If you liked Batman: Arkham City, you will like this. An excellent world war 2 adventure which has sets the bar for any other upcoming superhero games. Even if you don't like Captain America in general, the game is still good. With a good plot, okay graphics, and epic boss battles, you will never forget this game.
  6. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    While this game does have its share of flaws, it is not too bad, and proves that not all movie to game adaptions are bad. The combat is fun and addictive, and is easy to tell that it is influenced by Batman: Arkham Asylum/City. The graphics are average, the voice acting is pretty rubbish (English accents fail at trying to replicate a German one) and the story is fairly lightweight.While this game does have its share of flaws, it is not too bad, and proves that not all movie to game adaptions are bad. The combat is fun and addictive, and is easy to tell that it is influenced by Batman: Arkham Asylum/City. The graphics are average, the voice acting is pretty rubbish (English accents fail at trying to replicate a German one) and the story is fairly lightweight. However, Captain America is a good beat 'em up, and will please fans of the movie. Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2012
    8
    Anyone who doesn't like this game obviously doesn't know what they are talking about. Ok its not going to win any game of the year awards and the amount of collectibles is laughable. However, if u have any video game skills at all and know how to use combat systems for individual games properly than this game is very fun. Throwing the shield couldn't be more fun and the platforming andAnyone who doesn't like this game obviously doesn't know what they are talking about. Ok its not going to win any game of the year awards and the amount of collectibles is laughable. However, if u have any video game skills at all and know how to use combat systems for individual games properly than this game is very fun. Throwing the shield couldn't be more fun and the platforming and swinging parts are some of the best I've seen ( I dare you to find a third person game I havent played, try me!). This game is the building blocks of something great. Other than the Arkham series, this is the best superhero game I've played. Enemies can get slightly repetitive but there are some many animations, beating them up never gets old. I just wanna know of there will be a sequel. I hope no one pays these critics bc they're opinions are terrible and I would never go by what they say !&$& spoiler alert -- no red skull battle? Better be a sequel Expand
  8. Dec 17, 2011
    8
    Movie related games are almost always dismal. This is often due to the developers not bothering to make an effor, as they assume the hype around the movie eill propel the game Fortunately, Captain America does not fall into that trap. This is a really decent effort. It's not game of the year by any means, but it's a genuinely fun game. Solid mechanics and high production values to beMovie related games are almost always dismal. This is often due to the developers not bothering to make an effor, as they assume the hype around the movie eill propel the game Fortunately, Captain America does not fall into that trap. This is a really decent effort. It's not game of the year by any means, but it's a genuinely fun game. Solid mechanics and high production values to be found in abundance Expand
  9. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    While this certainly isn't the best superhero game out there (Batman holds that honor), it is an entertaining day's gaming if you are willing to forgive less than optimal graphics, control that's a tad off, and really cheesy German accented English voice acting. The game is fun to play, but I couldn't help but to wonder what could have been - there was no backstory and no hints of Cap'sWhile this certainly isn't the best superhero game out there (Batman holds that honor), it is an entertaining day's gaming if you are willing to forgive less than optimal graphics, control that's a tad off, and really cheesy German accented English voice acting. The game is fun to play, but I couldn't help but to wonder what could have been - there was no backstory and no hints of Cap's life or contacts outside of the narrow scope of the game. The game was pretty linear and held your hand throughout, with maps of objects making it far too easy to find all the "hidden" goodies. I can't help but to wish another studio had taken on the title. Sega is like one of those exs that always promises to change "it will be better this time, really" but in the end just breaks your heart. Cap deserved better treatment than he got here. Expand
  10. Oct 9, 2011
    0
    This game is absolutely the worst I've ever played, between framerate drops and terrible writing, animations that would be okay 5 years ago, and the complete lack of compelling gameplay, I think paid way too much when I picked this up out of the bargain bin. I mean come on, this is disgraceful. This game is a great example of how almost every marvel game SEGA has ever made is bad. ThisThis game is absolutely the worst I've ever played, between framerate drops and terrible writing, animations that would be okay 5 years ago, and the complete lack of compelling gameplay, I think paid way too much when I picked this up out of the bargain bin. I mean come on, this is disgraceful. This game is a great example of how almost every marvel game SEGA has ever made is bad. This game was obviously a complete rush, I'm guessing maybe half a year to make, compared to the normal 2 or more year development cycle great or even average games take to make. Expand
  11. Oct 7, 2011
    6
    i was looking forward to this game quite a lot, and i will admit, the game has good graphics and a good story. however i also have to say how disappointed i am at how short and how easy the game was. almost none of it challenged me at all. it is fun to play but really, under worked.
  12. Sep 9, 2011
    7
    Captain America: Super Soldier isn't dreadful. It's not horribly broken. It's not as bad as Iron Man 2 or Thor. It's just drab, forgettable and a missed opportunity. Roll on the inevitable disappointment of next year's inevitable Avengers game...
  13. Jul 26, 2011
    8
    I always seem hesitant to buy a comic book to movie to game tie in game. This one was no different. But I was drawn in by the similarities to Batman: Arkham Asylum. The combat feels fluid. The platforming is more about timing than anything else but the plot is engaging especially some of the little extras you find by hunting down the collectibles. The game itself may be a touch to easy inI always seem hesitant to buy a comic book to movie to game tie in game. This one was no different. But I was drawn in by the similarities to Batman: Arkham Asylum. The combat feels fluid. The platforming is more about timing than anything else but the plot is engaging especially some of the little extras you find by hunting down the collectibles. The game itself may be a touch to easy in parts and the boss battles are easy to figure out after a couple of tries on normal difficulty. It is however still very engaging and makes you feel like a superhero beating down hoards of minions to get to the "supervillain". If you liked Batman then I can recommend this game to you. Expand
  14. Jul 24, 2011
    8
    Well I for one don't hate all movie games as many do, I do however think most of them are rushed and not very polished in terms of story or game play. To me if you're going to play a movie game then you must like the character enough to put up with those things. That is not the case with Captain America: Super Soldier, though the camera can be a little funky the rest of the game seemsWell I for one don't hate all movie games as many do, I do however think most of them are rushed and not very polished in terms of story or game play. To me if you're going to play a movie game then you must like the character enough to put up with those things. That is not the case with Captain America: Super Soldier, though the camera can be a little funky the rest of the game seems polished and ready to entertain, and that it does. The combat is quick and fun and the shield turns out to be a very fun way to take out enemies. The platforming is a little boring and too easy but it still works quite well. The only real problem is the pacing of the game, there are lulls in certain areas that you have to push through until you get to more great action but its still worth it. The short campaign makes it great for a weekend rental and finding stuff in every nook and cranny of the level warrants a second play through if your a trophy hog. All in all Cap translates very well into a game that everyone can enjoy. Expand
  15. Jul 22, 2011
    8
    I just want to say... this game is NOT a 59. 1up gave the game a C- which somehow equates to a MetaCritic score of 42%... odd. This game is good clean fun and by no means is it a 59... 64, sure. Anyone who plays it knows this. And if you're unsatisfied by the duration of the game then go to your end game save file and back track through the castle and see if you can whoop those battles.I just want to say... this game is NOT a 59. 1up gave the game a C- which somehow equates to a MetaCritic score of 42%... odd. This game is good clean fun and by no means is it a 59... 64, sure. Anyone who plays it knows this. And if you're unsatisfied by the duration of the game then go to your end game save file and back track through the castle and see if you can whoop those battles. It's beefed up brawling action!

    Anyone who rated this in the negative is a jaded, crusty old fool who hated the game before it even hit the shelves just because it was branded with the Sega logo.
    Expand
  16. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    Even though it does rise above the usual movie-licensed tripe, with its fun core gameplay (which is basically a 'cut and paste' copy of Batman Arkham Asylum. One major factor that made arkham asylum so engaging was the creative and emmersive game world 'Rocksteady' created. This game does not provide this and that is an essential aspect to get right in a game like this. I can look basedEven though it does rise above the usual movie-licensed tripe, with its fun core gameplay (which is basically a 'cut and paste' copy of Batman Arkham Asylum. One major factor that made arkham asylum so engaging was the creative and emmersive game world 'Rocksteady' created. This game does not provide this and that is an essential aspect to get right in a game like this. I can look based the boring story or the sub-par graphics, but I can't forgive the lame, forgettable game environment. Collapse
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    88
    The combat's fun, the plot's well executed and the multimedia's solid. If you don't mind a heavy dose of platforming with your non-gun combat, you won't be disappointed by Captain America.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Sep 19, 2011
    65
    A competent knock-off of Arkham Asylum which stands head and shoulders above Sega's other Marvel tie-ins. [Nov 2011, p.107]
  3. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Sep 18, 2011
    60
    A faded Arkham Asylum facsimile. [Oct 2011, p.103]