Carcassonne Xbox 360

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2013
    6
    Call me paranoid, but the shuffle on this deck seems a little stacked. I've played the board game and enjoyed it, so I purchased this. While the graphic and music and gameplay are quality, I started noticed a strange pattern when playing. When playing on Easy, I seemed to receive the bulk of monastaries and end caps. When I flipped over to medium, I noticed that each game the computerCall me paranoid, but the shuffle on this deck seems a little stacked. I've played the board game and enjoyed it, so I purchased this. While the graphic and music and gameplay are quality, I started noticed a strange pattern when playing. When playing on Easy, I seemed to receive the bulk of monastaries and end caps. When I flipped over to medium, I noticed that each game the computer received the bulk of those items now. I was tied with the computer about halfway through the last game when the computer received 8 endcaps IN A ROW, which allowed him to close 3 castles and open/close 3 more. Meanwhile I was given straight roads and corners. I've never seen anything like it playing the board game. The game before that, the computer received all the monastaries and the majority of the end caps. It's a little creepy, not sure if this P-AI (Psuedo-AI) where the system just throws in random cheats to give the appearance of a tougher AI, its easier than programming a true AI. I'll continue to play the game, but I'm going to start keeping track of percentages.This obviously would not be an issue when playing with another human. Expand
  2. D
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    We need more of these kind of games on de xbox...together with catan this game takes most of my time..great fun.
  3. MaxCourterIII
    Aug 16, 2007
    9
    A fun game that is a great board game. The only problem is that it doesn't have all of the expansions.
  4. strump
    Jul 27, 2007
    7
    As the game progresses the camera pulls back further and further from the "board" making it a bit difficult to see. There is a zoom that works so slightly that it might as well not exist. The player scoreboard graphics are too big while the game pieces are generally small and hard to see for the majority of a game. But the game itself is very fun. Too bad the implimentation and As the game progresses the camera pulls back further and further from the "board" making it a bit difficult to see. There is a zoom that works so slightly that it might as well not exist. The player scoreboard graphics are too big while the game pieces are generally small and hard to see for the majority of a game. But the game itself is very fun. Too bad the implimentation and presentation for the 360 video game is so marginal. Despite it's weaknesses, it is playable and easy to learn. I do hope they update it in order to improve the game's video presentation. I have played the German computer version which has excellent presentation --- the kind Xbox 360 should have. Please update it. Collapse
  5. StephaneJ.
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    Perfect conversion of a nice board game. I hope they'll bring more of those to XBLA. Brilliant value!
  6. JamesL.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    Ok this game rules the planet. I was confused until I did the tutorial and now it's probably my favorite game on XBLA. I'd been playing a bunch of single player and a little online and tonight I had a group of friends over to watch the NBA draft ... we wound up playing this all night.
  7. Ian
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    I'm a fan of the original board game and this XBLA version definitely lives up to the name.
  8. JorgeH.
    Jun 27, 2007
    10
    Addictive and and very deep. I am very pleased with this title and I think it is a great additional to anyone's XBLA library.
  9. interpol
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    Very fun, very addicting. I think I played 25 games today against the A.I.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. I honestly didn’t know much about Carcassonne before I played it on XBLA, but the cozy format and computer control makes it a lot of unfettered fun. Sierra also promises that it’ll add some of the board game’s expansion as inexpensive downloads soon, which will extend the gameplay that much more.
  2. You might be surprised just how easy and addictive this board game can be.
  3. As a simple, yet effective translation of the German board game, Carcassonne proves an oddly addictive experience.