Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 11 out of 15
  1. 70
    Ambitious, unpolished, and very demanding – in short an impressively authentic update of the '80s classic and an action strategy hybrid almost without compare in the current generation.
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    70
    While this update of the classic action-RTS hybrid is far from perfect, there's a certain undeniable charm to Gaea Mission's deep, open-ended gameplay that manages to overshadow the flawed AI and poor pacing.
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    65
    Shame the clever strategy doesn't entirely gel with the brainless blasting. [Christmas 2012, p.96]
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    50
    A hybrid strategy game that tries to add new elements and fails to make them gel. Coupled with unreliable AI, poor tutorials and a story that is liable to shred your patience, Carrier Command: Gaea Mission is most certainly a misstep for a title once held in high esteem. Some things are best left in the past.
  5. Dec 10, 2012
    45
    Disappointingly then, the original game created in the '80s on inferior and far less powerful hardware trumps the remake, which should be a little embarrassing for a game developed this late in to the console lifecycles.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    45
    If you add up the numbers, Carrier Command: Gaea Mission is kind of a middle-class game. The concept is fine, really. However the cut scenes, voices and first person shooter part of the game are far from that. The new Carrier Command leaves us disappointed in its wake.
  7. Oct 10, 2012
    45
    Even the biggest fans of the original Carrier Command will find this remake very bad done, due to terrible AI, overly complex interface and mediocre graphics.
  8. Dec 17, 2012
    40
    An easily forgettable game, plagued by too many problems: bad unit management, dumb AI, extreme repetitiveness and troublesome user interface.
  9. 40
    An impossible sell when you repress the action, screw the controls and forget to include AI. [Issue#91, p.88]
  10. Oct 16, 2012
    40
    At no point did the FPS component of Gaea Mission feel relevant, let alone necessary.
  11. 35
    A soul-crushing farce that even dedicated strategy junkies should avoid.
  12. 30
    Frustrating and counter intuitive. [Dec 2012, p.101]
  13. Oct 23, 2012
    30
    It seems that Bohemia Interactive didn't give enough attention to Carrier Command: Gaea Mission since they are busy with other projects. But, even if this isn't the main reason that Carrier Command: Gaea Mission fails in many areas, the awful AI, a complex interface, the bad graphics and the great amount of bugs and glitches sure is.
  14. Oct 8, 2012
    30
    Despite a coherent universe and extensive playtime, with a lot to explore and a very nice system of alternance between a strategic and a first-person viewpoint, Carrier Command Gaea Mission is completely ruined by the worst possible AI, and FPS sequences that are barely playable.
  15. Oct 11, 2012
    25
    Overall, Carrier Command: Gaea Mission manages to get the concept part of the original 1988 release right, but everything else about the game manages to feel horribly wrong. Gaea Missions poor controls, awful path finding, and ridiculous A.I. keeps this from being any sort of enjoyable experience. I would unfortunately suggest that you avoid this particular title at all costs, as I find little redeemable about the entire experience.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    This game is pretty good for what it was created, some vehicles with various upgrades. The Artificial Intelligence is not dumb when it is commanded by good players. A strategy game with multiple control elements own vehicle, very good fun style that Bohemia Interactive knows how to create games.

    The campaign is good at what it purports to be, something strange to note are several professional sites do reviews so low for such a good game. Watch videos, check reviews of many players, not just professional websites.

    The game is totally different from the styles known to consoles to play RTS games and first-personal, is a game that requires planning, a level of calm and patience. Funny how the games of old, very old players maybe will enjoy more than the current COD players.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    This is not your average strategy game and it is also not your average action game. Having never played the original I don't know how it compares to the game of old, but Carrier Command has no game quite like it out on the market today.

    Having only the PC version I can tell you that this game looks a little intimidating up front. You have at your disposal a single carrier with 4 VTOL planes (Mantas) and 4 amphibious tanks (Walruses). Your objective is to sail between islands and using these resources attack and capture the island's command center. You could also simply blow it up, but this makes the island neutral and takes longer to turn to your war effort. You do this by outfitting these tanks and planes a variety of weapons and support gear as needed and ordering them on a overhead map much like a standard RTS. The kicker for this game though is that at any time you can assume direct control and pilot the craft yourself. Meanwhile you need to produce a stockpile of weaponry and energy for your carrier to keep your ship equipped and fueled for it's island hopping campaign. But to resupply you need to send out an underwater supply ship that takes time to get to and return to your stockpile island. Thus knowing when and where to move this supply depot is key since if the computer captures it you lose your entire stockpile.

    The islands though per-generated have interesting and varied challenges. Some might have radar jammers that limit the range your craft can operate in since they are remote operated. This means you need to move your carrier around the island to try to get as close as possible so you can remove and open up the island for proper assault. Others might have firewalls scattered that if not taken out will slow the capture of the headquarters significantly. Finally there may be shield generators that must be assaulted or capture of the headquarters is impossible altogether. All this while having to contend with island defenses, dynamic weather (snow/sand storms, night vs day, even glare from the setting sun) , and worst the enemy carrier that is out there with the same armaments as you. The battles take time and several hours can be spent in an afternoon to capture just one island. A campaign could last you weeks if not months depending on how many islands you set in the campaign mode, or possible a full afternoon.

    However there are some drawbacks. First off the tank AI is less then stellar, many a time I had to hop into a tank to clear a traffic jam of my tanks as they all tried to follow my instructions. Manufacturing is also a just a little to slow along with resource income, not so bad as to be painful but enough to be a little frustrating. Finally several times in the story campaign you also hop into a first person shooter perspective. While I never found these overly difficult, with no way-points and what feels a little pointless I was glad these portions tended to be over before they overstayed their welcome.

    Overall the good outweighs the bad by far with this game. With a multiplayer expansion promised in the near future and the developer planning to expand on the core gameplay this game could see some bright horizons. While not perfect right now I would recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a fresher take in their strategy or action games.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Maybe I'm getting to old. I just don't understand the "professional" reviewers anymore. I've played the original Carrier Command and have very fond memories of that game. You hear all the "professional reviewers"say how great that game was. Sure it was a great game in its time. Here we have the new carrier command and it improves in my opinion everything that was great in the original and it gets burned down. I must say that the pathfinding isn't really a problem for me but maybe that is because of my playstyle. I don't know. Just treat them as the unmanned drones that they are and you'll be fine. I just love the game. Full Review »