Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Carrier Command: Gaea Mission, set in the Gaea Universe and based on a story adapted from the science fiction trilogy of novels, reinvents the classic gameplay of the original Carrier Command released in 1988 in next-gen experience.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 15
  2. Negative: 11 out of 15
  1. 70
    Ambitious, unpolished, and very demanding – in short an impressively authentic update of the '80s classic and an action strategy hybrid almost without compare in the current generation.
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    70
    While this update of the classic action-RTS hybrid is far from perfect, there's a certain undeniable charm to Gaea Mission's deep, open-ended gameplay that manages to overshadow the flawed AI and poor pacing.
  3. Nov 25, 2012
    65
    Shame the clever strategy doesn't entirely gel with the brainless blasting. [Christmas 2012, p.96]
  4. Oct 16, 2012
    40
    At no point did the FPS component of Gaea Mission feel relevant, let alone necessary.
  5. Dec 17, 2012
    40
    An easily forgettable game, plagued by too many problems: bad unit management, dumb AI, extreme repetitiveness and troublesome user interface.
  6. 40
    An impossible sell when you repress the action, screw the controls and forget to include AI. [Issue#91, p.88]
  7. Oct 11, 2012
    25
    Overall, Carrier Command: Gaea Mission manages to get the concept part of the original 1988 release right, but everything else about the game manages to feel horribly wrong. Gaea Missions poor controls, awful path finding, and ridiculous A.I. keeps this from being any sort of enjoyable experience. I would unfortunately suggest that you avoid this particular title at all costs, as I find little redeemable about the entire experience.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    This game is pretty good for what it was created, some vehicles with various upgrades. The Artificial Intelligence is not dumb when it is commanded by good players. A strategy game with multiple control elements own vehicle, very good fun style that Bohemia Interactive knows how to create games.

    The campaign is good at what it purports to be, something strange to note are several professional sites do reviews so low for such a good game. Watch videos, check reviews of many players, not just professional websites.

    The game is totally different from the styles known to consoles to play RTS games and first-personal, is a game that requires planning, a level of calm and patience. Funny how the games of old, very old players maybe will enjoy more than the current COD players.
    Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    The cool thing about this game is the different perspectives you get. You can easily and smoothly jump between a tactical map view to a first person vehicle view. There is also an FPS component to the game. Another cool thing is the different combat maps you travel through, the different environments, as well as the dynamic weather effects. The AI are dumb but you are meant to control them, that is the core of ANY tactical and strategic game. The campaign is rather lengthy and you have a huge number of maps to choose from in the individual combat mode. You need to be able to reason and think logically to play this game successfully, to have an analytical mind, because at the heart this game is like chess. Carrier Command: Gaea Mission is not aimed at everyone, at the mass of gamers out there who play whatever is trending on youtube. People who only care about graphics. This game is old-school tactics and strategy, it does not hold your hand. Often very difficult but challenging and fun. Expand
  3. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Maybe I'm getting to old. I just don't understand the "professional" reviewers anymore. I've played the original Carrier Command and have very fond memories of that game. You hear all the "professional reviewers"say how great that game was. Sure it was a great game in its time. Here we have the new carrier command and it improves in my opinion everything that was great in the original and it gets burned down. I must say that the pathfinding isn't really a problem for me but maybe that is because of my playstyle. I don't know. Just treat them as the unmanned drones that they are and you'll be fine. I just love the game. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2012
    8
    This is not your average strategy game and it is also not your average action game. Having never played the original I don't know how it compares to the game of old, but Carrier Command has no game quite like it out on the market today.

    Having only the PC version I can tell you that this game looks a little intimidating up front. You have at your disposal a single carrier with 4 VTOL planes (Mantas) and 4 amphibious tanks (Walruses). Your objective is to sail between islands and using these resources attack and capture the island's command center. You could also simply blow it up, but this makes the island neutral and takes longer to turn to your war effort. You do this by outfitting these tanks and planes a variety of weapons and support gear as needed and ordering them on a overhead map much like a standard RTS. The kicker for this game though is that at any time you can assume direct control and pilot the craft yourself. Meanwhile you need to produce a stockpile of weaponry and energy for your carrier to keep your ship equipped and fueled for it's island hopping campaign. But to resupply you need to send out an underwater supply ship that takes time to get to and return to your stockpile island. Thus knowing when and where to move this supply depot is key since if the computer captures it you lose your entire stockpile.

    The islands though per-generated have interesting and varied challenges. Some might have radar jammers that limit the range your craft can operate in since they are remote operated. This means you need to move your carrier around the island to try to get as close as possible so you can remove and open up the island for proper assault. Others might have firewalls scattered that if not taken out will slow the capture of the headquarters significantly. Finally there may be shield generators that must be assaulted or capture of the headquarters is impossible altogether. All this while having to contend with island defenses, dynamic weather (snow/sand storms, night vs day, even glare from the setting sun) , and worst the enemy carrier that is out there with the same armaments as you. The battles take time and several hours can be spent in an afternoon to capture just one island. A campaign could last you weeks if not months depending on how many islands you set in the campaign mode, or possible a full afternoon.

    However there are some drawbacks. First off the tank AI is less then stellar, many a time I had to hop into a tank to clear a traffic jam of my tanks as they all tried to follow my instructions. Manufacturing is also a just a little to slow along with resource income, not so bad as to be painful but enough to be a little frustrating. Finally several times in the story campaign you also hop into a first person shooter perspective. While I never found these overly difficult, with no way-points and what feels a little pointless I was glad these portions tended to be over before they overstayed their welcome.

    Overall the good outweighs the bad by far with this game. With a multiplayer expansion promised in the near future and the developer planning to expand on the core gameplay this game could see some bright horizons. While not perfect right now I would recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a fresher take in their strategy or action games.
    Collapse
  5. May 9, 2013
    1
    Complete Garbage. Downloaded the demo and suffice to say, was laughing during the initial transport of my "tank" to the land via the VTOL. I use "'s around "tank", because for being a tank, the developers did a great job of throwing everything out the window when designing this game. I played for approximately 3 minutes total. Was kinda grumpy when the aim was off on my tanks turret, I very grumpy when I had to drive AROUND a tree, and I was upright pissed off when my tank got high centered on a rock next to the tree I had to drive around. Graphics were crap, the controls were utter crap, and the game had no immediate "wow" factor. Thank God I didn't buy this game. Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    1
    I can forgive the poor 3rd person shooter they've shoe-horned into this version of the game, and I can forgive the dodgy script and voice acting of the cut scenes, as in essence this is still the same game I knew and loved as a kid and played to death. What I can't forgive however is the save corruption on the first campaign I played (after 20hours of playing) and the game freeze on the second campaign I played. I emailed the Developer but to no avail. How can they release such a poorly tested game? This has (almost) led me to give up Xbox for good! Very disappointed. Expand