Catherine Xbox 360

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
Buy On
  1. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 10, 2012
    70
    A fresh and unique game, but with a steep challenge that some will find frustrating. But it does feature a giant arse monster. [Issue#82, p.92]
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2011
    70
    It's a game of two halves, but the good half carries the bad. [Dec 2011, p.103]
  3. Jul 15, 2011
    70
    Like a relationship that's going nowhere, Catherine has a few bright spots that will make you want to hold on, but it never quite gives back as much as you put into it. [Aug 2011, p.108]
  4. Feb 15, 2012
    65
    Catherine is a very creative product with fresh ideas, unique themes and an attractive style. But because of two entirely different gameplay styles – the texting and flirting storywise and the puzzling gameplaywise – the game also feels incoherent. It's a shame, because the puzzling is an unneeded distraction of the sublime story.
  5. Feb 3, 2012
    60
    It's rarely an enjoyable experience, but within that, Catherine perhaps poses its greatest puzzle of all: does a video game always need to be enjoyable to be worthwhile?
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    60
    Catherine is a very unique game that is set back by it's own repetitiveness and annoying puzzles. After the fifteen hours it took me to complete the game, I was glad that I got to experience the narrative, but I never want to touch the game again for the game play. It's hard for me to recommend a game that I kept playing just to get to the next cut scene.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 151 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 38
  2. Negative: 3 out of 38
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    5
    An absolute disappointment. The presentation is absolutely amazing (as expected from the creators of the Persona franchise) but the gameplayAn absolute disappointment. The presentation is absolutely amazing (as expected from the creators of the Persona franchise) but the gameplay doesn't hold up in any way. Its frequently boring, frustrating, and uneven. I wanted to love this game, but the sheer missteps taken for the gameplay killed it for me. If I wanted to play a puzzle-block game that was better executed, I'd just play Ilomilo. Full Review »
  2. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This game is sublime. Atlus proves yet again to be the best game studio/publisher in existence. Atlus, don't stop publishing games. Also, theThis game is sublime. Atlus proves yet again to be the best game studio/publisher in existence. Atlus, don't stop publishing games. Also, the Persona team can't be beat. Full Review »
  3. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    I loved it. If you are a puzzle fan or an Atlus fan in general, I suggest to get it. The story is really great and I loved the subtle use ofI loved it. If you are a puzzle fan or an Atlus fan in general, I suggest to get it. The story is really great and I loved the subtle use of the moral choices. The main gameplay consists mostly of puzzles so be warned, if you get frustrated easily you can have a hard time in the later sections of the game, but you'll want to pull through to get more of the story. I also enjoyed the use of the cellphone and how you can change your responses for text messages. The game has a great story and I would recommend it just for that, but the puzzle gameplay is really fun and the coop (not online coop though) is really fun if you have a buddy around as well. Full Review »