User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 126

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This game is sublime. Atlus proves yet again to be the best game studio/publisher in existence. Atlus, don't stop publishing games. Also, the Persona team can't be beat.
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    I loved it. If you are a puzzle fan or an Atlus fan in general, I suggest to get it. The story is really great and I loved the subtle use of the moral choices. The main gameplay consists mostly of puzzles so be warned, if you get frustrated easily you can have a hard time in the later sections of the game, but you'll want to pull through to get more of the story. I also enjoyed the use of the cellphone and how you can change your responses for text messages. The game has a great story and I would recommend it just for that, but the puzzle gameplay is really fun and the coop (not online coop though) is really fun if you have a buddy around as well. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    I absolutely adored this game. The game takes mature themes, and exposes them in such entertaining but serious manners, that you just want to see the story develop further.
    Vincent really grows as a character, and not just in how he sees things, he grows on you too. After all, you decide the poor guy's fate. The graphics are done very well, and the style fits very nicely. The playability
    was superb, and the puzzles were amazing. Not to mention that the game WAS as hard as the Japanese players reported, Which is always a good thing. Controls were tight and intuitive.
    THIS is what we need, fresh, new games and ideas. No more recycling shooters every year (I'm looking at you, Call of Duty).
    Definitely worth the full price, and an absolute "must" if you want to expand your library.
    Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Exceptional game! Want to play a game with a quality mature story and unique puzzle platforming? Catherine is your game! It's original, genuine, refreshing, and extremely challenging. And it should be appreciated as such. Gamers are always complaining that developers are pushing out the same games and there are no original and creative, fresh IPs. Catherine is a game you should buy not rent. If such titles are not supported with sales we will continue to get Call of Duty/God of War/Oblivion clones. Take a chance and utilize a little patience and Catherine will reward you. And to all those gamers who claim games are too easy these days...play Catherine. I dare you! Expand
  5. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    A unique, well-crafted experience. Not only are the production values are incredible, from the VA to cutscenes, but the core puzzle-platforming is surprisingly fun as well. The game has brains too: the difficulty curve for the climbing sequences is well built, requiring you to use actual techniques the game teaches you, and the story is deeper than the plot.
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This game is really something else. If you're up for a challenging game with a flavor unlike any other games out there, check this game out. It is a serious mind-bender and the story delivery is like a movie. I rate it very highly because of the willingness of ATLUS to go outside of the box and deliver a game that is satisfying in a world of many games that seem the same (at least to an experienced gamer like me). Expand
  7. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    The game definitely does live to the expectations that many have put on it. The puzzles maybe difficult, but it definitely pays up with those "Aha!" moments and the story that Atlus presents. It's becoming more rare for a game to choose a story and gameplay such as this during a time where a FPS's are all the rage.
  8. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Thank you, Atlus. I've been playing the **** out of this game, and I don't regret my purchase like many games. The soundtrack is fantastic, as is expected of the Persona team. The art direction... I'm just in love with it. This game has so much personality - western games take note. Initially I was worried I wouldn't enjoy the actual puzzle gameplay, however I think it was masterfully executed. The easy difficulty is a perfect place for anyone to start and learn how the puzzles work and how to think in blocks. I think this is the best example I've seen of gameplay that can be extremely accessible to new players but also can present a challenge and real skill-based fun for experienced players. Normal is a completely different game from easy, and the tension of play can often feel similar to playing a shoot'em'up, which I loved. The story is wonderful and interesting - and I'm sure a lot of people can relate to Vincent. I typically am not a fan of story driven games, but I couldn't even bring myself to give a **** when I was watching a long cutscene or something. I liked the persona-like interaction elements with fellow climbers, and the text message system was probably the best dialogue system I've seen. The dialogue system as well as the "morality" meter are both things that make me think "Hey this is kind of like what Mass Effect did minus the horrible fatal flaws." I just really hope everyone gives Atlus all their money and persona 5 is on it's way. :) Expand
  9. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    Amazing adventure puzzler. If you love good old fashion pure adventure games or visual novel type games this game does that aspect perfectly with amazing presentation, great story, surreal atmosphere and the OST rocks. The gameplay is a very challenging block climbing puzzle. I can see why this can be a deterrent to some as the gameplay is absolutely punishing. Even on normal or easy it's still a hard game. Lucky for people that just want to enjoy the story there is a secret easiest difficulty if you hold select on the golden theatre menu. Also if you are a puzzle fan there are tons more puzzles in extras to continue during or after you complete the main story. If you enjoy adventure games, atlus, great story and puzzle games then check this out the game, it is amazing for it's genre. Even if you want to check it out for story just remember the hint for easier then easy difficulty. Expand
  10. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Wow, this game is something else. To start off, it's got a great style, the locations and nightmares all look and feel great. The characters are done really well so that they're likable even though they can do some bad things. The Freedom/Order meter is a good aspect and allows for the 8 different endings to this game. The story is unique and something I haven't seen in a game. It's very suspenseful and will have you hooked. The puzzles in the nightmares are awesome as well, they're fun and have cool things about them such as the property of edges and the fact you can hang off the blocks. The game also boasts a nice challenge, which a lot of games lack these days. To me, this game seems pretty much flawless. If there was a gripe, it would be that the loading times seem fairly lengthy. This is a definite Game of the Year contender for me and one of my favorite games on the 360. Expand
  11. Aug 9, 2011
    10
    This is one insanely addicting game. Once I started playing I couldn't stop - the gameplay is just insanely fun. I definitely can't say its for everybody, because it can be very frustrating - one slip up (unless you're playing on 'easy') can totally mess you up in Vincent's nightmare block puzzles. Its a game where you need to come up with strategies and techniques, and remember the techniques that other sheep in your dreams tell you. From my perspective, this is an example of a masterpiece. The gameplay is difficult, but not impossibly so, its a perfect blend of a challenge and something you can just fly through. You'll find yourself getting streaks of success until suddenly there's a more challenging obstacle you have to overcome. Also the gameplay outside of the nightmares is fun, it has a very involving story and lots of interesting choices you can make whilst talking to people that can decide the outcome of the story. The game is definitely bizarre and extremely unconventional, its probably the first romantic comedy-psychological horror game I've ever played and maybe even the first ever made. It's insanely original, deeply involving, and, again, really really addicting. I played it for ten hours straight and time just flew by. Sure its not for everyone, but through my eyes its a near perfect game. Expand
  12. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    Catherine is a great game. I want Vincent to pick Catherine 100% of the time; I am not a fan of Katherine at all. This isnâ
  13. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    I am absolutely ecstatic about this game. I don't want to write too much, but the game is simply amazing (for me). The presentation brought by Atlus is top notch as always, and they keep the story interesting and mature with the moral choices you are given for Vincent. The real meat of the game comes with the different stages of block puzzles you will traverse in this game. Even up to the last levels they introduce new blocks to keep you on your toes against this game's bosses. While I adored the story, presence, and everything Atlus brought to the table, remember, this is primarily a puzzle game. This game is definitely not for everyone, but if you are on the fence, I would suggest to buy it. It's a rich experience few other games have, and a fun crazy puzzle game to add on to the greatness. Expand
  14. Jan 23, 2012
    9
    The best puzzle game I've ever played, my only compliant is that 2 player levels have to be unlocked and tutorials get in the way in additional play through's (8 endings!). When you beat a level it's the most rewarding feeling you'll ever get. Music is decent, graphics are appealing, game play is fast and tight. Buy it now or be a tool.
  15. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Not a mainstream game by any means and that is one of the many things to like about it. The story is unique and very intriguing, so much so that there were more than a few times where in my mind I knew I should call it a night, but I always wondered what was going to happen next so I kept going. I am not a puzzle guy so the game was pretty hard in some areas, but with enough practice and online help I was able to make it through the game on normal and view all of the endings without it being too frustrating or easy. If you like games that keep you mentally involved and you are looking for something different, give this a try. The price has dropped down to below 30$ in most places from what I have seen. Expand
  16. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    I was sceptical about buying this when I first heard of it, the only reason it caught my interest was because Atlus was developing it, and they created my favourite series Persona. I took a risk, spent the money and boy was I happy, I really like the branching storylines, the texting while in the pub, and the arcades reminded me a bit of Shenmue. The story is absolutely fantastic & dark, just what Atlus is known for. The cutscenes are superb & the artwork is fantastic. The puzzles get increasingly tougher, I often go back to the game just to do a few puzzles, they're a blast to play through. I would recommend this game to anybody. Expand
  17. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    Catherine is an outstanding game! If you're looking for a challenging game with amazing visuals, frustratingly fun block puzzles and a mature story line, then I highly recommend going for a ride on Catherine.

    The game has excellent visuals; gameplay, in-engine and anime cutscenes are all as equally impressive as one another. The gameplay is pretty damn hard, even on the easiest setting,
    a welcome change to the hand holders that seem to be taking over the market. Block puzzles, something I didn't really see myself liking. Good news, I loved them, and you will too. When you're not pushing blocks around or escaping from evil butt demons in Vincent's dreams, you're hanging out in the Stray Sheep (Vincent's local bar). From here you can have conversations with the bars patrons, get drunk, listen to alcohol factions, send and receive text messages, speak to the Cryptic Voice in the toilet, and play the Rapunzel mini game.

    Catherine has a mature plot line that is executed so well. The story is deep, interesting, and tackles themes like love and lust. Vincent can either pursue the path of law or chaos, his morality changes how he responds to certain key events in the game and which ending you get.

    There is no multiplayer here, but it's not really necessary. Babel mode provides plenty to do in the game post completion. After completing Catherine, you'll want to go back through it again to pick up the achievements you're bound to have missed, make different decisions and re-experience the story.

    The only issue I have with Catherine is that it ended,. Really, this game was that good! I genuinely can't think of any problems with this game apart from the fact that you can only rotate the camera 90 degrees during the nightmare stages. Catherine is a must have, if you don't own it already, go and buy it now!
    Expand
  18. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    The best way to describe this game is as a breath of fresh air. Catherine is unlike any game I've played, combining puzzle gameplay, horror, and romance together seamlessly. The interesting story along with the creative and soul-crushingly difficult nightmares help to make this one of the best games of this console generation. The presentation is spot on, the characters all unique and interesting, and the soundtrack is golden (they have techno remixes of Chopin songs. Need I say more?). This is not a game for everyone, but I'd recommend everyone at least give it a shot. Expand
  19. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    This game has an absolutely amazing story line and that is the main thing I look for in a video game so I did enjoy playing this game. However, this game is almost certain to make you want to rip your hair out. The complicated puzzles is enough to make you want to toss your remote at the TV and depending on how you choose to play the game, your ending can be anywhere from spectacular to extremely, extremely disappointing. If you love puzzle games and great stories though, this game is definitely for you. For me personally it was so stressful I am never going to pick it up again. Expand
  20. Jan 12, 2014
    10
    A game that reaches for the stars and can touch the stars, with flawless execution at every level, could only be considered something: perfect. This is the stuff video games are made!. Every level fills you with excitement, and also the characters interactions are amazing and "well developed" specially Catherine if you know what I mean.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Mar 10, 2012
    70
    A fresh and unique game, but with a steep challenge that some will find frustrating. But it does feature a giant arse monster. [Issue#82, p.92]
  2. Mar 5, 2012
    80
    Catherine will mean different things to different people, a game that runs far deeper than its titillating surface might suggest. And the journey to finding out what it means to you is certainly one worth taking.
  3. 90
    If you hate puzzle games, this certainly isn't for you. But if you decide to throw your time and money at Catherine, you're in for a dream of a game within the genre.