Catherine Xbox 360

Catherine Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Catherine is an action adventure game from Atlus.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    100
    In an era increasingly defined by developers' ever-growing fear of creating anything that isn't a safe, conservative million-seller, Atlus' willingness to create and publish something as unique as this is truly commendable. Best of all, it's not just a weird game -- it's a great one, too.
  2. Jul 31, 2011
    91
    Its mature themes, both sexual and religious, never step beyond the bounds of vulgarity and are treated respectfully and provocatively: It's actually mature. For that alone, and paving the way for a new modern hybrid of video games, Catherine should not be forgotten to the lamen silence of the lambs.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    For all intents and purposes, Catherine makes a mockery of the term video 'game' and what most people associate with the term. Yes, Catherine is a game, but it's also so much more than that. By placing you so elegantly into Vincent's world, and doing so in a way that makes you feel as though you are Vincent as opposed to 'just' playing as him, Catherine manages a level of intrigue so rare in the boxed console game space.
  4. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    Catherine is involving, intense, and unlike anything you've ever played.
  5. 80
    Both the nightmarish story and the puzzle levels work very well indeed in this unique title. And there are sheep. Lots of sheep.
  6. Jul 25, 2011
    80
    Catherine is a breath of fresh air, an experience that is silly, fun, and serious all at once. Whether you're looking for a one-night stand or a long-term commitment, we highly recommend giving it a shot.
  7. Jul 28, 2011
    40
    Catherine's limited character interaction, shallow characters, and monotonous puzzles combine to form a unique experience that feels frustratingly limited in every respect.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 4 out of 41
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Not a mainstream game by any means and that is one of the many things to like about it. The story is unique and very intriguing, so much soNot a mainstream game by any means and that is one of the many things to like about it. The story is unique and very intriguing, so much so that there were more than a few times where in my mind I knew I should call it a night, but I always wondered what was going to happen next so I kept going. I am not a puzzle guy so the game was pretty hard in some areas, but with enough practice and online help I was able to make it through the game on normal and view all of the endings without it being too frustrating or easy. If you like games that keep you mentally involved and you are looking for something different, give this a try. The price has dropped down to below 30$ in most places from what I have seen. Expand
  2. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    Exceptional game! Want to play a game with a quality mature story and unique puzzle platforming? Catherine is your game! It's original,Exceptional game! Want to play a game with a quality mature story and unique puzzle platforming? Catherine is your game! It's original, genuine, refreshing, and extremely challenging. And it should be appreciated as such. Gamers are always complaining that developers are pushing out the same games and there are no original and creative, fresh IPs. Catherine is a game you should buy not rent. If such titles are not supported with sales we will continue to get Call of Duty/God of War/Oblivion clones. Take a chance and utilize a little patience and Catherine will reward you. And to all those gamers who claim games are too easy these days...play Catherine. I dare you! Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This game is sublime. Atlus proves yet again to be the best game studio/publisher in existence. Atlus, don't stop publishing games. Also, theThis game is sublime. Atlus proves yet again to be the best game studio/publisher in existence. Atlus, don't stop publishing games. Also, the Persona team can't be beat. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    9
    The best way to describe this game is as a breath of fresh air. Catherine is unlike any game I've played, combining puzzle gameplay, horror,The best way to describe this game is as a breath of fresh air. Catherine is unlike any game I've played, combining puzzle gameplay, horror, and romance together seamlessly. The interesting story along with the creative and soul-crushingly difficult nightmares help to make this one of the best games of this console generation. The presentation is spot on, the characters all unique and interesting, and the soundtrack is golden (they have techno remixes of Chopin songs. Need I say more?). This is not a game for everyone, but I'd recommend everyone at least give it a shot. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    This is one creative game. They tried to do something unique and really pulled it off. The only problem I have with it (aside from VincentThis is one creative game. They tried to do something unique and really pulled it off. The only problem I have with it (aside from Vincent being a big jerk) is that the difficulty can get really crazy in some places. If you can't handle frustration then this might not be the game for you, but for fast paced block movement (tower climbing) and a lot of character interaction in between levels, this one is great. Expand
  6. May 29, 2013
    7
    When was the last time you play a game about infidelity? Never that's when. And if you did then your either a liar or you just don't know whatWhen was the last time you play a game about infidelity? Never that's when. And if you did then your either a liar or you just don't know what to say. Well that's understandable. Its what happened to Vincent in "Catherine" the main character has been in a relationship with his somewhat overbearing Girlfriend Katherine for more then a while. But is now scared by her sudden need to take the relationship to go to the next level. But after a hard night of drinking over this revelation, Vincent is sent into a world of nightmares. If you consider sheep men and blocks scary, then this game might be a health risk. Only to wake up the next morning in the arms of some other girl whose also named Catherine and has become attached to the guy. Now he has too chose whether to abandon his current relationship or commit to his girlfriend. There are no easy answer, except if your not a deuce nozzle.

    One cold assume from the title or the description that this is some kind of RPG/Dating Sim, but Its actually a puzzle game. You push blocks to climb up a large tower to reach the top before the clock runs out or you fall to your death. Along the way are extra feathers to raise your score and even an optional game to reach the best time. There is a legitimate strategy to where and when you push a certain block. but that also means that there is a lot of quick with little room to think. Making the game incredibly hard at later points where you have to avoid traps, other sheep me, and bosses who manipulate the blocks to make your ascent even more frustration. But if your patient enough, it can be a fun kind of challenge.

    Its a challenging game with a uncommon story found in games. If your willing to stick with it though the highs and lows. It may come out better then you thought.
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2015
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS! This game had so much potential to be a unique game with an interesting story. But unfortunately Atlus decided to betrayDO NOT BUY THIS! This game had so much potential to be a unique game with an interesting story. But unfortunately Atlus decided to betray gamers and put impossible puzzle challenges not only into the game but as the main element of the game. So good luck trying to enjoy a unique story when all of your gaming time will be spent yelling and screaming at unsolvable bullsh*t puzzles. Therefore this game has no redeeming qualities left as the puzzles mire everything into an unfun and infuriating piece of garbage. There is a "very easy" mode.... thing is it is a cheat that I learned only after googling about the insane difficulty in this game. And even then it won't help you. The only difference is that you very often find power ups that make you climb three blocks instead of one. Problem is that the later levels are designed specifically in a way that this will not help you in any way, making the puzzle levels just as impossible as they were before and the only way to go forward is to watch walkthrough videos second by second and copying the moves painstakingly. How about no. How about fu*king no. Fu*k you Atlus. Fu*k you. Expand

See all 41 User Reviews