Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Catherine is an action adventure game from Atlus.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    100
    In an era increasingly defined by developers' ever-growing fear of creating anything that isn't a safe, conservative million-seller, Atlus' willingness to create and publish something as unique as this is truly commendable. Best of all, it's not just a weird game -- it's a great one, too.
  2. Jul 31, 2011
    91
    Its mature themes, both sexual and religious, never step beyond the bounds of vulgarity and are treated respectfully and provocatively: It's actually mature. For that alone, and paving the way for a new modern hybrid of video games, Catherine should not be forgotten to the lamen silence of the lambs.
  3. Feb 6, 2012
    90
    For all intents and purposes, Catherine makes a mockery of the term video 'game' and what most people associate with the term. Yes, Catherine is a game, but it's also so much more than that. By placing you so elegantly into Vincent's world, and doing so in a way that makes you feel as though you are Vincent as opposed to 'just' playing as him, Catherine manages a level of intrigue so rare in the boxed console game space.
  4. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    Catherine is involving, intense, and unlike anything you've ever played.
  5. 80
    Both the nightmarish story and the puzzle levels work very well indeed in this unique title. And there are sheep. Lots of sheep.
  6. Jul 25, 2011
    80
    Catherine is a breath of fresh air, an experience that is silly, fun, and serious all at once. Whether you're looking for a one-night stand or a long-term commitment, we highly recommend giving it a shot.
  7. Jul 28, 2011
    40
    Catherine's limited character interaction, shallow characters, and monotonous puzzles combine to form a unique experience that feels frustratingly limited in every respect.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Not a mainstream game by any means and that is one of the many things to like about it. The story is unique and very intriguing, so much soNot a mainstream game by any means and that is one of the many things to like about it. The story is unique and very intriguing, so much so that there were more than a few times where in my mind I knew I should call it a night, but I always wondered what was going to happen next so I kept going. I am not a puzzle guy so the game was pretty hard in some areas, but with enough practice and online help I was able to make it through the game on normal and view all of the endings without it being too frustrating or easy. If you like games that keep you mentally involved and you are looking for something different, give this a try. The price has dropped down to below 30$ in most places from what I have seen. Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    This game is really something else. If you're up for a challenging game with a flavor unlike any other games out there, check this game out.This game is really something else. If you're up for a challenging game with a flavor unlike any other games out there, check this game out. It is a serious mind-bender and the story delivery is like a movie. I rate it very highly because of the willingness of ATLUS to go outside of the box and deliver a game that is satisfying in a world of many games that seem the same (at least to an experienced gamer like me). Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    This game is sublime. Atlus proves yet again to be the best game studio/publisher in existence. Atlus, don't stop publishing games. Also, theThis game is sublime. Atlus proves yet again to be the best game studio/publisher in existence. Atlus, don't stop publishing games. Also, the Persona team can't be beat. Expand
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    I was sceptical about buying this when I first heard of it, the only reason it caught my interest was because Atlus was developing it, andI was sceptical about buying this when I first heard of it, the only reason it caught my interest was because Atlus was developing it, and they created my favourite series Persona. I took a risk, spent the money and boy was I happy, I really like the branching storylines, the texting while in the pub, and the arcades reminded me a bit of Shenmue. The story is absolutely fantastic & dark, just what Atlus is known for. The cutscenes are superb & the artwork is fantastic. The puzzles get increasingly tougher, I often go back to the game just to do a few puzzles, they're a blast to play through. I would recommend this game to anybody. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    When I first heard of Catherine, I was told it was a game heavily influenced by the Japanese culture, heavily story based, and a puzzle game.When I first heard of Catherine, I was told it was a game heavily influenced by the Japanese culture, heavily story based, and a puzzle game. While all of these things are correct, I myself was worried when I bought it because I find it very difficult to relate to characters in Japanese games, when they're presented to the western culture, and therefore the story of many of these games simply isn't very good. This is most definitely NOT the case with Catherine. Atlus has done a very good job or combining the physical attributes of the Japanese culture with the feel, and atmosphere of the western culture, and I was able to relate to the characters, and enjoy the story.
    The game play of Catherine is either one of two things: navigating a tower of blocks to climb it, and ultimately reach the top of the current tower, and escape before the tower collapses or the Boss of the final tower of the night kills you. The other segment of game play is in the local bar while the character is awake, talking to the other characters, and uncovering more of the story. Both are very simple, linear, and frankly can get boring, if the tower of blocks being the puzzles aren't kicking you in the @$$ that is. The story is truly where the game shines. Without spoiling the game, I can say that the story is about the protagonist Vincent, and his situation of having to choose between his long-time girlfriend, and accepting responsibility, or going off with this new girl with the same name who appears as Vincent's dream girl. This however is not the entirety of the game as a strange murder mystery is also wrapped into the story, as well as Vincent finds himself being forced to climb or die in his dreams. As as with a common movie myth, if Vincent dies in the dream, he dies for real. Without saying anymore of the story, it is a riveting experience, and while the puzzles are repetitive, and lacking in entertainment, I found myself pushing through each puzzle to make it get further in the great story.
    The graphics are good, with an anime/manga design to everything (criticize all you want over which it is I'm not active in the culture, and you get the gist of what I mean) which while at first may turn off players like myself, I quickly found it to fit with the story quite well, and I didn't mind after a few minutes into the game. The game however is also set up like an interactive movie, which is an interesting decision, which fits well, and helps to set Catherine apart from all the other games (not really necessary though as it is clearly far from the regular). All in all, Catherine is most definitely an interesting experience, but not for those who prefer game play over story. However if you want a good story out of your games, and you don't mind a sometimes annoying puzzler then Catherine is most definitely your game. It should also be noted that buying the game at regular $60 price, I also got the game's soundtrack FOR FREE adding to the dollar value of the game. Great game, Great story. Can't wait to see what Atlus does next.
    Expand
  6. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    Probably best described as an interactive story puzzle game Catherine certainly won’t be appeal to everyone but it there is certainly nothingProbably best described as an interactive story puzzle game Catherine certainly won’t be appeal to everyone but it there is certainly nothing else quite like it.

    The main bulk of the gameplay, the puzzle element, involves climbing a set of blocks in order to reach the top before the blocks below you fall or, as is the case on some occasions, a nightmarish creature kills you. As the game progresses further complications, such as slippery ice blocks, are added to up the challenge making the game fairly difficult on anything above the easiest setting.

    In between these block climbing puzzles the game tells the story of Vincent, a man in a serious relationship with a woman named Katherine that finds himself waking up every morning with the seductive Catherine in his bed and no idea how she got there. Depending on the decisions made by the player when asked questions after each puzzle section or when talking to patrons of the Stray Sheep Bar, which acts as a kind of game hub, each cut scene (and the story as a whole) plays out differently. Just how these two separate elements are linked is integral to the story and so I wont spoil it here.

    As I said at the start of this review this is not a game that will appeal to the masses but anyone looking for something a little bit out of the ordinary could do a lot worse than give Catherine a try.
    Collapse
  7. Mar 8, 2015
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS! This game had so much potential to be a unique game with an interesting story. But unfortunately Atlus decided to betrayDO NOT BUY THIS! This game had so much potential to be a unique game with an interesting story. But unfortunately Atlus decided to betray gamers and put impossible puzzle challenges not only into the game but as the main element of the game. So good luck trying to enjoy a unique story when all of your gaming time will be spent yelling and screaming at unsolvable bullsh*t puzzles. Therefore this game has no redeeming qualities left as the puzzles mire everything into an unfun and infuriating piece of garbage. There is a "very easy" mode.... thing is it is a cheat that I learned only after googling about the insane difficulty in this game. And even then it won't help you. The only difference is that you very often find power ups that make you climb three blocks instead of one. Problem is that the later levels are designed specifically in a way that this will not help you in any way, making the puzzle levels just as impossible as they were before and the only way to go forward is to watch walkthrough videos second by second and copying the moves painstakingly. How about no. How about fu*king no. Fu*k you Atlus. Fu*k you. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews