Charlie Murder Xbox 360

Charlie Murder Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A four-player arcade beat 'em up featuring all four members of the revolutionary punk act who are on a crusade to retrieve front man Charlie Murder's girlfriend, Skelekitten, from their chart topping metal rivals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    93
    Charlie Murder is an absolute must for many gamers, especially if you’re looking for a new beat ‘m up or a fun co-op game. By combining simple action with loot and extensive character classes, Charlie Murder offers more depth than you might expect. It pays to think about how to level your character and selecting the right items. With a lot of content and diversity, the cool style and great humour Charlie Murder adds up to a great XBLA title.
  2. Games Master UK
    Sep 18, 2013
    87
    A sizeable package perfectly suited for bustling, loot distributing, sofa-based party play. [Nov 2013, p.69]
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    84
    There's no getting around the fact that Charlie Murder is a blast to play, alone or with friends, and that it's well worth your $10 if you love beating the crap out of zombies and laughing at bloody, disturbing, slapstick antics.
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    78
    Unfortunately, Charlie Murder isn’t quite able to live up to its potential. When I first saw the trailer, Charlie Murder seemed like the shot in the arm brawlers needed. Visually, it is, but the sometimes-clunky gameplay hurts it quite a bit. Still, at a mere $10, it’s hard not to recommend Charlie Murder even with its flaws.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    75
    The disruptive menu-tinkering and poor checkpoints cause plenty of frustration, but Charlie Murder can be a blast if you’re playing with three friends who understand the game. Ska Studios has created an entertaining 2D brawler, even if it doesn’t stand alongside the elite entries in the genre.
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    70
    The newest game from the creators of Vampire Smile is a "punk-rock" action brawler that has a lot of interesting ideas, but soon becomes quite repetitive due to its weak fighting system.
  7. Game Revolution
    Aug 16, 2013
    60
    Charlie Murder represents a studio heading in the right direction, but it still feels like painting by numbers.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Scott Pilgrim and Castle crashers had a zombie killing, punk rock baby, and it rocks.

    Nice classes, plenty of content, loads of secret
    Scott Pilgrim and Castle crashers had a zombie killing, punk rock baby, and it rocks.

    Nice classes, plenty of content, loads of secret stuff and replayability, outstanding soundrack, Nice art style (similar to The Dishwasher) a beat em up/rpg where you have to think about how you progress your class and what items to use.
    Expand
  2. Apr 11, 2016
    10
    I love this game! so cool yet a little bit too graphic at certain times...I play this game almost every weekend with my cousins! Amazing bandI love this game! so cool yet a little bit too graphic at certain times...I play this game almost every weekend with my cousins! Amazing band members! Good graphics. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    At the price Charlie Murder is, this is an easy decision. I've put a few hours into it now and I'm pretty happy with the content. I've goneAt the price Charlie Murder is, this is an easy decision. I've put a few hours into it now and I'm pretty happy with the content. I've gone back and played maps again for the practice, and in game currency, and they were made slightly harder through the second time than the first. This provides a great amount of replayability and I recommend gaming this with a friend. It's like a punk rock version of the Simpsons Arcade game, and I know I plugged a lot of quarters into that cabinet as a kid.

    There are segments where you rock out with your band in a rock band blitz style, but much eazier. This requires lining up a bar with buttons the screen prompts you to press that judges how well your character performs on stage. This was a welcome break from beat em up action.

    Charlie Murder has its faults still. The interface takes some getting used to, and the storyling is very lackluster. So much in fact that I felt the story got in the way at times.

    All in all, how often do you get to chainsaw a witch in the face for $5? Probably very seldom.
    Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    FINALLY! A game worth downloading this year in 2013! I hope this game makes it on the PC. The storyline is awesome! The music is epic! TheFINALLY! A game worth downloading this year in 2013! I hope this game makes it on the PC. The storyline is awesome! The music is epic! The gameplay is addictive! There is really nothing more I can say about this game except.... BUY IT NOW! This game is just amazing! Now if you will excuse me... I just bought this game and I need to play it now!!! Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    Charlie Murder is whats up! The art style is great. The action is non stop! Things have definitely stepped up a notch since theirCharlie Murder is whats up! The art style is great. The action is non stop! Things have definitely stepped up a notch since their Dishwasher games. The multiplayer is great. I love couch coop... wish more games were still doing it. Definitely worth checking out. _m/ Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2014
    7
    Don't play this game by yourself. It's a lot of fun playing with friends though. One of the few games with couch co-op for 2-4 players. It's aDon't play this game by yourself. It's a lot of fun playing with friends though. One of the few games with couch co-op for 2-4 players. It's a bit like Castle Crashers but not as good. A few parts that are a little frustrating but no mayor faults. Sometimes we had to look where to go though, the game isn't always clear about where to go next. Expand
  7. Aug 1, 2014
    2
    I got this game for free on Xbox Live Gold, and instantly regretted it! This is one of those games that try to act cool to appeal to bigI got this game for free on Xbox Live Gold, and instantly regretted it! This is one of those games that try to act cool to appeal to big audiences, and uses that as an excuse. The game just makes no sense. The plot is all over the place. In fact, there barely is a plot. Most of the time you're just mindlessly punching enemies, and even that is painfully boring. I will say that the RPG elements are alright, but that doesn't excuse it of anything. Don't buy this game, even if it's free. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews