Charlie Murder Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A four-player arcade beat 'em up featuring all four members of the revolutionary punk act who are on a crusade to retrieve front man Charlie Murder's girlfriend, Skelekitten, from their chart topping metal rivals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    93
    Charlie Murder is an absolute must for many gamers, especially if you’re looking for a new beat ‘m up or a fun co-op game. By combining simple action with loot and extensive character classes, Charlie Murder offers more depth than you might expect. It pays to think about how to level your character and selecting the right items. With a lot of content and diversity, the cool style and great humour Charlie Murder adds up to a great XBLA title.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    87
    A sizeable package perfectly suited for bustling, loot distributing, sofa-based party play. [Nov 2013, p.69]
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    84
    There's no getting around the fact that Charlie Murder is a blast to play, alone or with friends, and that it's well worth your $10 if you love beating the crap out of zombies and laughing at bloody, disturbing, slapstick antics.
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    78
    Unfortunately, Charlie Murder isn’t quite able to live up to its potential. When I first saw the trailer, Charlie Murder seemed like the shot in the arm brawlers needed. Visually, it is, but the sometimes-clunky gameplay hurts it quite a bit. Still, at a mere $10, it’s hard not to recommend Charlie Murder even with its flaws.
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    75
    The disruptive menu-tinkering and poor checkpoints cause plenty of frustration, but Charlie Murder can be a blast if you’re playing with three friends who understand the game. Ska Studios has created an entertaining 2D brawler, even if it doesn’t stand alongside the elite entries in the genre.
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    70
    The newest game from the creators of Vampire Smile is a "punk-rock" action brawler that has a lot of interesting ideas, but soon becomes quite repetitive due to its weak fighting system.
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    60
    Charlie Murder represents a studio heading in the right direction, but it still feels like painting by numbers.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 7, 2013
    10
    Scott Pilgrim and Castle crashers had a zombie killing, punk rock baby, and it rocks.

    Nice classes, plenty of content, loads of secret
    stuff and replayability, outstanding soundrack, Nice art style (similar to The Dishwasher) a beat em up/rpg where you have to think about how you progress your class and what items to use. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    At the price Charlie Murder is, this is an easy decision. I've put a few hours into it now and I'm pretty happy with the content. I've gone back and played maps again for the practice, and in game currency, and they were made slightly harder through the second time than the first. This provides a great amount of replayability and I recommend gaming this with a friend. It's like a punk rock version of the Simpsons Arcade game, and I know I plugged a lot of quarters into that cabinet as a kid.

    There are segments where you rock out with your band in a rock band blitz style, but much eazier. This requires lining up a bar with buttons the screen prompts you to press that judges how well your character performs on stage. This was a welcome break from beat em up action.

    Charlie Murder has its faults still. The interface takes some getting used to, and the storyling is very lackluster. So much in fact that I felt the story got in the way at times.

    All in all, how often do you get to chainsaw a witch in the face for $5? Probably very seldom.
    Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Great arcade game, very much like a punk rock Castle crashers mixed with Scott pilgrim. so not the most original game play but thats ok. it does what it does quiet well and the segments with the band i loved. great sound track as well, really top notch. kinda wish the classes were defined a bit better though I couldnt really tell why my character was really different than the others other than a few abilitys. Collapse
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    I love this game and Ska Studios. It was nice to see the a references to their other games (The Dishwasher series, I Made a Game w/ Z0mbies, ect.), and the art style is unique and very idenifiable to Ska Studios. The combat system might not be as good as The Dishwasher series, but it was still pretty enjoyable. The leveling system and item collecting is fun, you always fine new items that increase your stats and you level up quite often, which makes you feel like you are constantly progressing and getting stronger.

    The story is simply layed out for you, with not dialogue, but you can follow along easy enough. This game has a great feel, and if you liked any of Ska Studio's other games, you will surely like this one. And if you liked Charlie Murder, I recommend you check out their other games as well. Needless to say Ska Studios is one of my favorite game developers, but I wish they would publish on more than just Xbox 360.
    Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2013
    9
    FINALLY! A game worth downloading this year in 2013! I hope this game makes it on the PC. The storyline is awesome! The music is epic! The gameplay is addictive! There is really nothing more I can say about this game except.... BUY IT NOW! This game is just amazing! Now if you will excuse me... I just bought this game and I need to play it now!!! Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    Charlie Murder is whats up! The art style is great. The action is non stop! Things have definitely stepped up a notch since their Dishwasher games. The multiplayer is great. I love couch coop... wish more games were still doing it. Definitely worth checking out. _m/ Expand