Child of Eden Xbox 360

Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
Buy On
  1. Jun 27, 2011
    70
    Child of Eden is proof that the phrase "better with Kinect sensor" isn't meaningless. The game is challenging and plays wonderfully. Even with the controller it remains to be a special experience that seamlessly blends sound, music and video. It's a given that you'll play this game a lot, but that doesn't take away from the fact that only five worlds and a short story mode make it feel very limited.
  2. CD-Action
    Jul 1, 2011
    60
    Child of Eden is an abstract interactive music video trying to induce the state of synesthesia. This significant journey is short though – all the game's 'worlds' can be discovered in two hours. It's hard for me to recommend the game to anyone but dance music enthusiasts who are additionally able to hear red C-sharp vibrate hypnotically. [June 2011, p.83]
  3. Jul 20, 2011
    70
    Child of Eden is a breath of fresh air but lives in an immediate experience. It's hardly a game to be played several times.
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    60
    Child of Eden is a complicated, narcissistic, firecracker techno concerto. It's short and its simplicity packs a punch.
  5. Jun 19, 2011
    60
    It's hard not to wish there was just more of Child of Eden to experience.
  6. Jun 19, 2011
    58
    Strip away the neon visuals and the doomp-doomp-doomp of the soundtrack, and you're left with a pretty but woefully undercooked shooter.
  7. Jun 17, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. Jul 5, 2011
    70
    It's very easy to admire Child of Eden. The artistry of its sound and visuals, the simplicity of the gameplay, and the Kinect integration all combine to make a game that should be experienced by anyone who spent their hard earned cash on the device. However, its short length and various control snafus make it difficult for me to recommend it as a purchase. In truth, this feels like a very sharp, very polished Xbox Live Arcade game.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Those complaining that they "beat" this game in a few hours are not getting the point. Child of Eden is the sequel to Rez, but with betterThose complaining that they "beat" this game in a few hours are not getting the point. Child of Eden is the sequel to Rez, but with better sound, graphics, and quite possibly, more emotional impact. Before Rez came out on the Dreamcast, few knew what the word synesthesia was, much less how to describe it. Both CoE and Rez are shining examples. Both are short but brilliant, with a ton of replayability (thank you leaderboards). The on-rails shooter offers more surprises than many other more open-world games, and the graphic and audio design is beyond compare.

    If you are unsure about this game, get Rez in the Marketplace (or a demo of it if one is available). It's $10. If you like that, Child of Eden is the sequel, but on steroids. Graphically and aurally stunning in every way, but perhaps not for everyone, CoE is a rare videogame experience that will stick with you long after you've "beat" the game.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    CoE is one of a kind for two reasons. 1. It is a FPS in the stylistic sense, but not in relation to its content. FPS games have been hijackedCoE is one of a kind for two reasons. 1. It is a FPS in the stylistic sense, but not in relation to its content. FPS games have been hijacked by people who want our generation to be obsessed with war; hijacked by those who want us to lose our imagination and leave it in place of romanticized ideas of WWII and the like. 2. Shamanic witchcraft is back in the 21st century: you're using your hands to control the game and "shoot," which as far as I know, is the first time this has ever been done. The reviewer below me who says "this game can be played with a controller" is missing the beauty! THIS GAME CAN BE PLAYED WITHOUT A CONTROLLER!!! Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    This game has the power to move one to tears.
    It's beautiful, emotional, rewarding, powerful and simply...special.
    It is like the kind of
    This game has the power to move one to tears.
    It's beautiful, emotional, rewarding, powerful and simply...special.
    It is like the kind of movie that haunts you years after viewing.
    Besides it is the first game after playing I felt happy for buying a kinect. Kinect is totally capable of serious games, what a relief.
    Yes it is short, but to me it is definitely a keeper which I can pick up again whenever I just want to watch and hear something that put a real smile on my face.
    Full Review »