Child of Eden Xbox 360

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 95
  2. Negative: 11 out of 95
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    Saying Child of Eden is a "tad short" is a gross understatement. You can complete the game's 5 chapters in less than 3 hours, start to finish, with the only replay value being unlocking one new challenge mode or playing the same game with different visual stimuli. Considering all the hype about this game after 2010's E3, I'm disappointed. It was a fun ride, but just when it felt like itSaying Child of Eden is a "tad short" is a gross understatement. You can complete the game's 5 chapters in less than 3 hours, start to finish, with the only replay value being unlocking one new challenge mode or playing the same game with different visual stimuli. Considering all the hype about this game after 2010's E3, I'm disappointed. It was a fun ride, but just when it felt like it was picking up and getting frantic, it was over. That said, it IS a fun experience, and really shows what can be done with motion controls when games are designed from the ground up to include them. The controller option is passable, but it's clearly designed to be superior with motion control. The biggest problem, at least in my opinion, is the length. For $50, you're really only getting the content of a downloadable title. Sure, it's enjoyable, and you may play it a couple of times, but is it worth $50 for MAYBE 10-12 hours (assuming multiple replays)? The game is fun, but in terms of value, it's hard to recommend. Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    6
    Hopefully the Playstation 3 version of the psychedelic Japanese thrill ride does better than it did on the Xbox 360. It definitely deserves some credit; amazing graphics, soundtrack, concept, and gameplay fall apart with a weird story that was very off-putting initially, and some repetitiveness weâ
  3. Feb 23, 2014
    5
    Game is pretty stunning and the sound is decent but I just found it boring it is repetitive and the gameplay gives noting to the story. Very short but that doesn't really bother me.

    I feel like the overall critic score is a representation of trending popular opinion more than genuine enjoyment, people enjoy it because they feel like they should, because it is trendy to like a game that
    Game is pretty stunning and the sound is decent but I just found it boring it is repetitive and the gameplay gives noting to the story. Very short but that doesn't really bother me.

    I feel like the overall critic score is a representation of trending popular opinion more than genuine enjoyment, people enjoy it because they feel like they should, because it is trendy to like a game that is left of centre, that is not your typical game, the perception that it lends legitimacy to you as a gamer.
    I clearly don't feel this way.
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    This game for me was more interesting than fun. As far as kinect games go it may be the best to date but i found the gameplay really quite unspectacular (lame). Thankfully the game is very visual and can be appreciated as art. This game from my perspective was about as fun as a lava lamp or an interactive screensaver. It's kinda neat to own and show people but not ultimately complexThis game for me was more interesting than fun. As far as kinect games go it may be the best to date but i found the gameplay really quite unspectacular (lame). Thankfully the game is very visual and can be appreciated as art. This game from my perspective was about as fun as a lava lamp or an interactive screensaver. It's kinda neat to own and show people but not ultimately complex enought to be something you will consistently rely on for entertainment. Thankfully this game was a free download that came with my kinect and it is good enough that it should be the chosen game to be bundled with the kinect to show off that the future of gaming should head in the direction of wireless interaction. I know a ton of people are going to disagree with my review but in 5 years when wireless interaction games finally mature this game will be seen as extremely trivial. This game would have really benefited by having a toolbar of different weapons or abilities of some kind. You would think this would be a no brainer given that you can just wave your hand in front of a sensor and it would recognize what you wanted to do or choose. I'm sorry but for me this game falls into the same category as the lamps you clamp on and off. Just not enough there to impress longterm. Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2011
    6
    This game looks fantastic and felt like a great reason to justify having bought a Kinnect. However, I really crave tight controls for my shooters. Yes, I realize this game can be played with a controller, but isn't the point of Kinnect games to be played using motion controls? Being a big fan of this genre, this was a great addition based on design and visuals. Ultimately though it isThis game looks fantastic and felt like a great reason to justify having bought a Kinnect. However, I really crave tight controls for my shooters. Yes, I realize this game can be played with a controller, but isn't the point of Kinnect games to be played using motion controls? Being a big fan of this genre, this was a great addition based on design and visuals. Ultimately though it is stripped down and lacking the depth of a lot of other games of this type. It's worth renting. You can knock it out in a weekend then decide for yourself. Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    I would like to give this game a 6.9. This game gave me a seizure and I'm not even prone to them. So whats the deal? Tons of flashing colors, to the point where you are circling a massive blob of brightness, shooting, and shooting, and shooting, and your eyes are screaming "AAAAAAAAAAAH". All the while your arm is held out, and you start to wonder.. why? Ok, that is just one partI would like to give this game a 6.9. This game gave me a seizure and I'm not even prone to them. So whats the deal? Tons of flashing colors, to the point where you are circling a massive blob of brightness, shooting, and shooting, and shooting, and your eyes are screaming "AAAAAAAAAAAH". All the while your arm is held out, and you start to wonder.. why? Ok, that is just one part that irritated me. The rest of this game is pretty good actually! You adventure through some beautiful landscapes, skyscapes, spacescapes, and so on, until you win. It really is better with the Kinect because it is easier to get through. I did not enjoy starting at the end upon failure. All in all this game is very short, and has reasonable replay value. If you can get it for under 20$, and like the Kinect, shooters, and pretty colors, go ahead and get it. Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    Mixed bag with this game. I realize alot of people out there are fans of rez i've have never played it. I got this game really not knowing what to expect. the kinect sits there and collects dust so I figured what the heck and gave it a shot. first off this games is really really beautiful to look at and honestly if you have any issues with flashing and seizures stay away this one willMixed bag with this game. I realize alot of people out there are fans of rez i've have never played it. I got this game really not knowing what to expect. the kinect sits there and collects dust so I figured what the heck and gave it a shot. first off this games is really really beautiful to look at and honestly if you have any issues with flashing and seizures stay away this one will probably cause one. Anyways the games graphics a great it plays real well for a kinect game but does suffer like all kinect stuff does it fells the same. I feel I would rather jump back and play it with a controller rather than with the kinect which is sad really. I hope this would push me over the edge and say the kinect is finally worth the money but sadly it pushed me back to the controller. (this is from someone who likes the wii controls so ya it says alot about connect). This game is also to short for a disc release I mean not worth 50 bucks for sure maybe 1200 microsoft points on a good day but that is really it. I feel maybe it should have been download only vs disc based. All and all this game is a very short shooter which got alot more praise then it deserved. Don't buy it. Expand
  8. Aug 11, 2013
    6
    The prequel to beloved cult classic Rez, Child of Eden had a lot to live up to. Does it? In many ways, yes, in a few (important) ways, no.

    The visuals 10/10. The graphics are stunning. Absolutely jaw-dropping visuals for the whole game, even games like El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron have a hard time competing. The music 4.5/10. This is one of my main complaints for the game.
    The prequel to beloved cult classic Rez, Child of Eden had a lot to live up to. Does it? In many ways, yes, in a few (important) ways, no.

    The visuals 10/10. The graphics are stunning. Absolutely jaw-dropping visuals for the whole game, even games like El Shaddai: Ascension of the Metatron have a hard time competing.

    The music 4.5/10. This is one of my main complaints for the game. Aside from the bonus level that calls back to level 4 of Rez and the level Passion (using the song Maker by Genki Rockets, one of their best) the songs don't really sound different enough to stand out from each other. They're all minimalistic electronica with random Genki Rockets samples. It sounds orgasmic when you reach the first boss but there's just no variety. The original Rez had a variety of different music all from different artists. Add in the fact that Rez's creator and Child of Eden's director created the group and it starts to feel like he's on an ego trip.

    The story 3/10. I know it sounds dumb to judge Rez OR Child of Eden by their story, but what I'm judging here is the emotional impact. Rez's final level is truly an experience that every gamer should know. Can I really say the same for this game? Tetsuya Mizguchi's attempt to connect his music project The Genki Rockets to the canon of Rez just makes Child of Eden feel like a vanity project. Combine that with the ridiculous difficulty level and that seriously harms what emotional impact this game could have had.

    The gameplay 6.5/10. I will sound like a huge hypocrite for this, but the game is just too difficult, and not for good reasons either. Maybe the experience is better when played with Kinect (or they tone down the difficulty), but with a controller, even the normal difficulty is a difficult task. First off, the camera is disorienting. It moves with you to quite a degree (you can pretty much look entirely to your left and right, almost behind you) but between all the action and the camera autocentering itself (and boy is that awkward) it just doesn't work and often gets you hit. It's a rail shooter like Rez, but you can no longer use the lock-on laser to destroy bullets, only a purple machine gun. It sounds easy, but you have to be extremely precise with the purple gun (unlike the lock-on laser), and with all the movement and visuals and the worse camera, it's hard to tell where bullets are coming from at all let alone aim at them and hit them. And oh boy the bullets. The enemies on normal on the first level send out about as many bullets as the final bosses in Rez on the higher difficulties. Only they're harder to see and shoot down. You know where this is going. This makes the whole game a frustrating experience where you're fighting to barely stay alive. It's hard to enjoy the beautiful visuals and soundscapes when you're ALWAYS stressed out. This game is STRESSFUL. And the lock-on Perfect mechanic. If you chain full lock-ons (8 as in the original Rez) you're supposed to get a score multiplier. Only this seems to work only when it wants to. Sometimes you'll chain up to 8x, sometimes it'll just say 'good' 3 times and keep dropping. It never seemed consistent or predictable enough to make high score runs a viable option. And this game DESPERATELY wants to be a score attack game like its predecessor Rez, but it's not. The unpredictable scoring mechanic, the poor camera, and the constant fight to stay alive prevent this from being a game that's more about the experience like Rez was. Rez was easy, but if you WANTED to score attack you could challenge yourself. In this? The difficulty and randomness make score attacking impossible. Oh, and players of Rez know the frustration that is Rez boss battles, where you're fighting so hard to keep bullets off of you that you can barely attack the boss. That's made worse tenfold in this game.

    It sounds like I hate this game but I really don't. I would recommend this to anyone, at this point it's cheap and well worth the experience. I just think it has a lot of flaws and it wants to be things that it isn't.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    95
    It's worth mentioning that even though the game can (and should) be played with Kinect the option is there to play this title with the standard controller. In this mode it definitely feels like a follow up to Rez. But quite honestly after putting down the joystick and playing, it was extremely tough to go back to the 'old style' of control.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 19, 2011
    84
    An interesting and entertaining combination of shoot 'em up gameplay, electro music and technoesque visuals. Very much like Rez, then. [June 2011]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Aug 29, 2011
    80
    Try it only if you're not even slightly epileptic. [Issue#207]