User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 137
  2. Negative: 34 out of 137

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 23, 2012
    7
    What a great buy for 15 bucks. I have always been interested in Half Life and Counter Strike and when i heard its imenent arrival on counsole i was excited. I love its communication and fast paced elements that make it intense and addictive. The only slight problem was i thought the graphics could have been better a little better but its not all about graphics its the gameplay that strikesWhat a great buy for 15 bucks. I have always been interested in Half Life and Counter Strike and when i heard its imenent arrival on counsole i was excited. I love its communication and fast paced elements that make it intense and addictive. The only slight problem was i thought the graphics could have been better a little better but its not all about graphics its the gameplay that strikes you in CS:GO. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    7
    Solid shooter. Game mechanics seem fine on xbox. Would have liked to have rated it higher but nothing real innovative. I wouldn't recommend it to someone who likes Respawn modes. The graphics are dated.
  3. Aug 22, 2012
    6
    CS:GO vs COD MW3 which is for you? The answer is decisive, CS:GO has terribly unresponsive, unacceptable, frustrating controls. This simply kills the adrenaline rush and intestity of the PC version. It also make it inferior to COD. Adrenaline never gets flowing when hyperconcentration yeilds nothing; intensity is killed when you feel like it's you vs the controller. Give it a week, see ifCS:GO vs COD MW3 which is for you? The answer is decisive, CS:GO has terribly unresponsive, unacceptable, frustrating controls. This simply kills the adrenaline rush and intestity of the PC version. It also make it inferior to COD. Adrenaline never gets flowing when hyperconcentration yeilds nothing; intensity is killed when you feel like it's you vs the controller. Give it a week, see if you can adjust to the controls and the flow, but don't count on it being populated when COD:BO2 comes out. Not unless they fix the control issues over the next six months. Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    7
    I remember playing Counter-Strike for the original Xbox and PC. When I heard that it was coming back on the 360, I was thrilled. With my 1200 Microsoft points, I bought the game and played with one of my friends and it brought back some old memories. The game brought back maps from the original game like Dust, Dust 2, Italy and the Office. Players who have to played the older CS's willI remember playing Counter-Strike for the original Xbox and PC. When I heard that it was coming back on the 360, I was thrilled. With my 1200 Microsoft points, I bought the game and played with one of my friends and it brought back some old memories. The game brought back maps from the original game like Dust, Dust 2, Italy and the Office. Players who have to played the older CS's will have a distinct advantage over newer players who never playing a CS game. The newer players will have to get used to having to work with weapon that won't look down their sights and the buy system. The graphics are improved but are still average and the gameplay is like the other CS games with defuse missions and hostage missions, but they added one more variant. Arms Race is like Gun Game in Call of Duty: Black Ops. You start of with a weapon and work your way through all of the weapons till you have to kill your opponent with the knife. Trying to connect to a online match can take a while now since it just came out but will improve over time. The only thing that is a major bother is the talking in party chat. I know that when you die in a match you can't talk to your teammates. It is just the fact you can only talk on game chat and that you have to change it. Gamers shouldn't be forced to change how they can talk to their friends. Other than that though it is a great game and is worth the points and will bring great memories to CS players and a new experience to those newer gamers. Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    "Great competitive first person shooter but best bought on PC then on the consoles." If you don't have good running PC to play Globe Offensive then getting it on the consoles isn't a bad option. Counter-Strike: Globe Offensive is a much refine version of the Counter-Strike series. There isn't really anything new going for Globe Offensive besides for better graphics and 2 new simple modes."Great competitive first person shooter but best bought on PC then on the consoles." If you don't have good running PC to play Globe Offensive then getting it on the consoles isn't a bad option. Counter-Strike: Globe Offensive is a much refine version of the Counter-Strike series. There isn't really anything new going for Globe Offensive besides for better graphics and 2 new simple modes. Those who are new to Counter-Strike, I suggest going into the tutorial called Weapons Course to learn how the world Counter- Strikes works. I found the new modes such as arms race similar to CoD: Black ops Gun game where each kill will move you through a list of guns automatically and there is Demolition where you start with a set of weapons and equipment and each kill will move you through another set in the next round. Both modes are great fun but they lack originality. Defuse and hostage modes come back in 2 forms, Causal where some rules are limit free such as friendly fire off while competitive mode has all the standard rules from the Counter-Strike Series. If you are Counter-Strike fan, there is a bit of disappointment to be had with Globe Offensive as there is nothing harder new to the table. If you can't possibly play Counter-Strike on PC, there isn't much harm in getting Globe Offensive on the consoles. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    I played the original version of CS on PC for years. I would probably rank it as my favourite game of all time. This reboot is serviceable, good for some nostalgic fun, but somehow the magic isn't quite there anymore. Maybe because it's fairly dated by today's FPS standards. The new versions of the maps look fantastic, and it's great to hear the classic "fire in the hole!" and "terroristsI played the original version of CS on PC for years. I would probably rank it as my favourite game of all time. This reboot is serviceable, good for some nostalgic fun, but somehow the magic isn't quite there anymore. Maybe because it's fairly dated by today's FPS standards. The new versions of the maps look fantastic, and it's great to hear the classic "fire in the hole!" and "terrorists win" lines again. But seriously - no CS_Assault map? Collapse
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    When I bought this game last year as a download I was so excited to jump back into the memories of 2002. I would sit and game for hours drinking pop with my friends in a cyber-room in the city. When I first started I played for about 2 hours, then I started to get bored without all the mods and the downloadable maps. If it had all the true magnificent additions that made the computer gameWhen I bought this game last year as a download I was so excited to jump back into the memories of 2002. I would sit and game for hours drinking pop with my friends in a cyber-room in the city. When I first started I played for about 2 hours, then I started to get bored without all the mods and the downloadable maps. If it had all the true magnificent additions that made the computer game original great this would have been a greater achievement. It was great for a year but I have now mastered and played over and over every map and game-type you can play. Its a must have for a counter-strike fan but its nothing compared to source. 7 at its best. Haven't played it now in 6 months. Expand
  8. Nov 4, 2012
    0
    I played the original version of CS on PC for years. I would probably rank it as my favourite game of all time. This reboot is serviceable, good for some nostalgic fun, but somehow the magic isn't quite there anymore. Maybe because it's fairly dated by today's FPS standards. The new versions of the maps look fantastic, and it's great to hear the classic "fire in the hole!" and "terroristsI played the original version of CS on PC for years. I would probably rank it as my favourite game of all time. This reboot is serviceable, good for some nostalgic fun, but somehow the magic isn't quite there anymore. Maybe because it's fairly dated by today's FPS standards. The new versions of the maps look fantastic, and it's great to hear the classic "fire in the hole!" and "terrorists win" lines again. But seriously - no CS_Assault map? Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    Definitely better teamed with friends. [Issue#90, p.91]
  2. Sep 17, 2012
    81
    Counter-strike isn't the force it once was, but its underlying quality remains insuppressible. [Nov 2012, p.85]
  3. Sep 13, 2012
    70
    Lack of both new content and really precise controls prevents the otherwise good console version of Counter-Strike: Global Offensive to live up to its PC counterpart.