Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Counter-Strike: Global Offensive features new maps, characters, and weapons and delivers updated versions of the classic CS content.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 6, 2012
    85
    For those who can choose, they should obviously choose the PC-version: it's best controlled with a mouse and keyboard. But the console-version is in no other way inferior to the PC-version. Even there it's one of the best multiplayer shooters available.
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    85
    For the old school fans of Counter-Strike, you won't be disappointed. Global Offensive is very much a great successor to the original game.
  3. Sep 1, 2012
    85
    CS:GO adds plenty, tweaks a little, and keeps the best parts of the classic multiplayer FPS. If you're into shooters, team-based gameplay, or just classic games that are updated well, you won't do better at the moment than CS:GO.
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Outside of a couple of glitched spawns that left me stuck in mid-air, I didn't run into many issues when it came to lag or connection errors. As a downloadable title, Global Offensive offers a tried-and-true experience at a reasonable price, even if its gameplay isn't for everyone. If you prefer working with others and attacking the opposing team with well thought-out tactics instead of brute force, you should find plenty to like in this updated release.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    80
    If you show patience, there's a great deal of worth here, especially in the modes, online multiplayer and tactical play.
  6. Aug 28, 2012
    80
    Because it's a hardcore competitive game, Counter-Strike blocks party chat in an effort to combat cheating, forcing players with headsets to play with friends or brave the Wild West of obscenity that is Xbox Live.
  7. Sep 3, 2012
    60
    As an online game my apprehension is that if friends can't play together without hassle then soon they won't bother.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    I have played CS since 2002 and this is definitely best game of the franchise. It's more competitive, more addictive, It has a lot of improvements on some maps, it's more difficult and realistic. Great game! Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    It's CS so you know what to expect. Quick matches. Intense difficulty. High tension. Some of the most classic FPS moments in video gaming history. CS does not need to change the formula is perfect and Valve knows this. The CS game for 2012. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    10
    First off lol at the guy trying to compare this with a COD game. Great throw back to the day. Game is just as fun as was back then. This is such a great team game. It doesn't play well with a bunch of random players so if you don't have a few friends to team up with try just playing bots. Fully customizable controls is what every game should have. Well worth $15 Collapse
  4. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    Great game in my opinion. I am not a PC gamer, I am all about consoles, and I have missed playing Counter Strike all these years, so if you aren't a PC gamer or don't have a PC and all and play all your games on consoles, this is your best chance to experience the grand daddy of Call of Duty. It is done right, too bad it took this long to reach us - ! Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    A nice new edition to the CS franchise. Although it may never live up to CSS, it's a nice game that will keep you entertained for a long time. If you have CSS, there may be no point in buying the game because there are not many differences. Expand
  6. Aug 22, 2012
    0
    Just got done playing the console version of GO, and all I can say is that is TERRIBLE! Why did you have to ruin such a great game by putting it on consoles? No one helps out, everyone who actually tries to play the game gets called a **** or a hacker, and the worst of all, The graphics suck ass and you can only have 5v5 matches! WTF!!!! Do yourself a favor and ONLY get the PC version, the only platform CS is, and only has been good on. Do not waste your $15 on the craptacular 360/PS3 version. You will regret it. Expand

See all 39 User Reviews