User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 185

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GregS
    Jul 8, 2010
    9
    Look, I loved the first Crackdown, and would happily pay to return to Pacific City. People say it's a 1.5 only because the real 1.5 actually completed the game and made it so much better. This iteration has the same feel, but a darker setting, which is only made more stark by the memory of the pristine yet gang-ridden Pacific City of ten years ago. Jumping from building to building Look, I loved the first Crackdown, and would happily pay to return to Pacific City. People say it's a 1.5 only because the real 1.5 actually completed the game and made it so much better. This iteration has the same feel, but a darker setting, which is only made more stark by the memory of the pristine yet gang-ridden Pacific City of ten years ago. Jumping from building to building and dodging zombies is all of a sudden made substantial when you look up and realize that the smashed building you're climbing used to be Shai-Gen headquarters. As for story, there is more to this one than the last, but that's not saying much. Crackdwn is not about story, you need to be self-motivated to have a good time with it. If you get bored after the first ten minutes, then you missed the best parts. The audio logs are the new hidden-orbs, a review I read earlier lamented trying to find them all. The reviewer complained that the lack of story was critical because there was no motivation to complete the mission. How did that reviewer get through the first game? I don't know. I find it interesting that most of these reviews seem to be from people who only bought the first one a few weeks ago. They didn't understand the game back then, and they don't understand it now. Co-op is driving this second game, and with three friends, it is an absolute blast. Expand
  2. GregJ
    Jul 12, 2010
    9
    I loved the first and Crackdown 2 improves on everything the original had to offer. Killer new speciel moves, bigger explosions, harder to find orbs, bigger weapons, better co-op, 16 player online, plus it's crazy addictive. Go buy it!
  3. IanG
    Jul 9, 2010
    9
    I'm going to assume that most people rating this game as '0' are those that dont agree with exclusives. This game covers so many genres, there is something for everyone. Anything below 6 is drawn from a chip on the shoulder of the reviewer. Yes the graphics are nothing like RDR, FF, GoW... but that is the point. It's a comic book appeal. A look it has achieved with no I'm going to assume that most people rating this game as '0' are those that dont agree with exclusives. This game covers so many genres, there is something for everyone. Anything below 6 is drawn from a chip on the shoulder of the reviewer. Yes the graphics are nothing like RDR, FF, GoW... but that is the point. It's a comic book appeal. A look it has achieved with no flaw. A poor storyline? It does not matter, the Crackdown series has never been about a story. It's about creating your own mayhem with the tools Ruffian have provided you with. No freedom? It may not have the freedom of RDR, but then where in RDR can i attach a mag grenade to a helicopter, and another to a vehicle occupied by a friend, then watch them as they are carried off helplessly? You need to look at different games and apprecitate the differences, not draw crazy irrelevant comparisons from them. At the end of the day, Crackdown 2 is a lazy sunday afternoon pick-up that makes you want it to be Sunday everyday! Expand
  4. RyanM
    Jul 6, 2010
    10
    very refreshing gameplay experience, it may not look amazing but it's a cut above the rest in every other aspect. I'm loving playing co-op with friends. Well done Ruffian Games.
  5. SteveS
    Jul 10, 2010
    10
    Crackdown was one of the first games I got on my Xbox. I loved it. Last I checked, I had somewhere near 35 hours on it. Crackdown 2 IS just a remade Crackdown 1, but that is what I love about it! It gives more weapons and vehicles, tremendous numbers of zombies on the screen, and, my favorite, more Voice of the Agency! Granted the targeting can be a little screwy, but that is a minor flaw Crackdown was one of the first games I got on my Xbox. I loved it. Last I checked, I had somewhere near 35 hours on it. Crackdown 2 IS just a remade Crackdown 1, but that is what I love about it! It gives more weapons and vehicles, tremendous numbers of zombies on the screen, and, my favorite, more Voice of the Agency! Granted the targeting can be a little screwy, but that is a minor flaw in an otherwise great game. So, despite what others have said, Crackdown 2 is definitely worth buying! Expand
  6. Mark
    Jul 7, 2010
    10
    Crackdown 2 is all out fun that you create. Many people are complaining the graphics aren't good, but this was the design for the game's graphics. Another good point is how there is no story, this means no forced cutscenes, and just pick up and play the game. If you want a story play Red Dead or GTA IV. There are many orbs to hunt down, plus freak hordes to smash with cars or Crackdown 2 is all out fun that you create. Many people are complaining the graphics aren't good, but this was the design for the game's graphics. Another good point is how there is no story, this means no forced cutscenes, and just pick up and play the game. If you want a story play Red Dead or GTA IV. There are many orbs to hunt down, plus freak hordes to smash with cars or melee attacks. Mowing down hordes of freaks in a car is fun and rewarding as their greenish blood splatters. Lastly is co-op, it now allows for up to 4 players drop in-out co-op, meaning that 4 players can tackle 4 seperate missions, at once, or create as much mayhem or destruction as possible. Expand
  7. KyleM.
    Jul 11, 2010
    9
    While it doesn't change too much from the first, Crackdown 2 is still a blast to play. The improved multiplayer, new items and abilities, new missions and new enemies should please fans of the first. Unlike the original, which was just 21 assassinations, crackdown 2's mission structure is much more varried. Unfortunantely, the game is short and, although there are more types of While it doesn't change too much from the first, Crackdown 2 is still a blast to play. The improved multiplayer, new items and abilities, new missions and new enemies should please fans of the first. Unlike the original, which was just 21 assassinations, crackdown 2's mission structure is much more varried. Unfortunantely, the game is short and, although there are more types of missons, they get repetitive as you go through the game. a new batch of vehicles, like the agency chopper and the battle bus, a truck with multiple mounted turrents, along with new ordinance like the uv shotgun, flocket launcher and a rubber duck shaped grenade with an explosive power of a nuke known as the quacker, creates an immense amount of mayham that is boosted with the additons of 16 player versus and 4 player co-op. Nevertheless, Crackdown 2 is a hell of a lot of fun, especially with friends. In the words of that annoying sarcastic disembodied voice, it's a hot time in the old town of Pacific City!! Expand
  8. Luke
    Jul 6, 2010
    9
    Crackdown two may be referred as 1.5, but the new toys, orbs that have been added make it even bigger. Plus 4 player co-op is brilliant. In crackdown 2 you play how you want, in which order you want, the choices are up to you. You could do the missions, or go orb hunting, or even create as much havoc as possible.
  9. JeffJ.
    Jul 6, 2010
    10
    Yes, it's almost the same game as Crackdown (1). So what? Crackdown was one of the funnest games ever. Four player coop, gliding, and zombies just put Crackdown 2 over the top.
  10. francoisd.
    Jul 6, 2010
    10
    Better than the last one. Most of these scores are depressed because they wanted even more, not because what we got is bad.
  11. PWarren
    Jul 7, 2010
    9
    Crackdown 2 is allot like the first one, and that's just what I wanted more carnage. I was genuinely concerned after seeing the first trailer that Ruffian had tried to inject to much story into it and maybe tried to copy Prototype. This is not the premise behind this game or the franchise. This game appeals to me the old school gamer who enjoys big carnage without being weighed down Crackdown 2 is allot like the first one, and that's just what I wanted more carnage. I was genuinely concerned after seeing the first trailer that Ruffian had tried to inject to much story into it and maybe tried to copy Prototype. This is not the premise behind this game or the franchise. This game appeals to me the old school gamer who enjoys big carnage without being weighed down in a bunch of cut-scenes and tedious storytelling. Hop in, Hop out, play when you can, enjoy the "Splosions" and become a collect-a-holic, good times ahead. Expand
  12. RielC
    Jul 8, 2010
    9
    It's just as good and as fun as the original, I have no idea what people are blabbing on about there. I had a great time playing single player, the only complaint I have is it's a bit short. The online is epic, and I can't wait to do it all over again when my friends get the game.
  13. CodyF
    Jul 9, 2010
    10
    I picked up the first game a while back and absolutely adored it. Any of the bad from that game was basically drowned out by all of the amazing gameplay. When i heard there was a sequel i pre-ordered it right away. Despite the reviews this game has gotten thus far, it deserves a far better reputation. This game did not mess with anything that players enjoyed from the first, and then they I picked up the first game a while back and absolutely adored it. Any of the bad from that game was basically drowned out by all of the amazing gameplay. When i heard there was a sequel i pre-ordered it right away. Despite the reviews this game has gotten thus far, it deserves a far better reputation. This game did not mess with anything that players enjoyed from the first, and then they built upon that and turned it into what will remain one of my, and many other's, favorite and most played game to date. The controls have been improved, melee combat has more variety than the first game, the vehicles control MUCH better and are unlocked as you level up your driving skill rather than transforming, weapons are plentiful and there's one for every style of play, the edition of 4 player co-op is just amazing, the new benefits for leveling up your stats (wing suit, ground strike, etc) give new purpose to trying to level up every stat, the explosions have increased in size, and the fact that you can change your armor color gives some extra variety and makes it easier to tell your friends apart when playing online. There are some bad things though, the cell shaded look doesn't appeal to a lot of players, the story is still kind of weak, minor bugs occur when playing online, and sometimes while climbing a building your agent will not grab a ledge and you will fall. I don't care about the graphics and story because i feel the gameplay is all that matters, and the minor issues with the online and climbing are scarce and negligible for the most part. Overall, I would say this game is well worth the price and the wait, and i would recommend it to anyone who likes a good third person action game, and even to those who don't. Expand
  14. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I almost didn't buy this game because of negative reviews - but I sure am glad I DID buy it. I love this game for all kinds of reasons. I think the graphics are colorful, sharp, clear. The action is non-stop. If they had put in 3 gangs again like last game, then that just would've been the same thing again. So I guess Ruffian decided to have just one gang "Cell". And CellI almost didn't buy this game because of negative reviews - but I sure am glad I DID buy it. I love this game for all kinds of reasons. I think the graphics are colorful, sharp, clear. The action is non-stop. If they had put in 3 gangs again like last game, then that just would've been the same thing again. So I guess Ruffian decided to have just one gang "Cell". And Cell can be very tough, especially when there are a lot of snipers and guys firing rockets at you. I've played a lot of games like Gears of War, Fallout, Dead Space, Starcraft II, and I can honestly say I really enjoyed Crackdown 2 just as much as those other games. There is something really addictive about the game - collecting all those orbs, trying to get all your skills to the max, and those boot thrusters are awesome. Well done Ruffian Studios, don't listen to those fussy grumps who don't like this game. Can't wait for Crackdown 3 - YeeHaw! Expand
  15. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    As I didn't have the original I can provide a rating for this game in its own right , without being angry that it is apparently rather similar to its predecessor.
    The Free roam is brilliant and you can have hours of fun jumping from building in a large open world city.Killing zombies is fun and doesn't get old quickly like in some games. Co - op is great with 'craziness' and fun on a level
    As I didn't have the original I can provide a rating for this game in its own right , without being angry that it is apparently rather similar to its predecessor.
    The Free roam is brilliant and you can have hours of fun jumping from building in a large open world city.Killing zombies is fun and doesn't get old quickly like in some games. Co - op is great with 'craziness' and fun on a level with Saints Row 2.There are hours of play to be had across the games multiple game modes and if you are going to pick up a second hand game to play soon , I recommend this one.
    Expand
  16. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    I love this game, all the comparisons to the first game are void, this one has a better more detailed world, a new challenge, better physics and more weapons. Need I say more. Much better than the first one (which was amazing btw.)
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 91
  2. Negative: 7 out of 91
  1. Crackdown 2 looks sharper, the action is fiercer and the increased number of players pays dividends. Despite all this, we can't shake the feeling that it isn't the monumental sequel that the series deserved. The over-familiarity of Pacific City and the cropping of key features like the gangs and transforming vehicles will leave some Agency veterans feeling a little bit disappointed.
  2. It's gets a tad dull by the end of the game, and as your character levels up, it becomes less of a challenge as well (unless you're on harder difficulties, naturally).
  3. If you're coming into the series afresh, Crackdown 2 is well worth checking out, but for those of us who have patiently waited over three years for a sequel, it's a mild disappointment.