User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 178
  2. Negative: 51 out of 178

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    7
    After the excellent original I have to admit that Crackdown 2 was a little bit of a let down with very few new features really adding anything to the experience. There is of course plenty of enjoyment still to be had for fans of the first game, especially when playing in co-op, but this is very much a sequel by numbers.
  2. Mar 13, 2011
    4
    The mindless ground stomping and car throwing is fun for a little while but as with many sandbox games, when you are done causing chaos what do you do? This isn't helped by the fact that the city is the exact same city that featured in the original Crackdown. Speaking of which, the city is given a brown tinge that is sickening to look at and seeing how the game is not visually impressive, succeeds in dragging it down further. The three groups from Crackdown 1 are replaced with one gang, robbing the game of the personality given by the variety of villains. Crackdown 2 has the feel of a rushed game and does not have enough new ideas to justify its transition into a full priced game. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    3
    A truly pathetic sequel.A rehashed,rushed abomination and THE example how not to make a game.Set in the same,unchanged city as the first game,C2 fails on every level.Stick to the first game please.
  4. May 29, 2013
    7
    Crackdown 2, despite its flaws, was a worthy successor for Crackdown and adds many more hours of destruction. The downside is it's almost a near identical copy and paste game from Crackdown. Same city and same powers. While in that aspect it was disappointing, it was still really fun to be in a different setting. I enjoyed fighting the giant gang known as Cell and bringing on them death and destruction. The zombies added in made it even more entertaining killing things as they are mostly cannon fodder. There are new racing challenges and orbs to find, but overall this is near identical to Crackdown 1. If you're a huge fan of the series, then you'll still enjoy it, but it's disappointing to see Crackdown 2 suffer despite being an awesome game. Expand
  5. May 31, 2011
    8
    I'm kind of in two minds about this game.. As theres ALOT i like about this game,& indeed Crackdown 1.That it has Co-Op(Shame theres no split-screen too though),its free roaming,the leveling/improvment system,& the fun of the combat & jumping & climbing from rooftop to rooftop.Its great that this game offers 4 player Co-Op,over the first games 2,but the thing that brings this second game down for me sumwhat,is that this games set in the same city(though its kind of interesting to see the contrast of whats happened to the city,& all the places you recognised from the first game).& the mutants that come out at night.Nightime just feels ridiculous & TOO over the top,with all these mutants about everywhere,You would think their numbers would start to dwindle,as you exterminate them in huge quantities throughout the game,but they dont seem to.. I know the ultimate aim of the game,is to eridicate them completely,with these light bombs,but being able to reduce their numbers significantly during the course of the game,would've been nice.. Expand
  6. May 20, 2011
    7
    I expected a lot more from Crackdown 2. I expected a lot more introduced from Crackdown, first and foremost. Crackdown 2 doesn't do much new, but it makes everything from Crackdown more AWESOME. You'll love it even more if you haven't played Crackdown as well. Still, like I said previously, Crackdown 2 does make everything more AWESOME. In keys to the City mode, you can be a super powered, invincible, tank driving, zombie spawning GOD. It is incredibly fun, and fairly big, but it's not exactly clever. You'll have fun in Crackdown 2, but it could have been so much more. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    This is a fantastic game that got low rating from players who really didn't understand that they bought a sandbox game. This is not a first or 3rd person shooter game, it is a sandbox style game which means the point isn't to focus on completing the storyline off as quickly as possible but rather the opposite. The point is to just play in the world where you are just like kids do in a sandbox. Ok, that said all the elements of a good sandbox game are here and work well. Suffice it to say you will enjoy this game a lot if you just want to mess around and do stuff and eventually finish the game and you will likely hate the game and thinks its way too short if you play it any other way. But, that is the whole point of sandbox style games, you make your own entertainment and play any way you want. If you want this to be a shooter yeah it will be 4 hrs, if you want it to be a playground, it will really entertain you. Expand
  8. Apr 3, 2014
    5
    I don't feel like any aspect of this game was in any way better than the first, the controls were outright worse, a very bad sequel to what was a pretty enjoyable game.
  9. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    It's a worthy sequel, as fun as the first with some new toys to play with. New story, new powers, new vehicles, and weapons make Crackdown 2 quite a treat for fans of the first installment.
  10. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    After loving the first and thinking great a sequel should really move things ahead and get some great action, graphics, gameplay and movement in all the right directions. I was graced with a expansion pack that was delivered as Crackdown 2. It mad no moves forward and yet just provided you a name of what was a good game. Not worth the time or effort on any level.
  11. Mar 16, 2012
    9
    As I didn't have the original I can provide a rating for this game in its own right , without being angry that it is apparently rather similar to its predecessor.
    The Free roam is brilliant and you can have hours of fun jumping from building in a large open world city.Killing zombies is fun and doesn't get old quickly like in some games. Co - op is great with 'craziness' and fun on a level
    with Saints Row 2.There are hours of play to be had across the games multiple game modes and if you are going to pick up a second hand game to play soon , I recommend this one. Expand
  12. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    A lot of people say this game is more of the same, and it is partially true. here is my review: SINGLE PLAYER- 6/10. very basic story, not as good as orginal GRAPHICS- 7/10. almost identical to original, with few new additions (i.e. bigger explosions) SOUND- 7/10. nothing special. serviceable, but not outstanding GAMEPLAY- 8/10. similar to OG, but with fun new additions CO-OP- 9/10. fun 4 player co-op, drop in and drop out
    FUN FACTOR- 8/10. similar to OG, but still very fun game
    TOTAL SCORE: 8/10
    Expand
  13. Sep 14, 2010
    7
    This could have been so full of win, but it fell short on many counts. I still like the game a lot though, I had fun with it. But the hype machine made me expect too much. it's just a standard game with an average vibe.
  14. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I almost didn't buy this game because of negative reviews - but I sure am glad I DID buy it. I love this game for all kinds of reasons. I think the graphics are colorful, sharp, clear. The action is non-stop. If they had put in 3 gangs again like last game, then that just would've been the same thing again. So I guess Ruffian decided to have just one gang "Cell". And Cell can be very tough, especially when there are a lot of snipers and guys firing rockets at you. I've played a lot of games like Gears of War, Fallout, Dead Space, Starcraft II, and I can honestly say I really enjoyed Crackdown 2 just as much as those other games. There is something really addictive about the game - collecting all those orbs, trying to get all your skills to the max, and those boot thrusters are awesome. Well done Ruffian Studios, don't listen to those fussy grumps who don't like this game. Can't wait for Crackdown 3 - YeeHaw! Expand
  15. Aug 20, 2010
    5
    Intro:
    It's been 10 years since The Agency put Pacific City right again. But in this short space of time it's become even worse than before. All the buildings have suffered collateral damage. Vast populations of freaks (Shi-Gen's failed attempts to make supersoldiers) have escaped from PCN Institute of Research. An omnipotent criminal gang called the Cell have taken over the role Los
    Muertos, The Volk and Shi-Gen used to play. That is to say they cause general anarchy.
    Gameplay:
    There is more to do on Crackdown 2 as opposed to its predecessor, instead of just going about killing gang bosses, you either recapture Cell strongholds or activate absorption units. When all three areas have been captured in a stronghold, the stronghold reverts to agency control. Similarly, once three absorption units have been activated, a solar powered bomb can be deployed inside a Freak Lair (usually found in old Crackdown gang boss locations) which, when fully charged, will emit a burst of solar energy which destroys the lairâ
    Expand
  16. Aug 31, 2010
    7
    If you like crackdown 1 then you will like crackdown 2. The gameplay is similar and the game is pretty fun. It has some problems, the gangs are not as fun as crackdown 1. The zombies can sometimes be a headache to deal with. Overall this game is fun. When the price drops to 29.99 I would recommend you pick this one up.
  17. May 8, 2013
    8
    They say the original is always best in most movie and video game franchises. Crackdown 2 is no exception to that saying. While I loved the first Crackdown so much, Crackdown 2 is basically just more of what you love. The super-jumping, orb-collecting Agents are streamlined to be more fluid and easier to control. The non-stop action is the real fun of this game. Crackdown 2 is one of those few games where "Do anything and go anywhere you want" has real meaning. Trust me, this game consumed me for 3 months after it's release. Expand
  18. Oct 16, 2010
    2
    i felt the original Crackdown was good, but too short. I was anxiously awaiting the release of Crackdown 2. I could not have been anymore disappointed. The 2nd one sucked and was too long. too many repeatative missions to drag out a long inevitable end. I completed the game w/o getting the helicopter because my agility wasn't high. and the movie at the end made me say "WTF" who was that chick? Expand
  19. Feb 19, 2014
    10
    I love this game, all the comparisons to the first game are void, this one has a better more detailed world, a new challenge, better physics and more weapons. Need I say more. Much better than the first one (which was amazing btw.)
  20. Aug 26, 2010
    8
    I almost overlooked this game for a dumb reason. Most of the critics of this game say are giving it a low score because they feel that it is like playing the first game only with a co-op component. While I feel this is good to know, I think the giving it a low score based on this seems inconsistent with other reviews. For instance, GTA IV received great reviews (deservedly so), but was it a great departure from other GTA games? Nope. So to rate this game low because not much changed from the original game is baseless. It is good to know if you have already played the original game (you may not want to spend $59 dollars for something that closely resembles a game you already played), but it is not a reason to score something low. Since I never played the first Crackdown, I feel that I am able to render a more objective opinion of the game. Overall, it is very good. A few graphical glitches here and there (One notable moment when a Freak walked several hundred feet off the edge of a cliff and then vanished). Also the AI can be a bit dumb (sometimes the Enemies just ignore you). But overall I am having a lot of fun playing the game, collecting orbs, and trying to score some achievements. So if you like open world games and have never played the first Crackdown, I highly recommend this game because it is fun. Some minor flaws, but nothing that is a giant let down. Expand
  21. Sep 4, 2010
    6
    Crackdown 2 was entertaining for the first few hours hours until you realize this is it.... and the credits roll. The game is short, the content is weak, the orb chasing is tedious and even on (Sadistic) it is far too easy. I rate it a 6 only because I enjoy mindless games from time to time otherwise I'd say its a 4 or so. I'm not saying it isn't fun for a little while but you will soon get bored then furious when you realize you've wasted another $59.99. Expand
  22. Oct 16, 2010
    0
    This game is truly terrible. I wish I had not rented it and donated my money to charity. Go here, stand on this blue thing and repeat 1,000 times. There, I just saved you 9 bucks at blockbuster. Finding a way to get to the rooftop where the blue beacon was became a nightmare. The best part of the game is the leaping, it's like the game didn't want you to have fun. I hope Ruffian Games goes out of business after this one.

    I have had more fun at church.
    Expand
  23. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    They took Crackdown and removed features, and didn't add ANYTHING. The entire game is just the one mission, go stand on 9 different pads for 30 seconds each. That's it. That's the whole game.

    Have fun.
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 91
  2. Negative: 7 out of 91
  1. Crackdown 2 looks sharper, the action is fiercer and the increased number of players pays dividends. Despite all this, we can't shake the feeling that it isn't the monumental sequel that the series deserved. The over-familiarity of Pacific City and the cropping of key features like the gangs and transforming vehicles will leave some Agency veterans feeling a little bit disappointed.
  2. It's gets a tad dull by the end of the game, and as your character levels up, it becomes less of a challenge as well (unless you're on harder difficulties, naturally).
  3. If you're coming into the series afresh, Crackdown 2 is well worth checking out, but for those of us who have patiently waited over three years for a sequel, it's a mild disappointment.