Crimson Alliance Xbox 360

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51
  1. Sep 12, 2011
    74
    Crimson Alliance is a game that does just enough to provide several hours of solid fun.
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    72
    Despite a bit of glitching, I think Crimson Alliance is a welcome addition in my household. Sure, it's not the prettiest girl in town, but she's charming, easy to get along with and still violent enough that your mother would not approve. What more could you want from a Sunday morning date? The game is available for purchase on September 7 via XBLA for 1200 Microsoft points (all three character classes) or just 800 Microsoft points (just one).
  3. Sep 29, 2011
    70
    Crimson Alliance is a fun, and well-built game. I have to question if it would have been nearly as fun if I didn't invest extra money on gold to upgrade my character. Due to this, Crimson Alliance is a major set back due to ridiculous micro transactions. If someone pays $15 for a game, they shouldn't have to invest $5 more into each character in order to fully upgrade their gear.
  4. Sep 21, 2011
    70
    Crimson Alliance is a decent hack and slash game with a few questionable marketing tactics.
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    70
    Crimson Alliance is like Gauntlet mixed with some elements taken from all the Diablo-style titles out there. Limited loot and customization move its gameplay some levels under games like Torchlight and Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Sep 19, 2011
    70
    Solid, and even better when enjoyed with company. [Issue#76, p.102]
  7. Sep 15, 2011
    70
    If you are only flying solo or plan on running with strangers online, it is simply not as a good a game when played this way. So like my mother always said, stay close to your friends and be wary of strangers.
  8. Sep 8, 2011
    70
    During my time with Crimson Alliance, I was left with a hollow feeling - the game never did anything to capture me.
  9. 70
    A great scoring system for each level and an online leaderboard makes this game incredibly replayable.
  10. Sep 14, 2011
    67
    There is a fair bit of content to hack your way through, if you don't mind the repetitive and unfriendly-ness that this game hits you with if you decide to undertake your spelunking alone.
  11. Sep 12, 2011
    67
    It is essentially the spiritual successor to Gauntlet Legends. Yet those weaned on games like Diablo will find the content too shallow to merit consideration. The limited loot, lack of randomized dungeons, and loss of leveling ultimately undermines this Alliance before it has a chance to shine.
  12. Oct 17, 2011
    65
    Overall, if Certain Affinity had pushed their ideas further, Crimson Alliance could have been a truly fantastic title. Nevertheless, despite its repetitiveness and generic story, the game is great fun, especially in multiplayer.
  13. Sep 7, 2011
    64
    Certain Affinity took few risks in constructing a bare bones, workman like hack 'n slash and left experimentation to its pricing structure. Whether that was their call or Microsoft's isn't likely to be known, but it's definitely rendered Crimson Alliance an afterthought, or something to play if you've completely exhausted Torchlight and need something else in the console space.
  14. Sep 21, 2011
    60
    Want some brainless intense action rpg filled by all the classic clichè of this genre? Crimson Alliance may be your perfect game to play, but it's surely far from excellence.
  15. Sep 20, 2011
    60
    Crimson Alliance, even though it's a well produced game, doesn't meet all the expectations. A lot of simplified elements stare in your face making Crimson Allianc more of a Gauntlet-styled arcade than a real hack'n'slash. And even when looking at it this way, the gameplay is too monotonous (a flawed co-op mode saves it a bit). The game looked good but turned out only pretty well.
  16. Sep 20, 2011
    60
    While the leveling mechanics are a little too shallow to keep true RPG fans invested, the dark cel-shaded visuals and easy-to-pick up combat system can make for a fun weekend with friends. Just be sure to make the right choice if you're only willing to buy one character.
  17. Sep 16, 2011
    60
    A decent addition to the "hack 'n slash/ action RPG" genre that you will truly enjoy if you have some company over Xbox Live.
  18. Sep 12, 2011
    60
    While interesting, Crimson Alliance fails to deliver an engaging and replayable experience. Coupled with the cost, this game doesn't seem to stack up, but future DLC may bring it back from the brink.
  19. Sep 9, 2011
    60
    A pretty good – if not unexceptional – action-RPG where an arcade-oriented simplicity and an experiment with pricing structures are the orders of the day.
  20. 60
    Derivative, shallow and ruthlessly unambitious, but as Diablo clones go this is still one of the best and most addictive on consoles.
  21. Sep 8, 2011
    55
    Variety and character are treasures left undiscovered in the action RPG Crimson Alliance.
  22. games(TM)
    Oct 18, 2011
    50
    It's initially compelling, but starts to feel shallow as combat becomes a grind, and a nagging wish for more of RPG elements creeps in. [Nov 2011, p.110]
  23. Sep 7, 2011
    50
    Crimson Alliance is a fairly competent, if completely forgettable game.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    love this game! finally an xbla title with online co-op PLUS leaderboards! lots of replay value as you can go back & try to get a better scorelove this game! finally an xbla title with online co-op PLUS leaderboards! lots of replay value as you can go back & try to get a better score by completing a perfect run (using a score multiplier for not taking damage). i can see myself spending A LOT of time with this game. Full Review »
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    My englisch is not soo good,but i like too say that Crimson Alliance is a very nice game.First of all...don't compare this game with PCMy englisch is not soo good,but i like too say that Crimson Alliance is a very nice game.First of all...don't compare this game with PC dungeon crawlers like Diablo,etc..I think the developers made another kind of game with lesser controlls,easy to learn and fast gameplay.I like my die hard dungeon crawlers on my PC but i also like this game on my X360.The graphics and level design is easely comparable with retail games.The replay valeu is tremendous...you can start your multiplayer session or you can try to maximise your score in the single player.Lots of stuff to collect and high scores to beat with a nice leaderbord....the only problem is some slowdown in the multiplayer. Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    When I saw that this game said "Free", I was ecstatic. I should have known that I would've had to do something to play the game fully. ForWhen I saw that this game said "Free", I was ecstatic. I should have known that I would've had to do something to play the game fully. For those of you who get this game thinking that it is for free, you have to pay $10 (800 Microsoft points) to be able to fully play the game with one of the three character classes, or you can pay $15 (1200 Microsoft points) to play the game in full. Also, people who bought all five games in the Summer of Arcade get a code to get the game for free. This is nice as the SoA games themselves are good games (although you need a Kinect for Fruit Ninja). If you get it for free, the game is worth playing. The game follows a very basic hack-and-slash play style. There is nothing really unique about the gameplay elements in this game. However, what is interesting is that it supports 4 player co-op. While the game doesn't make great use of co-op, it does give you a game you can beat in one 2-3 hour sitting with your friends. The story is worthless, and the voice-acting is among the worst I've heard in a video game. The art style is not impressive when compared to some of the beautiful games offered on X-Box Live Arcade, such as Braid, Bastion, and Limbo. However, it isn't an eyesore, so it continues the Arcade tradition of looking better than an actual X-Box 360 game. The music is nothing that stands out, but it also isn't horrible. The game is very replayable however, especially if you spent the extra $5 to get all the character classes. There are plenty of goodies to find, although most can be found while going through your first playthrough. The replayability mainly comes in in trying to improve your high score. I would say get this game if you have some friends coming over for a few hours and you want a not overly complicated game to play, or if you have other friends who have this game, so you can compete over getting the best score. And if you bought the Summer of Arcade titles, you just got a decent enough free game. Full Review »