Crimson Alliance Xbox 360

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    85
    There are plenty of hidden secrets and scoring/upgrading incentives to replay levels, especially on Xbox Live with a few fellow dungeon crawlers. That combines with satisfying old-school hack & slash RPG action in a dark, dank and deeply buried dungeon realm that's visually appealing along with a not entirely original but certainly captivating story for a completely entertaining XBLA adventure.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    80
    So let's just end by saying that for what it is and what it costs, Crimson Alliance offers some good-looking, undemanding fun and with its class-specific gameplay and multiplayer modes, a respectable amount of replayability.
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    75
    While it could definitely have used more meat on its bones, Crimson Alliance is a fine little game that does just enough to provide a few hours of solid fun. It's got a bright and fun visual style, an encouraging level of challenge, and should be the perfect way to keep one's sword sharp while waiting for Diablo III to turn up.
  4. Sep 12, 2011
    90
    If you're looking for an awesome co-op experience then Crimson Alliance is a must have.
  5. Sep 6, 2011
    88
    Every aspect of Crimson Alliance works together to engineer a fun cooperative hack n' slash. From the quick and easy inventory to the excellently designed levels and rewarding combat, this is the downloadable game to play with friends this season.
  6. Sep 15, 2011
    77
    If you are a fan of the genre, there's no reason not to give this one a spin. Just be sure to come in looking for more of the "Action" and less of the "RPG".
  7. Oct 4, 2011
    85
    Just don't expect a lot more than some slick fantasy-style arcade brawling and it'll be money well spent.
  8. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    Still, Crimson could stand to be a little more robust and varied. Its comparatively paltry three classes beg for DLC, as does its four hour campaign; similarly, there are only a few enemy types per themed map, and the game doesn't seem to rebalance unit numbers for multiple players. Perhaps next time Certain Affinity should concentrate just a hair less on arcade simplicity; until then this is still a worthy note in a crowded genre.
  9. Sep 16, 2011
    80
    At its surface, Crimson Alliance is a bit shallow. But if you take advantage of the tools provided, tweak the difficulty at times, and play with a group of friends, the depth starts to show. It won't deliver in areas that other action RPG games do, but there is no denying this title is an absolute blast to play.
  10. 80
    A nice dungeon crawler that doesn't any over-complicated character development paths to be successful.
  11. Sep 6, 2011
    75
    It is fun and the combat system is smart, simple, and effective.
  12. Sep 12, 2011
    80
    Bite-sized gaming at its best.
  13. Sep 21, 2011
    83
    That's why it's a little disappointing to feel like one is part of a market analysis experiment. The trial is free, but at every moment it's clear you need to buy one of the characters ($10) or all three ($15) to finish the game.
  14. Sep 29, 2011
    85
    A solid game that keeps the pace moving and balances the three classes very well.
  15. Sep 19, 2011
    77
    Looking for something to play while waiting for Diablo III? Crimson Alliance isn't brilliant, but still a fine way to spend the time.
  16. Sep 18, 2011
    78
    Crimson Alliance is a great game to pick up. Grab some extra remotes because it's teamwork time.
  17. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    Crimson Alliance could be a delicious piece of peanut butter and s'mores toast with raspberry jam, it's just that the proportions are distracting on this first attempt. Basic genre expectations are fulfilled, delivering an approachable, action-RPG dungeon crawl -- but with a bit more careful measurement, Certain Affinity could have made this good game great.
  18. Sep 7, 2011
    80
    A very good and solid game, capable of perfectly blending its action and RPG souls and with good visuals and level design. Our major complaint is about it trying to get more of our money than other standard XBLA games, with an insidious pricing model and in-game currency packs: this could create some confusion in the players.
  19. 80
    Though Crimson Alliance lacks Torchlight's endless character development and the infinite replayability of its bottomless dungeon, it delivers something that addictive gem didn't: co-op play.
  20. Don't be fooled by the identikit visuals: Crimson Alliance is frantic, fresh, and utterly brilliant.
  21. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    It's full of RPG cliches, yet it delivers some solid fun, especially in co-op.
  22. Sep 14, 2011
    80
    An interesting game in a genre which is becoming crowded recently. Although it doesn't bring anything especially new in terms of gameplay, it is a simple, yet enjoyable game, with very good graphics.
  23. Sep 7, 2011
    90
    Where Crimson Alliance could have joined the white noise of dungeon crawlers, Certain Affinity has managed to design a solid and - more impressively - distinctive game, regardless of whether the simple, pick-up-and-play approach turns off a few hardcore fans of the genre.
  24. Oct 9, 2011
    85
    Crimson Alliance is a simple but entertaining and deceptively addictive hack-and-slash title. It's very light on the RPG elements but makes up for it with a very satisfying combat system.
  25. Oct 26, 2011
    83
    Is it worth 1200 MS Points? When you and your friends join up to discover the treasure and mystery that abounds in these lands, then it is a steal.
  26. Sep 8, 2011
    80
    The game is not as deep as other games like it, and the levels are fairly straightforward. The combat is smooth and the visuals are actually pretty good.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    love this game! finally an xbla title with online co-op PLUS leaderboards! lots of replay value as you can go back & try to get a better scorelove this game! finally an xbla title with online co-op PLUS leaderboards! lots of replay value as you can go back & try to get a better score by completing a perfect run (using a score multiplier for not taking damage). i can see myself spending A LOT of time with this game. Full Review »
  2. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    My englisch is not soo good,but i like too say that Crimson Alliance is a very nice game.First of all...don't compare this game with PCMy englisch is not soo good,but i like too say that Crimson Alliance is a very nice game.First of all...don't compare this game with PC dungeon crawlers like Diablo,etc..I think the developers made another kind of game with lesser controlls,easy to learn and fast gameplay.I like my die hard dungeon crawlers on my PC but i also like this game on my X360.The graphics and level design is easely comparable with retail games.The replay valeu is tremendous...you can start your multiplayer session or you can try to maximise your score in the single player.Lots of stuff to collect and high scores to beat with a nice leaderbord....the only problem is some slowdown in the multiplayer. Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    5
    When I saw that this game said "Free", I was ecstatic. I should have known that I would've had to do something to play the game fully. ForWhen I saw that this game said "Free", I was ecstatic. I should have known that I would've had to do something to play the game fully. For those of you who get this game thinking that it is for free, you have to pay $10 (800 Microsoft points) to be able to fully play the game with one of the three character classes, or you can pay $15 (1200 Microsoft points) to play the game in full. Also, people who bought all five games in the Summer of Arcade get a code to get the game for free. This is nice as the SoA games themselves are good games (although you need a Kinect for Fruit Ninja). If you get it for free, the game is worth playing. The game follows a very basic hack-and-slash play style. There is nothing really unique about the gameplay elements in this game. However, what is interesting is that it supports 4 player co-op. While the game doesn't make great use of co-op, it does give you a game you can beat in one 2-3 hour sitting with your friends. The story is worthless, and the voice-acting is among the worst I've heard in a video game. The art style is not impressive when compared to some of the beautiful games offered on X-Box Live Arcade, such as Braid, Bastion, and Limbo. However, it isn't an eyesore, so it continues the Arcade tradition of looking better than an actual X-Box 360 game. The music is nothing that stands out, but it also isn't horrible. The game is very replayable however, especially if you spent the extra $5 to get all the character classes. There are plenty of goodies to find, although most can be found while going through your first playthrough. The replayability mainly comes in in trying to improve your high score. I would say get this game if you have some friends coming over for a few hours and you want a not overly complicated game to play, or if you have other friends who have this game, so you can compete over getting the best score. And if you bought the Summer of Arcade titles, you just got a decent enough free game. Full Review »