User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 482 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 482

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    Crysis 2 has everything going for it, that it falls far short of initial expectations, due to once again a poor execution and storying tell sequences. Crysis 2 is a Power House and the games price is worth the admission just to look at the stunning visuals. I will start by saying I hated the "abilities" given to the player especially the camouflage, A action, first person shooter dose not require stealth. There were a few boring missions where this ability played a huge role making me extremely frustrated towards the end of the game. I will however give the game 2 points for exciting action scenes and excellent alien AI, which made for some interesting battles. Its a shame such a wonderful premise as failed to capture gamers in which could of been a game of the generation. Crysis 2 has turned into a play once never to see again game. I would only recommend a rent at best. Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    6
    A shooter that excels in just about nothing, the story isn't the best and is rather short but it is still a solid shooter with some mediocre elements.
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    7
    The main reason to play Crysis 2 are the graphics. Yes, the argument "graphics don't make the game" is typically applied to a situation like this. However, this game is the exception to that argument. This game is just beautiful.
    In a way, the solid shooting mechanics and stealth gameplay are just an afterthought to the sweeping vistas and amazing scenery you will witness. The shooting
    mechanics are pretty fun, being able to utilize the nanosuit's stealth and armor modes.

    This game is an above average shooter with awesome visuals. If you can find it for a cheap price, be sure to pick it up.
    Expand
  4. Jun 24, 2013
    0
    A tech demo. Nothing more. It is simply just "Wow! Look at how beautiful is that building/that city/that alien" I don't care. I want to PLAY. If i want to see beautiful stuff. I go out or watch a movie. This thing is not a game. Not even close to that....
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    This was almost flawless its impressive and well made.We need more games like this hopfully the next gen games will be as good as this or even better but love this Game.There should not be negative reviews for this game its to special to be put down.
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    Crysis 2 was the best game I had played on my XB360, until I started playing the Mass Effect Trilogy's rich experience. But of course, I liked the style of going solo as an augmented super-soldier during the night time sterilizing hostile, yet convincingly creepy alien forces and human hostiles to reach your objective, liked the complex revelations and back story of the Crysis, stealth mode was extremely useful in several environments, the HUD was also really well set out, very nice graphics and in-game characters like Colonel Barclay, he was motivating! I do hope to buy the third one soon! Expand
  7. Jun 5, 2013
    5
    This game is absolutely gorgeous, the physics of the gameplay start out feeling phenomenal. Then, pretty soon everything drops. The beautiful, outside, open feeling world leads you through dark tunnels and mundane buildings. You're stuck between about 4-5 weapons for most of the game that all feel underwhelming. The story is downright abysmal. But, it entertained me for a decent amount of time before finishing the campaign became a chore. Expand
  8. May 7, 2013
    5
    A good looking game, that's it. but everything else is just mediocre. with so much FPS game out there, i didnt find this game that appealing or good value.
  9. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    I had a lot of fun when I played Crysis 2. There were a couple nagging issues, but overall it was a memorable experience. There's no doubt Crysis 2 is a beautiful game. This is the best looking game of this generation. The lighting effects are amazing. Enemy A.I. is smart and firefights are fun and challenging. The campaign takes about 9-10 to beat. The story is slow to start out and can be difficult to follow but things really pull together in the end and I was left satisfied by the end. It does feel more linear than the first Crysis, but it does have its fair share of large environments. The Nanosuit powers and large environments add strategy to the combat. The checkpoint system is really bad. And there are a couple bugs and glitches but I doubt it was easy trying to bring a like this on 7 year old console hardware. It was a really great game and I loved every minute of it. Expand
  10. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    I am not by any means a FPS veteran. This was one of my first FPS games ever. But man was this awesome. First off, the graphics are phenonmenal, I'm not a person who usually gets to fussed about how many pixels can be shoved into my TV, but WOW. The story isn't particularly awe-inspiring. But the gameplay? Good God. The open world create inifinite possible ways of approaching a mission. Can't find the firepower to take the army head on? Stealth kill! Evade! Blow up their ammo! Not only this but the suits ability demand careful consideration of any and every action. This is FPS needs to be: chess with guns. Expand
  11. Mar 1, 2013
    8
    Crysis 2 is an all round fantastic shooter but it makes a few short falls and poor design choices along the way. The first major trouble is the story, now dont get me wrong I love rich and diverse, well written stories but Crysis 2's story just went waaaaay over my head. After replaying it several times I still do not understand it and after reading wiki's, watching videos and asking people I know about it I still cannot fathom it. The general gist is that it is 3 years since the original Crysis game, New York has been attacked by a plague known as the Manhattan Virus and the US government has contracted C.E.L.L to look after the place whilst a cure is found. However after Prophet contracts the virus he saves a dying marine named Alcatraz and gives him the Nanosuit before killing himself. Alcatraz must complete the mission Prophet set out to do before he dies which involves destroying the Ceph that live underneath Central Park and are the source of the Manhattan Virus. Crysis 2 is visually mind boggling, even on consoles. The game looks amazing during the day but at night it looks a little worse for wear with the bland colour palette really showing and looking rather ugly. It also brings back a slightly stripped down version of the same gameplay used in Crysis 1, you lose a couple of suit powers but its nothing major and you still feel like you are wearing a Nanosuit.
    Crysis 2 is not as good as Crysis 1 but it is still a fantastic game and one that any FPS player should experience, even if you cant afford the supercomputer needed to run it on the superior PC version of the game.
    Expand
  12. Feb 17, 2013
    3
    The game is by far a completely gorgeous visual eye-feast. Absolutely stunning. That is where anything positive ends. I had never been so bored by a combat system in modern-gaming. Absolutely no motive or motivation to go on, I literally fell asleep playing this game twice, and I gave up completely after three hours. Never before had I been so bored with a game. Simply abysmal. Should have kept it on the PC, apparently. Expand
  13. Feb 15, 2013
    7
    Es lo mejor graficamente para el Xbox 360... pero no responde como deberia con su control, tarda alrededor de 1 o 2 segundos en responder sus controles... No es malo... pero tampoco es bueno

    ---

    It's the best graphically for the Xbox 360 but does not respond as it should with its control, it takes about 1 or 2 seconds to answer their controls Not bad but not good
  14. Jan 22, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed this game and one of the few games I played through twice this gen. Graphically was stunning with several wow moments, and the sound was excellent. Gameplay wise it's an awful lot of fun with the options created the nano suit and the weapon attachments. I love playing stealthy and picking off enemies one by one and loved the fact this game presented with this option. Felt the campaign was just long enough to always hold my attention and not make me hope the end is soon. The problems are in my opinion the Geth which are just not as fun to fight as soilders, and taking about the big walker units is just annoying on the hardest difficulty. Multiplayer is perfectly serviceable but failed to hold my attention like COD4 or COD:MW2 which I previously played extensively. Can get it for £5 in a lot of stores now making it a real must buy. Expand
  15. Jan 3, 2013
    6
    This is a technically proficient, and indeed incredibly beautiful game, which includes some amazing visual set pieces. However, the overall gaming experience seems to be lacking in any kind of "soul", and starts to feel a bit generic pretty much straight away. Crysis 2 emphasises stealth to succeed, but games like Deus Ex: Human Revolution did it better.
  16. Dec 29, 2012
    8
    I did not expect too much out of this game, having played the first Crysis and Crysis Warhead extensively on PC i was slightly disappointed to find out the setting to be urban instead of a beautiful tropical island.
    But it's New York, so i easily forgive Crytek on that one. The Singleplayer features a campaign that will take you about 11-13 hours to complete and it features New York's
    most iconic and coolest locations. Fighting off enemies in for example Lower Manhattan, Grand Central station and Times Square gives a satisfying feeling and it actually gives me the urge to instantly hop on a plane and go there.
    The story is OK but it lacks a bit of character development, a flaw that i found in almost every Crytek game to date. If you can live with this though, you will have a great time with this game, the nanosuit is without a doubt one of the coolest pieces of armor i have ever encountered in a shooter game, allowing you to switch quickly from cloak to armor mode with speed and strength mode being assigned automatically when you need them. This to me is a vast improvement over the control system in the previous installments of Crysis which speeds up the gameplay substantially. Having the nanosuit gives you multiple options to engage the enemy, making the singleplayer a fun experience where no situation is exactly the same.
    The AI could be better with enemies walking into walls from time to time but this happens rarely and it does not ruin the experience by any measure. The graphics is where this game truly stands apart from the crowd though. I was very surprised that Crytek was able to squeeze enough juice out the Xbox to produce graphics as pretty as this. I still think it is the best looking console game to date, with Battlefield 3 and Far Cry 3 as close contenders.
    Multiplayer is fun but i was slightly disappointed to find out it was infantry only gameplay, being a Crysis Wars player on PC i was hoping for some airplane and vehicle gameplay.
    Multiplayer also features killstreaks with a twist, when you kill a player you have to pick up his dog tag to build up your killstreak, which mostly takes care of the camping issue that comes along with giving players rewards for getting consecutive kills. The killstreaks do not overwhelm the gun on gun gameplay though. Multiplayer also feautures with all it's functions, allowing you to tweak different functions to suit your needs. While it is not addictive like CoD or Battlefield, it is fun to play an hour or two nonetheless.
    All in all, this game is worth every dollar/euro/pound you spend on it, which probably won't be much since you can find it in most discount bins nowadays.
    Expand
  17. Dec 3, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I never played the original crysis. I played this for 360 and it left me with mixed feelings, however most of these were positive. First there is the amazing graphic which really blow other games out of the water, Then there is the story which is interesting and creates a realistic sense of urgency for the situation at hand. Unfortunately the start of the tale is fairly stale with blandish characters and situations however they really pick up and the story starts and interesting roller-coaster in the last third as you start to realize the real scale of things. Then it stops, the last boss battle is anticlimactic to say the least (consists of several elite units) and the ending begs for the sequel on the horizon next year. The multiplayer is good but too me not overly amazing, its perfectly fun but I'd rather play the campaign than the the multiplayer in most occasions. Overall a great game without the need to play the first, with a campaign which includes a slow start that gives way to fun missions and an increasingly exciting story which ends too quickly with perfectly serviceable multiplayer , a good buy for the interesting sci fi setting and prelude to the sure to be amazing sequel. Expand
  18. Oct 11, 2012
    7
    The game was purchased entirely for its 3D support as I wanted to know what a first person shooter looked like in 3D. I can assure you that it was the least gimmicky most realistic feeling 3D that I have seen to date. Perhaps it was the perspective that made it feel so much more real, but the way that characters and parts of the map truly felt a distance away and that I was able to gauge my gameplay off my visuals in that added sense was a tremendous feeling. Without the 3D on I still thought the game looked beautiful, and in my opinion has some of the best graphics I've seen this gen. All of that aside the game faired okay. The first half felt slow and boring and took a while to get a handle on how to go into combat. After figuring out the mechanics, the sparsity of ammunition, and just general tactics the game pace picked up and became a lot more fun. The story felt about the same in pacing and while a lot of it seemed like a central idea with a bunch of loose connections. It felt like Crysis 2 wanted me to fill in the blanks on these tangents it brought in, but perhaps I was at a disadvantage for not having played the prequel. The music didn't do much for me either but it didn't feel out of place. Overall I felt the game to be fairly forgettable. It was fun once it got going but in retrospect is more of a novelty for its visual capabilities mixed with decent gameplay. I am pleased with the experience but at the same time I felt like I was left wanting more out of the experience. Expand
  19. Jul 7, 2012
    8
    Crysis 2 is a very interesting game with a lot of annoying bugs it still does not stop from being a great game. Crysis 2 8.5/10
  20. Jun 28, 2012
    9
    Crysis is a ahead-of-its-time shooter with still amazing graphics and great gameplay combined with a long and well plotted campaign, Crysis 2 is a brilliant game from start to finish
  21. May 28, 2012
    6
    Solid game. Awesome graphics, but combat was repetitive.
  22. May 8, 2012
    8
    Crysis 2 is a graphical wonder but the gameplay gets repetitive. Technically speaking, this game is one of the best. Image quality (it uses some form of anti-aliasing) is outstanding. Lighting and shadows are very impressive. But the game itself is good but not great. The cloak ability doesn't last long enough, making sneaking too tedious (sneak 20 feet, wait, sneak, wait, etc.) Enemies are bullet sponges which is not fun. Some enemies have armor plating and there are so many sparks and particle effects flying that I don't even know if my bullets are doing damage. The story is generic and the dialogue is earplug-worthy (and it can't be skipped). Weapons feel rather bland (although they look great--notice a trend here?). I bought this because Far Cry (same developer) is one of my favorite games. That was a game with good gameplay to match its visuals. Crysis 2, by comparison, falls short. Visuals: 10/10, Overall: 8/10. Expand
  23. May 4, 2012
    6
    This game is worth $10 max. That's it, don't pay a penny more. The story is predictable and cliche. The load times are incredibly long. I mean really long. It really is nothing new and the single person campaign is way too easy and short. Yes the some of the scenes look amazing, but the AI is so poor, the game is very easy to beat on any level. Far Cry was ground breaking. Crysis 1 was OK but crashed often and some of the game play was ridiculously tough. Crysis 2 look good, plays very easy, and gives you nothing new. I'm disappointed I payed more than $10. Expand
  24. Apr 22, 2012
    9
    Very good game overall.
    Pros:
    Well done campaign
    Amazing graphics
    Great multiplayer

    Cons: common lags
    Glitches on occasion

    7/10. Good game. A buy
  25. Mar 19, 2012
    7
    Generally a really good and fun game. It took a while for the plot to develop and engage the player (me). the storytelling was cheesy and cringe worthy in places - its almost as if the gameplay peppered with expletives left and right tries hard to pull it towards the mature player. not a fan of the AI used in the game as the enemies just ran around in circles in many places and made the harder play through just a tad too easy in many places. despite all this, I found myself hooked around the middle and wanted to play through to the end. not re-play worthy Expand
  26. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    Many people thought consoles would ruin this game, but i believe that much as been improved. Graphics are better than ever in this game and the controls always keep you on top of the game. the campaign was a blast with "wow" moments around every corner and gameplay that kept you playing. the multiplayer, however was promised to be a highlight, although i found it a bit disappointing. the multiplayer was halo style but it wasn't as exciting. Besides that this a great game. Expand
  27. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    Crysis 2 is a fresh take on the stagnating FPS genre. Gameplay is smooth, controls are tight and while firing bullets until an enemy dies is still an effective tactic, abilities like stealth, super speed and super strength can also be used. Though they may appear gimmicky from the outside, they are integrated well into the game and open up new ways of killing things. The graphics are amazing, with my eyes bleeding at irregular intervals. The story in Crysis 2 is better than most of its competitors but that's really not saying much (it gets points for not including Russian baddies). Multiplayer is distracting and sometimes entertaining but it won't replace your regular multiplayer game. This game doesn't reinvent the FPS but it does improve upon it. So if a better-than-average shooter is what you want then buy Crysis 2. But this is coming from a guy whose eyes won't stop bleeding. Expand
  28. Feb 14, 2012
    3
    this game is horrible, the graphichs are pretty good, but the framerate this game delivers is shocking, as soon as you enter a pretty big gunfight the framerate drops drasticly making it impossible to pull off good shots. its like they made it like a stealth game. i mean they try to tell you that you can play the way you want but really its only stealth that is effective. boring shooting, boring psycichs and a boring story and the way he says "cloack engaged" EVERYTIME you go into cloak is just so stupid. naah..this is nothing to spend your money on. 3/10 Expand
  29. Jan 6, 2012
    5
    Even if the visuals are excellent, that isn't enough to overshadow the fact that crysis 2, a game I was looking very forward to, was a huge dissapointment. The campaign isn't all that bad, but it is relatively short and nothing `special. Yes, there are some great set-piece moments and the visuals are outstanding but the campaign and multi player become stale very quickly. The competitive online is very generic aside from the nano suit abilities, though there is quite a few things you can unlock. Expand
  30. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    9/10 gameplay. 10/10 graphics. 8/10 story. overall 9/10. This game is fun! I only played the campaign and felt i got my $40 bucks worth. Just remember to experiment with different weapons and routes. Hope this helped.
  31. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Having not played the first Crysis I didn't know what to expect in the graphics as I've heard Crysis was and is now considered to be a graphical marvel so when I jumped into the sequel I was simply amazed by the best graphics I've seen in a long time from the smallest of details in the textures to the gorgeous effects on the water.......yes, I stared at the water ignoring the aliens. As for the story it contains sci-fi traditional components aliens,soldiers and New York while containing a range of characters, set pieces and cinematic moments unfortunately some characters are forgettable with the first few hours starting of slow with no exciting intro to get the story rolling. Being a newcomer myself the story was easy to follow so don't be put off if you are as well.

    As for the gameplay you wear a suit called Nanosuit 2.0 which gives you enhanced strength, speed and my favourite invisibility using these modes of power you use up energy which brings strategy to the battlefield for example have I got enough energy to walk past those group of enemies using invisibility if not I could activate armour and blast my way through with a shotgun. Given that example this game gets rid off that FPS corridor shooter feel by giving you tactical choices from the options in the environment to suit powers, suit upgrades (deflect bullets for one) and weapon attachments all easily selected through the slick interface. As for the campaign as a whole it is surprisingly very long which is great with the last couple of missions bringing spectacular set pieces and epic battles with your fellow allies while ending with a big shout out towards another sequel which is bound to get anyone excited.

    However Crysis 2 doesn't come without its problems with the A.I being the major one with the graphics and creative level design being so good it makes you think the A.I would have been created to match this but instead you get humans and aliens standing side by side, no joke and enemies just running in circles but when the enemy has been alerted you get some of the most interesting A.I with aliens leaping across buildings and vehicles and humans reacting to your footsteps by approaching you when invisible with these your presented with tense moments. Some times you can be interrupted with odd game mechanics like vehicles which are slow with no actual space to drive them around and when interacting with mounted machine guns you end sitting behind the wheal not the weapon which can lead to frustrating moments.

    And finally the multiplayer which to me seemed hopeless when announced as other games especially the ones in the FPS genre are considered addictive and to having the best multiplayer these being Call of Duty and Halo because of this I thought Crysis wouldn't shine in this section however it isn't as bad as I thought it would be with some interesting features brought to it directly from the story. These features being the suit powers being improved as you use them in matches which I thought was great as it tailored to my playstyle and the upgrades you could get which give you an edge over players while keeping yourself on edge as a player could have an upgrade that can outperform yours. You also get the obvious levels, unlocks and classes which to me were not so good as they don't present much customization compared to other games there is some performance issues as well with some matches suffering lag and not being returned to the lobby after a match overall though the multiplayer is well balanced. With all that Crysis 2 is the best looking game this year you could say the best ever in fact, with the developers making good use of this engine to make superb set pieces that enhance this fantastic story its just a bit disappointing to see poor A.I, odd design choices, forgettable characters and multiplayer that doesn't make me want to play again but with a fantastic story, epic set pieces, great gameplay and a tense soundtrack bring an amazing experience with features that should be implemented into any other FPS.
    Expand
  32. Nov 9, 2011
    5
    I love how most of you people think "Good Graphics equals Excellent Gameplay". Well, IT'S NOT. Open your eyes; Behind that beautiful visuals the controls are laggy and difficult to control. The story is crappy and too long. Multiplayer servers are disorganized and are much like BO servers, thus gameplay is equivalent to BF2. Overall it's JUST a game with nothing special.
  33. Oct 28, 2011
    8
    On the console, "Crysis 2" is not a sequel. "Crysis 2" is barely a sequel on PCs. While other games were content to let you play your game on your regular PC, the original "Crysis" required gamers to create custom machines, for thousands of dollars, to play "Crysis". Crytek could have re-released the original "Crysis" and called it a new franchise. The whole point is, the story in "Crysis 2" hardly makes any sense. We are given some flashbacks to the original "Crysis" that we never played, but those do not make any sense either. Where did the Nano-suit come from? Why are space aliens invading earth? Why am I fighting a mega corporation's private army when I should be saving earth from space aliens?! The non-sensical story does water down what is otherwise a fairly excellent first person shooter. Expand
  34. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    First off, let's just get this out of the way. We all know about Crysis and what it stands for. The graphics look amazing. Or stunning. They might look both. They might be able to cover both those superlatives. They're arguably the best you'll find on consoles (I don't own a PS3, so I haven't played Uncharted 2 or Killzone 3), and certainly the best on the PC. John Carmack may have something to say later this year when Rage finally comes out, but for right now, the gentlemen at Crytek are the undisputed champions of high end photo-realistic visuals.

    Crysis 2 is much more FPS than any other FPS you'll find these days. What I mean to say is that there's so much more depth and thought and complexity and features and options... it's just chock-full of gaming goodness that you won't find anywhere else. You can move around the environment and approach an engagement on your terms. The scripting is used sometimes for dramatic effect, yet doesn't go overboard to where you feel like you're stuck on a rail. Doors actually open for you, and not just for scripted AI companions. The weapons can be customized with various accessories and you can switch between firing modes. Assault rifles and SMGs can switch between semi auto, three round burst, and full auto. Yay. They removed the choke on the shotgun so you can't adjust the pellet spread, which is a letdown. However, this does give it more of a specialized role in the arsenal. Unlike CoD, where accessories like red dot and ACOG sights were a nice boon to the shooting yet were not options to be chosen, Crysis 2 allows for on-the-fly modification. This is a powerful tool to be used in the midst of combat, not just before or after like you'd imagine. For example, you can snipe at targets with a DSG-1 sniper rifle, get caught by surprise by a melee alien at close range, and immediately switch to a reflex sight and blow it away. This sort of flexibility is quite useful and ultimately a feature that many other FPSs could stand to borrow/copy. The days of playing Modern Warfare 2, where an EMP disables your red dot sight and you have to purposefully seek out another M4A1 with iron sights, should be well behind us.

    Also, I did notice and appreciate how they modeled the pistol at the beginning. It was instantly obvious to me that the pistol was empty and needed to be reloaded, because the slide was locked back. So immediately, you know you need to go hunt for ammo and reload that sucker. It's a nice touch and shows an attention to detail.

    There's a visor and nanovision mode that's super handy. You switch into the visor and tag enemies to lock onto their location at all times. It works similarly to the tagging feature in Battlefield Bad Company 2 and GRAW. Even while behind cover, you'll be able to keep track of where hostiles are and where they're moving to. The Nanovision is a step beyond regular night vision, and works more like infrared vision. Because Crysis 2 is so detailed and there's foliage, debris, and random crates scattered everywhere around New York, you're going to need to switch it on in order to detect the heat signatures of enemies hiding in the sumptuous chaos. The Nanosuit is half of what makes Crysis 2 stand head and shoulders above every other FPS out there. And by every other FPS, I mean COD and COD clones. It's the star of the game and its various abilities add depth to the gameplay. Cloak and become just like the Predator, stalking lone soldiers and stabbing them through the back, or hide in a bush somewhere and snipe your targets in the head from beyond their range of vision. Armor mode turns you into a walking tank and you basically feel like RoboCop did on the mean streets of Detroit. It feels slower and chunkier, with loud thuds from your feet impacting the ground as you trot along. The in-game upgrade system allows you to augment these basic suit modes with even more impressive attributes, like slower energy drain or higher deflection against projectiles. Energy management is part and parcel of the suit and must be taken into account during combat, bringing to mind the great space sims of the 90s. Crytek seems to be a company made of gamers who've played great games and want to keep those great games alive in spirit. I commend them for that.
    Expand
  35. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    By far one of 2011's greatest releases, and one of EA's most amazing games. The beauty of this game is awe-inspiring, beautiful, fantastic graphics. The game has some of the best game play I've ever seen in a shooter, very entertaining. A great campaign, with a great story line. A very unique, and addicting multiplayer. All in all, Crysis 2 in an amazing game.
  36. Sep 17, 2011
    8
    a funny game to play. it's visually amazing, the action is nice, and i especially liked the stealth sections. i only disliked that the game bugged sometimes, and the enemies are nearly impossible to kill if you don't immediately get a head shot.
  37. Sep 16, 2011
    3
    There are some things that I liked about Crysis 2 first of all this game looks fantastic the environments look beautiful it does have its frame-rate issues but still the environments looks super realistic and beautiful and the shadow effects are the best I have seen in any game like this and the animations are good and the character models while not up to par with the rest of the graphics look good. The music in this game is great and suits the environments most of the time and the voice acting is good just not great. Thats it thats all the good I see in this game let me tell me how many problems this game has which just totally took away any enjoyment I could get out of it. First of all the story is boring and doesn't make any sense it is basically about some alien invasion in New York and you have to stop it you have become the predator some gus who becomes super human when he wears some suit and guess what you become the predator after the original guy who was the predator kills himself for no reason really! The game is about stopping an alien invasion but the guards are out of their way to annihilate you despite the fact you are trying to destroy the aliens and save NY just like they are but they think they can do better if they get your suit. The controls are just awful for consoles holding the X button open doors, using RS of all buttons to punch and stealth kill and the LS button to charge and holding the A button to long jump all these controls make some sections of this game a pain to play like at a few points in the game I go to stealth kill a guard but the controls are messed up so I instead hit him with my weak punch and it takes me too long to make long jumps because of holding the bloody A button. The energy bar is a total pain it depletes like there is no tomorrow once you are using it whats worse that when you are using it while in combat armor it depletes completely after you shoot twice and while the enemies are shooting at you depleting the your health and armor anyway and you have to use the night vision goggles in some areas of the game which also deplete the energy bar that is just ridiculous. The game's A.I is stupid as hell you de-cloak for 2 seconds in an outdoor areas all the guards all of sudden know where you are and start shooting when you try to sneak up behind a guy while not in cloak he will see you when you go a little near him but won't hit you or even turn around sometimes guards will see you even when you are cloaked and I have seen guards when they are on caution they glitch out move around in circles or move towards walls like a bunch of retards some guards also float in thin air while patrolling. All that was just for the human enemies the alien enemies are more retarded they slap you 3 times than dance around the area like monkeys and than slap you again sometimes they are right in front of you when you are visible but don't attack you when you are cloaked they all of sudden see you and attack at that the time the human enemy A.I don't know what to do so they shoot around everywhere like retards. There are no real tactical options in the game there are like 4 in each area out of which 2 are instant death you try and using turrets in the game you can't cloak you can't use armor and once you get every one knows where you are than you can stealth throught the subway but guess out the subway just leads you a little firther in the very same area where more enemies are there ready to blow your brains off the game basically relies on two strategies one cloak and attack than hide once enemies go insane two, Armor and attack than hide when enemies go beserk just the same thing every time they are the only ones that actually works right where are the tactical options? Multiplayer is just a COD clone with even more cheap Armor and Cloak abuse by players which makes a total pain in the back side. I wanted to really like this game thats why I kept on playing more and more despite its terrible problems hoping it would get better but it didn't and it came to the point where I said screw it. It is just sad to see a game with so much potential and hype get ruined and crippled by so many problems but I guess all its hype, promotion and paid reviews got it such a high score from the critics. Expand
  38. Sep 2, 2011
    9
    It's been a little while since I've had so much fun with the campaign in a shooter, it's a blast and packs some truly intense, and one or two surprisingly emotional moments in it, also this may just be the best looking game I've ever played, and there's a lot of action going on all the time, and surprisingly has no slow down or frame rate issues at all, and you can pretty much approach any combat scenario any way you like, you can go invisible and quietly sneak up behind enemies and take the out, or snipe with silenced weapons from a distance, or pop on the advanced armor and run into the center of them like a tank and blow them all away, or a mixture of the two, and this also carries over to the multiplayer, which is a lot of fun, and one of the more unique multiplayer games out there, sound is fantastic, and the controls work well most of the time, the only complaint I have with them is that too many commands are mapped to the same buttons at times, and the arrow keys which access you gear are at times unresponsive, and will either do nothing, or bring up the wrong gear, and the story made no sense, nothing is explained, they just assume you played the first, which was a PC exclusive, and the A.I. can be completely brain dead at times, but this is still a fantastic game, one worthy of your time, and is one of my favorite games that have come out this year, I highly recommend. Expand
  39. Aug 16, 2011
    7
    Fun, Innovative, and Well-Written but not worth buying. A great rental on a boring night or day, but nothing to be super excited about. It is a "must-play" but its only a must-play if you dont have anything better to do. it gets a little repetitive and it just looks a little cartoony.
  40. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    great game, one of my favorites
    great singleplayer and visuals, although the story is a bit confusing at times.
    multiplayer is also amazing, and not a rip off of any other fps. does any other shooter give you the choice to choose from armor and invisibilty in any situation? i think not
  41. Aug 14, 2011
    6
    Great game, Graphics were amazing, game play was almost perfect. I can across some bugs through the game. I think of this game is kind of a new and improved halo, the suit rocks. The only this i disliked was the story it has been done before. Could have been more creative.
  42. Aug 13, 2011
    1
    This game is actually really bad. The storyline is cool and I love the graphics but playing the campaign and multiplayer is just boring and impossible. I got this game thinking it was going to be sweet but then it turned out to be terrible. The multiplayer is alright and I sometimes enjoy playing it but it's not like Call of Duty or Halo, those are fun games. So don't waist your money and use it on something good. Expand
  43. Jul 28, 2011
    8
    Very enjoyable game, good campaign though it does start to get boring towards the end and its a bit easy even on super-soldier difficulty due to the fact that once you have all the suit upgrades you can simply stealth your way past most enemies. Also a very entertaining multiplayer game, thats only ruined by inconsistent servers and a few minor glitches and bugs. But all in all one of the better alternatives to cod and battlefield. Expand
  44. Jul 19, 2011
    2
    This game is absolute garbage, the graphics are good for about half of the game then this bug occurs where you have lines going across the screen and huge rectangular grain. This game was a complete waste of money. Crytek has no plans to fix the aforementioned problems even though they have admitted to it on their own forums.

    Don't buy this game, there are so many better playing and
    working shooters out there. I Expand
  45. Jul 7, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 isn't one of those love hate games, it's one of those love or "I suck at the multiplayer, so this game sucks (which that opinion was formed through the beta)". I honestly thought I'd seen it all in the beta myself, but I yearned (as a fan of the original Crysis... which I played on the PC and I found way more enjoyable and couldn't imagine it with a 360 or PS3 controller) for the singleplayer, because I remembered how Jaw dropped I was, and how repetitive and bored I became with the Multiplayer. Since Crysis, Crysis 2 has improved A LOT. Not only is the story more cinematic, and a little less open world, Crysis 2 delivers just about everything I would want out of a Sci-Fi shooter. For starters, I all my friends are Halo fans, and I never got into it. Finally I have a game, that has some form of "realism" with great gameplay and is Sci-fi and involves man kind fighting not only aliens, but a deadly virus... somewhat like the flood. The Singleplayer puts you through the boots of "Alcatraz", a Marine grunt who escapes a sinking sub, and later an alien ship blows his buddies to bits in the water, and is washed ashore, and saved by, "The Prophet"... which is just some black guy (from the first game) and gives Alcatraz the Nanosuit because he's infected with the virus that's killing off the human race, from what I understand was started by aliens. Upon the Prophet doing himself a favor, you march on to find Gould and from there follow epic orders that no ordinary soldier (excluding Cpt. Price and 'Soap') could accomplish by him/herself. The game has features, such as cloaking and armor, which gives you a huge edge against enemies. Cloaking, allows you to sneak around and avoid unnecessary combat or even eliminate personnel undetected. Armor allows you to... well tank; oh and survive long drops. The AI ironically is challenging, even when I played it on Normal. They didn't seem to be scripted, as in if I walk 'here' they'll automatically detect me, when they turned their heads, the actually noticed me, which reminded me of Metal Gear, except better. With the AI acting life like, and the environment being so beautiful even on an XBox 360, you really feel like your in New York. When you first leave an infected park and enter the city, you have a sense of intimidation with the towers and an alien ship sends a siren blurring the screen, creating a dramatic cinematic effect but also made me realize this is exactly like War of the World's... except a little more haunting because I'm a little man in an occupied zone. The sounds also made my ears orgasm. Very rarely in games, do the weapons sound so awesome, or so much like weapons, that when firing at an enemy, I'll pump out a few more rounds to give it that movie style shooting sequence. The Multiplayer is anything but disappointing. Comparing it to Call of Duty is a little far fetched because, although it does take the "Call of Duty leveling" system, the gameplay is completely different with the cloaking and armor abilities. Using both of them actually does make a difference and it isn't like Call of Duty 4, in the sense that you can't run and gun and do well. It's possible but with veteran players, all you can hope for is an even K:D ratio, because taking your time and working with your team is a necessity. So I can't recommend this game to the fast paced, hardcore COD fans, or 6 year olds. But I would recommend this to the non-Halo, non-COD, or just anybody who's looking for a good, new, different, beautiful, original, entertaining game. So, in conclusion: Singleplayer is a must experience, at least rent it if not buy it because it's not too challenging, but not too easy either on the hardest difficulty, "Super Soldier". And the Multiplayer is different, however fun once you get used to it and is NOT an unenjoyable experience, give it some time and you'll love it as much as you love... whatever you love now. On the downside however: I did notice that my XBox Elite, showed it's true colors whenever there was a lot of explosions or commotion going on, and I noticed a frame rate of about 10, but it quickly fixed itself to the steady 30 FPS it holds constantly. I did not notice a frame rate drop at all after 12 hours of Multiplayer gameplay... so take that Eric Hirshberg. Among other things, there's occasional C Grade glitches (glitches that are noticeable and delay the player, but do not prevent the player from proceeding on or crash the game), and yes the C grade glitches are hilarious. And on one more final minor problem, the controls do get overwhelming at times... in Singleplayer, I forget which buttons do what or something, but since there's less in Multiplayer, I can't kick it there. If your interested in this game, it's worth the $60. And if you don't think so, give it time. Expand
  46. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    Crysis 2 is a very interesting game that picks up and releases only the end of the game and its great the passing game. The first mode is a mode of passage form the ghost he is very interesting as you do in the stealth mode. 2 mode is a gun when you go out and shoot and you get all nelya to the left and the right to only one error in Developer's about it so quickly wasted energy. Others were removed 2 Developer's regime is a regime of speed and power mode, Crysis 2 has two modes would have even better. The developers have made one mistake stupid enough protagonist Alcatraz not not say a word as something silly in our time well, it's very small cons of srovneniyu with the advantages of the game such as the positive side of his suit. Types of shooter games have changed the usual shooter shooters such as Call of Duty, Battlefield. So as impurity shooters as Bulletstorm, Duke Nukem. And there are half as stealth stealth already long gone and will take place stealth sex stelae and games such as Crysis 2 and Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Deus Ex came out had not yet left the first game of Crysis 2! Expand
  47. Jun 29, 2011
    7
    The good: Graphics are great, Music and sound effects are good, Long campaign The Bad: Terrible story. While the multiplayer is good it´s simply not addictive, i stopped playing it after 2 weeks. enemies are boring and generic, the suit feels underpowerd, dull characters. no replay value, theres no reason to go back to the game once you have finnished it. Graphics: 9
    Gameplay: 7
    Story: 4
    MP: 6
    Sound: 8
    Replay value: 5

    Recommendation: Rent it
    Expand
  48. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    I have to say i haven't played this game in about a month but i still think its fun, the campaign is good enough. Its not short, the graphics are stunning and the missions are fun and not repetetive, but the AI are retarded, i mean they must have made them this way because in supersoldier all i have to do is go invisible and break all their puny little necks. The Multiplayer is fun, its not as good as black ops, battlefield etc but its a blast with a group of friends as you all really try and compete, the one problem with the multiplayer is that people are n00bs and sad overwieght d*cks, they either camp invisibly or are such a high level that they can see where you are even when your invisible, it sort of defeats the point. Expand
  49. Jun 17, 2011
    8
    Very good campaign and decent typical MP with a nonexistent online community. The armor abilities do add alittle to the FPS experience but not enough to continue to play online. Online lag is a problem with no dedicated servers.
  50. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    The game looks fantastic, I can't recall anything looking this good and the musical score is probably the best I've ever heard but if I had to sum this game up in a phrase I would say All dressed up and no place to go. The story just isn't very good and I know this will anger some people but it feels a bit long at points but still a solid game. If they crafted their storytelling and characters as well as they do the look of the game it will be the best game in history. Expand
  51. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    What initially proves to be an engaging, beautiful game eventually falls into a repetitive, incomprehensible mess. Enemy variety is damn year zero: you will be killing the same four variations of the same model for the entire game, with three "big boss" exceptions (in which the "big boss" is the same model/enemy type). The plot gradually becomes so convoluted that you end up rolling your eyes at the "triumphant" conclusion in which you... well.. The grandiose music and epic cinematography lead me to believe that SOMETHING important happened. I'm just not sure what that is.

    Even on the harder difficulty levels, a combination of smart stealth kills and decent aim makes this game far too easy. Surprisingly, you can avoid combat almost entirely in some of the maps if you stealth to the correct locations, recharge, then proceed.

    With all that said, I enjoyed it for a few hours, then beat the same solely due to my completionist tendencies. But it's never a good sign when the ending comes as a relief...
    Expand
  52. Jun 14, 2011
    7
    great story great grapics but not so great mutiplayer this game can only be great if you have played cod and halo and have that experence. worth £30 wo buy when it came out.
  53. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    An absolute blast from start to finish. I didn't really care about the story, but it didn't really bother me because 'holy crap I have to fight off a mech!'. The multiplayer borrows elements from about every other shooter out there. Is that necessarily a bad thing, though?
  54. Jun 2, 2011
    8
    Crysis 2 is an amazing FPS. I never expected it to be so great. The graphics are phenomenal, especially when playing in 3D. The controls are easy to use and the gameplay is fluent. Multiplayer is a good mix of the Halo and *choke*... Call of Duty franchises as it takes a futuristic, sci-fi setting and blends with the control scheme, kill streaks, and... of course, those bad-ass kill-cams. It's also greatly appreciated that the weapons are balanced and take more time to kill people (thank you maximum-armor). And thank you Crytek for making the killstreaks more difficult to get, as opposed to that of Call of Duty. Camping for kill streaks in this game is a rarity, as you have to actually go to your victim's corpse and pick up the dogtag. Multiplayer-wise this game is a definite 10/10. But the Single-player Campaign does pull the score down a bit. As amazingly cinematic and action-packed as the campaign is, the story could have used some work. Actually, so could a few more things. The A.I. were excellent and deadly, most of the time. But seemed to dumb down (a lot) when you were in a close-quarters situation. They could go from shooting at you dead-on from a mile away to standing there, doing nothing while you hack away at thier squid faces. I also found that the difficulty settings don't really change much. Every difficulty feels the same, with maybe some slight, un-noticable differences. (I suggest going for "Super-soldier" right off the bat. You can use that for bragging-rights when you beat it, and it'll give you some pretty sweet achievements too). My final gripe about the game's single-player is that almost everytime you're in an awesome cinematic, it ends with you getting knocked unconcious or messed up somehow. I give the single-player campaign a 6.5/10. My final rating for this game is a solid 8/10. Expand
  55. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    I like shooters but I loved Crysis 2. This is a shooter with everything. The graphics are stunning, the gameplay superb and the story is interesting. The suit is what its all about. The invisibility and different ways you can choose to approach a situation is brilliant. I loved the Nanovision, I mean who doesn't think vision like a Predator isn't cool? It reminded me on more than one occasion of Halo, but that's not a bad thing. I completed on Veteran and will go back for Super Soldier. A must own game. Expand
  56. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    The Graphics are top notch, as expected. The sound is phenomenal and the presentation is unparalleled. Although gameplay is not all that original, it does not have to be as the sum of its parts more than make up for it in this aspect. With a lengthy campaign, gorgeous visuals and great presentation, Crysis 2 gets a score of 9.810.
  57. Jun 1, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I picked up this game after watching a few pre-view videos, played for as long as I could (3 hours) and have not touched it since. The Graphics are pretty but thats about all I like about this game and Graphics are not everything Expand
  58. May 29, 2011
    6
    The A.I means that you are fighting an army of retards. It also looks like the Aliens are Retards as well. To finish the game go into stealth mode, snipe all the baddies from long range and move through the level picking off any remaining. The A.I does ruin the game. That said the graphics are excellent and the game is fun to play through. A good solid 6 out of 10
  59. May 28, 2011
    8
    Crysis 2 has very enjoyable campaign mode with excellent graphics for the Xbox / PS3 . However, if you are one of these lucky individuals who owns a super PC and played the first Crysis in max detail then you will certainly feel let down by it. The multiplayer mode tries predictable to emulate the COD series and is reasonable enjoyable but you will quickly return back to playing COD.... Worth Getting. Expand
  60. May 20, 2011
    8
    Excellent shooter, it has pretty good graphics (albeit with a few glitches here and there) great feel and sound and i just find it very fun to play. I love both cod and halo games and this one has the best of both in it (tight controls, button layouts etc.) i just have one problem with this game that is in alot of new games and that is the excessive swearing. i know we live in the real world and people swear and blah blah blah but i dont need it in my entertainment, its as if developers think that games are more hip/cooler/edgier with profanity. oh well, apart from that if you love shooters you have to have this. Expand
  61. May 16, 2011
    7
    Like going on a turkey shoot with the Predator's cloaking device.

    Crysis 2 isn't a bad game but it isn't a great game either. While it's storyline is engaging and it's graphics and sound in particular are strong in places, i couldn't help but feel that it didn't live up to it's potential. It's the story of a marine who finds himeslf in posession of a mysterious cryogenic battle suit which
    gives him much amplified battle skills, strength, stamina, tactical awareness, and, for a short period at a time before it has to rechrge, invisibility and stealth capabilities (think predator, including the same sound effects and heat vision).The story revolves around defending many, (many) different areas in new york city from a hostile alien invasion. Crysis was the daddy of graphics heavy PC shooters when it was released a year or three back. It got lots of accolades in that area, and naturally when the sequel hit consoles, the first question was "how does it look?". Well, it looks (and sounds) great for the most part, but the problem is that quite a few things stop you from enjoying that. Little graphical niggles like texture pop-in here and there as well as occasionally dodgy frame rates and animations get in the way, and also, repetitive and re-used level layouts, textures, samey looking layouts, and a general "cut and paste" feel to about 75% of all the areas in the game means that by about halfway through the story, you've stopped looking because you've seen everything the cryengine 3 graphics engine has to offer many times over.

    By then though, the game's REAL problems will be starting to bug you just a little bit more than that......

    I can live with graphics issues, re-using levels and ojectives, and other generally cheap ways of stretching a game's budget or pushing timelines, but what i can't live with is things that constantly lift you out of the narrative experience and remind you you're playing a buggy, underpolished videogame that somebody should have given more playtesting time to. Cysis 2 has that in spades, from dumb, buggy A.I. to poor and occasionally confusing level design, to enemies that will just plain vanish into thin air just as you've got a bead on them, or worse still, spawn sudenly behind you and kick the sh1t out of you in a room you'd just checked and cleared for enemies 5 seconds ago. All of this is common. Once, i had just sniped a lone soldier from a vantage point, and cloaked to await more targets. An identical looking AI enemy came along a minute or so later, exclaimed "huh?" looked down and saw his buddy, cried out, "oh no, he's dead", ducked for cover for fear of being shot, then after about 5 or 10 seconds, stood up and discovered him again with the same "huh? " and proceeded to repeat the process over and over again until i put him out of his misery with a headshot.

    When dealing with the game's human AI targets, this ease of stealth combined with buggy programming lead to a lot of "cloak, pump a clip into somebody, run away, hide, repeat" gameplay, which, combined with the game's samey environments, grows old long before the lengthy storyline is done. The game's alien enemies however are not so simple. Where some of the human AI will have you frustrated with their ease, some of the alien ones will have you chewing your controller with their general cheapness and overly hard-to-kill programming on higher difficulties. In many instances late in the game for example, the cloak is pretty much the only way you can progress through an area full of enemies, as standing your ground results in extermination from all angles by swathes of enemies. Regardless which way you come at it from, too much of this game revolves around stealth killing. That has it's place in most modern shooters, but in Crysis 2 it's so wall-to-wall that you tire of it quickly. In fact, owards the end of the game's lengthy and convoluted plotline, i found myself just stealthing past absolutely everybody as much as i could, purely to move the plot along in hope of reaching the end.

    That, coming from someone who's from the "you absolutely positively have to kill every last motherf*ker in the room" school of thinking when it comes to FPS games, is definitely not a compliment..

    Other things, like the overly complicated waepon and customisation control options add to the "meh" feel of this game. It's a shame, because Crysis 2 had a lot of promise. It's not terrible, it has, very good graphics and sound, and a lot going for it otherwise, but it was let down by lack of polish in too many areas for me.

    One to rent or to buy discounted only. There are too many better FPS games out there to justify paying full price for this one
    Expand
  62. May 16, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A jolt of energy is given when first playing the visually impressive single player until the caffeine wears off. One sedative that leads to drowsiness can be the infinite windows sometimes found during missions. Eliminate a roomful of enemies only to investigate a portion of the map may feel has something hidden(?), only to return to the previous room that has a new batch of enemies spawned. As for the overall sound in game? It does its job for providing good ambiance. Another downer is the story arch itself. The first few stages are nothing more than a wild goose chase of the ever elusive Doctor Gould, which not only becomes tediously frustrating, but predictable as well. He'll ask to meet at spot X, you lay waste to all in front of you and on the sides, only to reach the check point and hear him tell you, he's had to move on, now meet him at location Y.

    The multi-player is refreshing from the other shooters on the market but is not really friendly to those who like to pick up and just start playing. Little nuances determine a players experience online, so reading up on some tips is recommended.
    Expand
  63. May 16, 2011
    7
    Nice single player, but storyline is not very good... crysis 1 was better. Graphic is impressive. Multiplayer is no skill based. I think that this game should be improved more...
  64. May 15, 2011
    4
    There's no accounting for taste but come on! Sure this can be fun at times but when you turn invisible and the enemy suddenly stop looking for you and you just keep repeating the same old camo and kill routine its time to admit that its not great.
    The first Crysis was far better as the enviroments were more open world and obviously it was a new concept. The urban setting is getting old and
    is quite boring.
    Graphics are nothing to write home about. Anyone who plays PC games too will not be impressed by them. Disappointing on the whole, I traded it in quickly having grinded half way through and finally decided there are better games to be playing.
    Expand
  65. May 13, 2011
    8
    Crysis 2 had a pretty long single story campain which is impressive these days when multiplayer is pretty much all the counts. The graphics are top notch and the story was fun enough but once the final mission was done I felt like I had experianced all this game had to offer. It is definatly worth a rental but the multiplayer wasn't enough to hold my attention and make it a title worth hanging on to. Expand
  66. May 11, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this game. The graphics, storyline, level design, action, all of it was top notch. I kept telling my kid, this is how HALO should feel. The campaign was long and I liked that, makes me feel like I got my moneys worth. I played the multiplayer, it was ok, felt like I was having a shootout with crazy guns in a small closet. I didnt buy it for the multiplayer though, there are better games to play online. I bought this for the campaign and it was great. Expand
  67. May 10, 2011
    4
    Such a broken mess of a game. I was never a fan of the original Crysis or Crysis Warfare, but Cry2 makes them look like solid gold. Bugs, bad AI, awful multi player. This game is a contender for worst game of 2011, easily.
  68. May 10, 2011
    9
    This game has truly amazing graphics and a campaign that, while a bit on the short side, was fun enough to make me want to replay several levels just to try new approaches (i.e. stealth assassination v.s. charging in guns blazing). Though it does seem to have some minor lag issues the multi-player is well done and has enough game modes to stay entertaining for quite some time.
  69. May 10, 2011
    4
    single player is good, gets a bit boring as it's quite repetitive, multiplayer is a disaster, lots of lag and invisible players make it frustrating and unplayable...
  70. May 8, 2011
    9
    Extremely good sound and graphics, game play is good and has a good solid campaign. I recommend to any hardcore shooter fan. Pretty easy on normal but challenging on tougher skill levels, lots of cool gadgets to use and being able to customize your weapon on the fly is nice. Nano suit is a blast to utilize in the game, gives you the sense of being predator.
  71. May 2, 2011
    9
    Awsome game, great multiplayer but the controls are kind of clunky I found. It had a long campaign and the graphics rock. I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants to play a good fps.
  72. Apr 28, 2011
    6
    is nice looking game but i believe it is the kool aid that too many have sipped. opinions seem so positive for a title that does not warrant. i play on my xbox but it feels very PC. some may like this, i do not. i do not care about the squid heads or even my own, graphics alone cannot draw me in.
  73. Apr 27, 2011
    4
    Online is laggy and hit boxes are horrible. Was adictive though. Decent game, not worth buying or renting imo. The Graphics are the only aspect worth mentioning about this game.
  74. Apr 24, 2011
    9
    The graphics blow me away. I like playing cod and and the multiplyer this is just like that with a twist and better graphics. I do have to say it is a bit messy but it's fun.
  75. Apr 23, 2011
    7
    oh crysis 2 you know i want to give you a ten and i know you want me to give you a ten but underneath your sexy good looks and loving winks across the table your just a average shooter with good multiplayer your my guilty pleasure but i cant be with you my love for you have very little unlockables to find and your multiplayer is tiring after the 1000 kill but know i love you when i take you back to the game store and know i want their to be a sequel cos your fertile ground for improvement my friend. Expand
  76. Apr 22, 2011
    8
    Really enjoyed the nanosuit mechanic. Adds variety and makes it feel somewhat unique among other shooters. Also, customizing your weapon attachments in game is really cool. Obviously it looks great and lighting is fantastic, but AI is really sloppy. Voice acting is pretty bad and story is meh. Multiplayer is fun, but sorta generic.
  77. MJR
    Apr 22, 2011
    7
    It really is a beautiful looking game and the armor controls were definitely made for console. It handles well but it just doesn't have any soul. The first Crysis was very good and I would give it a 9 but the sequel feels shallow. I've got to be honest I hate playing most games where you character has no voice. There is no connection. Why would I care what happens? Nomad in the first one didn't talk much but at least he said something. There is also no connection with the supporting cast. It just didn't feel as good the first and the multiplayer wasn't that great. A solid 7 for Crysis 2. Expand
  78. Apr 20, 2011
    6
    Sure, it has amazing graphics but it's just so boring to play. You spend most of your time going from point A to point B only to find that point B was the wrong place so then you go to point C, get raped by pissed off soldiers, escape to pissed off soldiers only to be kidnapped by the pissed off soldiers only to escape again only to have to whole cycle start all over again but with aliens instead. The story is useless and the setting is just plain overused. Why must every single disaster be in New York, there are other cities in the world. After about five hours of this I just gave up. I couldn't bring myself to play anymore. You get from level to level through boring cutscenes where someone tells you what to do and where to do it with q slightly altered version of the main theme playing in the backround. Once again, Hans Zimmer does not disappoint with his music. The gameplay is downright frustrating. Frequent glitches will freeze you in place until you have to reset the game (sometimes even the console when it completely freezes up), have enemies walking in mid-air and sometimes not even die. At one stage I had no weapons, they just vanished in front of me. I thought it was part of the mission but after getting killed by about twenty soldiers at once i respawned with them. The controles work fine but can get very clunky and often get you killed. This review is only based on the story mode as I never went near multiplayer. From what I've heard it's pretty good. Then again from what I've heard the campaign is amazing. Overall, campaign is boring, graphics and soundtrack are great, gameplay is glitchy as hell and multiplayer is apparently pretty good. I was extremely disappointed with this game Expand
  79. Apr 19, 2011
    9
    In a time where first person shooters are as common as teens facebooking, crysis 2 manages to stand out. The single player game contains gameplay elements that aren't commonly seen in fps games while spanning atleast twice the legnth. You can approah the game in many different ways as well. For example, you can activate your stealth and silently take out your targets, activate your armor mode and tank your way through, or use a combination of both. The multiplayer share lots with the cod games. Some game types, level up system, even perks all resemble something found in a cod game. Even so, the game is also different by adding the suits special abilities. If you like shooters and are looking for something new, this game is for you. If you are either tired of shooter or don't like them at all, skip it. Follow me on twitter for live tweets from E3 2011 @thetruthbites. I will be posting unfiltered news and behind the scenes pics. Expand
  80. Apr 19, 2011
    7
    Crysis 2 was not what I expected. I was expecting an amazing shooter with top-notch graphics. Sadly it's just a decent shooter. I will however say that this game looks amazing! Lighting, shadows, everything looks spectacular. The single player story sucks tho. Nothing interesting. I do like the freedom to take enemies tho. It gives you more of a sense of freedom then just running straight through shooting all your enemies. You can sneak, snipe them from afar or run straight through with armour on. I don't like the multiplayer tho. It's unbalanced and nothing exciting. But it is still good fun. Just nothing revolutionary. I can't really recommend this game. It's not terrible but so disappointing. I'd say check out other shooters. Expand
  81. Apr 17, 2011
    8
    If you're a jaded FPS console gamer that is sick and tired of linear, scripted shooters with no sandbox and no freedom to explore, then you very likely will enjoy this game. Its actually a far superior game to Crysis 1 and Warhead in my opinion. Those games had terrible characterisation and dumb plot-lines. In Crysis 2 they aren't half bad. The controls and gamapley feels a lot more fluid and easy to pickup, the game feels a lot more polished than the original too. Though its still not without its show stopping bugs. The levels aren't quite as expansive, but theyre still pretty large with lots of areas to explore. And that is where this game falls apart the most, and needs to play catch up a bit. There is no incentive to explore the levels, you have recharging health, so no need to seek out med-packs, and because ammo stashes are littered almost everywhere, there's no real need to going looking for hidden ammo dumps. There just isn't enough done to encourage and then reward exploration of the levels. Crytek really need to take a look at BioShock for how to reward and ecnourage off the beaten path exploration. I wont talk about the graphics becuase they're awesome and anyone with eeyes can see how visually stunning the game looks from screenshots and videos. One thing I did notice though is that sometimes there seemed to be not enough enemies in a level. I dunno if that is a pay off they had to make due to the expansive level design and graphically impressive visuals, but even if its not, the combat always felt a bit too small. Though the audio did a great job of making it seem bigger than it actually was.

    Combat wise the game is very good, though the A.I is a bit hit and miss. Sometimes its excellent, storming and out flanking you, using tactics. Other times its completely idiotic and gets stuck running into a wall. Also the powers weren't handled right IMO. Cloak is way too powerful, its basically an invisibility cheat, it takes all the fun out of being stealthy and hiding in the shadows, which isn't a good thing if you're a stealthy player like me. As for the armour power, I don't understand why it needs to be activated at all? I mean really?... look at the Halo shield, its always on and depletes as you take hits. Would have been much simpler, and less complex just to do it that way. Would have left more controls free for other actions too. I think making more of the suit powers more passive like strength and speed is the right direction. And the suit upgrades are a great idea if last minute and poorly implemented. For C3, I hope they improve the RPG aspects, with a better interface and a lot more choices, upgradable levels and so forth. Same with modding weapons. I don't like th idea that we can do that at any time. Would have been much better if modding was only allowed at specific armoury / load-out points. Anyway those elements could really have lifted this game a lot higher on the re-playability meter, so hopefully next time Crytek will focus on them a lot more.

    All in all though I did enjoy the game. It wasn't short like a ton of other recent FPS games ive played. CoD *cough*. Great effort and a keeper. PS. I don't play MP anymore, so I have no clue what that is all about.
    Expand
  82. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 is fully worth the $60 dollar price tag. The graphics are simply stunning and adds a level of depth that other Xbox 360 games have not done recently. The graphics are polar opposite of Homefront which has TERRIBLE graphics for a game of this generation. I applaud Crytek for their attention to detail. Past the great graphics, the campaign's story is engaging and fun to play through as well as lengthy but not too long to seem dragged on. It took me 8 to 9 hours to play through the first time and am more than willing to give it another playthrough. The only bad thing about the campaign is the A.I because occasionally the characters will get stuck on a wall or just act out of normal behavior. Also the A.I detection system is occasionally weird because you can be entirely cloaked and they will just see you as if your clear as day but it doesn't usually cause any major problems. The framerate on Crysis 2 is surprisingly good for a game with this good of graphics (no problems to speak of through 10+ hours of campaign playtime). If you dont have Xbox Live I would still highly recommend buying this at full price for the campaign alone but if you do have Live, then multiplayer further enhances the overall experience. I'll start out by saying the multiplayer needs a few matchmaking tweaks but nothing to influence buying the game or not. The matchmaking doesnt find players as fast as say COD but as long as you can wait 1 to 2 minutes without raging, you will be fine. Host migration isnt the greatest but it doesnt happen all that often anyways. Depending on your connection, the hit markers/bullet damage can be a little messy when people activate maximum armor in the middle of a firefight which cause you to sometimes having to empty the majority of your clip into an enemy to kill them. On the positive side, the maps are all well made with the exception of lighthouse. The matches are pretty fast paced and the spawns are basically random so dont be surprised to spawn and see an enemy within a second or two. I found the spawns to not be that bad despite what was said previously, I think it reduces camping a bit and keeps things fresh and fast paced. The cloaking is actually not too O.P because you will kill someone who is cloaked very fast to keep it fair and its not too hard to see someone cloaking as long as you pay a little attention to the possibility. Its a good comparison to make with Halo because of the smaller sized maps and the abilities your character has online along with the effort it takes to kill one person. Please dont think this is a run and gun like COD because you will be terribly mistaken. Its very strategic as to managing your suits energy and if you run and gun, odds are you'll fail pretty hard. Bottom line is this game is a must buy for FPS lovers and the modes are well worth the $60 bucks. Im sure the small issues with multiplayer will be fixed by Crytek soon so buy it, its one of the best purchases I've made in a while. Expand
  83. Apr 16, 2011
    10
    I really thought that with all the hype going on that this would be a good game but I rented it to make sure and its absolutely horrible. Its the biggest Call Of Duty knock-off I have ever seen, Crytek has copied everything from the killstreaks and effects down to the perks and ability to slide after sprinting. This game is set in 2023 which is 14 years after the release of Modern Warfare 2 so it made me think of a Call Of Duty 14 years into the future. It shouldn't be called Crysis, it should be called Mw2023. In short, this is the worst game I have ever played. Just go and buy your self a copy of Call Of Duty and save yourself some money. Expand
  84. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    What an amazing game i ahd heard good things from freinds about this game so i picked it up and wow i was just amazed great graphics blended with the fun as ever gameplay makes a great combo and really makes for a great game campain was fun and addictive and multiplayer was similar to black opps but better in my opinion
  85. Apr 14, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 is brilliant game, but only if you have patience to wait for a patch. The story isin't great, but it's good enough even though it has plot holes. The soundtrack of the game is absolutely amazing, in fact it's one of the best soundtracks I have ever listened (Note! Hanz Zimmer made only title theme,Insertion!). The nanosuit has been simplified, you have now power, armour and cloack mode. Power mode should be called as normal mode, because you can make power moves like sliding and power jump even with cloack mode on. Maximum speed mode has been replaced with sprint, which takes energy to use. Graphics are absolutely great, it is the best looking game on Xbox 360. This game has its flaws though. Enemy AI is buggy as it some times doesn't notice players or runs againts walls. There are multitiple bugs too, but I don't list them here. If you are about to buy because of multiplayer, you should wait for a patch, because it's unplayable for now. Maximum lag ruins non-host player's game, other wise the multiplayer could be amazing, which it was during the demo. Yes, it's CoD style of multiplayer, but it's far better than CoD. Nanosuit completely changes the gameplay, making the game really tactical. In short, the game will be great in the future, wait for a month or two before buying it. Expand
  86. Apr 14, 2011
    8
    For a game that's running on the Xbox 360, Crysis 2's visuals are some of the best-looking on any console, and that's including even the Killzone series, who are infamous for their graphics. Screenshots don't do this game justice, and you just have to play it to be awed by amazingly realistic explosions and flawless lighting effects. I cannot figure out why some people have complained about this game's visuals. The only downside I can say about them is that there are some rare framerate issues that pop up in heavily chaotic areas. The single player campaign is something that impressed me tremendously. I originally purchased the game for its multiplayer, expecting the campaign to be extremely short and COD-esque, but was rather surprised at the length and pacing. The campaign took me approximately 8-9 hours to complete on Normal, so short is definitely not a word to describe it. The storyline is original and a nice change-up from other shooters. The pacing is fantastic and the Nanosuit abilities allow you to literally progress through every area in any way you desire. There were areas infested with CELL troops and I didn't feel like fighting, so I merely cloaked and simply walked by all of them. Vice versa, there were areas where I had sudden cravings for a massive firefight, and activated my Maximum Armor to initiate this and engaged. The storyline is a little bit strange at times, and my only problem with it was that it was a little difficult to understand the ending. Overall, the campaign was great, but not fantastic, being hindered by poor AI, lack of variety of enemies, and ocassionally poor voice-acting. The multiplayer, as I mentioned earlier, was what I bought the game for, and was not disappointed. To sum it up, it's not nearly as polished as COD or Halo, but solid enough to be played and enjoyed. The game could definitely use some better servers, and the matchmaking could be improved as well with a patch or two. Maximum Armor online, in my opinion, is slightly overpowered, but not by much. The one huge problem I've had with the online is bullet damage consistency. Maximum Armor takes a ridiculous amount of bullets to break, depending on your opponent's energy, but when you mix it in with a slight delay, it shows hit markers and yet, you can never seem to kill them before they turn around and kill you. It doesn't happen that often, but I would say at least once a game. Cloaking is much more balanced than I expected, although there are still the ocassional campers that crouch in the corner invisible, waiting for their next to target to stroll by. But you'll never be able to weed those people out entirely, and I've always said that if there's something moderately unbalanced or cheap in an online game, it will be severely abused. Another problem with the multiplayer is the low amount of weaponry to be used. There's only about 10 actual guns total, and they're not exactly balanced. However, the amount of balanced achieved with so few guns is adequete, and there's enough variety to be killed with multiple weapons in one match. Most of the online maps are very well-made, reaching a balance between close-range combat and long-range sniper-fests. The multiplayer keeps tracks of a wide variety of statistics, so if you need to get 30 more kills to up your kill/death ratio, than this game is for you. Overall, a highly original shooter that puts a spin on the genre with Nanosuit abilities, and well-worth a full price purchase. Great single player and a rewarding and entertaining multiplayer is to be found here as well, so if you're getting tired of all of the lame campers in COD, picking up a copy of this game is highly recommended. Expand
  87. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    This is a amazing game with amazing graphics. No surprise there. But what stops this game from being a perfect 10 for me is the issues in the multi player. Now don't get me wrong here the multi player is amazingly fun to play. It's new and creative with the armour and cloak abilities and the graphics are just as good in multi player as it is in the single player. The problems are that there are very little guns, and the game is mainly focused on the ARs and the SMGs. Another problem is that the game has a really bad choice in who is the host and who is not. I have a pretty good internet connection and I never get host. When I do I get those really good games where the whole lobby is at a four bar connection but other wise it is at a two-three bar connection at all time. Here is a tip for you guys/gals playing: If you are playing multiplayer just leave if you have a one bar. Expand
  88. Apr 10, 2011
    9
    Graphics are amzing and storymode is very well done. The online play is as if Halo and COD mated and had a child called Crysis 2. The maps are small and the game play is fast. The only down side to the online play is it takes awhile to get use to the energy level (which is also your health) and when to use the invisibility. Huge plus to this game is when you first start out online play you can choose to play in a lobby for players ranked 10 or less to help adjust. Expand
  89. Apr 10, 2011
    6
    Crytek surely know how to make good graphic, but it seems they can't make good games. Did they forgot to program the A.I.? The enemies are the dumbest I've ever seen in a game. What a disappointment... -_-
  90. Apr 9, 2011
    7
    Many people thought consoles would ruin this game, but i believe that much as been improved. Graphics are better than ever in this game and the controls always keep you on top of the game. the campaign was a blast with "wow" moments around every corner and gameplay that kept you playing. the multiplayer, however was promised to be a highlight, although i found it a bit disappointing. the multiplayer was halo style but it wasn't as exciting. Besides that this a great game. Expand
  91. Apr 8, 2011
    7
    Campaign starts off slow but after about 4 hours it really pulled me in and it left me satisfied while still wanting more, and the graphics are the best i have ever seen. However like everyone says AI is really dumb. So dumb in fact that i often found myself standing right in front of them and they would either ignore me and walk away or simply stand there. The levels weren't as open as i would have hoped but they were still more open than cod which is good. The nano suit also helps to keep things fresh as it enables you to do many cool things such as run fast or become invincible for a short period of time with the use of armour mode. So overall i enjoyed the campaign. Multiplayer is a different story however. While the nano suit adds some spice to the formula of online shooters it doesn't make up for all the glitchs and imperfections. First of all the spawning in this game is the worst i have ever seen. Whenever a match first starts i either luck out and spawn behind the enemy and kill them or lose and the enemy spawns behind me and kills me, this is extremely frustrating. And multiple times throughout the match i will be spawn killed. Also stealth and armour mode are totally unbalanced. Stealth (unlike in halo) doesn't become less effective the faster you move so what you get is people running around the whole game with stealth and killing you. Armour mode is really not very effective, it is bassically means that instead of getting killed with five bullets in your chest it will be ten, which means you will last about 1/3 of a second longer...wow. So bassically if you don't use stealth about 70% of the time you will die alot. Hit detection is also bad, sometimes you empty half a clip into buddy and nothing happens but then he goes and kills you via a head shot. also after you relode it takes about a second before you can ADS and sometimes you won't be able to shoot at all. Melee is inconsistent sometimes taking 2 punches to kill someone and other times 4, and i can't say how many times i have had somebody stand behind me and punch me 3-4 times and i not even know it because there is nothing to indicate you being punched. Lag is also a problem that i faced many times. Finally this is one of the most frustrating multi experiences i have ever had, i have more fun playing cod and coming from me that is a big statement. But when the game isn't glitched or lagged to hell it is actually really fun but sadly this isn't too often. So the campaign was great but it falls short when it comes to multiplayer. Expand
  92. Apr 8, 2011
    6
    I'm going to start by saying, the game is generally not that bad. It has very up-to-date graphics and parts of the gameplay can be quite fun. However, the graphics are not entirely appealing and the designs are far from original. The level layouts and appearance, character and enemy designs, player abilities, plot, etc. can be traced through an almost infinite number of past games (and films), especially FPSs Expand
  93. Apr 8, 2011
    8
    The gameplay was interesting, but not interesting enough to hold my attention for very long. I do give extra points for making the game run as smoothly as they did on xbox though.
  94. Apr 8, 2011
    9
    Well have read most of the reviews available online,,,,,was counting hard on this game, as i was a big fan of Crysis,,,,,well, Crytek has made numerous changes in the gameplay.Story lacks interest after 2-3 hrs, but picks up after that. I don't understand y people r shouting over saying that the graphics suck. @Miz3k ....can u name me another game on XBOX which offers such brilliant lightning and particle effects???i play on my XBOX and PC....pc gamers are angry bcz the game doesnt make their systems Cry!!!we want to play game and for that the engine was improvised,yes low resolution textures are there but it offers better story that the 1st one...people who havent played the first one can't comment on the nanosuit abilities, its not COD.....that u just go and shoot like trolls and noobs...U need to use ur Brains in MP.i was moist disappointed with the AI glitches and not having DX11, hopefully this will be patched....anyways Crytek good job, at least Console players should feel lucky to have played Crysis 2....bcz if they want to play Crysis on consoles!!!!!then GOD HELP THEIR SOULS.......9/10. Expand
  95. Apr 7, 2011
    7
    Crysis 2 is a good game. The single player campaign lasts a good 9 to 12 hours without backtracking like Halo. The graphics are better than any other xbox game out there now. The gameplay is very FPS - but I agree it can feel a little repetive after a while of cloaking, getting a headshot, then re-cloaking. It's easy to keep doing what works rather than exploring different ways to play. The AI is a mixed bag: on the one hand they do a good job tracking you and even spotting you when cloaked. On the other hand, all too often they get stuck on objects and behave very twitchy.

    The story is the biggest downer in this game. It's like a convoluted final fantasy/metal gear storyline. If that's your thing, then you'll like this. But if you prefer a game where story moves by means other than blindly following orders from someone in your headphone, you'll be disappointed with the storyline.
    Expand
  96. Apr 6, 2011
    10
    greatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreat greatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreatgreat awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome awesome Expand
  97. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    It is a fantastic game, a good sequel of the first Crysis, with one of the best visual aspects that I have ever seen in Xbox 360, great sound effects, story, gameplay, with an acceptable size campaign (if it is compared with other shooters), and also with the possibilities to be payed in 3D. However with minimum technical problems that the eye can barely catch. In summary, Crysis 2 is a great shooter with very few flaws which will make you feel excited in the battlefield of the concrete jungle (post-apocalyptic New York City) Expand
  98. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    Crysis 2 is the best shooter to have graced the Xbox 360 to date. It's a deep, and satisfying experience. Sure, the game has some flaws, but I'll get to that later. What sets Crysis 2 apart from other shooters is the Nanosuit 2.0. If you played the predecessor, you might have experienced the Nanosuit powers to be clunky in terms of controls and in the sheer number of options. However, the Nanosuit 2.0 has been streamlined to offer a simpler interface. The suit has two abilities, armour, and stealth. Essentially, armour makes you a walking tank that allows you take an enormous amount of damage. It will appeal to those who would prefer to be up close and personal with the enemy. If being "Rambo" is not your thing, you can always use stealth mode and sneak up on enemies to take them out silently. The Nanosuit can also be upgraded to enable special abilities such as stealth and armour enhancements. However, the suit is only one component of the combat. There is also a wide variety of weapons available to suit your style of play, whether it's being stealthy or armoured. Combat is innovative and engaging, and every encounter varies according to your combat preferences. Therefore gunplay never becomes tedious or repetitive. Visually, the game is stunning. Environments, character and weapon models are richly detailed, but what makes this game truly next-gen is the use of lighting and shading. Light will cascade over buildings, into enclosures, and on to you. This is not pre-rendered, it occurs in real-time. The visuals also contribute to New York City and its post-apocalyptic theme. Destruction and suffering overwhelms the player, and gives off the sense of purpose throughout the game. As amazing as this title is, it has a few flaws. The campaign is driven by a compelling narrative, however the story flat lines during the first half. It basically comes down to "you are here, now go there". Luckily, this picks up around the three hour mark, and progresses into an engaging story. I was also disappointed with the ending, which leaves many of the questions that were addressed in the campaign, unanswered. The AI can range from the best in the business, to being oblivious to you and the given surroundings. They will sometimes walk into walls, and get stuck in the environment. These are minor gripes, but it hurts the overall experience. Nonetheless, Crysis 2 defines what a shooter should be: innovative and adrenalin-pumping. The story may be sub-par, but the gameplay and graphics makes up for the very few shortcomings. This game is certainly worth every cent, with an eight -hour campaign, and a fantastic multiplayer, this certainly makes it one of the best shooters to grace the Xbox 360 this year, if not a contender for game of the year. Expand
  99. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    Differant fps if your looking for something new. I have been playing this game and must say that the gameplay has been well polished and offers something new to players other than the shoot guy move forward to beat the game. The game has a nice balance with the powers that are given and with the energy bar that is given for your powers it actually makes it a strategy o how to move forth to compete the mission at hand. It is up to you on how to use either the cloak or armor powers and use them on how you see fit. The ai ia actually very nice in that they will flank you are well aware to where you are and are nasty if you get caught in a shoot out with three of them. The ai will jump over wall or bushes to get cover and will bark orders and have a gruop go after you. AI is deff a strong suit and makes the game challenging and it doesnt cheap respawn in new soldiers that other games do. Graphically you already have heard it shine and boy it makes alot of the games look inferior so far. So bottom line is graphically this game shines as you would expect. The story is well done and keeps you hooked. Multiplayer isnt all the bad it is something differant which I didnt take to but some others might. All in all the game is great, it lives up to its billing and if you like fps and want a new single player experiance get it. Expand
  100. Mar 31, 2011
    6
    hmmm, i think a handful of previous reviewers have summed up my thoughts on this pretty well so i'll keep it short and sweet.

    single player: woeful AI, ranging from retarded soldiers to psychic, shoot around corners types. overrated graphics - lots of slowdown when things get frenetic, bad pixellation on cutscenes, tedious gameplay, a general lack of fun to play. dull plot. non-existent
    characters. poor driving section. frankly im amazed this has had any 8+ reviews.
    for me based on SP, this gets a 5.

    multiplayer:
    simple, if you like Halo and jumping around in a gimp suit with terrible hit detection this is for you.
    if you prefer military shooters with a large variety of weapons and customization then move along.
    this also gets a 5.

    overall a poor result based on the hype and buildup to release, im not a harsh critic of games generally, but this game got traded in 3 days after purchase.

    overall a 6/10.
    Expand
  101. Mar 22, 2011
    0
    Just like its predecessor, its visuals are top-notch, especially on the machine it's running on; the Xbox 360. As for the core game, however, I was initially disappointed about the nanosuit's power being reduced to stealth and armour. That quickly changed, however. Having a button for each made switching between the two far more fluid than Crysis 1. On top of this, it adds a lovely twist and breath of fresh air to what is essentially your typical combat multiplayer affair. That being said, it is a step down from the large scale frantic antics of the original. But it's this added layer of depth to the tried and tested 'CoD-style' multiplayer offering that lends it an advantage.

    But it was the single-player, like its predecessor, I bought it for. The original garnered some criticism to its rather basic plot, but having never seen it done so well, or in a videogame for that matter, it didn't hinder the experience one bit. Crysis 2, however, propels the Crysis universe onto a whole new level. It's obvious a hell of a lot more thought has been put into it. It's more complex, deeper and smart and makes for infinitely more compelling game. Couple this with the unique and shockingly-real depiction of an 'apocalyptic' New York and well... I can't even begin to explain how awesome it is.
    Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    91
    Taking control of the ultimate soldier has never been more entertaining. The gameplay and controls of Crysis 2 are outstanding and rate among the best in the genre. Graphics and sound are incredible, the post-apocalyptic atmosphere hasn't been this good since Fallout 3. The unique Crysis 2 is much more than a typical shooter.
  2. May 30, 2011
    83
    Crysis 2 is more than a cranked out first person shooter. It takes the time to enhance an already interesting Sci-fi game while tightening and tuning the elements that set it apart from the pack. Oh, and did I mention it's gorgeous to look at?
  3. May 8, 2011
    80
    Swapping a picture-perfect landscape for New York's urban sprawl could have been disastrous, but Crytek has found variety in the setting, guiding the player through blue-grey skyscrapers, leafy green parks, rooftops at sunset and industrial harbours. [May 2011, p.90]