Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 72 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 482 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: First-person shooter Crysis returns powered by CryEngline 3 and is coming to the PS3 and Xbox 360, as well as the PC.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 72
  2. Negative: 0 out of 72
  1. 95
    I absolutely loved Crysis 2 from start to finish. The game looks amazing, sounds amazing and plays like a dream. The singleplayer campaign was a satisfying 10 hours and left me wanting to play it again at a higher difficulty setting. Multiplayer borrows a few ideas from other games but overall is a unique and highly enjoyable experience even if it does force you to put in the time to get the most out of it.
  2. Mar 28, 2011
    91
    There will always be room for improvement, but Crysis 2 has managed to surpass its competition in almost every category. There's little here that will convert non-FPS players, but fans of the genre would be doing themselves a disservice if they missed out on the Nanosuit 2.0.
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    90
    Even in its console versions, Crysis 2 stays true to its great legacy. Despite a few issues regarding the AI, this sequel is superior to its predecessors in almost every way and offers one of the most immersing campaign modes we've ever seen.
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    87
    Fantastic visuals, fast combat and clever nanosuit mechanics more than compensate for some linear level design, a mediocre story and unvaried enemy design. It's not as good as the first game in the series, but it's a great shooter nonetheless.
  5. Mar 22, 2011
    85
    An outstanding game. Between the incredibly challenging AI and the stages that reward creative thinking, Crysis 2 distinguishes itself as a thinking man's shooter. Unfortunately, the bland and almost generic story is very weak glue for an otherwise great FPS.
  6. Apr 6, 2011
    80
    Crysis 2 is an amazing game that doesn't live up to its full potential. The storytelling is au contraire to the new action system and amazing visuals, quite horrible. The game plays like a dream though, contains amazing actions sequences and offers enough variation in its somewhat linear missions. But it's the Nanosuit that makes Crysis 2 stand out from the crowd, which is also the case on the multiplayer front.
  7. Apr 6, 2011
    50
    I don't mean to say that Crysis 2 isn't competent. It is. It's a perfectly bog-standard, uninspired, derivative, middle-of-the-road, ultimately incomprehensible, attractive enough, buy-it-used-if-you-must shooter that no one will remember by summer.

See all 72 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 158
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Just like its predecessor, its visuals are top-notch, especially on the machine it's running on; the Xbox 360. As for the core game, however, I was initially disappointed about the nanosuit's power being reduced to stealth and armour. That quickly changed, however. Having a button for each made switching between the two far more fluid than Crysis 1. On top of this, it adds a lovely twist and breath of fresh air to what is essentially your typical combat multiplayer affair. That being said, it is a step down from the large scale frantic antics of the original. But it's this added layer of depth to the tried and tested 'CoD-style' multiplayer offering that lends it an advantage.

    But it was the single-player, like its predecessor, I bought it for. The original garnered some criticism to its rather basic plot, but having never seen it done so well, or in a videogame for that matter, it didn't hinder the experience one bit. Crysis 2, however, propels the Crysis universe onto a whole new level. It's obvious a hell of a lot more thought has been put into it. It's more complex, deeper and smart and makes for infinitely more compelling game. Couple this with the unique and shockingly-real depiction of an 'apocalyptic' New York and well... I can't even begin to explain how awesome it is.
    Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Picked this up on its release day and i'm pretty happy never had the money to get a computer to run the first crisis and i now know what i missed out on. The graphics are obviously one of the major reasons i picked it up but once i started to play the campaign i was hooked its a great story the nano suit is awesome the AI was smart and fast. The multiplayer is pretty similar to cod and i know everyone compares fps multiplayers to cod these days but i was pleased with what they have here and found it enjoyable but i know ill be playing the campaign a lot more then multiplayer i think the replay value of this game is very high.. Expand
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    9
    What an amazing game i ahd heard good things from freinds about this game so i picked it up and wow i was just amazed great graphics blended with the fun as ever gameplay makes a great combo and really makes for a great game campain was fun and addictive and multiplayer was similar to black opps but better in my opinion Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2011
    8
    The game looks fantastic, I can't recall anything looking this good and the musical score is probably the best I've ever heard but if I had to sum this game up in a phrase I would say All dressed up and no place to go. The story just isn't very good and I know this will anger some people but it feels a bit long at points but still a solid game. If they crafted their storytelling and characters as well as they do the look of the game it will be the best game in history. Expand
  5. Apr 9, 2011
    7
    Many people thought consoles would ruin this game, but i believe that much as been improved. Graphics are better than ever in this game and the controls always keep you on top of the game. the campaign was a blast with "wow" moments around every corner and gameplay that kept you playing. the multiplayer, however was promised to be a highlight, although i found it a bit disappointing. the multiplayer was halo style but it wasn't as exciting. Besides that this a great game. Expand
  6. PL3
    Mar 22, 2011
    6
    Well the game is totally beautiful and that great but i think the gameplay (on 360) is a little kind of weirdo well 8 hours of play for the campain at hard that not bad at all like 8 map and 5 mode to play online that great too I give 6 because of all the glitch they have in the multiplayer i pass through the ground and be stuck there for a entire game haha and when you start a match you be stuck in a lobby solo and its god damn long before the game start or its just never start

    but that a pretty cool game!
    cryteck engine gonna became a reference on xbox 360 for the 4 years to come
    Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    This game is terrible, bored of it within 4 hours of playing it. Online is terrible you get a kill then you die then you get a kill then you die. Not to mention that the kill streaks are not even worth it. The nano suit sucks, maximum armor and maximum stealth are stupid as **** everybody sees you when you use stealth anyway and the maximum armor is just useless because whenever anybody gets in a gunfight they just try and get the armor up as fast as possible. Nobody uses any gun besides the SCAR basically because everything else sucks unless you have a modded controller. The game is boring as **** too. You spend half the time trying to get to places and once you finally get there you are out of energy and you get ****ed like Japanese-Americans living in the US during WWII. This game is not even finished, by the way the graphics suck don't get your hopes up. I am not even going to try and explain the cluster **** that is the campaign. I have been playing first person shooters since Halo: Combat Evolved and I have to say this is the biggest piece of **** i have ever owned.
    DO NOT BUY
    Expand

See all 158 User Reviews