Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    91
    Overall Crysis 3 is just what you would expect at the end of a generation cycle. A FPS that is deep not only in its level design and scope, but tells a deep story, with deep game play mechanics. You will not find many games that do it all in one fell swoop.
  2. Feb 24, 2013
    90
    Nice storytelling, deep and fun gameplay, some bad-ass weapons and really beautiful visuals makes this game one of the best fps around. Don't miss the opportunity to play it!
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Crysis 3 is looking gorgeous on consoles too, but it’s the freedom and gameplay that we love. Nanosuit’s power is a lot of fun and hunting enemies in this New York is great. A solid multiplayer is the classic cherry on top of the cake.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Crysis 3 is one of this year's masterpieces. The single player Campaign is revamped with a lot more variety and mature storytelling, while the competitive multiplayer brings the best of Crysis 2 with special focus on map design and some additional new features (like Hunter Mode). Definitely one of the must-buys of 2013.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    With a single-player campaign that brings the trilogy to a fulfilling close and best-in-class multiplayer, Crysis 3 manages to best its predecessors and deliver a genuinely impressive FPS experience.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Even if you're constantly moving from point A to point B, Crysis 3 makes you feel truly free, the main character behind great events, and that's absolutely not a negligible achievement. In other words, this is the best piece of work from the Crytek guys so far.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    86
    Not many games would send you into battle in a super suit powered by alien technology and armed with a bow and arrows and manage to pull it all off, but Crysis 3 does.
  8. Mar 20, 2013
    85
    Even though Crytek seemed to have tried to sell Crysis 3 more as a technical achievement than as an actual game, the fact is that this is a FPS that sticks out for more than its aesthetic component, by providing an experience with an identity of its own, despite being a brief one.
  9. Feb 22, 2013
    85
    For fans of single-player, Crysis 3 is an 8 hour adrenaline rush filled with cool weapons and lots of pretty explosions. For multi-player fans, Crysis 3 offers a ton of modes and action so intense and chaotic that it should test any gamer’s mettle.
  10. Feb 21, 2013
    85
    Crysis 3 may not be as good, long or innovative as its first iteration, but it's a great shooter.
  11. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    The openness of the levels and the variety of skills at Prophet’s disposal makes each chapter a joy to play and replay.
  12. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    If you explore, collect everything and complete all the quests, Crysis 3 turns out to be a rewarding and sufficiently long-lived shooter... and the visuals are simply astonishing. Do not expect, however, a big step forward compared to its predecessor: for that, perhaps, we will have to wait for Crysis 4.
  13. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    This impressive graphical fidelity takes a serious hit in the transition to multiplayer. Though Crysis 3 has some of the better-designed maps in the series, the muddied textures are a far cry from the jaw-dropping visuals of the single-player campaign, especially on consoles.
  14. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    Crysis 3 is the strongest entry in the franchise. The puzzle-like combat scenarios have never been better with its suite of gameplay options and opportunities while the engaging narrative urges you to see Prophet’s journey through to the end. And if you’re a console owner, you can rest easy knowing that it still looks great on seven-year-old hardware.
  15. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    It’s not quite a next generation experience come early, but it’s a superbly controlled, tightly paced and tactically flexible shooter with a satisfyingly focused story, and an excellent way to tie up the Crysis series... for now.
  16. 85
    Though Crysis 3’s (admittedly beautiful) solo campaign never feels quite as strong as it could be, its enthralling competitive multiplayer sits comfortably among the strongest offerings of this console generation. Unless you have no interest in competing against your fellow human beings, these modes alone make the game worth buying.
  17. Mar 2, 2013
    82
    Crysis 3 feels like a missed opportunity: it's got awesome visuals and it's great fun to play, but a bad enemy AI, short campaign and a low challenge level keep it from really shining.
  18. Feb 20, 2013
    82
    There's certainly a case to be made that Crysis 3 is mediocre in numerous ways. Most players will finish the campaign after five hours or so, the attempt to add vehicles doesn't work well, and the intense focus on graphics can make the gameplay feel like an afterthought. But it's hard to deny that the visuals are beautiful, and that the franchise's sandbox approach to tactics has always worked well. In the end, it's different from other first-person shooters in ways that are more than just skin deep, and it's a ton of fun.
  19. Apr 1, 2013
    80
    All in all, Crysis 3 is an impressive game – it delivers on style and experience, just doesn't do all those little extras to really set itself apart from the pack as a true AAA title.
  20. Mar 15, 2013
    80
    As far as the graphics go, Crysis 3 really squeezes everything out of Xbox 360. As a finale for a trilogy, the game could've really used a much more engaging story. The stealth gameplay is also not as good as it could be, the A.I. is simply too dumb for its own good. [March 2013]
  21. Mar 8, 2013
    80
    A weak story that is balanced by a superb achievement in graphical clarity. And that goes for the console versions as well.
  22. 80
    Crytek has crafted a great game with Crysis 3, one that has a satisfying end for the trilogy, but its lack of breathtaking set-pieces means that it’s an even more soulless version of Crysis 2.
  23. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 doesn’t do much wrong as a shooter and is constantly entertaining thanks to the nanosuit and the addition of the bow. The multiplayer is also surprisingly fun. Other aspects aren’t as great though. Dialogues are simply terrible and the main campaign is quite short, especially for a game that’s at its best when played slowly. On consoles the game’s framerate also frequently drops significantly. None of these things are crucial enough to not recommend it though. Crysis 3 is just too much fun for that.
  24. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 almost knocks it out of the ballpark on so many levels. The controls and visuals are certainly spot on, but the level design and pacing both have sporadic moments that let it, and you, down.
  25. Feb 22, 2013
    80
    In trying to find a suitable middle-ground between the design philosophies of Crysis and Crysis 2, Crysis 3 falters somewhat in never matching the highlights of either of its predecessors. As its own beast, its a tightly-paced, eyeball-meltingly gorgeous shooter that remains fun for the entirety of its 7+ hour campaign. It’s a good game, but one lacking the narrative muscle ore revolutionary gameplay to elevate it beyond.
  26. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 is one of those games that could have pulled in full marks if only a bit more time was devoted to development and testing...The bugs and design mishaps that have got through do not completely ruin the experience, but they take the shine off what could have been a truly brilliant game.
  27. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 is a marked improvement over its predecessors, both from a narrative and gameplay standpoint. It features a simpler, cohesive story with fewer of the constrained corridor crawls and Ceph turkey shoots found in Crysis 2. Even within the confines of its linear level design, Crysis 3 offers a great deal of freedom.
  28. 77
    In a market saturated with shooters, it takes something special to rise above the pack. Crysis 3 was on the cusp of doing so, but in the end it didn’t quite knock one out of the park.
  29. Feb 27, 2013
    75
    Ultimately, we can’t help but feel that you’ll play through the rather short campaign, and while you’ll probably have a great time doing it, you’ll shrug your shoulders and either give multiplayer a quick blast, and/or go back to Call of Duty or something.
  30. Feb 19, 2013
    75
    The visuals may not sing as sweetly on the Xbox 360 as they do on the PC, but it looks marvelous, regardless.
  31. Feb 19, 2013
    75
    Crysis 3 attempts to strike a balance between Crysis and Crysis 2, but in doing so manages to lose a little bit of what made each game appealing. The result is a title that doesn't truly match the open-ended excitement of the first game nor the revelatory empowerment of the second, yet manages to provide enough of both to at least tantalize, even if it doesn't completely satisfy.
  32. Mar 9, 2013
    74
    Although you still get some satisfaction from features that you’ve seen before, ultimately we can’t underline anything memorable this time around, at least nothing that would compare to the quality of the previous two titles.
  33. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Being enormous fans of the Crysis series to this point, we came at this wanting to love it. But repetitive scenarios and a lack of challenge steadily dried our fan shorts. [May 2013, p.81]
  34. Mar 26, 2013
    70
    If you are a fan of the Crysis franchise, though, you may still find elements to enjoy about the game, but if you seek to find a totally new FPS experience or even just a breath of fresh air, you will be very disappointed with Crysis 3. It may not be the best in the series or live up to its full potential, but it remains an enjoyable game nonetheless.
  35. 70
    After the plot falls over dead, the wonderful action stands up and carries it home, bearing the weight of the game's many failures on its back.
  36. Mar 1, 2013
    70
    I’ve had fun with Crysis 3, but not as much fun as I had with the two games that came before it. This is not a bad game by any means, but it is the least good in the series so far.
  37. Feb 22, 2013
    70
    The excellent multiplayer deserves to be the focus here, rather than the repetitive, humourless, and largely artless first person shooting of the single-player campaign.
  38. 70
    Crysis 3 might be a victim of this love-blindness. You'll never be bored during the campaign, and certainly not during the excellent multiplayer. But Crysis 3 feels like a retread of entertaining ground, with a frustrating glimpse of how good it could actually be.
  39. Feb 19, 2013
    70
    A gratifying shooter experience. Even though the campaign is on the shorter side, there are a few visual hiccups, and some of the enemy AI is unbalanced, those small gripes get overshadowed by Crysis 3's tactical gameplay, beautiful environments, and superb online multiplayer. While not treading new ground for the FPS genre, Crysis 3 is a solid shooter.
  40. Feb 19, 2013
    70
    That true panoramic freedom is still missing in action, the campaign's rather undernourished as it rushes you into the final act and the fiction feels increasingly forgettable. There are charms here, though, if you boot up the tactical display and stick to the shadows. There's the silent kill in glorious surroundings; there's the swish of an arrow, the creak of a bow.
  41. Feb 28, 2013
    68
    As for the game itself, it lives and dies with the multiplayer for me. I loved the new Hunter mode, and I still enjoy the core online game more than most other shooters. The campaign on the other hand just felt like a mess. The enemy AI is atrocious, and the sheer execution is just boring at times. Despite its brevity, I found myself wanting it to end long before it actually did.
  42. Mar 24, 2013
    60
    Crysis 3 has neither direction nor freedom, though it does have human weapons, alien weapons, a cloaking device, an Armour mode, and a bow. And with this many options at your disposal, Crysis 3 insists, surely you must be having fun.
  43. Feb 28, 2013
    60
    The Xbox 360 version is grungy, by comparison [to the PC], with lower texture quality and a lower framerate. That's unsurprising, but when taken against the other games on the platform, the 360 version still looks OK. It's certainly playable, anyway, though a weird audio bug made one of the early open-area segments practically unplayable, since it's hard to know when to take cover and hide from incoming rockets if the audio isn't playing back at all.
  44. Feb 19, 2013
    60
    By the end of the game I was bored silly, and considering the scope of what was going on that shouldn't have been the case. Sadly, bar a few exceptions – a Jurassic Park-style hunting section in long grass, an open-ended assault on Ceph AA emplacements – I'd rinsed and repeated the same thing so much that I couldn't care less.
  45. Mar 21, 2013
    50
    It looks sharp and it may be perfectly serviceable, but with all of the other interesting things happening in video games right now, something as surprisingly soulless and rote as Crysis 3 has absolutely nothing to recommend it.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 293 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 62
  2. Negative: 8 out of 62
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    The bad first... This game does have its minor glitching, but it's never a deal-breaker. (ala Skyrim, ugh third character I've had questing issues, yet it still is in my top three for single player games regardless) Anyway, I am seriously being blown away by this game.
    I kinda feel like many gamers are deliberately understating/attempting to discount the raw, graphical dominance that Crytek has been known for and pushing out since the original Crysis.. This game is no different. It really IS set in a jaw-dropping visual world that make you feel small in comparison to where you are exploring or fighting.
    The little nuances of graphical detail are truly what VISUALLY set this game in a whole new ballpark. From the crisp and sharply rendered weapons, to the minute suit details, (metal actually looks like metal) the bright sunlight poking through the treeline, with minimal tearing or stutter. I also loved finding new viewpoints and strategic placements for firefights, and being able to stop, relax and see dew on leaves, and splashes from fleeing frogs, to all the animals and critters that roam in some levels, it really IS- stunning and impressive.
    The gameplay I thought Crysis 2 was a great game. Not the best, but great and awesome. I feel like Crysis 3 has not only corrected/addressed all the tiny flaws of Crysis 2, while keeping the controls and tight, but the gun play is now better than ever, and weapons feel real, they fire way differently, and they have a learning curve to use them effectively. But it's not as limited as Crysis 1 and 2. The bow in this game ALONE is worth renting the game.
    Just to almost FEEL the draw of the semi-realistic physical properties of the bow in your gampad and Fingers delivers a great analog and fluid feeling of archery.
    The enemies are tougher, the aliens are vicious and freaky, and will flank you and fake you out more than you are expecting. The explosions and physics are top notch, and movements and events sometimes FEEL like they are actually happening...(I love my surround sound)

    I love the musical score, and it always seems to match the setting, I.E. the fast paced battle music during skirmishes gets you pumped, especially when playing on higher difficulties, while The slower, more mellow, atmospheric music is perfectly cued when exploring or going over a tall destroyed cityscape, to discover the vast forested areas while peeking over a cliff.

    I feel like the MULTIPLAYER may need to tweaked at some point, by patching, like any shooter.
    It is still very deep, fast paced, functional, and entertaining.
    The variety of game types, although somewhat limited when compared to Call Of Duty or Halo, end up being more engaging, strategic, and BY FAR much more difficult. This, in MY opinion, is much more rewarding when you score kills. You will almost NEVER get hip-fire kills with your guns unless you have actually tested and spent time using your weapons and abilities. I love call of duty, but I am quite frankly sick and tired of the majority of all the players I encounter, using extended mags, spray and pray, fully automatic, tact-less noobs and finesse-lacking-foes I play with.
    Crysis 3 is TOTALLY different. It is actually hard and challenging, and not so much about bad spawns like Call Of Duty, or camping the power weapons like many do in Halo.
    The weapons are great, and the explosives are lethal. But the most game changing tool of all? The NANOSUIT.
    I feel like the main thing setting my play style apart from most of my fellow run and gunners is I use stealth at almost all times, I use my visor and Nano-vision almost as often or MORE than my actual weapons..
    I am a hunter from hell.

    I personally feel like ANYBODY who can't appreciate the diverse, yet fast, brutal, yet stylish, and typically pin-point precise mechanics of not only THIS game, but the less refined Crysis 2, have only one REAL reason they aren't enjoying the game... They aren't actually playing it, or they aren't actually spending enough time getting fully familiar with the game. WoW fans are not always interested in playing WoW at first glance, but once some folks start to progress and learn, WoW gamers suddenly have this bizarre attraction to a previously misunderstood game world that suddenly starts to pull them in.
    The Crysis games take a certain learning curve and/or approach to enjoying them, In my opinion.
    I personally like how the action isn't always being spoon fed to you down corridors and in huge alien bases like COD and Halo.
    You can try a single part of a mission a hundred times, and get your butt kicked, or you can try a new, more tactical approach, or just go guns blazing, and hope for the best.... Crysis 3 has a good balance of needing to be accurate, also quick, yet ready to move slow or hold still for that perfect opening and be the ultimate warrior with weapon and Nano-suit prowess. Think you have FPS skill?
    Crysis 3 IS a must have
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Crysis 3 is quite the game. Game mechanics that are simple and feel good to use, well done story set pieces and gorgeous visuals. What's not to like? The length of the game. Clocking in at around 5 hours. However, this is not as bad you might think. The game keeps a good pace through the whole game whether you're going all rambo, sneaking around and shooting people in the head with the well implemented bow or just taking in the gorgeous varied environments. The story is for the most part well written, with some incredibly at times cheesy dialogue. Prophet is back in action, however not actually human anymore, well you'll just have to find out what i mean by that yourself. Crysis's multiplayer is also back, with a new incredibly well done game mode called Hunter. Hunter is immensely intense. Two players start as Hunters with unlimited cloak and bows for weapons. Their goal is to kill the team of REGULAR soldiers, no nanosuit in this mode. Once a soldier is killed, the soldier turns into a hunter. If you're the last one alive, you just might soil yourself. All in all, Crysis 3 is a great package and in my opinion has now found it's place among the FPS juggernauts like Halo and Call Of Duty. It's a game that i would solely recommend for anyone that enjoys a good shooter and a decent narrative that keeps you going to the end. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Let me start this review by saying I am completely new to the Crysis genre. After playing for a few hours, this game is amazing. Graphically this game is what I would expect a game on the Xbox 720 or ps4 to look like. From what I have played so far, the single player has a detailed story that keeps me interested.

    I have spent a majority of my time playing multiplayer. It has an unlock system similar to Call of Duty and a brilliant dog tag system (very simular to titles in Cal of Duty). This game feels a lot like a Halo 4 and Call of Duty Hybrid. From hit markers to beautiful kill cams, I'm loving it all. This game offers everything I hoped Halo 4 would be. As I said I am new to Crysis, but from what I have played so far, I highly recommend you buy this game if you are a fan of Call of Duty or Halo. I'm giving it a 10 simply because it was a sleeper hit for me. What a relief that I didn't waste my money like I did with Aliens Colonial Marines.
    Full Review »