Crysis 3 Xbox 360


Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
Buy On
  1. Mar 9, 2013
    Although you still get some satisfaction from features that you’ve seen before, ultimately we can’t underline anything memorable this time around, at least nothing that would compare to the quality of the previous two titles.
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 30, 2013
    Being enormous fans of the Crysis series to this point, we came at this wanting to love it. But repetitive scenarios and a lack of challenge steadily dried our fan shorts. [May 2013, p.81]
  3. Mar 26, 2013
    If you are a fan of the Crysis franchise, though, you may still find elements to enjoy about the game, but if you seek to find a totally new FPS experience or even just a breath of fresh air, you will be very disappointed with Crysis 3. It may not be the best in the series or live up to its full potential, but it remains an enjoyable game nonetheless.
  4. 70
    After the plot falls over dead, the wonderful action stands up and carries it home, bearing the weight of the game's many failures on its back.
  5. Mar 1, 2013
    I’ve had fun with Crysis 3, but not as much fun as I had with the two games that came before it. This is not a bad game by any means, but it is the least good in the series so far.
  6. Feb 22, 2013
    The excellent multiplayer deserves to be the focus here, rather than the repetitive, humourless, and largely artless first person shooting of the single-player campaign.
  7. 70
    Crysis 3 might be a victim of this love-blindness. You'll never be bored during the campaign, and certainly not during the excellent multiplayer. But Crysis 3 feels like a retread of entertaining ground, with a frustrating glimpse of how good it could actually be.
  8. Feb 19, 2013
    A gratifying shooter experience. Even though the campaign is on the shorter side, there are a few visual hiccups, and some of the enemy AI is unbalanced, those small gripes get overshadowed by Crysis 3's tactical gameplay, beautiful environments, and superb online multiplayer. While not treading new ground for the FPS genre, Crysis 3 is a solid shooter.
  9. Feb 19, 2013
    That true panoramic freedom is still missing in action, the campaign's rather undernourished as it rushes you into the final act and the fiction feels increasingly forgettable. There are charms here, though, if you boot up the tactical display and stick to the shadows. There's the silent kill in glorious surroundings; there's the swish of an arrow, the creak of a bow.
  10. Feb 28, 2013
    As for the game itself, it lives and dies with the multiplayer for me. I loved the new Hunter mode, and I still enjoy the core online game more than most other shooters. The campaign on the other hand just felt like a mess. The enemy AI is atrocious, and the sheer execution is just boring at times. Despite its brevity, I found myself wanting it to end long before it actually did.
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    Crysis 3 has neither direction nor freedom, though it does have human weapons, alien weapons, a cloaking device, an Armour mode, and a bow. And with this many options at your disposal, Crysis 3 insists, surely you must be having fun.
  12. Feb 28, 2013
    The Xbox 360 version is grungy, by comparison [to the PC], with lower texture quality and a lower framerate. That's unsurprising, but when taken against the other games on the platform, the 360 version still looks OK. It's certainly playable, anyway, though a weird audio bug made one of the early open-area segments practically unplayable, since it's hard to know when to take cover and hide from incoming rockets if the audio isn't playing back at all.
  13. Feb 19, 2013
    By the end of the game I was bored silly, and considering the scope of what was going on that shouldn't have been the case. Sadly, bar a few exceptions – a Jurassic Park-style hunting section in long grass, an open-ended assault on Ceph AA emplacements – I'd rinsed and repeated the same thing so much that I couldn't care less.
  14. Mar 21, 2013
    It looks sharp and it may be perfectly serviceable, but with all of the other interesting things happening in video games right now, something as surprisingly soulless and rote as Crysis 3 has absolutely nothing to recommend it.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 324 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 64
  2. Negative: 8 out of 64
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    The bad first... This game does have its minor glitching, but it's never a deal-breaker. (ala Skyrim, ugh third character I've had questingThe bad first... This game does have its minor glitching, but it's never a deal-breaker. (ala Skyrim, ugh third character I've had questing issues, yet it still is in my top three for single player games regardless) Anyway, I am seriously being blown away by this game.
    I kinda feel like many gamers are deliberately understating/attempting to discount the raw, graphical dominance that Crytek has been known for and pushing out since the original Crysis.. This game is no different. It really IS set in a jaw-dropping visual world that make you feel small in comparison to where you are exploring or fighting.
    The little nuances of graphical detail are truly what VISUALLY set this game in a whole new ballpark. From the crisp and sharply rendered weapons, to the minute suit details, (metal actually looks like metal) the bright sunlight poking through the treeline, with minimal tearing or stutter. I also loved finding new viewpoints and strategic placements for firefights, and being able to stop, relax and see dew on leaves, and splashes from fleeing frogs, to all the animals and critters that roam in some levels, it really IS- stunning and impressive.
    The gameplay I thought Crysis 2 was a great game. Not the best, but great and awesome. I feel like Crysis 3 has not only corrected/addressed all the tiny flaws of Crysis 2, while keeping the controls and tight, but the gun play is now better than ever, and weapons feel real, they fire way differently, and they have a learning curve to use them effectively. But it's not as limited as Crysis 1 and 2. The bow in this game ALONE is worth renting the game.
    Just to almost FEEL the draw of the semi-realistic physical properties of the bow in your gampad and Fingers delivers a great analog and fluid feeling of archery.
    The enemies are tougher, the aliens are vicious and freaky, and will flank you and fake you out more than you are expecting. The explosions and physics are top notch, and movements and events sometimes FEEL like they are actually happening...(I love my surround sound)

    I love the musical score, and it always seems to match the setting, I.E. the fast paced battle music during skirmishes gets you pumped, especially when playing on higher difficulties, while The slower, more mellow, atmospheric music is perfectly cued when exploring or going over a tall destroyed cityscape, to discover the vast forested areas while peeking over a cliff.

    I feel like the MULTIPLAYER may need to tweaked at some point, by patching, like any shooter.
    It is still very deep, fast paced, functional, and entertaining.
    The variety of game types, although somewhat limited when compared to Call Of Duty or Halo, end up being more engaging, strategic, and BY FAR much more difficult. This, in MY opinion, is much more rewarding when you score kills. You will almost NEVER get hip-fire kills with your guns unless you have actually tested and spent time using your weapons and abilities. I love call of duty, but I am quite frankly sick and tired of the majority of all the players I encounter, using extended mags, spray and pray, fully automatic, tact-less noobs and finesse-lacking-foes I play with.
    Crysis 3 is TOTALLY different. It is actually hard and challenging, and not so much about bad spawns like Call Of Duty, or camping the power weapons like many do in Halo.
    The weapons are great, and the explosives are lethal. But the most game changing tool of all? The NANOSUIT.
    I feel like the main thing setting my play style apart from most of my fellow run and gunners is I use stealth at almost all times, I use my visor and Nano-vision almost as often or MORE than my actual weapons..
    I am a hunter from hell.

    I personally feel like ANYBODY who can't appreciate the diverse, yet fast, brutal, yet stylish, and typically pin-point precise mechanics of not only THIS game, but the less refined Crysis 2, have only one REAL reason they aren't enjoying the game... They aren't actually playing it, or they aren't actually spending enough time getting fully familiar with the game. WoW fans are not always interested in playing WoW at first glance, but once some folks start to progress and learn, WoW gamers suddenly have this bizarre attraction to a previously misunderstood game world that suddenly starts to pull them in.
    The Crysis games take a certain learning curve and/or approach to enjoying them, In my opinion.
    I personally like how the action isn't always being spoon fed to you down corridors and in huge alien bases like COD and Halo.
    You can try a single part of a mission a hundred times, and get your butt kicked, or you can try a new, more tactical approach, or just go guns blazing, and hope for the best.... Crysis 3 has a good balance of needing to be accurate, also quick, yet ready to move slow or hold still for that perfect opening and be the ultimate warrior with weapon and Nano-suit prowess. Think you have FPS skill?
    Crysis 3 IS a must have
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    Crysis 3 is quite the game. Game mechanics that are simple and feel good to use, well done story set pieces and gorgeous visuals. What's notCrysis 3 is quite the game. Game mechanics that are simple and feel good to use, well done story set pieces and gorgeous visuals. What's not to like? The length of the game. Clocking in at around 5 hours. However, this is not as bad you might think. The game keeps a good pace through the whole game whether you're going all rambo, sneaking around and shooting people in the head with the well implemented bow or just taking in the gorgeous varied environments. The story is for the most part well written, with some incredibly at times cheesy dialogue. Prophet is back in action, however not actually human anymore, well you'll just have to find out what i mean by that yourself. Crysis's multiplayer is also back, with a new incredibly well done game mode called Hunter. Hunter is immensely intense. Two players start as Hunters with unlimited cloak and bows for weapons. Their goal is to kill the team of REGULAR soldiers, no nanosuit in this mode. Once a soldier is killed, the soldier turns into a hunter. If you're the last one alive, you just might soil yourself. All in all, Crysis 3 is a great package and in my opinion has now found it's place among the FPS juggernauts like Halo and Call Of Duty. It's a game that i would solely recommend for anyone that enjoys a good shooter and a decent narrative that keeps you going to the end. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    Let me start this review by saying I am completely new to the Crysis genre. After playing for a few hours, this game is amazing. GraphicallyLet me start this review by saying I am completely new to the Crysis genre. After playing for a few hours, this game is amazing. Graphically this game is what I would expect a game on the Xbox 720 or ps4 to look like. From what I have played so far, the single player has a detailed story that keeps me interested.

    I have spent a majority of my time playing multiplayer. It has an unlock system similar to Call of Duty and a brilliant dog tag system (very simular to titles in Cal of Duty). This game feels a lot like a Halo 4 and Call of Duty Hybrid. From hit markers to beautiful kill cams, I'm loving it all. This game offers everything I hoped Halo 4 would be. As I said I am new to Crysis, but from what I have played so far, I highly recommend you buy this game if you are a fan of Call of Duty or Halo. I'm giving it a 10 simply because it was a sleeper hit for me. What a relief that I didn't waste my money like I did with Aliens Colonial Marines.
    Full Review »