Crysis 3 Xbox 360

Crysis 3 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 336 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players assume the role of Prophet as he returns to New York, only to realize that the city has been encased in a Nanodome constructed by the corrupt Cell Corporation. The New York City Liberty Dome is a veritable urban rainforest teeming with overgrown trees, dense swamplands and teemingPlayers assume the role of Prophet as he returns to New York, only to realize that the city has been encased in a Nanodome constructed by the corrupt Cell Corporation. The New York City Liberty Dome is a veritable urban rainforest teeming with overgrown trees, dense swamplands and teeming rivers. Within the Liberty Dome, 7 distinct and treacherous environments become known as the Seven Wonders. This dangerous new world requires the use of advanced weapons and tactics. Prophet will don a lethal composite bow, an enhanced Nanosuit and devastating alien tech to become the deadliest hunter on the planet. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    91
    Overall Crysis 3 is just what you would expect at the end of a generation cycle. A FPS that is deep not only in its level design and scope, but tells a deep story, with deep game play mechanics. You will not find many games that do it all in one fell swoop.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Even if you're constantly moving from point A to point B, Crysis 3 makes you feel truly free, the main character behind great events, and that's absolutely not a negligible achievement. In other words, this is the best piece of work from the Crytek guys so far.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    The openness of the levels and the variety of skills at Prophet’s disposal makes each chapter a joy to play and replay.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 doesn’t do much wrong as a shooter and is constantly entertaining thanks to the nanosuit and the addition of the bow. The multiplayer is also surprisingly fun. Other aspects aren’t as great though. Dialogues are simply terrible and the main campaign is quite short, especially for a game that’s at its best when played slowly. On consoles the game’s framerate also frequently drops significantly. None of these things are crucial enough to not recommend it though. Crysis 3 is just too much fun for that.
  5. Feb 21, 2013
    77
    In a market saturated with shooters, it takes something special to rise above the pack. Crysis 3 was on the cusp of doing so, but in the end it didn’t quite knock one out of the park.
  6. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Being enormous fans of the Crysis series to this point, we came at this wanting to love it. But repetitive scenarios and a lack of challenge steadily dried our fan shorts. [May 2013, p.81]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    50
    It looks sharp and it may be perfectly serviceable, but with all of the other interesting things happening in video games right now, something as surprisingly soulless and rote as Crysis 3 has absolutely nothing to recommend it.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 66
  2. Negative: 8 out of 66
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Let me start this review by saying I am completely new to the Crysis genre. After playing for a few hours, this game is amazing. GraphicallyLet me start this review by saying I am completely new to the Crysis genre. After playing for a few hours, this game is amazing. Graphically this game is what I would expect a game on the Xbox 720 or ps4 to look like. From what I have played so far, the single player has a detailed story that keeps me interested.

    I have spent a majority of my time playing multiplayer. It has an unlock system similar to Call of Duty and a brilliant dog tag system (very simular to titles in Cal of Duty). This game feels a lot like a Halo 4 and Call of Duty Hybrid. From hit markers to beautiful kill cams, I'm loving it all. This game offers everything I hoped Halo 4 would be. As I said I am new to Crysis, but from what I have played so far, I highly recommend you buy this game if you are a fan of Call of Duty or Halo. I'm giving it a 10 simply because it was a sleeper hit for me. What a relief that I didn't waste my money like I did with Aliens Colonial Marines.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    9
    This is the second Crysis game I've played, and it's not reveloutionary but it's a solid FPS, with jaw dropping graphics, well realisedThis is the second Crysis game I've played, and it's not reveloutionary but it's a solid FPS, with jaw dropping graphics, well realised universe and great characters.

    Story.
    About 20 yrs after the events of crysis 2, you awaken in a world overrun by the croupt Cell corporation that controls the worlds energy. You are still in NY and it's now a urban jungle in a dome. But why? What is Cell hiding? The story is well written, simple but great. Prothet is a great protagonist and he now talks which gives him the depth he needed. Side characters like his comrade friend Pysho is great, and all feel human.

    Graphics.
    Absolute beautiful. Makes next gen look outdated. The grass is amazing, the water the way it ripples during footsteps and gunfire, explosion how the thick black smoke comes. Everything is amazing. The colours are beautiful. The gun textures are great. I'm surprised that a game that is 5.5gbs which runs 60fps on the Xbox 360 can look this great. Facial animations are top notch, the Ceph look amazing.

    Sound
    The voice acting is great. Prothet sounds cool and robotic. The footsteps from enimies and yourself are great, the way you can enhance sound by looking through your visor on an enimies in the distance is cool. The metal cutting sound that the Ceph makes when their moving, or when they are mumbling to eachother. The chatter amongst Cell guards. Are all very well done. The guns sound amazing. This game is awesome with headphones. Truly a movie like experience. The soundtrack is great.

    Content.
    This game on the hardest difficulty is will make it about 10hrs long if you find all the collectibles, look for alternative paths, upgrades. 7 missions, the maps on the later levels are truly enormous. Side activities to do during your main quest too. Like helping fellow soldiers stuck in a car, then reward you with a weapon if you want.

    Gameplay.
    Stealth, hack, assault, ambush, snipe? What do you want to do? You can jump 3 metres high, or slam your fist into the earth the ground shock enimies, you can straggly dispatch them with a knife. Or you can use your bow, kill them with normal carbon, or explosions, eletricute them. You can kick cars into them. The gameplay is near endless, so much you can do, all skills can be improved to maximise it's efficientcy. Cloak and armour are back and can also be enhanced. Car driving, or tanks is optional if you find one throughout the map. All handle well.

    Overall it's hard to find a fault in this game. It's high production value, sets the bar high. The game is highly replay able. The only downside it's shorter then crysis 2 buy a good few hours and the story can be a bit over dramatic at times. But still a amazing package.
    Expand
  3. Mar 4, 2013
    9
    First let me say this, the reason this game has a 7.8 right on Metacritic is because of the campaign. It is okay, but it's too short andFirst let me say this, the reason this game has a 7.8 right on Metacritic is because of the campaign. It is okay, but it's too short and there's too many issues with it. So reviewers are giving the campaign a 7 pretty much or even a 6. If you look at the multiplayer, it's highly upgraded from Crysis 2 and the framerates are more manageable than on the campaign. I would personally give the multiplayer a 10 or a 9.5. This is considering I have put massive amounts of hours into Call of Duty games, Battlefield games, Gears of War games, etc. I love those other games, but Crysis 3's multiplayer feels just right. It's very unique and different than any other fps multiplayer, despite what some people may say.

    Remember when you see the 7.8 score Crysis 3 has, that the campaign is dragging that overall score down so much. If you don't mind skipping fps campaigns and prefer hopping right online and gettin at it, I would highly recommend this game. It has a 10/10 fun factor and every online match plays out dynamically and differently. So I'd say ill give the campaign a 7 and the multiplayer a 10. That would be a score of 8.5 overall but the fun factor, ambition of the developers, and the fact that the development team is actually listening to players suggestions on the mycrysis.com forums and making swift changes to improve the game, makes me want to bump the score up some. The graphics look amazing on my pro calibrated lcd tv, on 1080p Xbox 360s 260gb. For a 7 year old system, it's sort of stunning that the developers were able to make the game look so good. There are bad things about the game like, the campaign overall, rare audio glitch(can be fixed by resetting xbox though), some sketchy textures on the metallic maps, and low player population online(1000-2500 depending on the time of day). Overall this game is a joy to play and reminds me of my younger days when I used to play sega genesis games for the fun of it. This game can really get fun and exciting online, I can only suggest that you try it out yourself... you may like it
    Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2014
    8
    The only errors I can find is that it is a game that takes some time to master and there are not many players on the Xbox 360 version. On theThe only errors I can find is that it is a game that takes some time to master and there are not many players on the Xbox 360 version. On the DLC, I am not joking the most players I have ever seen on the games are a maximum of 2. The only good it does is the RHINO and the CLAW gun because it already has all the attachments and it is powerful. All in all it is a wonderful game full of amazing quality in multiplayer and the Story is very informative, thoughtful, filled with emotion and wonderful designs. The voice acting is great and the quality is top notch. The game-play is one of the best I've ever seen. Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    In my opinion, Crysis 2 is still the most gorgeous looking game I have ever played. However, Crysis 3 keeps that trend going, but doesn't addIn my opinion, Crysis 2 is still the most gorgeous looking game I have ever played. However, Crysis 3 keeps that trend going, but doesn't add anything groundbreaking. The all new hunter mode is good and all, and the multiplayer is still awesome, but the story is a bit dull and worse than (Crysis 2's) and the overall design of the game is too similar to its predecessors. I would still suggest this game to most people who love FPSs. They can get a bit of a sneak peek of how the graphics of the next gen Xbox and PS4 will look early on. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2014
    6
    after the excellent crysis 1 and 2 i was excited to play 3. after a eventually getting around to it i was disappointed at the direction of theafter the excellent crysis 1 and 2 i was excited to play 3. after a eventually getting around to it i was disappointed at the direction of the campaign. the game was very short, didn't offer much exploration and the enemies were not at all exciting and fairly typical in the way that they attacked our player. i really enjoyed the story elements between psycho and profit, the voice acting was really well done and the story was hard to follow but enjoyable of what came to the surface. the gameplay was still fluid and fun and the new addition of the bow was enjoyable and added an extra element to trying to stealth through enviroments. however the stealth in this game is far to janky - some situations enemies can't see you when they should and other times you are completely hidden in a bush behind a tree and come out of cloak and everyone will be able to see you for no reason. it is a frustrating experience in terms of stealth or understanding how the enemies sight lines work. The driving sections in this game were truly awful and i had to force myself to play through these sections despite them being only 5-10 minutes long. overall this game provided a mediocre experience that lasted only around 5 hours. there are definitely better shooters available on the market.
    I wasn't able to play multiplayer as there was no one playing and the only matches i was able to join either ended abruptly due to disconnections or were so laggy the hit detection didn't register. The game is really stunning though. the environments are great to look at, the effects are top notch and the grass realistically sways in the breeze. but graphics don't mean anything if the game is not a ton of fun to play.
    Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Campaign was just over six hours. I basically just walked through the whole game in stealth, it was so boring and un-engaging. The story wasCampaign was just over six hours. I basically just walked through the whole game in stealth, it was so boring and un-engaging. The story was supposed to be psychological but I seriously had no emotional response to it. There were way too many cut-scenes that left me wondering, "Why am I not controlling my character right now?" FFS, the majority of the endgame is comprised of QuickTime events. Focus on multi-player is a cop-out. Mutli-player means that developers get to stop working after the levels are built and they expect the customer to create their own sense of immersion. F that. Some 12-year-old d!p$#!t crying on team-speak does not help create atmosphere. If all I want to do is "compete", I'll play Call of Duty (which will never happen). I bought Crysis for the story and SciFi setting. The story and single-player campaign deserved more attention. Same price as previous titles, a lot less content and a whole lot more Hollywood. Thumbs down. This was a linear, boring, waste of money. Three points for having the most gorgeous graphics of any game ever. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.