Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 300 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players assume the role of Prophet as he returns to New York, only to realize that the city has been encased in a Nanodome constructed by the corrupt Cell Corporation. The New York City Liberty Dome is a veritable urban rainforest teeming with overgrown trees, dense swamplands and teeming rivers. Within the Liberty Dome, 7 distinct and treacherous environments become known as the Seven Wonders. This dangerous new world requires the use of advanced weapons and tactics. Prophet will don a lethal composite bow, an enhanced Nanosuit and devastating alien tech to become the deadliest hunter on the planet. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Feb 26, 2013
    91
    Overall Crysis 3 is just what you would expect at the end of a generation cycle. A FPS that is deep not only in its level design and scope, but tells a deep story, with deep game play mechanics. You will not find many games that do it all in one fell swoop.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    Even if you're constantly moving from point A to point B, Crysis 3 makes you feel truly free, the main character behind great events, and that's absolutely not a negligible achievement. In other words, this is the best piece of work from the Crytek guys so far.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    85
    The openness of the levels and the variety of skills at Prophet’s disposal makes each chapter a joy to play and replay.
  4. Feb 25, 2013
    80
    Crysis 3 doesn’t do much wrong as a shooter and is constantly entertaining thanks to the nanosuit and the addition of the bow. The multiplayer is also surprisingly fun. Other aspects aren’t as great though. Dialogues are simply terrible and the main campaign is quite short, especially for a game that’s at its best when played slowly. On consoles the game’s framerate also frequently drops significantly. None of these things are crucial enough to not recommend it though. Crysis 3 is just too much fun for that.
  5. 77
    In a market saturated with shooters, it takes something special to rise above the pack. Crysis 3 was on the cusp of doing so, but in the end it didn’t quite knock one out of the park.
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    70
    Being enormous fans of the Crysis series to this point, we came at this wanting to love it. But repetitive scenarios and a lack of challenge steadily dried our fan shorts. [May 2013, p.81]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    50
    It looks sharp and it may be perfectly serviceable, but with all of the other interesting things happening in video games right now, something as surprisingly soulless and rote as Crysis 3 has absolutely nothing to recommend it.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 63
  2. Negative: 8 out of 63
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Let me start this review by saying I am completely new to the Crysis genre. After playing for a few hours, this game is amazing. Graphically this game is what I would expect a game on the Xbox 720 or ps4 to look like. From what I have played so far, the single player has a detailed story that keeps me interested.

    I have spent a majority of my time playing multiplayer. It has an unlock system similar to Call of Duty and a brilliant dog tag system (very simular to titles in Cal of Duty). This game feels a lot like a Halo 4 and Call of Duty Hybrid. From hit markers to beautiful kill cams, I'm loving it all. This game offers everything I hoped Halo 4 would be. As I said I am new to Crysis, but from what I have played so far, I highly recommend you buy this game if you are a fan of Call of Duty or Halo. I'm giving it a 10 simply because it was a sleeper hit for me. What a relief that I didn't waste my money like I did with Aliens Colonial Marines.
    Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2013
    9
    Crysis 3 is a fantastic game. Stunning visuals, fast and progressive storyline. Not to mention the new bow and the ability to kill things and remained cloaked. Some of the visuals are jaw dropping for a console of this age. The odd problem here and there but what do you expect, this is pushing things to the limit and beyond. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Crysis 3 is the strongest entry in the franchise. The puzzle-like combat scenarios have never been better with its suite of gameplay options and opportunities while the engaging narrative urges you to see Prophet’s journey through to the end. This game is loads of fun online, and I def recommend this game for the 360. It's a great change of pace if you own Halo 4 or Black Ops 2. Expand
  4. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is Game is Great, But Not Greater than the second one. This game is Mostly Focused on Stealth Which I used Stealth mode Too Much and Killing Enemies Silently. The Single Player Campaign is Awesome, But its Short and has seven missions. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    7
    Goood game but 2 one was way better the upgrade system is broken for some people and its not what I expected to play.Ending is weird hopfully we will see a crisis 4 in next gen. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2013
    6
    The original Crysis set a high bar, but it had plenty of flaws. The more linear Crysis 2 is also a great shooter which proved that Crytek could deliver a decent (and good looking) shooter to consoles. There is an ongoing debate on whether Crytek “sold out” by developing console games instead of sticking with pc only titles. Crytek’s CEO stated that piracy of the original Crysis on PC was so extreme that they hardly broke even on sales during the first few years of its release. Consoles hinder piracy and boost Crytek’s top line so they can develop more titles. So what about Crysis 3? Well, it’s an average shooter. The campaign allows gamers to pick different approaches and either rampage or sneak accordingly. Of course, all this is done while wearing a super-powered nanosuit. For a Crytek game, the campaign is short. About 4-6 hours depending on how you play. Although the campaign will disappoint hardcore Crysis fans, it will satisfy most gamers. However, the predator bow mechanics negates tactics and switching to enhanced vision highlights all enemies on the map, even thru cover. Boring. Some people have complained about the game’s “stupid” AI. The AI fits the game’s purpose even if baddies aren’t exceptional lethal. Considering the godlike accuracy of enemies in Black Ops 2 (on higher difficulties), I’m not really bothered by Crysis 3’s AI. Overall, the campaign is too easy and forgettable and probably something I won’t revisit. The multiplayer is a vast improvement over Crysis 2 and most of the flaws have been ironed out. There are new multiplayer modes. Best of all, the maps are huge. These are definitely some of the best environments I’ve seen in a multiplayer fps. There are plenty of ledges to grab and heights to propel from in order to dispatch 3 or 4 baddies with a gratifying air stomp. Oh yes. There is nothing quite like jumping off a 60 ft tall dilapidated building and landing in the midst of entrenched enemies. The suit mechanics are simply amazing and unparalleled by other popular shooters. Jumping around and grabbing ledges never gets old. Although multiplayer matches move quickly, the nanosuit boosts survivability. There is a steep learning curve for the uninitiated. But after a few hours of play, you’ll realize the suit is a wonderful tool of destruction. The right tactics will allow even average players to last a minute or longer without dying. This is an eternity compared to a COD multiplayer match. Overall, Crysis 3’s multiplayer is one of the best Xbox has to offer. So what’s the bad? Well, Crysis 3 pushes the Xbox 360 to its breaking point. Graphical hiccups are painfully noticeable during the kill cam and match highlights. Also, loading times for customizations and stats are long. Even worse, Crysis 3 can completely freeze your Xbox. The game lacks polish and even feels unfinished at times. After playing both the PC and Xbox versions, I was surprised how different they looked. PC graphics were crisp and performance was exceptional. Basically, Crysis 3 on a well-tuned PC will put Xbox to shame. It demonstrates that Microsoft needs to come out with a new console and soon. Another big complaint is gun mechanics. Gun recoil can be brutal. But that's intentional. The point and shoot mentality of other popular shooters will get you killed plenty in a Crysis 3 death match. However, there are guns to suit every play style and the right loadout and upgrades will increase your chances of success. Lag and server disconnects are my biggest complaints. Unfortunately, these are issues I’m seeing in all my favorite fps titles. They’re just blatantly obvious in this game and extremely frustrating at times. Crysis 3 is a good shooter that will be overlooked by too many gamers. Unfortunately for Crytek, its hardcore fans have done the company a disservice by comparing everything to the original Crysis. Shut up already. Crysis 2 and Crysis 3 are good titles. The multiplayer alone is worth the admission price. For people on the fence about which version to get, I say go for Xbox because the Live community is so robust. If eye popping graphics is all you care about, get it for PC (but only if it can run the game at higher settings). I was prepared to give this game a 7, but it lacks the finesse that we were promised by Crytek. Is this a "next gen" game? Not on Xbox. Server lag, glaring texture popins, and system crashes really hold this title back. But it's still fun to play and the mp experience is one of the best on the market. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Campaign was just over six hours. I basically just walked through the whole game in stealth, it was so boring and un-engaging. The story was supposed to be psychological but I seriously had no emotional response to it. There were way too many cut-scenes that left me wondering, "Why am I not controlling my character right now?" FFS, the majority of the endgame is comprised of QuickTime events. Focus on multi-player is a cop-out. Mutli-player means that developers get to stop working after the levels are built and they expect the customer to create their own sense of immersion. F that. Some 12-year-old d!p$#!t crying on team-speak does not help create atmosphere. If all I want to do is "compete", I'll play Call of Duty (which will never happen). I bought Crysis for the story and SciFi setting. The story and single-player campaign deserved more attention. Same price as previous titles, a lot less content and a whole lot more Hollywood. Thumbs down. This was a linear, boring, waste of money. Three points for having the most gorgeous graphics of any game ever. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.