Damnation Xbox 360

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 48
  2. Negative: 20 out of 48

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisR
    Jul 12, 2009
    3
    I'm sorry. This game is absolutely terrible. Look at the game description and title cover. I was hoping for a nice sci-fi action game that would keep me occupied for a nice time. But as soon as I popped this game in, I immediately lost interest. Don't get me wrong. The graphics were amazing, and the platforming was incredibly smooth. But that's about it. I'd say the I'm sorry. This game is absolutely terrible. Look at the game description and title cover. I was hoping for a nice sci-fi action game that would keep me occupied for a nice time. But as soon as I popped this game in, I immediately lost interest. Don't get me wrong. The graphics were amazing, and the platforming was incredibly smooth. But that's about it. I'd say the biggest problem this game has is that: It's way too easy to die. The shooting system and CQC(Close Quarter Combat) system are both very unrealistic. And the game itself has too many empty room and obstacles to get lost in. A 3 is a bit generous. But since the graphics and platforming are quite nice. 3/10. Collapse
  2. Jun 10, 2014
    0
    Possibly one of the worst game I have ever played. Repetitive gameplay, boring, uninteresting storyline, terrible dialogues, full of glitches, lame graphics & sound effects, a game that I will definitely never play again, actually, a complete waste of time and money. I'm trying really hard to find a positive point about the game but I can't, I just can't...The game was so bad that It wasPossibly one of the worst game I have ever played. Repetitive gameplay, boring, uninteresting storyline, terrible dialogues, full of glitches, lame graphics & sound effects, a game that I will definitely never play again, actually, a complete waste of time and money. I'm trying really hard to find a positive point about the game but I can't, I just can't...The game was so bad that It was the downfall of his company : ''Blue Omega was dismantled on June 26, 2009, due to the commercial failure of Damnation'' this is how bad this game is. Expand
  3. Iwantmtv
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    This game is perhaps one of the most treasured games in my family's library of games from the past century. As soon as the game begins, you are emerged in a world conflict. Even though its an American War, at the time America is the world so it is a world conflict. You play as a Puritan cowboy gifted with the ability of acrobatics who is haunted by the disappearance of a loved one This game is perhaps one of the most treasured games in my family's library of games from the past century. As soon as the game begins, you are emerged in a world conflict. Even though its an American War, at the time America is the world so it is a world conflict. You play as a Puritan cowboy gifted with the ability of acrobatics who is haunted by the disappearance of a loved one who we have no knowledge of. The controls come quick as they explain in a brief tutorial with frequent pop-ups and as the game goes on the controls become more fluid as the movement of your thumbs does as well. The story progresses quickly and little goes explained and reminds me of all time greatest movies. The voice work was suburb, needless to say alot of takes were required in order to capture each character's unique personality. Also, don't get me started on the cooperative mode. I probably would have given this game an 8 or 9 (which is unusual for me as my other reviews are very harsh) but my friend and I got together last weekend and had a blast playing this game as a team at the same time - split screen play. You don't even need xbox live to have a good time with your bro. It's hard to be bothered by teammates unlike lame games like Marvel Ultimate Alliance or World of Warcraft because such an ability does not exist in perfection. My only complaint with this game is the lack of replay value. Adding something like Abe Lincoln as an unlockable character would add a lot of replay value And remember - for the mind and spirit to be pure, the body must endure. Expand
  4. DOcean
    May 26, 2009
    2
    Borderline unplayable. Don't waste your money. So flawed its like the developers never even tried it before it shipped! Oh, and its VERY brown. All of it.
  5. HexB
    May 31, 2009
    7
    I personally think this game is awesome. I bought this game full price and i'm having a blast with it and have no regrets. I never take any notice of reviews and other people's opinions on games and it's just as will because i would of missed out on this great game. I like the gameplay and the whole steampunk style of Damnation is cool, pus the multiplayer is excellent. I I personally think this game is awesome. I bought this game full price and i'm having a blast with it and have no regrets. I never take any notice of reviews and other people's opinions on games and it's just as will because i would of missed out on this great game. I like the gameplay and the whole steampunk style of Damnation is cool, pus the multiplayer is excellent. I hate it that this game is getting such a bad time. Damnation deserves more respect. The bottom line is....never trust other peoples opinions. Always judge for yourself. Expand
  6. CoyoteQ
    Jul 24, 2009
    2
    +1 for Abe Lincoln standing next to a Cyborg/robot super soldier and +1 because I'm sure there was at least 1 person at Blue Omega that fought to keep this from shipping, it's sad they probably fired him/her. Controls, muddy and unresponsive. Not only is the analog not smooth the enemies jump around like parkour runners on speed. Note to all game makers give the player 1 of 2 +1 for Abe Lincoln standing next to a Cyborg/robot super soldier and +1 because I'm sure there was at least 1 person at Blue Omega that fought to keep this from shipping, it's sad they probably fired him/her. Controls, muddy and unresponsive. Not only is the analog not smooth the enemies jump around like parkour runners on speed. Note to all game makers give the player 1 of 2 options, a simple lock-on or precise analog control. Graphics, it looks like somebody took a can of clear lacquered glitter paint and sprayed down every wall and rock in the game, this isn't just unrealistic it literally gave me a headache. Story, only played for about 20 minutes, I apologize to the person that possibly wrote a kick ass story about Abe Lincoln fighting laser shooting robots (the game may or may not contain this, if not you may contact me for licensing rates). Expand
  7. JimP
    Sep 4, 2009
    8
    I believe that as usual that codemasters published games as always get a bad rap. Jericho was incredible, bumpmapped and lighting that was no different than doom 3, and Turning point which plays very similar to call of duty and is also good looking and lighting to boot. I have also really enjoyed Fuel and it too bad reviews because its codemasters game. Damnation is not the mitigated I believe that as usual that codemasters published games as always get a bad rap. Jericho was incredible, bumpmapped and lighting that was no different than doom 3, and Turning point which plays very similar to call of duty and is also good looking and lighting to boot. I have also really enjoyed Fuel and it too bad reviews because its codemasters game. Damnation is not the mitigated disaster as everyone says it is and don't always believe everything you read. Most go in already hating the game before it even loads because of the subjective abuse this game gets so they can't be unbiased about it. Expand
  8. JamesD
    Jan 6, 2010
    3
    David are you nuts? Iwant mtv are you insane? This game is riddled with dated level design, awful graphics for a next gen system and there isn't even a cover system and any of you readers who are looking whther to get this or not all the proof will lie in the most reliable users like me and the scores from the professional critics above but of course make the decision solely on your David are you nuts? Iwant mtv are you insane? This game is riddled with dated level design, awful graphics for a next gen system and there isn't even a cover system and any of you readers who are looking whther to get this or not all the proof will lie in the most reliable users like me and the scores from the professional critics above but of course make the decision solely on your preferences you want this then enjoy wasting your money. Expand
  9. HabasG
    Nov 3, 2009
    6
    This is a sub-average first person shooter, but the platforming is fun enough. Controls are inconvenient, but with an IQ above 70 you might be able to overcome them with time. Hard to say if the people responsible for making cut-scenes and a story has ever seen a movie (besides Wild Wild West). That being said the setting is somewhat unique and the art direction is acceptable. This game This is a sub-average first person shooter, but the platforming is fun enough. Controls are inconvenient, but with an IQ above 70 you might be able to overcome them with time. Hard to say if the people responsible for making cut-scenes and a story has ever seen a movie (besides Wild Wild West). That being said the setting is somewhat unique and the art direction is acceptable. This game could've been a lot more if they focused on the platforming and not the combat and crappy cut scenes. The weapons in this game are really blend. Have not tried the co-op or multiplayer part of the game. Can't really imagine it will make anything better, but it's nice of the devs to include co-op and mp in their games. Expand
  10. ScottMcEntire
    May 27, 2009
    7
    This game is nowhere near as bad as Eurogamer are saying. Those guys should be banned from metacritic, seriously - it is like they strive to lower the score of any game released. Anyway, I gave this game a 7 (granted, I'm only into the 3rd level..but I am digging it so far - it does have it's share of problems, but for a first effort, I can forgive some of the bugs)
  11. JamesS
    Jun 8, 2009
    7
    It's not an awful game for first time devs, just needed alot of polish on the technical side, and the story is wasted after the setup. Shame, could have been great. Rent only if very curious as I did.
  12. MathieuC.
    Jul 13, 2009
    2
    The biggest piece of cr*p I've ever played, seriously stay away from this game, it's a total waste of time and money.
  13. DavidK.
    Aug 24, 2009
    8
    This game is like a good Tomb Raider. The weapons, enemies, and setting are very interesting and unique. The game plays like Tomb Raider: Legend. It has lots of platforming with some shooting and driving sections put in to mix it up. Don't believe all the negative reviews, this game is definitely worth checking out if you enjoy that genre.
  14. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    It really pains me to have to give this a negative review, it had so much potential but ended up being a boring and lame game, the graphics are bad, the voice acting is awful, and the story is boring, and the controls are pretty bad, the gunplay isn't exciting and could really use a cover system, but the platforming is decent but isn't as good as the Prince of Persia games which it triesIt really pains me to have to give this a negative review, it had so much potential but ended up being a boring and lame game, the graphics are bad, the voice acting is awful, and the story is boring, and the controls are pretty bad, the gunplay isn't exciting and could really use a cover system, but the platforming is decent but isn't as good as the Prince of Persia games which it tries very hard to mimic, and it's highly repetitive and outstays it's welcome, it tries to change things up by adding in some motorcycle rides but these sections drag on for way to long, honestly it had some good ideas and a unique concept, and could have been something great, but I have to review the game for what it is not what it could have been. Expand
  15. Mar 28, 2012
    4
    Game was horrible. Boring story, graphics are bad and stiff. Gameplay is also no fun at all. Hated this game like I hated Raven squad and Rogue warrior.
  16. Apr 11, 2012
    3
    June to November marks the most difficult part of the year for the gaming industry. E3 has been and gone and it seems like an eternity to wait for the top releases. If you're bored and unlucky enough, you may find yourself playing Damnation. The "Steam punk" genre is rarely visited in gaming and Damnation is one of the few that has gone there. The start of the campaign reveals the firstJune to November marks the most difficult part of the year for the gaming industry. E3 has been and gone and it seems like an eternity to wait for the top releases. If you're bored and unlucky enough, you may find yourself playing Damnation. The "Steam punk" genre is rarely visited in gaming and Damnation is one of the few that has gone there. The start of the campaign reveals the first flaw of the game, not enough information is given. After playing the game for a few hours, you pretty much believe that it is set in the 1800's, but details should be given first rather than have the player assume the setting. The basis of the story is that a crazed man, known only as Prescott, has developed an army of super soldiers using an unstable and somewhat radioactive drug called PSI Serum, hence the name of the army, PSI. This insane army is attacking helpless cities so that they can eventually control all of America. Yep, you guessed it, that's where you come in. You play as "Rourke", a stereotypical bad-ass who's history is unknown. You've banded with a group of rogue warriors and are single handedly fighting the menace that is PSI. Another notable downside that should be mentioned is the hideous graphics and textures that the game utilises. These are more than noticeable and you can tell that the developers tried to hide this in areas such as the driving sequences, where they don't expect you to actually stop and look around. If the graphics of a game have to be hidden, then the game should not not be released until it can be perfected. It is obvious that Damnation was a low-budget game. The frame rate and in-game loading screens are an absolute eyesore and should have been looked over before the game's release. The game almost crashes when too many enemies are present and it will completely stop at any random moment when it feels like loading a part of the level. There is also an abundance of glitches in this release. The whole game just doesn't feel very smooth and could have used a lot of work in this area. Also, the enemy AI are just disgraceful. The shooting sections are not fun, but rather pointless. Damnation really could have used some help in the sound department too. The voice acting is below average and will make you more annoyed rather than get you into the mood of the game, and the weapon sound effects are pitiful. It is sad to see a game get released with this amount of problems. With all these bad points being put forward, the game can offer some features that make it bearable. The climbing and leaping across buildings can be quite fun, and the length of the campaign is commendable. There are some intriguing puzzles in the game that will have you thinking and most probably make you curious as to know what the answer to it is. It would be fair to say that Damnation has tried to recreate the experiences of some of the most well known games out there today. The mood, music, shooting sequences, controls, chapter layout and overall feel of the game is very similar to that of the famed "Gears of War" series. The climbing sequences feel like they have had most of their emphasis from "Assassin's Creed". In essence, this game doesn't do much that is new, original or revolutionary. This game is destined to be overshadowed by many other successful ones and will be considered as a kind of grey area by the developer, a game that they'd rather just forget. The basis of it was very good and could have been successful if more time had been used in the developing stage, or even had a different developer completely. Rent this game, see what you think and take it from there, but it is a certainty that it will be forgotten in the very near future. Expand
  17. Dec 31, 2013
    2
    A boring, repetitive, uninteresting game. This could be released in 1978 and only be considered decent. It's unbelievably outdated and thin. Not impressed.

    Damnation gets a 2.4/10
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 39
  2. Negative: 33 out of 39
  1. At best, it's a functional third-person platformer that sometimes acts like a shooter. At worst, it's an astonishing collection of poor design decisions, half-hearted implementation and mindless narrative clutter that will only lead to buyer's remorse in all who decide to give it a try.
  2. Some genre indecisiveness and more general poor direction combine to make Damnation far worse than it looks.
  3. Great platforming, shame about the rest.