Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Evolving the shooter genre with its unique combination of fluid action and combat, Damnation features huge, open environments, frenetic combat, daredevil acrobatics and high-octane vehicle-based stunts. Presenting players with an intense test of reflexes, quick thinking and rapid-fireEvolving the shooter genre with its unique combination of fluid action and combat, Damnation features huge, open environments, frenetic combat, daredevil acrobatics and high-octane vehicle-based stunts. Presenting players with an intense test of reflexes, quick thinking and rapid-fire conflict, Damnation features vast, breathtaking landscapes, each covering miles of distance and thousands of vertical feet. Billed as a "shooter gone vertical" and visually inspired by iconic elements of American history, these massive streaming landscapes form the battlegrounds for a post-industrial conflict between humanity and an unstoppable arms dealer hell-bent on total world domination. Players choose their own paths and navigate the world by performing daredevil feats on the edge of human ability. Intelligent enemies give chase and engage players in frantic gun fights and attacks that can come from any direction. With up to three hours of actual gameplay stretching out in front of them per level, players need more than just muscle power to get across each level safely. Damnation offers players a selection of vehicles, from motorbikes capable of launching across seemingly infinite chasms, to huge, armour-piercing marvels that induce mayhem with every huge shell. The high action is supported by an epic and in-depth story which, while focusing on the exploits of the hero character Rourke, is truly an ensemble piece. Players meet and become involved in intricate story plots that reveal much more than the obvious. In addition to the single player experience, Damnation comes complete with a unique set of multiplayer options that take full advantage of the game’s expansive levels. [Codemasters] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 39
  2. Negative: 33 out of 39
  1. Great platforming, shame about the rest.
  2. Some genre indecisiveness and more general poor direction combine to make Damnation far worse than it looks.
  3. I find it hard for myself, and anyone else for that matter, to forgive the scroll list of technical, chorographical, and design issues that are presented with this game.
  4. This third-person shooter is a trip into hell.
  5. The game's ambition far outstrips its creator's abilities: damned by execution rather than intent, but damned nonetheless. [July 2009, p.99]
  6. This isn’t a premier blend of pulp fiction. It’s just a pulpy mess.
  7. 10
    It's almost like the time-space continuum ripped open and farted out a title from years ago which, by rights, should never exist and only does so because of some unholy pact with Satan.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 17
  2. Negative: 10 out of 17
  1. Iwantmtv
    Aug 2, 2009
    10
    This game is perhaps one of the most treasured games in my family's library of games from the past century. As soon as the game begins, This game is perhaps one of the most treasured games in my family's library of games from the past century. As soon as the game begins, you are emerged in a world conflict. Even though its an American War, at the time America is the world so it is a world conflict. You play as a Puritan cowboy gifted with the ability of acrobatics who is haunted by the disappearance of a loved one who we have no knowledge of. The controls come quick as they explain in a brief tutorial with frequent pop-ups and as the game goes on the controls become more fluid as the movement of your thumbs does as well. The story progresses quickly and little goes explained and reminds me of all time greatest movies. The voice work was suburb, needless to say alot of takes were required in order to capture each character's unique personality. Also, don't get me started on the cooperative mode. I probably would have given this game an 8 or 9 (which is unusual for me as my other reviews are very harsh) but my friend and I got together last weekend and had a blast playing this game as a team at the same time - split screen play. You don't even need xbox live to have a good time with your bro. It's hard to be bothered by teammates unlike lame games like Marvel Ultimate Alliance or World of Warcraft because such an ability does not exist in perfection. My only complaint with this game is the lack of replay value. Adding something like Abe Lincoln as an unlockable character would add a lot of replay value And remember - for the mind and spirit to be pure, the body must endure. Collapse
  2. DavidK.
    Aug 24, 2009
    8
    This game is like a good Tomb Raider. The weapons, enemies, and setting are very interesting and unique. The game plays like Tomb Raider: This game is like a good Tomb Raider. The weapons, enemies, and setting are very interesting and unique. The game plays like Tomb Raider: Legend. It has lots of platforming with some shooting and driving sections put in to mix it up. Don't believe all the negative reviews, this game is definitely worth checking out if you enjoy that genre. Expand
  3. HexB
    May 31, 2009
    7
    I personally think this game is awesome. I bought this game full price and i'm having a blast with it and have no regrets. I never take I personally think this game is awesome. I bought this game full price and i'm having a blast with it and have no regrets. I never take any notice of reviews and other people's opinions on games and it's just as will because i would of missed out on this great game. I like the gameplay and the whole steampunk style of Damnation is cool, pus the multiplayer is excellent. I hate it that this game is getting such a bad time. Damnation deserves more respect. The bottom line is....never trust other peoples opinions. Always judge for yourself. Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    It really pains me to have to give this a negative review, it had so much potential but ended up being a boring and lame game, the graphicsIt really pains me to have to give this a negative review, it had so much potential but ended up being a boring and lame game, the graphics are bad, the voice acting is awful, and the story is boring, and the controls are pretty bad, the gunplay isn't exciting and could really use a cover system, but the platforming is decent but isn't as good as the Prince of Persia games which it tries very hard to mimic, and it's highly repetitive and outstays it's welcome, it tries to change things up by adding in some motorcycle rides but these sections drag on for way to long, honestly it had some good ideas and a unique concept, and could have been something great, but I have to review the game for what it is not what it could have been. Expand
  5. Apr 11, 2012
    3
    June to November marks the most difficult part of the year for the gaming industry. E3 has been and gone and it seems like an eternity to waitJune to November marks the most difficult part of the year for the gaming industry. E3 has been and gone and it seems like an eternity to wait for the top releases. If you're bored and unlucky enough, you may find yourself playing Damnation. The "Steam punk" genre is rarely visited in gaming and Damnation is one of the few that has gone there. The start of the campaign reveals the first flaw of the game, not enough information is given. After playing the game for a few hours, you pretty much believe that it is set in the 1800's, but details should be given first rather than have the player assume the setting. The basis of the story is that a crazed man, known only as Prescott, has developed an army of super soldiers using an unstable and somewhat radioactive drug called PSI Serum, hence the name of the army, PSI. This insane army is attacking helpless cities so that they can eventually control all of America. Yep, you guessed it, that's where you come in. You play as "Rourke", a stereotypical bad-ass who's history is unknown. You've banded with a group of rogue warriors and are single handedly fighting the menace that is PSI. Another notable downside that should be mentioned is the hideous graphics and textures that the game utilises. These are more than noticeable and you can tell that the developers tried to hide this in areas such as the driving sequences, where they don't expect you to actually stop and look around. If the graphics of a game have to be hidden, then the game should not not be released until it can be perfected. It is obvious that Damnation was a low-budget game. The frame rate and in-game loading screens are an absolute eyesore and should have been looked over before the game's release. The game almost crashes when too many enemies are present and it will completely stop at any random moment when it feels like loading a part of the level. There is also an abundance of glitches in this release. The whole game just doesn't feel very smooth and could have used a lot of work in this area. Also, the enemy AI are just disgraceful. The shooting sections are not fun, but rather pointless. Damnation really could have used some help in the sound department too. The voice acting is below average and will make you more annoyed rather than get you into the mood of the game, and the weapon sound effects are pitiful. It is sad to see a game get released with this amount of problems. With all these bad points being put forward, the game can offer some features that make it bearable. The climbing and leaping across buildings can be quite fun, and the length of the campaign is commendable. There are some intriguing puzzles in the game that will have you thinking and most probably make you curious as to know what the answer to it is. It would be fair to say that Damnation has tried to recreate the experiences of some of the most well known games out there today. The mood, music, shooting sequences, controls, chapter layout and overall feel of the game is very similar to that of the famed "Gears of War" series. The climbing sequences feel like they have had most of their emphasis from "Assassin's Creed". In essence, this game doesn't do much that is new, original or revolutionary. This game is destined to be overshadowed by many other successful ones and will be considered as a kind of grey area by the developer, a game that they'd rather just forget. The basis of it was very good and could have been successful if more time had been used in the developing stage, or even had a different developer completely. Rent this game, see what you think and take it from there, but it is a certainty that it will be forgotten in the very near future. Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    2
    A boring, repetitive, uninteresting game. This could be released in 1978 and only be considered decent. It's unbelievably outdated and thin.A boring, repetitive, uninteresting game. This could be released in 1978 and only be considered decent. It's unbelievably outdated and thin. Not impressed.

    Damnation gets a 2.4/10
    Expand
  7. Jun 10, 2014
    0
    Possibly one of the worst game I have ever played. Repetitive gameplay, boring, uninteresting storyline, terrible dialogues, full of glitches,Possibly one of the worst game I have ever played. Repetitive gameplay, boring, uninteresting storyline, terrible dialogues, full of glitches, lame graphics & sound effects, a game that I will definitely never play again, actually, a complete waste of time and money. I'm trying really hard to find a positive point about the game but I can't, I just can't...The game was so bad that It was the downfall of his company : ''Blue Omega was dismantled on June 26, 2009, due to the commercial failure of Damnation'' this is how bad this game is. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Trailers