Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Dec 29, 2010
    92
    Hints at a great future for Kinect. [Jan 2011]
  2. 92
    The dancing rhythm genre is likely set to explode next year on Kinect. I think Harmonix is going to make a killing off this software, and we're likely to see a deluge of me-too shovelware come along once publishers get a whiff of that money.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    91
    Dance Central is the game to have for anyone who is skeptical of Kinect's abilities. A great crowd puller and a hit to have at parties.
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    91
    Not only is Dance Central is the best dance game I've experienced thus far, but its also the game that truly showcases Kinect's potential and sets the bar high for any upcoming games in the genre. An almost-flawless body-controlled experience that every single Kinect buyer needs to have, whether they're dancing aficionados or not.
  5. Nov 10, 2010
    91
    It's a challenging game that manages to not feel frustrating, and it gives you a great workout as well. There's also that nice element of feedback to let you know how you can improve, and if you've ever wanted to pick up a dance move or two, then you should probably check this out.
  6. Nov 9, 2010
    91
    None of its flaws, though, detract Dance Central from justifying Kinect and revolutionizing the rhythm dance genre. It spearheads not just a movement in new video game technology, but also the inherent connection between dance and downright fun.
  7. Nov 4, 2010
    91
    The selection of jams, from Pitbull's "Calle Ocho" to M.I.A.'s "Galang '05", are all bootie-bouncing material. The range of dance routines vary considerably and feel legit -- I'd feel comfortable doing "the jerk" at a club.
  8. Jan 5, 2011
    90
    In the end, Dance Central is definitely the best dance game on the Kinect and really showcases the Kinect quite well.
  9. Nov 12, 2010
    90
    But while I wouldn't have minded a bit more MC Hammer, Dance Central has managed to get me to wave my hands in the air like I just don't care. No mean feat. And it keeps the wife laughing, and whatever makes her happy, makes me happy. Sort of.
  10. Nov 4, 2010
    90
    I've never played anything quite like it, and I think I'm ready to retire my DDR dance pads permanently, because this is the real revolution.
  11. 90
    Ultimately, if you've invested in a Kinect, this is definitely the game you must pick up to showcase to your friends and justify your purchase.
  12. Nov 4, 2010
    90
    Despite my frustration with what Dance Central can't do, I'm giving this game a high score for what it can. It can get me off my couch and sweating more than Wii Fit ever did. It can bring my friends and coworkers together for thirty minutes while we try to figure out what a "real" Cabbage Patch is. It can tempt non-gamers into giving it a go because unlike you maybe they actually can dance. And even if it can't wave a wand and make me a good dancer, it can inspire me to at least try.
  13. 88
    Dance Central is as close to a killer-app that Kinect has to date and Harmonix has gone and proven that they're not a one trick pony. If you're looking for an excuse to get Kinect, ladies and gents, may I present to you, Dance Central.
  14. Nov 10, 2010
    88
    We haven't seen a dancing game that's looked this fun since the old days of Dance Dance Revolution and the dance-bot. If anything here truly shines, though, it's the soundtrack.
  15. Nov 4, 2010
    88
    Investing hours in a game that rewards you for some degree of athleticism and coordination is not only an incredible workout, but ultimately makes you feel like a better dancer in the end. Dance Central shines among Kinect's otherwise bleak launch lineup and is undoubtedly a step in the right direction for the hardware.
  16. Nov 24, 2010
    87
    A real revolution in dancing rhythm games, entertaining and enjoyable by everyone. Too bad for a lacking multiplayer with the absence of online play support.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This game is most definitely the best display of what the Kinect can do. Not only that, but it is the best dancing game ever made. Sure, the options may be light, but it actually works. I'm glad the folks at Harmonix decided to focus on making the core gameplay great. Looking forward to Dance Central 2 and the inevitable Career Mode that will come with it. Full Review »
  2. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    So i bought Kinect with Kinect Sports and DAnce Central.
    Firt i played Kinect Sports and it was horrible. It was like 2006 i started playing
    Wii and back than it was something new.
    The firt try was great, amazing and fun. Now with Kinect it was a pain in my ass when i tried boxing, soccer and the other sports.
    Okay i was shocked first but i said to myself:
    Not so bad maybe Dance Central will be better.
    I started Dance Central and i was shocked. Again some very poor rehash from a Wiigame with a few better graphics and awfull control. So i bought Kinect for 150 bucks with a game for 200 to get a god damn copy of a system i allready have.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    this game is the only reason why people should buy a Kinect. despite minor glitches with trying to capture motion, the potential of controller-less gaming is on full display with it. Dance Central has a fairly good choice of songs to dance to and the DLC's are worth paying for. it's the perfect party game for spacious living rooms with solid entertainment systems. it won't improve one's dancing skills or work up a sweat (unless you play 2 hrs straight on hard), but i like how it teaches simple dance moves and i bet users of this game will spot gym group class instructors or party-going clubbers who have stolen a few moves by playing Dance Central. Full Review »