Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dance Central uses the Xbox 360's motion-sensing accessory Kinect to guide you through a variety of dance moves and pop songs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Dec 29, 2010
    92
    Hints at a great future for Kinect. [Jan 2011]
  2. Jan 5, 2011
    90
    In the end, Dance Central is definitely the best dance game on the Kinect and really showcases the Kinect quite well.
  3. Nov 4, 2010
    88
    Investing hours in a game that rewards you for some degree of athleticism and coordination is not only an incredible workout, but ultimately makes you feel like a better dancer in the end. Dance Central shines among Kinect's otherwise bleak launch lineup and is undoubtedly a step in the right direction for the hardware.
  4. Nov 7, 2010
    81
    Much like the original Guitar Hero, Dance Central nails the essence and charm of its ambitious format in its very first act.
  5. Nov 20, 2010
    80
    Dance Central shows what Kinect can do for gaming. The gameplay is forgiving enough t o ensure even players without any sense of rhythm stand a chance, and the Break It Down-mode can teach virtually anyone the dance moves required. The menu controls need some work, but even the sporadic problems with recognizing more subtle moves, the fun isn't spoiled.
  6. Nov 7, 2010
    80
    Dance Central's strength, like many respectable "casual" games, is that it does one thing, and it does it really, really well. It doesn't overextend itself trying to be too videogamey, or trying to be an exercise game, or anything other than purely a dance game.
  7. Nov 8, 2010
    70
    Well polished at every level, whether the playlist or lining, Dance Central boasts an exemplary degree of finish and a great recognition of movements.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I wish this game was never created, because of how much fun it is for all of my friends and family which then forces me to partake in a dance off with videos and photos. This is the best game out there on Kinect. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    This game is most definitely the best display of what the Kinect can do. Not only that, but it is the best dancing game ever made. Sure, the options may be light, but it actually works. I'm glad the folks at Harmonix decided to focus on making the core gameplay great. Looking forward to Dance Central 2 and the inevitable Career Mode that will come with it. Expand
  3. May 21, 2011
    9
    Pros: Re-playability is the biggest pro this game has to offer. Over 40 Songs at 3 difficulties a piece. The song choices are fun to play and diverse. Character changing, although not affecting the game itself in any way make you feel slightly more attached to it. Dance Central is for dance rookies to excellent dancers making it for just about everyone..Another thing I though was fun was the freestyle segment which records the dancer and plays it in fast motion for about a 5 second clip.

    Cons: The game has something called Workout mode, which is a bit difficult to find but fun to use. It tracks the calorie burning throughout your gameplay. An issue I find with most kinect games is the inability to choose where you wish to store photos and videos taken by the kinect itself, Dance Central seems to only store one 5 second clip at a time and overwrites the previous one...which takes away from the fun it could be to watch different clips. Overall" The game is fun and I could definitely recommend it to other gamers. Easy chevos too!
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    Easily the best game game on Kinect that I've seen so far, with great tracking, bumping tracks, and a game that will get the blood pumping. Harmonix really did a great job in getting this game complete as a launch title, with such polish and style...the true must have for Kinect. Dance Central 2 is going to really be a marvel, when it eventually launches either next holiday season or the one after. Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2010
    8
    PRESENTATION GRAPHICS/STYLE: It is not a graphically intense game but it has got awesome visual style and effects. Dance Central gives the vibes of urban hip-hop and pop culture settings and styles. You will be dancing in the streets, clubs, or even on stage. Each avatar dancer has their own personality, and by default, each song is tied to a specific dancer. It is a very pretty and streamlined interface that gets the job done. STORY: There is really no story to follow in this game. Those avatars are just very eager to get on the dance floor and bust some moves. It would have been great to add story modes to each avatar. SOUND: There is a good variety of songs from all the danceable genres (Hip-Hop, Pop, Electronica, and others) and a pretty high chance you have heard some of them like Just Dance, Drop It Like Its Hot, or Satisfaction Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2010
    8
    For sure the best Kinect game so far. From a tech point of view the most simple Kinect game out there (avatars don't follow you, you have to follow avatars), but it is a refreshing experience delivering fun, only fun! Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    So i bought Kinect with Kinect Sports and DAnce Central.
    Firt i played Kinect Sports and it was horrible. It was like 2006 i started playing
    Wii and back than it was something new.
    The firt try was great, amazing and fun. Now with Kinect it was a pain in my ass when i tried boxing, soccer and the other sports.
    Okay i was shocked first but i said to myself:
    Not so bad maybe Dance Central will be better.
    I started Dance Central and i was shocked. Again some very poor rehash from a Wiigame with a few better graphics and awfull control. So i bought Kinect for 150 bucks with a game for 200 to get a god damn copy of a system i allready have.
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews