User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 148
  2. Negative: 22 out of 148
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. darkrocker0007
    Oct 12, 2008
    6
    This game was great as far as the concepts go, but they didn't put those concepts to full effect... it could've been played out a lot better. The glaive makes the game despite the lack of storyline and the repetitive game play. As far as playing it goes... its a game to play for a bit, then leave for a bit, then come back. It would be very hard for me to play through.... But all This game was great as far as the concepts go, but they didn't put those concepts to full effect... it could've been played out a lot better. The glaive makes the game despite the lack of storyline and the repetitive game play. As far as playing it goes... its a game to play for a bit, then leave for a bit, then come back. It would be very hard for me to play through.... But all in all you'll have more fun looking up reviews than playing the game itself. Expand
  2. Jan 24, 2011
    7
    The first time i tried to play this game i thought it was pretty brutal but this came after playing some other really fantastic games. After shelving this game for a year or so i decided to give it another try and I must admit this game is pretty good after all. If you check my review on Dark Void much of what i said there holds true with this game as well and for that reason I would sayThe first time i tried to play this game i thought it was pretty brutal but this came after playing some other really fantastic games. After shelving this game for a year or so i decided to give it another try and I must admit this game is pretty good after all. If you check my review on Dark Void much of what i said there holds true with this game as well and for that reason I would say this game is a bit underrated. The problems with this game are almost identical to Dark Void and they really are superficial, not critical- the developer did not hide the idiocy of the AI characters very well and the game play was not very open allowing you to play the game any way you liked. In Dark Void the ultimate fun was acheived with the jet pack and in this game the developer clearly wanted you to stay away from playing this game as a third person shooter and practically forced using the glaive to play the game to get into the feel of the character and story. For some people this would be cool but forced gameplay is a tricky thing as the game basically is a shooter then disappoints by not allowing you to play it as a shooter strictly if you wanted to. You can grab shooter weapons but will drop them after 10 seconds and this is really my reason to think this game was both good and bad. It was a fun shooter with the disappointment you had to play the game as the developers intended and this could come off more as chorelike than fun. That said, anyone willing to play strictly with the glaive probably would really enjoy this. I think the quality, graphics and sound were quite well done and only glitches i found were killing enemies and have their bodies flail around silly style in front of you. Again, also poor implementation of AI but please check my Dark Void review for more detail as this game is almost identical in that respect. Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    5
    If your a 3rd person shooter fanatic you may like this game, but the boring plot, repetitive gameplay, and just the fact that it's nothing new or exciting will turn others off, while it had some good ideas and fantastic graphics, it was just so poorly executed and the fact that there are tons of better 3rd person shooters out there like Gears of War, I just can't recommend this.
  4. ChrisR.
    Apr 2, 2008
    7
    At first, this seemed like a game for me. But after playing for an hour or so, I started to slowly get more and more frustrated with the game play and direction of the game. The Story? hell if I know, there is zero direction in this game. Not to mention no map, radar, or chatty radio friend to lead you along. With no specific mission other that "keep moving forward, Kill everything in At first, this seemed like a game for me. But after playing for an hour or so, I started to slowly get more and more frustrated with the game play and direction of the game. The Story? hell if I know, there is zero direction in this game. Not to mention no map, radar, or chatty radio friend to lead you along. With no specific mission other that "keep moving forward, Kill everything in sight" the game story completely lacks from there. In one section of the game, you meet a lady that is presumably a bad guy, after a brief cut scene a 1 minute timer starts with you being attacked by zombie/mutants. After killing all the mutants, the timer doesn't stop. I proceed to try and push every button in the room, look for a bomb to defuse, throw my glaive at everything in sight only to just fall over dead after the timer ran out. No explosion, no cut scene, just 3, 2, 1 You're Dead. EXTREMELY frustrating..... Outside of that, the game play is good. Combat can be pretty fun with the glaive and guns at your disposal. This on is rent worthy in my book. Expand
  5. AndrewS
    Mar 27, 2008
    6
    Sadly, the anticipation killed this game. First announced in 2004, this game went back to the drawing board and with it a new engine was built for it from scratch. In action, the game is a typical 3rd person shooter, "borrowing" elements from Gears of War (cover system), Resident Evil 4 (weapon upgrades by a mysterious man) and Metal Gear Solid (definitely not the sneaking). The story (orSadly, the anticipation killed this game. First announced in 2004, this game went back to the drawing board and with it a new engine was built for it from scratch. In action, the game is a typical 3rd person shooter, "borrowing" elements from Gears of War (cover system), Resident Evil 4 (weapon upgrades by a mysterious man) and Metal Gear Solid (definitely not the sneaking). The story (or lack there of) leave too much to the imagination of the player, and at times you question what you're fighting so damned hard for. The combat is repetitive and only marginally difficult, but that's because they throw plenty of NPCs at you at once. The AI is akin to a slow witted toddler. Boss battles blend into the game to well and hardly present a real challenge. The one redeeming aspect of the game is the Glaive... which if you've read any review or seen any preview, you know plenty about. This weapon is almost more important than the main character. However the glaive has it's downfalls too. Not being powerful enough on it's own, you're usually dual welding a handgun for back up. This feature comes in handy because in close combat the Glaive ISN'T used during hand-to-hand?!

    While it's a fun game (at times), it's so full of it self that it missed the point on every thing it "borrowed". Save yourself $60 and rent it for a weekend, guarantee you'll beat it in a few hours anyway.
    Expand
  6. ScottPosey
    Jun 9, 2008
    7
    Great game, but just doesn't have the lasting power of others. Play it for the single player, but don't expect much out of the multi.
  7. Homes
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    Graphics were great. The galive was fun as were the powers. Sadly the repetive levels, i mean every section of every level was the same 8 out of 10 times. You at one end enemies at other, foight to end behind cover. For as long as this game was developed i was disappointed by the fact that the bodies only disconnect at the waist knees and elbows. The story may be the worst video game Graphics were great. The galive was fun as were the powers. Sadly the repetive levels, i mean every section of every level was the same 8 out of 10 times. You at one end enemies at other, foight to end behind cover. For as long as this game was developed i was disappointed by the fact that the bodies only disconnect at the waist knees and elbows. The story may be the worst video game story this year or even decade. It makes halo 3 and gears look like epics. What cutscenes there were made no sense and seemed to be completely random in plot function. Lastly the subs don't match up with teh dialogue but this is just a minor concern. Expand
  8. DanH.
    Apr 8, 2008
    7
    Graphics were phenominal. Great job devs! When I was fighting the jackle and using my shield I was awe struck by how gorgeous it looked. I do feel however, that the game is mostly just fluff. Boss fights were bad, I pretty much took them all down by standing behind a pillar the whole time. I didn't like the enemies (fuck that riot shield guy and the zombies). I think the next game by Graphics were phenominal. Great job devs! When I was fighting the jackle and using my shield I was awe struck by how gorgeous it looked. I do feel however, that the game is mostly just fluff. Boss fights were bad, I pretty much took them all down by standing behind a pillar the whole time. I didn't like the enemies (fuck that riot shield guy and the zombies). I think the next game by these devs will be outstanding. This game probably suffered because they spent so much time on their engine. Expand
  9. TayorB.
    Jul 17, 2008
    7
    Personally i thought this game was pretty good. Its no GOW or RE4 but it is still fun. While the game does feel alot like the aformentioned titles it distinguishes itself with the use of the glaive. The flying disc of death is very fun to use and the gunplay in the game is above average. The graphics are pretty good with the only flaws being framerate related. The multiplayer is ok but Personally i thought this game was pretty good. Its no GOW or RE4 but it is still fun. While the game does feel alot like the aformentioned titles it distinguishes itself with the use of the glaive. The flying disc of death is very fun to use and the gunplay in the game is above average. The graphics are pretty good with the only flaws being framerate related. The multiplayer is ok but lacks depth due to the fact that there are only two multiplayer modes. While the game has its issues it is still fun to play. 60 bucks is a high asking price, and for some it might be worth it. Even if you don't want to shell out 60 bucks at least give the game a rent and you'll get some fun out of it. Expand
  10. May 29, 2013
    6
    This game is decent at best. It's not a great game, but it isn't a bad game either. To be honest, one of the things I enjoyed about this game were the smooth controls. It felt really good not having to worry about them. This games downfall is the lack of other powers you receive. Your primary power is the 3 pronged blade and you get guns but beyond that, you don't have much else. I likeThis game is decent at best. It's not a great game, but it isn't a bad game either. To be honest, one of the things I enjoyed about this game were the smooth controls. It felt really good not having to worry about them. This games downfall is the lack of other powers you receive. Your primary power is the 3 pronged blade and you get guns but beyond that, you don't have much else. I like simplicity, because I am a huge gears of war fan, but this had much more potential. It's still worth buying because it is only 2 dollars, but it just makes you wish the powers were improved. Expand
  11. May 5, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was OK, but i wasn't awesome. From the trailers, the game looked so great but it turned out to be a disappointment. The plot for the first 30 minutes was confusing, I had to go on online to found out Hyden's last name Tenno, The gameplay got extremely boring due to doing nearly the same thing. The hints didn't really help at all. When I got this game in 2011, I was stuck on the part where you had to thrown Glaive at a button that wasn't really visible. Due to the game being annoyingly hard I still haven't finished it. The only reason why a like it bit is because of the action. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 71
  2. Negative: 4 out of 71
  1. Gameplayer
    70
    All the pieces are there, it’s just missing that magic spark that turns a good game into a great one.
  2. Dark Sector's ultimate error is that it still can't quite shake off its tag of "just another generic action shooter." But it sure as hell gives it a try. [Apr 2008, p.82]
  3. games(TM)
    70
    There’s plenty of fun to be had here, but we’re pretty sure you’ll forget all about it once Epic’s hugely anticipated sequel arrives later this year. [Apr 2008, p.120]