User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 142

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 24, 2011
    7
    The first time i tried to play this game i thought it was pretty brutal but this came after playing some other really fantastic games. After shelving this game for a year or so i decided to give it another try and I must admit this game is pretty good after all. If you check my review on Dark Void much of what i said there holds true with this game as well and for that reason I would sayThe first time i tried to play this game i thought it was pretty brutal but this came after playing some other really fantastic games. After shelving this game for a year or so i decided to give it another try and I must admit this game is pretty good after all. If you check my review on Dark Void much of what i said there holds true with this game as well and for that reason I would say this game is a bit underrated. The problems with this game are almost identical to Dark Void and they really are superficial, not critical- the developer did not hide the idiocy of the AI characters very well and the game play was not very open allowing you to play the game any way you liked. In Dark Void the ultimate fun was acheived with the jet pack and in this game the developer clearly wanted you to stay away from playing this game as a third person shooter and practically forced using the glaive to play the game to get into the feel of the character and story. For some people this would be cool but forced gameplay is a tricky thing as the game basically is a shooter then disappoints by not allowing you to play it as a shooter strictly if you wanted to. You can grab shooter weapons but will drop them after 10 seconds and this is really my reason to think this game was both good and bad. It was a fun shooter with the disappointment you had to play the game as the developers intended and this could come off more as chorelike than fun. That said, anyone willing to play strictly with the glaive probably would really enjoy this. I think the quality, graphics and sound were quite well done and only glitches i found were killing enemies and have their bodies flail around silly style in front of you. Again, also poor implementation of AI but please check my Dark Void review for more detail as this game is almost identical in that respect. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    5
    If your a 3rd person shooter fanatic you may like this game, but the boring plot, repetitive gameplay, and just the fact that it's nothing new or exciting will turn others off, while it had some good ideas and fantastic graphics, it was just so poorly executed and the fact that there are tons of better 3rd person shooters out there like Gears of War, I just can't recommend this.
  3. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Dark sector is a fantastic game and well well underrated, there is not one thing I can fault this game on at all, I thought the story was well done and the graphics were excellent. I think people who hate this game need to get a better game collection, because in my eyes there isn't one thing wrong with it at all. I just wish theyd bring out another one.
  4. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Well, i suppose it will be insulting not to review this game, only for this i ve joined metacritics. In my opinion this is a masterpiece which have't got reputation it deserves. Have finished this on brutal more than thrice. Yet i say it still is inviting after a couple of gap days. My taste is hard to satisfy, i ve only liked much, and this has done it, On my ps3 this looks totally crap,Well, i suppose it will be insulting not to review this game, only for this i ve joined metacritics. In my opinion this is a masterpiece which have't got reputation it deserves. Have finished this on brutal more than thrice. Yet i say it still is inviting after a couple of gap days. My taste is hard to satisfy, i ve only liked much, and this has done it, On my ps3 this looks totally crap, so i strongly suggest to play this on PC at 1080p standard. Finally i will say, "You have missed one hell of a game if you have;t played Dark Sector" i desperatly am looking forward to sequel. Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    I loved playing this game. I played the demo and couldn't wait to play the game. It is tons of fun and has a lot of variety in game play. It is one of those games that has many forgivable flaws because the developers made sure they kept the fun in constant supply. Don't believe the negative reviews, you can get this game for $5.00 now so you have nothing to lose. Once you get the hangI loved playing this game. I played the demo and couldn't wait to play the game. It is tons of fun and has a lot of variety in game play. It is one of those games that has many forgivable flaws because the developers made sure they kept the fun in constant supply. Don't believe the negative reviews, you can get this game for $5.00 now so you have nothing to lose. Once you get the hang of things you will have a great time. Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    There is no reason why anyone who likes shooter games shouldn't have played this by now if they own a 360 as the price on a new copy is less than $20 and a used game is a couple of bucks. Very underrated, while there are some minor flaws with the game, it has some great action mechanics with the Glaive (including some things that I believe the makers of Batman games borrowed from forThere is no reason why anyone who likes shooter games shouldn't have played this by now if they own a 360 as the price on a new copy is less than $20 and a used game is a couple of bucks. Very underrated, while there are some minor flaws with the game, it has some great action mechanics with the Glaive (including some things that I believe the makers of Batman games borrowed from for their batterang mechanics). If you are bored and need something new to play, pick it up or borrow it as it's well worth it. Expand
  7. May 29, 2013
    6
    This game is decent at best. It's not a great game, but it isn't a bad game either. To be honest, one of the things I enjoyed about this game were the smooth controls. It felt really good not having to worry about them. This games downfall is the lack of other powers you receive. Your primary power is the 3 pronged blade and you get guns but beyond that, you don't have much else. I likeThis game is decent at best. It's not a great game, but it isn't a bad game either. To be honest, one of the things I enjoyed about this game were the smooth controls. It felt really good not having to worry about them. This games downfall is the lack of other powers you receive. Your primary power is the 3 pronged blade and you get guns but beyond that, you don't have much else. I like simplicity, because I am a huge gears of war fan, but this had much more potential. It's still worth buying because it is only 2 dollars, but it just makes you wish the powers were improved. Expand
  8. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    An underrated gem. This game suffered from too long in development and too many changes to the original vision. It is, however, a very fun and underrated game with smooth fun mechanics and great character designs though suffers from an underwhelming and bland storyline. When I first started the game I was expecting more of a hack-n-slash but this game is more of a sticky cover 3rdAn underrated gem. This game suffered from too long in development and too many changes to the original vision. It is, however, a very fun and underrated game with smooth fun mechanics and great character designs though suffers from an underwhelming and bland storyline. When I first started the game I was expecting more of a hack-n-slash but this game is more of a sticky cover 3rd person shooter, akin to Gears of War, with a survival horror feel thrown in. The environments are great and atmospheric and the way they depict your growing powers/infection is really cool. It is definitely worth a playthrough for fans of Gears of War and Resident Evil. Expand
  9. May 5, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was OK, but i wasn't awesome. From the trailers, the game looked so great but it turned out to be a disappointment. The plot for the first 30 minutes was confusing, I had to go on online to found out Hyden's last name Tenno, The gameplay got extremely boring due to doing nearly the same thing. The hints didn't really help at all. When I got this game in 2011, I was stuck on the part where you had to thrown Glaive at a button that wasn't really visible. Due to the game being annoyingly hard I still haven't finished it. The only reason why a like it bit is because of the action. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 71
  2. Negative: 4 out of 71
  1. All the pieces are there, it’s just missing that magic spark that turns a good game into a great one.
  2. Dark Sector's ultimate error is that it still can't quite shake off its tag of "just another generic action shooter." But it sure as hell gives it a try. [Apr 2008, p.82]
  3. There’s plenty of fun to be had here, but we’re pretty sure you’ll forget all about it once Epic’s hugely anticipated sequel arrives later this year. [Apr 2008, p.120]