Dark Sector Xbox 360

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 148
  2. Negative: 22 out of 148
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2014
    10
    Dark sector is a fantastic game and well well underrated, there is not one thing I can fault this game on at all, I thought the story was well done and the graphics were excellent. I think people who hate this game need to get a better game collection, because in my eyes there isn't one thing wrong with it at all. I just wish theyd bring out another one.
  2. May 5, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was OK, but i wasn't awesome. From the trailers, the game looked so great but it turned out to be a disappointment. The plot for the first 30 minutes was confusing, I had to go on online to found out Hyden's last name Tenno, The gameplay got extremely boring due to doing nearly the same thing. The hints didn't really help at all. When I got this game in 2011, I was stuck on the part where you had to thrown Glaive at a button that wasn't really visible. Due to the game being annoyingly hard I still haven't finished it. The only reason why a like it bit is because of the action. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    An underrated gem. This game suffered from too long in development and too many changes to the original vision. It is, however, a very fun and underrated game with smooth fun mechanics and great character designs though suffers from an underwhelming and bland storyline. When I first started the game I was expecting more of a hack-n-slash but this game is more of a sticky cover 3rdAn underrated gem. This game suffered from too long in development and too many changes to the original vision. It is, however, a very fun and underrated game with smooth fun mechanics and great character designs though suffers from an underwhelming and bland storyline. When I first started the game I was expecting more of a hack-n-slash but this game is more of a sticky cover 3rd person shooter, akin to Gears of War, with a survival horror feel thrown in. The environments are great and atmospheric and the way they depict your growing powers/infection is really cool. It is definitely worth a playthrough for fans of Gears of War and Resident Evil. Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    There is no reason why anyone who likes shooter games shouldn't have played this by now if they own a 360 as the price on a new copy is less than $20 and a used game is a couple of bucks. Very underrated, while there are some minor flaws with the game, it has some great action mechanics with the Glaive (including some things that I believe the makers of Batman games borrowed from forThere is no reason why anyone who likes shooter games shouldn't have played this by now if they own a 360 as the price on a new copy is less than $20 and a used game is a couple of bucks. Very underrated, while there are some minor flaws with the game, it has some great action mechanics with the Glaive (including some things that I believe the makers of Batman games borrowed from for their batterang mechanics). If you are bored and need something new to play, pick it up or borrow it as it's well worth it. Expand
  5. May 29, 2013
    6
    This game is decent at best. It's not a great game, but it isn't a bad game either. To be honest, one of the things I enjoyed about this game were the smooth controls. It felt really good not having to worry about them. This games downfall is the lack of other powers you receive. Your primary power is the 3 pronged blade and you get guns but beyond that, you don't have much else. I likeThis game is decent at best. It's not a great game, but it isn't a bad game either. To be honest, one of the things I enjoyed about this game were the smooth controls. It felt really good not having to worry about them. This games downfall is the lack of other powers you receive. Your primary power is the 3 pronged blade and you get guns but beyond that, you don't have much else. I like simplicity, because I am a huge gears of war fan, but this had much more potential. It's still worth buying because it is only 2 dollars, but it just makes you wish the powers were improved. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    8
    I loved playing this game. I played the demo and couldn't wait to play the game. It is tons of fun and has a lot of variety in game play. It is one of those games that has many forgivable flaws because the developers made sure they kept the fun in constant supply. Don't believe the negative reviews, you can get this game for $5.00 now so you have nothing to lose. Once you get the hangI loved playing this game. I played the demo and couldn't wait to play the game. It is tons of fun and has a lot of variety in game play. It is one of those games that has many forgivable flaws because the developers made sure they kept the fun in constant supply. Don't believe the negative reviews, you can get this game for $5.00 now so you have nothing to lose. Once you get the hang of things you will have a great time. Expand
  7. Oct 18, 2011
    9
    Well, i suppose it will be insulting not to review this game, only for this i ve joined metacritics. In my opinion this is a masterpiece which have't got reputation it deserves. Have finished this on brutal more than thrice. Yet i say it still is inviting after a couple of gap days. My taste is hard to satisfy, i ve only liked much, and this has done it, On my ps3 this looks totally crap,Well, i suppose it will be insulting not to review this game, only for this i ve joined metacritics. In my opinion this is a masterpiece which have't got reputation it deserves. Have finished this on brutal more than thrice. Yet i say it still is inviting after a couple of gap days. My taste is hard to satisfy, i ve only liked much, and this has done it, On my ps3 this looks totally crap, so i strongly suggest to play this on PC at 1080p standard. Finally i will say, "You have missed one hell of a game if you have;t played Dark Sector" i desperatly am looking forward to sequel. Expand
  8. Mar 8, 2011
    5
    If your a 3rd person shooter fanatic you may like this game, but the boring plot, repetitive gameplay, and just the fact that it's nothing new or exciting will turn others off, while it had some good ideas and fantastic graphics, it was just so poorly executed and the fact that there are tons of better 3rd person shooters out there like Gears of War, I just can't recommend this.
  9. Jan 24, 2011
    7
    The first time i tried to play this game i thought it was pretty brutal but this came after playing some other really fantastic games. After shelving this game for a year or so i decided to give it another try and I must admit this game is pretty good after all. If you check my review on Dark Void much of what i said there holds true with this game as well and for that reason I would sayThe first time i tried to play this game i thought it was pretty brutal but this came after playing some other really fantastic games. After shelving this game for a year or so i decided to give it another try and I must admit this game is pretty good after all. If you check my review on Dark Void much of what i said there holds true with this game as well and for that reason I would say this game is a bit underrated. The problems with this game are almost identical to Dark Void and they really are superficial, not critical- the developer did not hide the idiocy of the AI characters very well and the game play was not very open allowing you to play the game any way you liked. In Dark Void the ultimate fun was acheived with the jet pack and in this game the developer clearly wanted you to stay away from playing this game as a third person shooter and practically forced using the glaive to play the game to get into the feel of the character and story. For some people this would be cool but forced gameplay is a tricky thing as the game basically is a shooter then disappoints by not allowing you to play it as a shooter strictly if you wanted to. You can grab shooter weapons but will drop them after 10 seconds and this is really my reason to think this game was both good and bad. It was a fun shooter with the disappointment you had to play the game as the developers intended and this could come off more as chorelike than fun. That said, anyone willing to play strictly with the glaive probably would really enjoy this. I think the quality, graphics and sound were quite well done and only glitches i found were killing enemies and have their bodies flail around silly style in front of you. Again, also poor implementation of AI but please check my Dark Void review for more detail as this game is almost identical in that respect. Expand
  10. AnonymousMC
    Feb 10, 2009
    8
    I like it it's hard but I like it.
    I knew it wasn't the best of games and by playing it I'm certain.

    If they had polished it, this game could have been superb but it wasn't as Game Revolution had stated.

    However it's 10$ used at game stop so it's really not that bad for it's price.
  11. darkrocker0007
    Oct 12, 2008
    6
    This game was great as far as the concepts go, but they didn't put those concepts to full effect... it could've been played out a lot better. The glaive makes the game despite the lack of storyline and the repetitive game play. As far as playing it goes... its a game to play for a bit, then leave for a bit, then come back. It would be very hard for me to play through.... But all This game was great as far as the concepts go, but they didn't put those concepts to full effect... it could've been played out a lot better. The glaive makes the game despite the lack of storyline and the repetitive game play. As far as playing it goes... its a game to play for a bit, then leave for a bit, then come back. It would be very hard for me to play through.... But all in all you'll have more fun looking up reviews than playing the game itself. Expand
  12. Daz
    Sep 7, 2008
    8
    A good enjoyable game that kept my interest. the combination of glaive and pistols made decision making an important part of the game. Some of the baddies were interesting and i particularly liked the puzzle element to the game. On the whole I was surprised by how good this game was and if you like shooters it is definitely recommended.
  13. TayorB.
    Jul 17, 2008
    7
    Personally i thought this game was pretty good. Its no GOW or RE4 but it is still fun. While the game does feel alot like the aformentioned titles it distinguishes itself with the use of the glaive. The flying disc of death is very fun to use and the gunplay in the game is above average. The graphics are pretty good with the only flaws being framerate related. The multiplayer is ok but Personally i thought this game was pretty good. Its no GOW or RE4 but it is still fun. While the game does feel alot like the aformentioned titles it distinguishes itself with the use of the glaive. The flying disc of death is very fun to use and the gunplay in the game is above average. The graphics are pretty good with the only flaws being framerate related. The multiplayer is ok but lacks depth due to the fact that there are only two multiplayer modes. While the game has its issues it is still fun to play. 60 bucks is a high asking price, and for some it might be worth it. Even if you don't want to shell out 60 bucks at least give the game a rent and you'll get some fun out of it. Expand
  14. Homes
    Jul 4, 2008
    7
    Graphics were great. The galive was fun as were the powers. Sadly the repetive levels, i mean every section of every level was the same 8 out of 10 times. You at one end enemies at other, foight to end behind cover. For as long as this game was developed i was disappointed by the fact that the bodies only disconnect at the waist knees and elbows. The story may be the worst video game Graphics were great. The galive was fun as were the powers. Sadly the repetive levels, i mean every section of every level was the same 8 out of 10 times. You at one end enemies at other, foight to end behind cover. For as long as this game was developed i was disappointed by the fact that the bodies only disconnect at the waist knees and elbows. The story may be the worst video game story this year or even decade. It makes halo 3 and gears look like epics. What cutscenes there were made no sense and seemed to be completely random in plot function. Lastly the subs don't match up with teh dialogue but this is just a minor concern. Expand
  15. johnq
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    This game is simply phenominal. AMAZING graphics and sounds, lots of variety in the gameplay too. You will find yourself going from using a rocket launcher to shoot down a helicopter, to taking on 20 russians at a time, to being stuck in a black room with mutated beasts coming at you! Also they introduced a new type of weapon, the glaive. Craziest thing ive ever seen. I love it. By far my This game is simply phenominal. AMAZING graphics and sounds, lots of variety in the gameplay too. You will find yourself going from using a rocket launcher to shoot down a helicopter, to taking on 20 russians at a time, to being stuck in a black room with mutated beasts coming at you! Also they introduced a new type of weapon, the glaive. Craziest thing ive ever seen. I love it. By far my favorite game this year on any system. Expand
  16. ScottPosey
    Jun 9, 2008
    7
    Great game, but just doesn't have the lasting power of others. Play it for the single player, but don't expect much out of the multi.
  17. BM
    Jun 8, 2008
    2
    This game is bogus and totally over-rated. I got bored by the second mission. Chopping down generic bad guys with the glaive is totally pointless. Bullets are faster! And what's with the crappy character movement. What kind of shooter game doesn't let the character crouch out of the line of fire. Really bad targeting abilities, really bad character movement, slow "shooting", but This game is bogus and totally over-rated. I got bored by the second mission. Chopping down generic bad guys with the glaive is totally pointless. Bullets are faster! And what's with the crappy character movement. What kind of shooter game doesn't let the character crouch out of the line of fire. Really bad targeting abilities, really bad character movement, slow "shooting", but mostly just REALLY BAD. Here's a tip for all game makers: stop spending so much money and time worrying about making the graphics as real looking as possible (I mean, do we really care that much weather or not the cloth hanging from the windows is moving with the wind?) and try not to forget about making a decent game next time! This game has a very good idea, they just blew it! Collapse
  18. DeanA.
    May 31, 2008
    8
    It's uniqueness is he glaive. not too many people know about this game, however I think i's worth having a look. The controls and the puzzles are a bit. It reminds me of RE4 in some ways.
  19. AbelD.
    May 22, 2008
    9
    While certain things about the game were poorly implemented (no auto aim help, and a lack of any tutorial missions) and the game throwing you right in at the deep end from the beginning. this game was incredibly underrated by the critics, I rented it then loved it so much I bought it. It's a third person shooter with puzzle elements that's actually difficult. That's right a While certain things about the game were poorly implemented (no auto aim help, and a lack of any tutorial missions) and the game throwing you right in at the deep end from the beginning. this game was incredibly underrated by the critics, I rented it then loved it so much I bought it. It's a third person shooter with puzzle elements that's actually difficult. That's right a game where you might actually die once in a while, unfortunately recently in gaming there's such a large market for interactive movies where dying is almost non-existant (gears of war, Halo 3) that when a difficult game comes along it scares the critics. Brilliant game and a must have in any collection. Expand
  20. UncleDouglasB.
    May 16, 2008
    0
    Simply shoddy, people. I can't stress this enough. It's insulting and shameful to play such an unpolished monstrosity. Let this one soak at the bottom of the garbage can, please.
  21. NathanS.
    May 2, 2008
    8
    Very fun game and gorgeous graphics, although gameplay could be a little repetitive and the game felt a little too short to have paid $60 for. I probably should have rented it, but it was still a great game. I loved the ability to control the glaive, though, it was also annoying how little time you have to do a power shot. Overall, I think this is a good game, but I wouldn't go and Very fun game and gorgeous graphics, although gameplay could be a little repetitive and the game felt a little too short to have paid $60 for. I probably should have rented it, but it was still a great game. I loved the ability to control the glaive, though, it was also annoying how little time you have to do a power shot. Overall, I think this is a good game, but I wouldn't go and play it over, unless I was just looking for something to do. Expand
  22. MW
    Apr 27, 2008
    8
    Another great gaming experience! I am amazed at the amount of truly enjoyable titles being released...this title sports great graphics and a great story....easily recommendable for anyone who wants an enjoyable play!
  23. [Anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Ta hell with all you critics! This is a awesome game: full of suspense, excitement, and down right espionage. The only regret I have about playing this game is listening to you donkeys, and renting it first before buying it......Thanks alot.u smoofers!
  24. JimF
    Apr 15, 2008
    8
    Dark Sector rips off just about every action game of this type made in the last decade, from MGS, The Darkness, GoW, Half life, Resi Evil 4 and no doubt countless others. What it doesn't do is apologise for this, nor does it get bogged down in pointless plot lines, you're infected, you have to escape and take down as many bad guys on the way as possible. This is an arcade fusion Dark Sector rips off just about every action game of this type made in the last decade, from MGS, The Darkness, GoW, Half life, Resi Evil 4 and no doubt countless others. What it doesn't do is apologise for this, nor does it get bogged down in pointless plot lines, you're infected, you have to escape and take down as many bad guys on the way as possible. This is an arcade fusion of many popular games and it works a treat, approach it expecting a deep immersive story and you will be disappointed. Crack open a six pack, turn up the volume and leave your brain at the door as you behead, maim, incinerate and blow big bloody chunks out of hordes of henchmen, zombies and a crazy array of stereotypical bosses (including the old favourite, the gunship). By no means perfect and has a few fiddly puzzle sections, but by lord it Expand
  25. BlakeS.
    Apr 14, 2008
    9
    The guy who gave it a 0 is a moron, it's a great looking game and a great attempt to compete with the big boys. It may not be perfect, but they definitely did not shortchange their work. All in all, worth the money!
  26. DavidR.
    Apr 14, 2008
    8
    First off I am someone who relies heavily upon video game reviews to determine which games I end up buying and which games I don't. The first time I saw the trailer and some of the gameplay sequences for Dark Sector, I thought for sure this was going to be an awesome game. I heard that the game was finally out and decided to check out the reviews before I picked it up, and I was First off I am someone who relies heavily upon video game reviews to determine which games I end up buying and which games I don't. The first time I saw the trailer and some of the gameplay sequences for Dark Sector, I thought for sure this was going to be an awesome game. I heard that the game was finally out and decided to check out the reviews before I picked it up, and I was suprised to see serveral medium to low scores. I debated for a couple weeks on whether or not to get the game and finally decided to just do it. I must say that I can't believe that this game is getting anything lower than an 8. Yes the game does feel a lot like Gears of War, but look at the success that was generated by Gears, why reinvent the wheel when you have a concept that has proven itself before. Obviously the online gameplay doesn't even come close to Gears, but the obvious intent was to make a great campaign, not a great multiplayer experience. Games like Gears of War and RB6 Vegas are great because you get the best of both worlds, but that concept is an unfortunate rarity and other games should not be penalized because of the overwhelming success games like these. For those of us who played through games like BioShock and Assassins Creed, we were provided with a game where the intent was to create a great story. I think Dark Sector attempted to go along the same path, but felt the need to include an online portion as value added. In this case they came up short and should have concentrated on making an already great story mode even better. There is no way that this gaem should get below an 8, with excellent graphics, quality gameplay, an interesting story and the gruesome fun of the glaive (which never gets old), this game is definitely one to add to the collection. Expand
  27. brandoncogdill
    Apr 12, 2008
    8
    It's better than the a lot of the reviewers said. It does borrow a lot from Gears of War, but that doesn't make it bad; after all, Gerars borrowed from Resident Evil and others. If you know that going in, and you liked Gears or RE4, you'll most likely have fun playing it. The game's play is fun, despite a lackluster plot.
  28. DanH.
    Apr 8, 2008
    7
    Graphics were phenominal. Great job devs! When I was fighting the jackle and using my shield I was awe struck by how gorgeous it looked. I do feel however, that the game is mostly just fluff. Boss fights were bad, I pretty much took them all down by standing behind a pillar the whole time. I didn't like the enemies (fuck that riot shield guy and the zombies). I think the next game by Graphics were phenominal. Great job devs! When I was fighting the jackle and using my shield I was awe struck by how gorgeous it looked. I do feel however, that the game is mostly just fluff. Boss fights were bad, I pretty much took them all down by standing behind a pillar the whole time. I didn't like the enemies (fuck that riot shield guy and the zombies). I think the next game by these devs will be outstanding. This game probably suffered because they spent so much time on their engine. Expand
  29. ChrisH.
    Apr 8, 2008
    0
    Absolutely terrible game, if we keep paying for sub-standard products like this they will keep making them, so don't!
  30. SteveR.
    Apr 7, 2008
    9
    I can honestly say that Dark Sector is one of my favorite games so far this year. The story may not be best-seller material, but it was engaging and well acted with some fine animation and voice work. Some reviews have criticized Dark Sector for relying too much on the Glaive, and while certain boss sequences do force you to use the glaive, things are mixed up with some good customiseable I can honestly say that Dark Sector is one of my favorite games so far this year. The story may not be best-seller material, but it was engaging and well acted with some fine animation and voice work. Some reviews have criticized Dark Sector for relying too much on the Glaive, and while certain boss sequences do force you to use the glaive, things are mixed up with some good customiseable weapons (the shotgun rocks) and some enemies really are harder to kill with the glaive than conventional weapons. That said, the glaive is the certainly the most enjoyable weapon to use, and while the control or even the concept may not be original, they are flawlessly implemented. Sending your powered up glaive in an arc, decapitating three soldiers in slow motion in one throw is a visceral thrill that for me never really got old, and one that every action game lover should experience. Having finished the game in one weekend my overall impression is a game version of a summer blockbuster, flashy, showy, incredible fun and totally satisfying. That you'll love even if it won't win an Oscar. Expand
  31. GioD.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    Fantastic game. I really don't understand why its getting alot of moderate reviews. The graphics are some of the best that I've seen on 360, voice acting by David Rosenbaum as Hayden is great, controls are very easy to learn, and the glaive...oh the glaive. That HAS to be the coolest weapon that has come out in a video game in A LONG TIME. Its so BAD ASS and you get really cool Fantastic game. I really don't understand why its getting alot of moderate reviews. The graphics are some of the best that I've seen on 360, voice acting by David Rosenbaum as Hayden is great, controls are very easy to learn, and the glaive...oh the glaive. That HAS to be the coolest weapon that has come out in a video game in A LONG TIME. Its so BAD ASS and you get really cool power ups for it through out the game, you really have to experience it for yourself. And sure, the game has its flaws (what game doesn't), most noticeably the A.I. is not great and the multiplier is kind of forgettable but it really doesn't diminish anything from the awesome single player campaign. Digital Extremes did a superb job and I really hope this gets turned into a franchise. Expand
  32. JonGilmore
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    This game is great. I don't understand the reviews from the press.
  33. Jared
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    Really a solid single player experience. Much better than I expected and definitely underrated.
  34. JitoM.
    Apr 2, 2008
    8
    Yes the story sucked ass, that doesn't mean the entire game is bad. I'm the type of guy that usually needs a good, cohesive story to play through an entire game but this game was a rare gem that I had to play despite of. The action in this one is second to none. At first I thought it was kind of stiff controlling Hayden, but give it like a half hour and you'll see it feels Yes the story sucked ass, that doesn't mean the entire game is bad. I'm the type of guy that usually needs a good, cohesive story to play through an entire game but this game was a rare gem that I had to play despite of. The action in this one is second to none. At first I thought it was kind of stiff controlling Hayden, but give it like a half hour and you'll see it feels very reminiscent of resident evil 4. So what if it copied off Resident evil and Gears of War (by the way, gears of war stole their whole cover thing off a crappy game called killswitch), sometimes you just need to have a fun time. (next time dual glaives and put his pistol holster on the left side. A little detail that bothered me the whole time) Expand
  35. AndrewS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    This game is amaaaaaazing, don't waste your time reading the magazine reviews, its kind of messed up to see so many midocre reviews, when this games production value, and story and graphics ,sound are all so great. I would even make the bold statement that I had more fun playing this, than Gears of War's "single player campaign", I know , some will disagree, but i am not a fan This game is amaaaaaazing, don't waste your time reading the magazine reviews, its kind of messed up to see so many midocre reviews, when this games production value, and story and graphics ,sound are all so great. I would even make the bold statement that I had more fun playing this, than Gears of War's "single player campaign", I know , some will disagree, but i am not a fan boy , I enjoyed Gears, but this was more entertaining as far as a single player story goes. you can even upgrade your weapons! This game is worth a purchase easily. The only thing lacking is a good multiplayer, but I will gladly take an GREAT single player experience any day of the week. Expand
  36. ChrisR.
    Apr 2, 2008
    7
    At first, this seemed like a game for me. But after playing for an hour or so, I started to slowly get more and more frustrated with the game play and direction of the game. The Story? hell if I know, there is zero direction in this game. Not to mention no map, radar, or chatty radio friend to lead you along. With no specific mission other that "keep moving forward, Kill everything in At first, this seemed like a game for me. But after playing for an hour or so, I started to slowly get more and more frustrated with the game play and direction of the game. The Story? hell if I know, there is zero direction in this game. Not to mention no map, radar, or chatty radio friend to lead you along. With no specific mission other that "keep moving forward, Kill everything in sight" the game story completely lacks from there. In one section of the game, you meet a lady that is presumably a bad guy, after a brief cut scene a 1 minute timer starts with you being attacked by zombie/mutants. After killing all the mutants, the timer doesn't stop. I proceed to try and push every button in the room, look for a bomb to defuse, throw my glaive at everything in sight only to just fall over dead after the timer ran out. No explosion, no cut scene, just 3, 2, 1 You're Dead. EXTREMELY frustrating..... Outside of that, the game play is good. Combat can be pretty fun with the glaive and guns at your disposal. This on is rent worthy in my book. Expand
  37. SanfordG.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Although it has some flaws, in general it is engrossing. The combat system is unique with the use of he glaide. The puzzles are solved by unique uses of this instrument. It appears to draw some of its heritage from Resident Evil series.
  38. MediaHaze
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Loved it. Great game with solid gameplay and hours of fun.
  39. TheBeard
    Mar 28, 2008
    8
    This game is a fantastic blend of what made Resident Evil 4 so great along with the Gears of War cover system. A little weak on story, it makes up for it with the exhilarating combat and the fun of using the unique Glaive. Not sure why this game is coming under so much fire from so-called "reviewers." I think it's unfair and perhaps ignorant to go into this game expecting its single This game is a fantastic blend of what made Resident Evil 4 so great along with the Gears of War cover system. A little weak on story, it makes up for it with the exhilarating combat and the fun of using the unique Glaive. Not sure why this game is coming under so much fire from so-called "reviewers." I think it's unfair and perhaps ignorant to go into this game expecting its single player and multiplayer experiences to revolutionize the genre. Every shooter cannot be judged using the Gears of War/Halo barometer. I would encourage fans of the genre or even anyone curious to try this one out and draw your own conclusions. Expand
  40. Mick
    Mar 28, 2008
    10
    Got this game today and been playing for one hour. I just can't get enough. It's just sad that these type of games don't entertain everybody. This rocks and hard.
  41. CodyB.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Resident Evil meets Gears of war. I dont get it anymore. I dont understand what all of these critics are looking for in a game. Okay! Its not Gears. Its still worth 60 bones. Fun gameplay, awesome graphics and a sweeeet new weapon introduced in the gaming world. Yeah, the main character is a pretty boy but at least he kicks butt! I haven't finished the story yet, but so far it is Resident Evil meets Gears of war. I dont get it anymore. I dont understand what all of these critics are looking for in a game. Okay! Its not Gears. Its still worth 60 bones. Fun gameplay, awesome graphics and a sweeeet new weapon introduced in the gaming world. Yeah, the main character is a pretty boy but at least he kicks butt! I haven't finished the story yet, but so far it is really good. This is one, like gears, I will play again. If you want a game that is worth buying and playing, this is it. Don't make the mistake of listening to the "average" reviews. This is worth the time. Expand
  42. AndrewS
    Mar 27, 2008
    6
    Sadly, the anticipation killed this game. First announced in 2004, this game went back to the drawing board and with it a new engine was built for it from scratch. In action, the game is a typical 3rd person shooter, "borrowing" elements from Gears of War (cover system), Resident Evil 4 (weapon upgrades by a mysterious man) and Metal Gear Solid (definitely not the sneaking). The story (orSadly, the anticipation killed this game. First announced in 2004, this game went back to the drawing board and with it a new engine was built for it from scratch. In action, the game is a typical 3rd person shooter, "borrowing" elements from Gears of War (cover system), Resident Evil 4 (weapon upgrades by a mysterious man) and Metal Gear Solid (definitely not the sneaking). The story (or lack there of) leave too much to the imagination of the player, and at times you question what you're fighting so damned hard for. The combat is repetitive and only marginally difficult, but that's because they throw plenty of NPCs at you at once. The AI is akin to a slow witted toddler. Boss battles blend into the game to well and hardly present a real challenge. The one redeeming aspect of the game is the Glaive... which if you've read any review or seen any preview, you know plenty about. This weapon is almost more important than the main character. However the glaive has it's downfalls too. Not being powerful enough on it's own, you're usually dual welding a handgun for back up. This feature comes in handy because in close combat the Glaive ISN'T used during hand-to-hand?!

    While it's a fun game (at times), it's so full of it self that it missed the point on every thing it "borrowed". Save yourself $60 and rent it for a weekend, guarantee you'll beat it in a few hours anyway.
    Expand
  43. RyanB.
    Mar 26, 2008
    10
    This game is a gory third person shooter that is so refreshing to play. Everything from the graphics, gameplay, sounds, weapons, enemy a.i., boss battles are all perfect. The story is awesome and the game starts off in black and white and after you become infected color "bleeds" into the game. This game has met all my expectations and then some and I highly recommend picking up a copy if This game is a gory third person shooter that is so refreshing to play. Everything from the graphics, gameplay, sounds, weapons, enemy a.i., boss battles are all perfect. The story is awesome and the game starts off in black and white and after you become infected color "bleeds" into the game. This game has met all my expectations and then some and I highly recommend picking up a copy if you have the means. 10/10 Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 71
  2. Negative: 4 out of 71
  1. Gameplayer
    70
    All the pieces are there, it’s just missing that magic spark that turns a good game into a great one.
  2. Dark Sector's ultimate error is that it still can't quite shake off its tag of "just another generic action shooter." But it sure as hell gives it a try. [Apr 2008, p.82]
  3. games(TM)
    70
    There’s plenty of fun to be had here, but we’re pretty sure you’ll forget all about it once Epic’s hugely anticipated sequel arrives later this year. [Apr 2008, p.120]