Dark Souls Xbox 360

Dark Souls Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1136 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Project Dark (Working Title) is a brand new dark fantasy RPG designed to completely embrace the concepts of tension in dungeon exploration, fear in encountering enemies, the joy of new discoveries, and a high sense of achievement in progressing. The game is set in a dark fantasy world filledProject Dark (Working Title) is a brand new dark fantasy RPG designed to completely embrace the concepts of tension in dungeon exploration, fear in encountering enemies, the joy of new discoveries, and a high sense of achievement in progressing. The game is set in a dark fantasy world filled with decadent atmosphere, with a heavy emphasis on player freedom in discovering various tactics and strategies to use in weapon based combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    100
    Dark Souls is a neat, die-hard and time-consuming game – aside from its predecessor the only one of its kind. This game is not for everyone – that's not a flaw, but a virtue.
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    100
    No video game released this Christmas runs contrary to prevailing fashion as hard or fast as Dark Souls. And no video game is quite so exciting or exhilarating.
  3. Oct 11, 2011
    93
    It is not a game for everyone, but From Software can again be proud of producing an instant classic in the action-RPG genre, which will be talked about for years. It is not as surprising as the original Demon's Souls, as we had great expectations for this spiritual sequel, but it improves on it and becomes one of the greatest games of the year.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    90
    A gem of sublime darkness. In the same way that an infamous ring did poison the soul of the one wearing it, this game becomes both the burden and the treasure of the one playing it. Cruel, even more so than its predecessor from which it keeps almost everything, Dark Souls offers a singular atmosphere, one where the player is prey, gambles its life with each step he dares to take, and its sanity every time he makes progress towards more evil that can kill him in a single strike. If you feel crazy enough to dive in, though, Dark Souls will possess you like very few can: it's a drug, and it's in the poison it exudes that lies its virtue.
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    90
    I expect Dark Souls will sell more copies than its predecessor, but I'm sure many won't know what to make of this curious title. It harkens back to the days when our parents bought us a game and we played it all summer.
  6. Oct 3, 2011
    88
    Despite my complaints, I can't help but feel a rush of adrenaline just thinking about Dark Souls. I spent around 60 hours playing it over the last month and died nearly 100 times while doing so. I screamed, I cursed, and I threw down my controller in defeat more times than I'm proud of. I can't wait to get back in and do it all over again. Dark Souls probably won't be the biggest or best game released this year, but I'm already sure it's the one I'm going to spend the most time playing.
  7. 70
    Hard is hard. Though greatly satisfying at times, Dark Souls consists of many hours of pure frustration.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 350
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    Back in 2009, I spent 120+ hours of my life on Demon's Souls, and since then, I have not found its equal. As dark, challenging, andBack in 2009, I spent 120+ hours of my life on Demon's Souls, and since then, I have not found its equal. As dark, challenging, and repressive as the game was, Demon's Souls still managed to feel like a breath of fresh air in the staling game market, throwing back to classic mechanics that were left in the 80s and early 90s with 8-bit, 16-bit, and arcade games. I find it interesting that Demon's Souls was far better received in North America than in its native Japan (790,000 copies in NA to Japan's 300,000, many of which were sold after the game's subsequest success overseas), as the game reflects more western RPG conventions and D&D-esque styling than the increasingly common anime-styled games that get labeled as "JRPGs." Dark Souls is a spiritual successor in the purest sense of the over-used phrase. Its controls are identical to Demon's Souls, yet they are even more precise than before. The artistic style, starting classes, soundtrack, and multiplayer options are all quite similar as well, but again, they have been tweaked to be a bit superior to that of Demon's Souls. The graphics are more detailed and crisp than ever. But the biggest change here is the open-world structure. Unlike Demon's Souls, which had the Nexus serve as a hub between several more fragmented worlds, Dark Souls has interconnected areas that form one gigantic, seemless world. It's also at least three times the size of all of Demon's Souls' areas combined, and the zones are still diverse and well-conceived. The linking of various zones works kind of like classic Metroid or Castlevania maps, where shortcuts to previous areas can be unlocked, making exploration valuable and rewarding to the overall mission. Instead of the Nexus hub zone, players can rest at bonfires, where they can also upgrade weapons and armor, among other things. Combat is also enjoyable and very deep, and enemy mobs are more varied than in Demon's Souls. In short, Dark Souls improves on every aspect of its predecessor, and with the new open-world structure, Dark Souls can easily stand up to the industry's western-developed heavy hitters (like Dragon Age and Elder Scrolls). In fact, I can honestly say that Dark Souls could steal some serious thunder from Skyrim by offering a more fresh yet hardcore approach to the genre. I also think that it's astounding that developer From Software could make lightning strike twice - it would have been far too easy for some developers to misinterpret Demon's Souls overwhelming success in North America and try too hard to tweak the subsequent formula to cater to American tastes. Instead, From Software stayed true to its original form, even deciding to increase the challenge for Dark Souls. And as one final point, let me also say this: Anyone who has not tried Demon's Souls or Dark Souls should not let the now-legendary difficulty of the series discourage them. The challenge that these games offers is not the same kind of hard-for-the-sake-of-hard frustration that some games fall victim to. Even if you are normally frustrated by difficult games, it's usually because of cheap mechanics and the feeling of having to fight the controls or poor design, and none of that is an issue with the Souls games. They just demand a little more observation, a bit of strategy and thought. From Software trusts that its gamers are intelligent, diligent, and skilled enough to handle that challenge, and that's what makes every victory in Dark Souls feel like a real achievement. The game may not be for everyone, but I would at least encourage every PS3 or XBox360 owner to try it. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2017
    10
    The first time I played this game I hated it so much that I made a metacritic account just to give it a bad review. I don't recall why I gaveThe first time I played this game I hated it so much that I made a metacritic account just to give it a bad review. I don't recall why I gave it another shot a few months later, but Dark Souls became my favorite game series of all time. What unblocked me the second time through was figuring out the co-op mechanics, which are not well explained in-game. If you learn how to co-op you can get past any boss easily, and eventually you'll get the hang of it. Also, while the graphics tech is not top notch in 2017, the art direction is breathtaking. I urge anyone finding it clunky or difficult to give it another shot, as it's so well worth it.

    Previous review from 2014:

    Overall extremely overrated game.

    The graphics are dated and not pretty whatsoever. Reminds me of EverQuest in 1999. There is virtually no story.

    The controls and camera are, frankly, awful. I put in 10 hours hoping I would get used to it but just can't. As an example, if you play a spell caster you need to click in the right thumbstick to target an enemy before you can cast. When you press the right stick it targets a random enemy (probably the closest, but it's hard to tell in a fray). This gives you very little control and is extremely prone to error which leads to frustrating deaths.

    On top of this the game is full of poor design choices. For example if you're stuck on a boss prepare to make a 5-10 minute walk back every time you die. I want a game to challenge my skill not my patience.
    Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    Greatest game i purchased over years ... reminds me of Gothic 2 ^^ .. when u go somewhere ur 2 weak u get bashed to hell (or if u just dontGreatest game i purchased over years ... reminds me of Gothic 2 ^^ .. when u go somewhere ur 2 weak u get bashed to hell (or if u just dont know what to do with the enemy^^) so it has a lot of exploring and learning by doing, but i love this kind of Gameplay.
    I see myself running very often 2 the church buying those damn rings preventing death penalties :D
    The ability to make new weapons out of upgraded weapons is amazing too Can recommend it to every Gothic Fan
    Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    I never played demon's souls (I play 360) but I've heard that it's REALLY hard, and apparently Dark souls is harder. Within 5 minutes of gameI never played demon's souls (I play 360) but I've heard that it's REALLY hard, and apparently Dark souls is harder. Within 5 minutes of game play I was sold, the graphics are amazing, the open world is great, and the weapon selection is nearly limitless. Not to mention the cool enemies and almost impossible bosses. all in all the game was worth $60 and I've probably not even explored the entire world Dark souls has to offer yet. The game does live up to its tagline though "prepare to die" Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2015
    9
    this game is amazing i like it but it gets hard u have to go in order to unlock orange doors but once u get the mechanics its easier o andthis game is amazing i like it but it gets hard u have to go in order to unlock orange doors but once u get the mechanics its easier o and anor londo is hard Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2017
    8
    Dark Souls is an important game that should be played by everyone. It is a game that challenges the person on thinking outside of the box andDark Souls is an important game that should be played by everyone. It is a game that challenges the person on thinking outside of the box and becoming more attuned to its world as a result. It punishes but also rewards with all sorts of gear, items and lessons. It has a wonderful atmosphere, some amazing boss fights and a DLC worthy of your time. Of course it is not perfect; the first half of the game is outstanding, but starts to falter by the second half. The network connections are too long and tedious, making online coop or pvp an issue. Framerate drops often in large scale areas and some bosses are absolutely awful (esp. in the second half). Otherwise, a well done game that succeeds in dark fantasy and difficulty in games done right. Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2017
    0
    Par rapport au premier (Demon's Souls), il y a comme un progrès au niveau des graphismes bien qu'en fait les cache-misères comme une ambiancePar rapport au premier (Demon's Souls), il y a comme un progrès au niveau des graphismes bien qu'en fait les cache-misères comme une ambiance (trop) sombre et la faible luminosité soient utilisés trop fréquemment mais admettons. Cela reste laid pour les standards actuels (ou même passés) en matière de RPG.

    A part ça, on retrouve les tics (et les TOC...) de From Software : des menus moches et pas pratiques, une interface pourrie et une maniabilité à revoir. On retrouve aussi cette difficulté ridiculement élevée et des points de sauvegarde tous les 36 du mois : il s'agira donc de recommencer, encore et encore jusqu'au par coeur comme une récitation de CE2 (c'est le niveau des joueurs actuels, c'est leur mentalité). D'ailleurs, je n'avais encore jamais vu de RPG qui vous balance un boss dans la gueule au bout de 45 secondes (c'est un record...).

    Pour le reste -s'il y a vraiment un reste ou des restes- c'est un monde creux mais qui n'est plus aussi niais que les jeux de rôle japoniais que les Japonais ont l'habitude de nous jeter en pâture : assez logique puisqu'on passe sa vie (enfin façon de parler) à mourir : c'est "hardcore" et vous ne verrez aucun chocobo, non, non. Monde creux et générique donc, peu développé et sans aucune histoire digne de ce nom.

    Finalement je ne vois aucune raison de persister à se faire chier dans un jeu pareil, à part une inquiétante tendance au masochisme.
    Expand

See all 350 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.