• Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Jul 9, 2013
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 17 out of 21
  1. DARK is frustrating, because that initial feeling of being a zippy blur of a vampire in a world of neon-lit night never leaves you. It's just swamped in frustrating design decisions, a script that lurches from passable to laughable, weak enemy AI, and a vortex of a lead character who's impossible to like or hate.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    59
    The mysterious story sparks your curiosity and the match of vampires and stealth seems like a good concept. But if you take elements from stealth giants like Splinter Cell, Deus Ex or Dishonored you have to make sure that they work well together. And here, they don’t.
  3. Jul 29, 2013
    53
    Awkward design and stiff controls make Dark a royal pain in the... [Sept 2013, p.70]
  4. Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Dark isn't very interesting, isn't very innovative, uninspired. The powers of a vampire had a better game around. Realmforge should stay in the fantasy-RPG.
  5. Oct 20, 2013
    45
    With a lack of both polish and ambition, Dark will never be anything but an also-ran. As a budget title it's a passable entry-level stealth game, but there's not enough here to justify recommending it when there are so many superior games in the genre. When a game's best selling points are that the stealth is predictable and that the player is a vampire, something has gone terribly wrong.
  6. 45
    The game does have a few bright spots. Its cel-shaded art style is fun to look at, and the level designs — which include a museum with a huge medieval-castle exhibit, plus an artificial forest inside a skyscraper — are unique and memorable. But that’s not enough to recommend what’s otherwise a stiff, banal mess of wasted potential.
  7. Jul 22, 2013
    45
    This stealth vampire game is meant to be real good, but instead it sucks.
  8. Aug 27, 2013
    40
    Dark is a complete failure. The game has poor storytelling, repetitive gameplay and poor visuals. The picture of a video game to be avoided.
  9. Jul 19, 2013
    40
    Dark is a title that's full of repetitive gameplay and occasionally stupid-high difficultly, topped off with a lackluster story and dull characters.
  10. Jul 11, 2013
    40
    Dark is a stealth action adventure that's brimming with good ideas, but poor AI, a weak story, and repetitive gameplay drive a three-pronged stake through the heart of its entertainment value. Dark's cel-shaded settings occasionally allow the otherwise drab experience to shine, but not without a forgettable protagonist and clunky movements sinking their fangs into the fun.
  11. Jul 11, 2013
    40
    A bland, uninspired game with old-school gameplay and boring design. Think twice before you cross paths with Eric Bane.
  12. Jul 14, 2013
    38
    What little DARK gets right is far outweighed by what it doesn't. For those that simply must play everything in the genre or have an unusually high interest in vampires, DARK may offer some moments of satisfaction, but for everyone else it's safe to skip.
  13. Aug 28, 2013
    30
    Dark's concept is totally out of line, and its technical issues are not helping it. Sometimes, a good theme occurs, but its bad gaming mechanics tread in the game quickly. It's bad as a stealth-action game. It's even worse as a vampire title.
  14. Aug 20, 2013
    30
    Lacking any polish, challenge or interesting story the game doesn’t offer anything that hasn’t already been done many times before and far better.
  15. Jul 24, 2013
    30
    Realmforge is clearly a student of the genre, but budget is king here, and the studio lacks the financial clout to even pierce the flesh of a crowded market. Despite being crafted with noble intentions, Dark succeeds only in sucking the life out of itself.
  16. Jul 19, 2013
    30
    Dark is boring, frustrating and unappealing. It doesn’t play well, the characters aren’t interesting and the story is just dumb. Don’t even bother with this one.
  17. Jul 8, 2013
    30
    Low-budget games can be delightful and surprising, but only if the core elements work. Here, they don't. In its best moments, this is only ever a reminder of better games. In its worst moments - of which there are far too many - Dark frustrates and irritates as only a clumsy stealth game can.
  18. Jul 9, 2013
    25
    An arduous game fraught with inept combat and tedious characters, you'll be lucky to even get halfway through DARK without baying for blood.
  19. 20
    We are far, far beyond “so bad it’s good” territory here. Dark is a botch job, avoid it like a vampire avoids the sun.
  20. Jul 26, 2013
    20
    As much as I’d like to describe this game as ‘challenging’ I really can’t, in all good conscience do that, because I’d rather use the word ‘frustrating’. Not just because the game’s technologically underdone and has dumb AI, but because of the monotonous gameplay.
  21. Jul 9, 2013
    20
    I’ve played a lot of bad Xbox 360 games for achievements, but hardly any are as unpolished and poorly executed as Dark. It’s easily one of this generation’s worst titles. Even when the stealth is working moderately well, the slow pacing is a killer, and no amount of blood sucking brings satisfaction. Most levels were completed through trial and error, failure after failure, and then success coming from exploiting an AI bug or an odd design decision.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    I don't usually make reviews, but, having played the game for over 5 hours now, I was baffled by the professional reviews and infuriated by M9ki score.
    Dark has what I would expect from a stealth game: It's fun to sneak around and find a way to kill without being spotted, all the upgrades seem powerful and useful and the level designs make it interesting to kill and run around.
    About the AI Eventually you actually memorize their movements but if the enemies didnt follow SOME kind of pattern, it would be impossible to come up with a plan of action.
    This game is not as awesome as hitman nor as complex as splinter cell, but I'd recommend this one to anyone who enjoyed those games.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    M9ki its people like you who ruin a games honest score. You cant even spell, you dont make sense. It makes me so mad, thats why I dont rely on these reviews anymore, so many times have I played a great game that has been rated 60 or less.

    As far as the game DARK goes, its not that bad. They tried to do something a little different here and I commend them for that. I always like a game that is different because it is refreshing from all the sandbox action, fps, gta style games that I get so sick of. Just like REMEMBER ME and THE LAST OF US, although this game isnt on their level (Remember me was way underrated).

    My honest score would be a 7 but I have to wash out that ignorant review. Pick it up if you want to try something a little out of the ordinary. Can be boring at times, but so can a lot of these masterpieces sitting in my collection. Its out for 50 dollars and if you cant swing that wait a few days try it used and return it if you dont like it. For me, i was excited to try it so I did. I wasnt upset with my buy by any means.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    2
    First off I truly wanted to enjoy this game. I been a gamer from the mid 1970's and own over 1 k games so can say I know what I am talking about when I say this is the worst game I have ever played hands down...and I played thrill kill on ps1.. This games logic is so messed up it hurts.. I will say tge graphics are good and sounds are nice as well but the game just is really not worth buying new or even used..maybe a rent if truly want to play something that will irritate the crap outta you. The game dosent even follow vampire lore. Bullets do not kill vampires more so 2-5 bullets kill the player..total illogical. I am pleased Kylapso tried to make this good but IMO failed baddly. Better to stick to Dungeons rather then fail at a game like this again. Full Review »