Darksiders II Xbox 360

Darksiders II Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 455 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Awakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen, embarks on a journey to redeem his brother's name. Become the terrifying force which everyone fears but nothing can escape.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    100
    It challenges you, it gives you room to breathe, but also a purpose and of course it´s fun for every minute of it, which is all that counts in the end. You don´t have to invent everything again to get that. Not, if you have mastered the craft like Vigil Games obviously has.
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is better than we expected, we just loved it. It offers tons of content to keep us playing for many many hours, and proves that you don't need to reinvent the wheel to create something new and full of personality. As a game it is excellent and generous with the player, so if you liked the first game, then you should now the wait was worth it. If you miss the original Darksiders, please give this a try. To sum up, it's just one of the adventures of the year. A must-have.
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is full of enormous environments and dungeons to traverse to and explore, even more fantastical enemies and large-scale bosses to battle, and plenty of challenging hacking, slashing and loot collecting.
  4. Games Master UK
    Aug 13, 2012
    88
    The first Darksiders rightly garnered itself a cult following, but it's barely fit to hold a candle to Darksiders II. Bigger, bolder, more creative, more interesting, deeper, smarter, better... Hurl all the positive adjectives and adverbs you want at this action-adventure sequel and they'll stick good and tight. [Oct 2012, p.73]
  5. Aug 20, 2012
    85
    Darksiders II is a great follow-up aimed mainly at the fans of the first game. Fortunately it can easily appeal to players unfamiliar with War's adventures, players simply looking for a good slasher. The game offers lots of fun, making the player not only show off his/her skills in fighting and jumping, but in logical thinking as well. The game's quality suffers a tiny bit because of its graphics and lack of a really "big" ending. But remember - these small flaws are not enough to discourage anyone. Darksiders II is a great investment that will keep you glued to the screen for a long time.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    A smart, original evolution of the previous game's concepts with plenty of new things to see and do, from its new protagonist to its faster combat and engaging loot system.
  7. Aug 20, 2012
    60
    Though this might seem like a gripe, Darksiders II is not a bad game. Its mechanics are tightly crafted and there are plenty of exciting battles and twisted puzzles to work through. But don't be surprised if everything feels very familiar, and don't feel ashamed if you're inclined to simply turn it off. After all, you've probably played this game a hundred times before.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 104
  2. Negative: 12 out of 104
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Vigil is the PIXAR of gaming. Passion and attention to detail shows workmanship. Its like Chistmas in August. Fantastic Game play and actionVigil is the PIXAR of gaming. Passion and attention to detail shows workmanship. Its like Chistmas in August. Fantastic Game play and action action action! Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Amazing action, story, and soundtrack. Darksiders II delivers on all fronts. Impressive visuals, immersive atmosphere and deep loot system,Amazing action, story, and soundtrack. Darksiders II delivers on all fronts. Impressive visuals, immersive atmosphere and deep loot system, Darksiders II has all the characteristics of a GAME OF THE YEAR contender. Expand
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    L3GENDARY!!!!
    exceeds its expectations huge improvement from the first game Death is badass cold arrogant and is a lot more agile than war
    L3GENDARY!!!!
    exceeds its expectations huge improvement from the first game Death is badass cold arrogant and is a lot more agile than war who was like tank like person steadfast relying more on muscle death on the other hand relies on dodging and then coming in for the kill
    combat is awesome and the focus is on rpg a skill tree and the character customization is also there
    the story line is epic and we feel immersed in it. the music score in the game is best ive listened to in a game the setting is wonderful courtesy of Joe Mad a must buy game for all action adventure fans
    Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2014
    9
    This game is exactly what it wants to be. The combat, while not completely innovative, keeps the player on their toes by being challengingThis game is exactly what it wants to be. The combat, while not completely innovative, keeps the player on their toes by being challenging while not punishingly difficult. Interesting puzzles help keep the game fresh and the boss battles feel truly epic while making sure that player input is still important.
    Texture quality might not be very high, yet the game still looks great with an intriguing art style. Beautiful music, colourful characters, and a story that creates a fantastic universe to explore make this game one that players can easily be immersed in.
    The game is not without it`s flaws (for example somewhat repetitive dungeon design) yet it manages to create an experience that is both fun and memorable.
    9/10.
    Expand
  5. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    This game is just a very beautiful game. Everything about it is awesome. The only reason I give it an 8 is because it had some day oneThis game is just a very beautiful game. Everything about it is awesome. The only reason I give it an 8 is because it had some day one glitches that kept the player from progressing. Other than that this game is a must especially if you played the first one. If you haven't grab both and start with D1. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  6. May 29, 2013
    7
    Darksiders 2 didn't have the same appeal as Darksiders 1 did, in my opinion at least. What I loved about the first game was the only way toDarksiders 2 didn't have the same appeal as Darksiders 1 did, in my opinion at least. What I loved about the first game was the only way to get past a certain scenario was to use your cunning and make a plan for the according situation. So, my problem with Darksiders 2 and the RPG system is when a challenging part of the game comes up, all I have to do is go grind for hours then wail on the enemies with ridiculously good equipment. Speaking of equipment, there are so many item drops that it makes me wonder what's the point of so many different weapons if I'm just going to get better blades in 2 minutes. This is not a bad game or a bad sequel, it's just not as good as it's previous game was. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2013
    0
    After the first one i was excited to play the second one. Holy this game sucks. The PC controls are laughable, combat lag, random lag,After the first one i was excited to play the second one. Holy this game sucks. The PC controls are laughable, combat lag, random lag, horrible camera that me over multiple times. The story is total crap "hey go run some errands for me and ill help you" HE IS DEATH NOT AN ERRAND BOY. At least i didnt blow 50$ on it and bought it during the steam summer sale, but jesus christ could you have done any worse THQ? sure as hell wont be buying any more of your games ever again. you failed hardcore, DO NOT buy this game its crap. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews