User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 384 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 384

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 7, 2014
    3
    When I played part 1 in 2010 I was quite excited. It was fun although it is not nice out though it did not look good.
    Now I've got the 2 year old title for a small price and I am disappointed. Everywhere was stolen. Starting with Tomb Raider to be found GoW stolen together game elements here.
    The story promises a lot and sounds good. But in the end you will hardly noticed and it
    slaughters just like GoW through the area. No wonder THQ was then later broke.
    A very bad game.
    Expand
  2. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Had potential but failed.

    Pros:
    Combat.
    Boss fights.
    Presentation.
    Amazing sound track.

    Cons:
    Collect THREE of everything!
    Horrible characters.
    Too linear.
    Repititive dungeon designs- go here climb that fight this, get the key, climb here, fight boss.
    Tries to be dramatic.
  3. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Darksiders 2 is a Hack n Slash/ Adventure game. You as Death. It take place after to the first game. I didn't play the first game so I don't the full story. The gameplay reminds of Zelda with God of War mix to it. The music is amazing. You could unlock weapons, armor, and perks. You could also learn new combos. The game is every fun. When you save the game, and load it, you jump where you left off. I thought that was cool. I wasn't really look forward to this game but when I try it, but when I play it, I loved it. I say give it a try. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2014
    0
    GAME **** Paracha corridor NOT OPEN SPACES CREATED to cut down DOLLARS BIBORAN READ! SHAME Forums
    DEVELOPER ISSUE IS **** DEVELOPER ISSUE IS **** DEVELOPER ISSUE IS **** DEVELOPER ISSUE IS ****
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    combining most of the popular games in the gaming history like Devil May Cry and Zelda is the hybrid of darksiders that won me over the game is truly underrated and just the best game on Xbox 360 without a doubt the the characters are more lovable than the Darksiders 1 and just as good the game is just amazing and a great good from THQ
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    0
    The graphics are average, the camera angles are terrible, the story line is average. However one factor does it for me, this game crashes no matter what I try, I have a beast gaming pc with 3.6ghz processor, 16GB of RAM, AMD Radeon Hd 6970 Graphics card yet the game crashes. Pathetic, clearly a direct port from console
  7. Aug 29, 2013
    4
    Could have been one of the best games ever. Instead they made it one big fetch quest. Get me 3 of these... before I can give you this go get me one of these. Better pacing and less fetching would have made this a great game. All in all it was pretty boring. It actually felt like work at times.
  8. Jul 29, 2013
    4
    I bought this game for $10 on Steam Weekend Special because I like the action RPG genre. Dark Souls is one of my favourite games. I wasn't expecting the same type of game from Darksiders 2, but even for the $10 I paid, I feel like it was a waste. Disclaimer: I played 40 minutes and uninstalled.

    I played this game with an xbox360 controller, so controls were not an issue. What was an
    issue however was the terrible camera. I had to manually adjust it a lot while I was in combat which is a real downer.

    Graphics, for 2013 were terrible. I only played the first area which is in snow/ice caverns, but everything looked dull and every corner I turned revealed another area that looked exactly the same as the last hallway I had been in. It felt like I was playing the same 1 minute of gameplay over and over.

    The combat system is one of those that try to make you feel like you are doing a lot and it's so fun because you can spam buttons and there are cool animations, but really you are doing nothing. The combat is ridiculously easy. I played for 40 minutes and did not even need to use a health potion once (on hard). The first boss had one ridiculously easy tell to dodge and that was it. Oh and did I mention ALL the enemies in the area were exactly the same (except the boss).

    The rest of the area when you are not fighting are doing climbing/jumping puzzles, there is always only one way to go so you couldn't really classify them as a puzzle. I'm sure later in the game they are more difficult, but I can't imagine them being fun.

    Graphics: 6/10
    Sound: 5/10 (I really didn't pay attention but it did not impress me nor sound terrible)
    Gameplay: 2/10
    Overall: 13/30 (43%)
    Expand
  9. Jul 16, 2013
    0
    After the first one i was excited to play the second one. Holy this game sucks. The PC controls are laughable, combat lag, random lag, horrible camera that me over multiple times. The story is total crap "hey go run some errands for me and ill help you" HE IS DEATH NOT AN ERRAND BOY. At least i didnt blow 50$ on it and bought it during the steam summer sale, but jesus christ could you have done any worse THQ? sure as hell wont be buying any more of your games ever again. you failed hardcore, DO NOT buy this game its crap. Expand
  10. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    Its ok but the disc I got froze to much so I never really enjoyed it sad...It was a interesting game though its worth the buy but some of the discs fail..
  11. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    This game has a special place on my shelf. A lot of people will tell you that the game is a rip-off of The Legend of Zelda and while it doesn't completely rip it off, it definitely borrows some gameplay mechanics to create a rich gameplay experience. Now, I know that the game isn't extremely unique and what not, but the combination of the genres creates one of my favorite game combinations ever. That I guess is why I like this game so much, but most of my friends don't agree with me. All in all, if you like The Legend of Zelda but wanted it to be a little more mature and like spectacle fighters like God of War mixed into one spectacle fighter role-playing game with minor elements of platforming, than you'll absolutely love this game! Expand
  12. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Hola, me da gusto saber que tendremos muy pronto DARKSIDERS 3, pues después de la venta de THQ, seria una PENA que un buen juego como DARKSIDERS no tuviera su continuación.
    DARKSIDERS es un buen juego, de los mejores que he jugado y pues se imaginan como se vería en las nuevas consolas, sería espectacular.
  13. May 29, 2013
    7
    Darksiders 2 didn't have the same appeal as Darksiders 1 did, in my opinion at least. What I loved about the first game was the only way to get past a certain scenario was to use your cunning and make a plan for the according situation. So, my problem with Darksiders 2 and the RPG system is when a challenging part of the game comes up, all I have to do is go grind for hours then wail on the enemies with ridiculously good equipment. Speaking of equipment, there are so many item drops that it makes me wonder what's the point of so many different weapons if I'm just going to get better blades in 2 minutes. This is not a bad game or a bad sequel, it's just not as good as it's previous game was. Expand
  14. May 15, 2013
    9
    The game is on the longer end of satisfying, but there are tons of great things about it: the combat is fast, frantic, and dynamic. The RPG elements allow you to style yourself into your own weapon of death, and you upgrade your equipment often enough to make it an important part of the game. There's tons of loot as well, so that should be pleasing to RPG fans. The only downsides are the various bugs and repetitive nature of the puzzles- while the game is consistently challenging, at times I found myself thinking "I wish I were done with this temple already", mostly because I wanted to get back into fighting. I would recommend this game to any adventure RPG fan. Here's to hoping they make a third! Expand
  15. Mar 22, 2013
    8
    I had a ton of fun playing this game as overall, however there are a few parts holding it back from being perfect. Soul splitting later on in the game felt like they began to run out of ideas. The awkward third person shooting-esque section was a fun little change of pace, but rather strange, and didnt really correspond to the fast-action that proceeded it. Even with minor things like those, and death occasionally not wanting to grab onto things if you arent perfectly aligned, still dont hold the game back. The combat is fluid and the art style is amazing. It is sad to see Vigil go under, and hopefully there might be another Darksiders title in the future. Expand
  16. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    RIP DARKSIDERS 3. This game is great and has become a vast improvement of the first (which was also pretty awesome) with its implementation of various rpg mechanics such as weapon and armor drops and skills. Unfortunately this is gonna be the last Darksiders with the bankruptcy of THQ as no doubt it would've been even better.
  17. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    PC Version Review(with troubleshooting tips for ATI) - I was a bit late to the franchise because the trailers didn't grab me.. I thought the art was derivative of WoW and it just seemed like a cheesy cartoon.. I bought in during an Amazon sale and as it turns out I was totally wrong. The art and production value here is actually on par with the best I've ever seen in a game, which is quite an accolade. That is if you can squeeze the performance out of your pc.. I had a lot of debilitating stuttering at first so I had to research fixes. I run ati/amd so I picked up a utility called RadeonPro. The nvidia counterpart is Rivatuner. Vsync wasn't a big issue for me(no tearing) but I got less stutter when I locked my fps to 60, turned on triple buffering and turned vsync on. I also forced some AntiAliasing and turned anisotropic filtering(key for eye candy). Turn texture filtering and mipmap up and put texture LOD to -.5. The biggest performance gain was from turning my resolution down, but no big deal there, I ended up averaging around 40-60 fps with very minimal/infrequent stutter in big open areas on a mid/lower high end pc. Totally different game experience with the eye candy turned on. I've never seen such lovingly crafted level design and detail. I just wandered around amazed at what I was seeing, taking screenshots. It's freaking amazing how much effort was put into environmental stuff like stone flooring which looks like it was painted.. I just wandered around immersed in what I was seeing for a couple hours! Even if the gameplay was crap(it's not) just experiencing the ambient love this game offers makes it a must have/win. As has been mentioned many kudos to the soundtrack engineer, Jesper Kyd for the highly original immersion his tracks provide to the gameplay. Just awesome. As for the gameplay itself, I hope this mad combo of rpg, platforming/puzzle and hack n' is a theme other developers will champion.. because its so much fun. You explore, loot, fight truly epic bosses, access many sweet weapons/fighting styles and you get a decent story to top it off. They've blended the quirky evil of Devil May Cry with the steroidal fury of Space Marine and thrown it all into fantasy land and voila, gaming magic. I much prefer the direction here to both of those (mostly)excellent games. Did I mention epic horseback combat on a flaming green demonic steed which power stampedes enemies into an exploding grimy mist? Just play this game. Expand
  18. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    It's no secret that I found very little to be loved with the first Darksiders but after seeing all the hype surrounding the sequel I found myself getting excited about it more and more as time wore on. Unfortunately, I found myself to be pretty disappointed. The graphics are mediocre, the setting is very uninteresting, and the enemy design is a combination of both. Throughout the game you will fight the same enemies over and over again and the only enemies that are any different are the complete pushovers of bosses. The bosses are ridiculously easy and very uninspired with one being almost an exact rehash of a boss from the first game. The world is pretty big, but there is absolutely nothing to do in it. Not to mention hardly any enemies. The graphics are just bleh all over and is barely an improvement over the first one. You will consistently see the pixels on everything without even having to look that hard. You play as Death, the brother of War, who is trying to absolve War of his sins. Besides that i couldn't tell you anything else about the story which seemed nonsensical at best. None of the characters are very intriguing and most have the most annoying voices you could ever imagine. Eventually I just started skipping the cut scenes to get to the only saving grace of this game which is the gameplay. Darksiders 2 plays like any other hack and slash games, but has a Borderlands like loot system. This quickly becomes addicting especially once you start growing as a character and finding unique possessed weapons. These weapons devour other weapons and become a force to be reckoned with. Every level you gain a skill point that you can put towards abilities. The necromancer tree seemed cool at first but halfway through I started putting stuff into the Harbinger tree and just used teleport slash non stop. Ultimately, Darksiders II is better than its predecessor but tends to get incredibly dull with only a little bit of fun to be had. Expand
  19. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I have just finished playing Darksiders 1 not long ago and just recently started this. I must say that it's impressive. It is better than the first one because they made improvements to this game such as tougher enemies, tougher puzzles, and so on. They can be frustrating to beat at times but feels really good after beating them lol. It gets more playful and fun as the game goes on because you get more powers and weapons. Different ones than War from the first part. What can I say? Great action, graphics, acting, storyline, and the length of play. The best sequel I've played so far in a series. Expand
  20. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    This game has won one Game of the Year Award in Just Push Start and got nominated in This year's VGA and Neoseeker. Need I say more? :) Death...COMES FOR EVERY ONE! >:)
  21. Dec 5, 2012
    3
    I loved the first Darksiders and is the only reason I spent too much money on this game. I think they did almost everything right with Darksiders 2 except for 3 things:
    1. The side quests are not very rewarding, all you do is unlock some slightly powerful item (probably not as good as your current)
    2. The weapons are upgraded via sacrificing items as opposed to overall use of the weapon
    (less challenging, but gives me something to do with the mountains of junk I've collected).
    3. The story takes place during War's sleep period (between apocalypse and end of first game). I don't know about you guys, but I just couldn't care less. I really wanted the 2nd game to be about the 4 horsemen fighting the Charred Council, but it wasn't. Instead I'm running around doing mindless errands for a bunch of losers. The ending of the game is basically...you do what you set out to do. So you know the ending when you start playing, there's no exciting plot twists or wow moments.

    DS1 was a linear dungeon crawler and it has infinitely more replay value than this massive open world pile of dog #$%.
    Expand
  22. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    This is so far the only game this year that deserves a perfect 10. The graphics are breathtaking, the gameplay is incredibly well balanced and motivating, the story is deep, interesting, consistent and continuous. I really like the first darksiders, but having had little luck with sequels so far (think AC3, ME3, H4, ...) I was a bit weary. Instead, they upped the ante - longer gameplay, more interesting characters, better gfx, a great score etc. pp. Loved it to death, a bit scared that any sequel will have to fight hard to stay competitive. One other reviewer pointed out how this game managed to not become tedious like the other big rpgs of late (Skyrim - loved it, but it had a bit of the repetetive). I concur completely. If I ever meet people from Vigil who worked on DII, they won't need to worry about buying their own drinks. Seriously. Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Darksiders II is the result of a great work of Vigil Games. The game, despite some shortcomings, presents a fantastic visual quality and an excellent plot that entertains the gamer for 25 hours or more.

      - Visual: 9.6
      - Gameplay: 9.1
      - History: 9.0
      - Audio: 9.3
      - Fun: 9.8

      - Final Rating: 9.0
  24. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    EPIC! the gameplay is epic, graphics are unique, protagonist is epic, therefore this game is EPIC!
  25. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    (Im sorry for all english/american guys but i wanted to write this critic in German because of my bad english)

    Als ich Darksiders 2 zum ersten mal eingelegt hatte war ich voller Vorfreude, da ich mir den Test von GameStar angeschaut hatte und es wirklich gut aussah. Leider wurde ich ein wenig enttäuscht da es nicht das war was ich erwartet hatte. Ich fühlte mich am Anfang ein
    wenig alleine gelassen da man die ganze Zeit nur durch Gegner und Rätsel musste und es kaum Gesprächspartner gab. Ich war halt Spiele wie Skyrim oder Dragon Age gewohnt und das war meine erste Berührung mit so einem Spiel. Aufgrund
    dessen hatte ich das Spiel mehrmahls einfach für 5-6 Tage liegen gelassen aber immer wieder den Drang gehabt es wieder in meine Xbox zu werfen und ein wenig weiter zu schnetzeln. Irgendwann fing es dann doch an richtig Spaß zu machen, ich ließ mich einfach darauf ein das ich hier kein Traditionelles Rollenspiel spielte wie es mir vorher am liebsten war, sondern einen richtig guten Mix aus verschiedensten Genres. Ja sogar ein kleines bisschen Portal ist hier vorzufinden. Das Spiel packte mich Regelrecht ich wollte in die neuen Welten gegen große Bossgegner kämpfen und vorallem das fenomenale Artdesign betrachten. Es entwickelte sich zu dieser Zeit zu meinem Absoluten Lieblingsspiel und ich blieb manchmal sogar bis zu fünf Stunden am Stück dran, löste Rätsel und verprügelte meine Gegner. Leider kam dann das, wie Ich finde, grauenvolle Ende. Ich hatte gerade wieder einen großartigen Hauptgegner besiegt, überlegte in welche Welt mich die Entwickler diesmal schicken würden....vorbei. Vom einen Augenblick auf den anderen war das Spiel zuende und deswegen bekommt das Spiel von mir 8 von 10 Punkten da es auf der einen Seite wirklich überragent ist und auf der anderen Seite nicht fertig erzählt wurde. Ich glaube sie konnten die Geschichte nicht mehr fertig erzählen da THQ schwarze Zahlen geschrieben hatte. Das ist natürlich nur meine Meinung. Trotzdem von mir eine klare Kaufempfehlung!
    Expand
  26. Nov 3, 2012
    8
    This game is just a very beautiful game. Everything about it is awesome. The only reason I give it an 8 is because it had some day one glitches that kept the player from progressing. Other than that this game is a must especially if you played the first one. If you haven't grab both and start with D1. You will not be disappointed.
  27. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    More Darksiders goodness. While it's very similar in some ways to the first iteration there is enough to make it interesting and a true sequel to a great game. That being said I still found War to be more interesting to play than Death and felt this one to be a smidge more repetitive than the first though I can't think of any solid reason to not rate it an 8 along side it's brother. Two rock solid games for your collection... Expand
  28. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    One of the best games i have played in awhile, people really need to stop trolling, i'm a PS3 fan, but this game is as good or even better than God of War 3, it's not a clone imo.
  29. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    A Solid Game. What Darksiders II does well is the feel of adventure with all the action. Its great to ride the open plains on your horse, occasionally killing things as you ride. the games art style is great, bringing a very cool stylized world. The story though not amazing, is enough to keep you trudging on. There are a good number of side quests to keep you busy and of course though not a very strong loot system, it still makes you check every weapon that drops. RPG factors are good with some good changes to spice up combat. If you want a good adventure game to spend some time in pick it up! Expand
  30. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    I always tried to avoid rpg style games...honestly why should I do the same thing over and over again just to gain some cool looking powers..well...this is not the case of DARKSIDERS II which has an unique story,great gameplay,relaxing music,tricky puzzles and boss battles which are pretty cool.Feel free to try this game out.It amazed and will definitely amaze you too!.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    60
    While trying to revitalize the Zelda formula with modern developments is an admirable goal, Darksiders II's developers just can't seem to get a handle on how to make such a thing work. For two games now they've tried adding hi-octane combat, a Western-style story, and ability trees, but it's never managed to gel. The things that made games like Zelda, God of War, Prince of Persia, and even Shadow of the Colossus great are all on display here, but the Darksiders series still hasn't figured out how to use them effectively enough to stand on its own.
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is full of enormous environments and dungeons to traverse to and explore, even more fantastical enemies and large-scale bosses to battle, and plenty of challenging hacking, slashing and loot collecting.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    90
    A stunning achievement in creative larceny that improves on its predecessor in pretty much every way that matters. A pity about the lacklustre endgame though. [Oct 2012, p.49]