Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 428 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Awakened by the End of Days, Death, the most feared of the legendary Four Horsemen, embarks on a journey to redeem his brother's name. Become the terrifying force which everyone fears but nothing can escape.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    100
    It challenges you, it gives you room to breathe, but also a purpose and of course it´s fun for every minute of it, which is all that counts in the end. You don´t have to invent everything again to get that. Not, if you have mastered the craft like Vigil Games obviously has.
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is better than we expected, we just loved it. It offers tons of content to keep us playing for many many hours, and proves that you don't need to reinvent the wheel to create something new and full of personality. As a game it is excellent and generous with the player, so if you liked the first game, then you should now the wait was worth it. If you miss the original Darksiders, please give this a try. To sum up, it's just one of the adventures of the year. A must-have.
  3. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Darksiders II is full of enormous environments and dungeons to traverse to and explore, even more fantastical enemies and large-scale bosses to battle, and plenty of challenging hacking, slashing and loot collecting.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    88
    The first Darksiders rightly garnered itself a cult following, but it's barely fit to hold a candle to Darksiders II. Bigger, bolder, more creative, more interesting, deeper, smarter, better... Hurl all the positive adjectives and adverbs you want at this action-adventure sequel and they'll stick good and tight. [Oct 2012, p.73]
  5. Aug 20, 2012
    85
    Darksiders II is a great follow-up aimed mainly at the fans of the first game. Fortunately it can easily appeal to players unfamiliar with War's adventures, players simply looking for a good slasher. The game offers lots of fun, making the player not only show off his/her skills in fighting and jumping, but in logical thinking as well. The game's quality suffers a tiny bit because of its graphics and lack of a really "big" ending. But remember - these small flaws are not enough to discourage anyone. Darksiders II is a great investment that will keep you glued to the screen for a long time.
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    80
    A smart, original evolution of the previous game's concepts with plenty of new things to see and do, from its new protagonist to its faster combat and engaging loot system.
  7. Aug 20, 2012
    60
    Though this might seem like a gripe, Darksiders II is not a bad game. Its mechanics are tightly crafted and there are plenty of exciting battles and twisted puzzles to work through. But don't be surprised if everything feels very familiar, and don't feel ashamed if you're inclined to simply turn it off. After all, you've probably played this game a hundred times before.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 108
  2. Negative: 18 out of 108
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Game of the year without doubt. Awesome graphics and art direction, awesome characters, beautifull world and real epic main character. DeathGame of the year without doubt. Awesome graphics and art direction, awesome characters, beautifull world and real epic main character. Death is a baddass. Takes everything from Darsiders 1 and put it in a really better formula. Joe Madureira, you do it again. A must have game. Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Lined up for this one at midnight last night! Loved playing War in the first game but after finding out that his brother death was coming outLined up for this one at midnight last night! Loved playing War in the first game but after finding out that his brother death was coming out to play in Darksiders 2 I could not wait! After playing for 4 hours last night (work is going to be hell today!) I have barely scraped the surface of this game and can't wipe the smile off my face! Do yourself a favor run don't walk to pick up this game. SOOOOOO MUCH BETTER THAN THE FIRST GAME! Collapse
  3. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    L3GENDARY!!!!
    exceeds its expectations huge improvement from the first game Death is badass cold arrogant and is a lot more agile than war
    L3GENDARY!!!!
    exceeds its expectations huge improvement from the first game Death is badass cold arrogant and is a lot more agile than war who was like tank like person steadfast relying more on muscle death on the other hand relies on dodging and then coming in for the kill
    combat is awesome and the focus is on rpg a skill tree and the character customization is also there
    the story line is epic and we feel immersed in it. the music score in the game is best ive listened to in a game the setting is wonderful courtesy of Joe Mad a must buy game for all action adventure fans
    Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Darksiders II is the result of a great work of Vigil Games. The game, despite some shortcomings, presents a fantastic visual quality and anDarksiders II is the result of a great work of Vigil Games. The game, despite some shortcomings, presents a fantastic visual quality and an excellent plot that entertains the gamer for 25 hours or more.

      - Visual: 9.6
      - Gameplay: 9.1
      - History: 9.0
      - Audio: 9.3
      - Fun: 9.8

      - Final Rating: 9.0
    Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    More Darksiders goodness. While it's very similar in some ways to the first iteration there is enough to make it interesting and a trueMore Darksiders goodness. While it's very similar in some ways to the first iteration there is enough to make it interesting and a true sequel to a great game. That being said I still found War to be more interesting to play than Death and felt this one to be a smidge more repetitive than the first though I can't think of any solid reason to not rate it an 8 along side it's brother. Two rock solid games for your collection... Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2012
    8
    Darksiders 2 at it's core is a fantastic combat and adventure driven game. The combat is much more finely tuned and so is the platforming. TheDarksiders 2 at it's core is a fantastic combat and adventure driven game. The combat is much more finely tuned and so is the platforming. The addition of loot and side quest feel very natural with the flow of the game. Unfortunately for me within 10 hours in I began to lose interest due to the bland story and uninteresting characters. After a nice long break I was amazed who easy it was to jump back into the grind of things. Story aside, I can safely say if you enjoyed the first title, than you will surely enjoy the sequel. Those new to the series can find a lot to enjoy as well. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2013
    0
    After the first one i was excited to play the second one. Holy this game sucks. The PC controls are laughable, combat lag, random lag,After the first one i was excited to play the second one. Holy this game sucks. The PC controls are laughable, combat lag, random lag, horrible camera that me over multiple times. The story is total crap "hey go run some errands for me and ill help you" HE IS DEATH NOT AN ERRAND BOY. At least i didnt blow 50$ on it and bought it during the steam summer sale, but jesus christ could you have done any worse THQ? sure as hell wont be buying any more of your games ever again. you failed hardcore, DO NOT buy this game its crap. Expand

See all 108 User Reviews