User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 269

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    7
    I only picked up this game due to a recommendation of my friend. It seemed interesting enough, and I could tell it was trying to be like God of War or Zelda. But the key word in that statement is trying. It isn't necessarily a bad game, it just isn't as good as what it tries to be. The story is cool enough. Horserider of the Apocalypse has to fight off enemies. The character designs areI only picked up this game due to a recommendation of my friend. It seemed interesting enough, and I could tell it was trying to be like God of War or Zelda. But the key word in that statement is trying. It isn't necessarily a bad game, it just isn't as good as what it tries to be. The story is cool enough. Horserider of the Apocalypse has to fight off enemies. The character designs are awesome, but the graphics were a bit too cartoony for a game like this. That doesn't mean the graphics were bad... just not great. The combat is a bit too mindless, but I will admit that the enjoyment of combat was better the farther I played. The puzzles are Zelda like and fun, but I have seen better puzzle designs. Ultimately the reason the game didn't score higher, was the game got repetitive after a while to me and just lost its enjoyment. The game is relatively long and is enjoyable, but it just wasn't as fun as I had hoped it to be. Expand
  2. JoshuaL
    Jan 17, 2010
    7
    I'm having a difficult time seeing this game as anything but mediocre. I played it for three hours straight and found nothing but weak versions of Zelda's dungeons, and repetitive combat that didn't provide any true measure of satisfaction. Everyone already knows where they got there designs from, I don't see why this game is getting such good scores. Oh and before I I'm having a difficult time seeing this game as anything but mediocre. I played it for three hours straight and found nothing but weak versions of Zelda's dungeons, and repetitive combat that didn't provide any true measure of satisfaction. Everyone already knows where they got there designs from, I don't see why this game is getting such good scores. Oh and before I forget, I don't like screen tears in my games. I'm not trying to say the game is bad or not worth playing ever, but this is definitely no blockbuster title. It just lacks originality and fun to the level I expect for sixty dollars Expand
  3. May 14, 2012
    6
    Never have I fell in and out of love with a game so quickly! Screen tearing and sub-par graphics aside, the first few hours of Darksiders were absolutely bliss for me - really, really cool and instinctive combat action followed by some truly brilliant puzzles (one set in a Temple of Doom type room is probably the best in-game puzzle I've known - a perfect balance of test and reward). ButNever have I fell in and out of love with a game so quickly! Screen tearing and sub-par graphics aside, the first few hours of Darksiders were absolutely bliss for me - really, really cool and instinctive combat action followed by some truly brilliant puzzles (one set in a Temple of Doom type room is probably the best in-game puzzle I've known - a perfect balance of test and reward). But then it totally loses it's way - instead of giving you time to settle and enjoy your role as War, it keeps endlessly throwing new things at you and breaking the pace up with alternate sections such as a flying on a griffin - there really is no need for it and it just disjoints the game horribly. Then the puzzles start becoming a bit more obscure and laborious too, the combat just becomes more confusing and repetitive the further you get into the game, and the upgrades you purchase hardly feel worth the effort either. Mark Hamill does a great job with the voices though, as do most of the cast - something worthy of a mention as their undoubted class adds to the game. Sadly, that can't save something which just doesn't cut the mustard as a whole. Give it a try - it might be something you can get on with and is definitely worth a look, but it just grew too old too quickly for me. Expand
  4. Sep 15, 2010
    7
    Un buen juego, simplemente entretenido y a veces divertido. No es original en nada. No innova en nada. Un extraño hibrido entre Zelda y God of war, sin llegar a ser tan bueno como ninguno de los dos. Si te apetece jugar una aventura, este es un buen titulo.
  5. DinglerD
    Jan 20, 2010
    6
    I completely agree with Joshua L. Especially the fighting is extremely tedious and one-sided. The combo-system is ridiculously simple, and buying sword upgrades really doesn't improve on that, at least not as much as it should have. Quests plays like your run-of-the-mill grindfest adding nothing exciting to the overall gameplay of this very mediocre title. Played the 360-version. I completely agree with Joshua L. Especially the fighting is extremely tedious and one-sided. The combo-system is ridiculously simple, and buying sword upgrades really doesn't improve on that, at least not as much as it should have. Quests plays like your run-of-the-mill grindfest adding nothing exciting to the overall gameplay of this very mediocre title. Played the 360-version. Some of the worst screen tearing I've ever seen...ever. Totally ruined the experience. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2011
    6
    While not being a big fan of the hack-n-slah genre I actually like this game. I still didn't find it as entertaining as a FPS, RPG, TBS or RTS. But there were something that appealed to me. I might even try the sequel.
  7. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    this game is essentially a zelda clone, but is there anything wrong with that? Fun sequences, quick combat, a linear story line which somehow feels open. I guess the only thing holding it back is that.. well it's just not zelda.
  8. Oct 19, 2012
    6
    Darksiders follows the path of one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse. War, who has been falsely accused of tipping the balance of heaven and hell, must clear his name and kill those responsible for this misunderstanding of epic proportions. If that doesn't interest you then the rest of the story probably won't either. Personally, I thought the story was actually pretty interesting andDarksiders follows the path of one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse. War, who has been falsely accused of tipping the balance of heaven and hell, must clear his name and kill those responsible for this misunderstanding of epic proportions. If that doesn't interest you then the rest of the story probably won't either. Personally, I thought the story was actually pretty interesting and had some pretty interesting. It may not have been the most original story, but it was captivating mainly because of solid voice acting and some interesting dialogue. Unfortunately, that's the only saving grace of this game and it is lucky that it doesn't get buried under the mediocrity that floods the rest of the game. This game borrows aspects from more successful games such as Devil May Cry, The Legend of Zelda, and God of War. The only problem is that everything Darksiders borrows from those games it does much, much worse. Take the incredibly sluggish combat. You start out with one weapon and gradually build up your arsenal, but none of the weapons seem very distinct and are very predictable. You can rack up combos while killing enemies, but there is no incentive for doing so. You can unlock more powers using the game's currency, but really they all boil down to the same thing and they take absolutely no skill to pull off. You also have access to special abilities that War can use that consume wrath. Every time I got one of these I found myself just saying "meh" and going back to regular combat. Then there are the incredibly uninspired dungeons. They are so long and incredibly boring that I found myself begging for the boss so I could just get on with the game. Then when I did reach the boss I found myself sighing, because they were the biggest pushovers and the methods to defeat them were so blatantly obvious that I had to laugh. Unfortunately, this game doesn't live up to the games it borrows from and struggles to rise above the mediocre mess that it ultimately becomes. Collapse
  9. Aug 23, 2012
    6
    combat is a bit boring repetitive, the controls kinda suck which make for **** platforming of which there is too much. i got this game because i was starting to get swept up in Darksiders 2 hype, but the game isn't making me go get it, i'll wait for it to be $20 next summer.

    feels like a trudge, reminds me of L.A. Noire, in that the reach extends beyond its grasp. Not a bad game, but
    combat is a bit boring repetitive, the controls kinda suck which make for **** platforming of which there is too much. i got this game because i was starting to get swept up in Darksiders 2 hype, but the game isn't making me go get it, i'll wait for it to be $20 next summer.

    feels like a trudge, reminds me of L.A. Noire, in that the reach extends beyond its grasp. Not a bad game, but its high notes don't make up for the low notes. Really just want to beat it and not think about it anymore
    Expand
  10. Feb 19, 2013
    6
    Darksiders borrows some things from other games, but does that make Darksiders better than those games? The graphics have that cell-shaded look, which feeds into the comic book story well. I did experience some slow down when the action got heavy. The story is good, not really original, but in new and cool universe. The story starts off exciting, but then disappears for a while during theDarksiders borrows some things from other games, but does that make Darksiders better than those games? The graphics have that cell-shaded look, which feeds into the comic book story well. I did experience some slow down when the action got heavy. The story is good, not really original, but in new and cool universe. The story starts off exciting, but then disappears for a while during the middle hours of the game. The end brings the story back with full force, as the best moments happen in the final hours. The gameplay elements are borrowed from the God of War and Legend of Zelda franchises. The combat is similar to God of War, but nowhere near as fast and fluent. The puzzles and exploration is taken right out of The Legend of Zelda. You explore dungeons and find new weapons to further your adventure. In the end Darksiders is not as good as the games it borrows from, but Darksiders is not bad. Expand
  11. Apr 13, 2015
    5
    Not a bad game, but not a good one. It is a hackers delight as button-mashing is a must.

    Pro's - relatively lengthy game (made significantly longer by the out-of-place puzzles at the end) in a relatively large world. Graphics are reasonable and the score and voice acting respectable. Cons - story is exceedingly limited and is basically just 1 fetch quest after another. Combat is
    Not a bad game, but not a good one. It is a hackers delight as button-mashing is a must.

    Pro's - relatively lengthy game (made significantly longer by the out-of-place puzzles at the end) in a relatively large world. Graphics are reasonable and the score and voice acting respectable.

    Cons - story is exceedingly limited and is basically just 1 fetch quest after another.

    Combat is button-mashing and very easy even on the most difficult setting.

    The introduction of a new piece of gear every new "quest" with which you are forced to use immediately and for an hour and then it is irrelevant....very annoying and very lazy "creativity".

    ......The Black Throne...enough said? Adds quite a few hours of puzzle solving smack at the end of the game and is very out of place
    Expand
  12. Oct 19, 2012
    0
    Darksiders follows the path of one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse. War, who has been falsely accused of tipping the balance of heaven and hell, must clear his name and kill those responsible for this misunderstanding of epic proportions. If that doesn't interest you then the rest of the story probably won't either. Personally, I thought the story was actually pretty interesting andDarksiders follows the path of one of the four horsemen of the apocalypse. War, who has been falsely accused of tipping the balance of heaven and hell, must clear his name and kill those responsible for this misunderstanding of epic proportions. If that doesn't interest you then the rest of the story probably won't either. Personally, I thought the story was actually pretty interesting and had some pretty interesting. It may not have been the most original story, but it was captivating mainly because of solid voice acting and some interesting dialogue. Unfortunately, that's the only saving grace of this game and it is lucky that it doesn't get buried under the mediocrity that floods the rest of the game. This game borrows aspects from more successful games such as Devil May Cry, The Legend of Zelda, and God of War. The only problem is that everything Darksiders borrows from those games it does much, much worse. Take the incredibly sluggish combat. You start out with one weapon and gradually build up your arsenal, but none of the weapons seem very distinct and are very predictable. You can rack up combos while killing enemies, but there is no incentive for doing so. You can unlock more powers using the game's currency, but really they all boil down to the same thing and they take absolutely no skill to pull off. You also have access to special abilities that War can use that consume wrath. Every time I got one of these I found myself just saying "meh" and going back to regular combat. Then there are the incredibly uninspired dungeons. They are so long and incredibly boring that I found myself begging for the boss so I could just get on with the game. Then when I did reach the boss I found myself sighing, because they were the biggest pushovers and the methods to defeat them were so blatantly obvious that I had to laugh. Unfortunately, this game doesn't live up to the games it borrows from and struggles to rise above the mediocre mess that it ultimately becomes. Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 86
    Darksiders brings you everything you expect. A beautiful post apocalyptic world combined with excellent audio and a real cool gameplay, deserves nothing less than a high score.
  2. Darksiders looks like the result of a head-on collision between the Zelda and God of War-franchise. But instead of a big mess, both fuse together to form a hybrid with the best elements of both, combined with a great story. The game won’t win any awards for originality, but thanks to its long playtime, strong puzzles and great alteration between elements and scenery we can only conclude that Darksiders is already one of the first great games of 2010.
  3. 75
    At its best, Darksiders plays like an interactive compilation of this console generation's most interesting game mechanics. At its worst, it's like sitting through a mediocre cover band as they fumble their way through your favorite tunes.