Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
Buy On
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Despite its propensity for insignificant plot points, I can’t wait to play Dead Island Riptide again. I’ll return for the desperate bid for survival, and stay for the stories that emerge as a result.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Riptide’s flaws are many, but they couldn’t hold me back from having a blast. Few games nail the visceral feel of melee combat and co-op fun like Dead Island. At its worst, an annoying hiccup breaks the immersion of the grizzly trek through a zombie-infested paradise. At its best, Riptide hits the same high notes as the original.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    79
    Not much has happened in terms of gameplay. If you've played Dead Island you'll know exactly what to expect, but Riptide still combines RPG elements with an action concept for a nice thrill ride.
  4. May 6, 2013
    76
    Dead Island Riptide remains a product of moderate value, repeating in part the success of its predecessor.
  5. GameTrailers
    Apr 23, 2013
    75
    The game has a lot going for it when everything is working properly and the handful of new gameplay elements turns Riptide into something legitimately better than its predecessor. In some ways, Dead Island: Riptide feels like a massive content patch, but considering its smarter pacing and greater visual and gameplay variety, it's closer to what the original game probably should have been.
  6. Apr 22, 2013
    75
    More of the same is literally what Dead Island: Riptide has to offer. The original's strengths and weaknesses return unchanged but inside a wider open world that greatly increases exploration, quests and things to do. It's still very enjoyable, especially in multiplayer, but the original's sense of freshness is almost lost.
  7. 75
    While it’s got some irritating rough patches, Dead Island: Riptide’s 15-hour campaign still manages to be a lot more fun than it has any right to be.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 194 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 194
  2. Negative: 44 out of 194
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    In no way is this game a masterpiece, but it's still fun. People are too harsh on this game. People need to quit using games like skyrim andIn no way is this game a masterpiece, but it's still fun. People are too harsh on this game. People need to quit using games like skyrim and black ops as standards for other games in their genres. Full Review »
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    It blows me away that this game has scored so poorly from some people. I, for one, absolutely love this game. All I can say is that if youIt blows me away that this game has scored so poorly from some people. I, for one, absolutely love this game. All I can say is that if you liked the first one, you're really going to like the second one. The story, and voice acting aren't incredible, but given the zombie slaying action, I could really care less. After all, it's a game, not an action movie. I love that you can target specific limbs during combat. You can beak a zombies arms so they can't grapple with you anymore. This game is great Full Review »
  3. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    People need to understand a few things about this game. Was it meant for story? No. Was it meant for sound design? No. Was it meant to bePeople need to understand a few things about this game. Was it meant for story? No. Was it meant for sound design? No. Was it meant to be a blockbuster to get all the press and millions of fans for the series? No. This game was meant to be played. Not drooled over, not get die hard fans, or the press's panties wet. The game lies where it was meant to be in more important aspects. The environment od a gorgeous island, the weapons that are plentiful, the scavenging of items to sell or give for EXP, the crafting to make the weapons badass and useful, the slaying of zombies by the thousands, and playing with friends to around and enjoy themselves.

    People, you need to look at the finer things, because if you look in the wrong direction it will lead you to an area that has no value or expression, but look the other way and you can find the possibilities and value. But the only value will be the time you enjoyed. Now... would you want to go on the good path or the bad path?
    Full Review »