Dead Island: Riptide Xbox 360

Dead Island: Riptide Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 194 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Island Riptide brings us to the island of Palanai on the Banoi archipelago, infested with bloodthirsty Zombies and only a few remaining Survivors still clinging to their lives. Introducing new terrifying enemies, deadly weapons, a new playable character, inter alia, Dead Island RiptideDead Island Riptide brings us to the island of Palanai on the Banoi archipelago, infested with bloodthirsty Zombies and only a few remaining Survivors still clinging to their lives. Introducing new terrifying enemies, deadly weapons, a new playable character, inter alia, Dead Island Riptide draws players back into a world that has grown corrupt - with the last vestiges of hope vanishing in rising tides. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 43
  2. Negative: 8 out of 43
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    Despite its propensity for insignificant plot points, I can’t wait to play Dead Island Riptide again. I’ll return for the desperate bid for survival, and stay for the stories that emerge as a result.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    75
    More of the same is literally what Dead Island: Riptide has to offer. The original's strengths and weaknesses return unchanged but inside a wider open world that greatly increases exploration, quests and things to do. It's still very enjoyable, especially in multiplayer, but the original's sense of freshness is almost lost.
  3. May 3, 2013
    70
    There’s no reason at all to play it alone, but if you can round up a consistent crew to run through the game together, it’s well worth the price of admission.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    60
    It’s a shame that Riptide couldn’t have been a bit more given how much opportunity there was here for improvement, but as it stands, it’s basically the same flawed game we got nearly two years ago — for better or for worse.
  5. May 1, 2013
    55
    This sequel feels like a huge expansion. The game doesn't really offer anything new apart from a few new zombies and weapons. It has a lot of bugs and suffers from frame drops when things get busy.
  6. Apr 29, 2013
    50
    You're only a few minutes into this, before you realize that "more of the same" was all they aimed to achieve with Riptide. The devs didn't seem to care about anything else, not even ironing out all the kinks of the original game. There will be people who think this was enough, as the basic lot of zombie killing and looting is still intact. In a week where Capcom gives us a Dark Arisen that encompasses all of the original game – Dragon's Dogma – for a much, much lower asking price, you really can't help but feel like someone's having a laugh at your expense.
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    30
    Even ignoring all those failings – something at which Dead Island fans will have had plenty of practice – Riptide’s biggest flaw is that it never justifies its existence in terms of plot or new ideas. It’s not simply yesterday’s game, but a time capsule from 2011, a time when zombies weren’t as overplayed and games such as Far Cry 3 and Borderlands 2 weren’t around to cast their long shadows over the action.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 72
  2. Negative: 13 out of 72
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    10
    It blows me away that this game has scored so poorly from some people. I, for one, absolutely love this game. All I can say is that if youIt blows me away that this game has scored so poorly from some people. I, for one, absolutely love this game. All I can say is that if you liked the first one, you're really going to like the second one. The story, and voice acting aren't incredible, but given the zombie slaying action, I could really care less. After all, it's a game, not an action movie. I love that you can target specific limbs during combat. You can beak a zombies arms so they can't grapple with you anymore. This game is great Expand
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    Great game,Is not a DLC cause it has a lot of stuff on it if this was a DLC would be a $40 DLC ,mechanics are great as always,F.o.V totallyGreat game,Is not a DLC cause it has a lot of stuff on it if this was a DLC would be a $40 DLC ,mechanics are great as always,F.o.V totally sucks,weapons and skills are great btw i got this game 6 days ago,my brother works for Deep Silver and I was not on the Official Beta but I was able to provide feedback,great game no more to say only 9 cause F.o.V sucks Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    This game is fun, just like the original. and people don't see that, It's the fun in video games, where it mostly on depends, and in the caseThis game is fun, just like the original. and people don't see that, It's the fun in video games, where it mostly on depends, and in the case of Dead island: Riptide, that certainly is true. Expand
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    7
    If you liked the original Dead ISland game, chance is you'll like this one less. I'll be honest, it's no masterpiece of a game, but it's stillIf you liked the original Dead ISland game, chance is you'll like this one less. I'll be honest, it's no masterpiece of a game, but it's still fun to play, and the graphics in the game look much much better than the original. Thing is, it's nearly the same thing as the first Dead Island. That's the letdown of the game, and why critics have bashed it so much. While I don't think it deserves the bad ratings it got, Dead Island Riptide balances beautiful graphics and fun weapons, with a sadly bland storyline, ceaseless gameplay and a few hilarious glitches here and there. It's not horrible. It just could have been better. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2015
    7
    Not terrible, not great. True middle child. If you liked the first one you will like this one. If you didnt like the first one, you won't likeNot terrible, not great. True middle child. If you liked the first one you will like this one. If you didnt like the first one, you won't like this one. Same combat, same graphics, same glitches. I enjoy killing zombies. 7/10 Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2013
    6
    This game........ oh.........This game is just, just. I don't know what to say. I thoroughly enjoyed this game at times, and then at otherThis game........ oh.........This game is just, just. I don't know what to say. I thoroughly enjoyed this game at times, and then at other times i just HATED it. All of my friends have the same thoughts on Dead Island: Riptide. Good at times, Crap at others. For the most part i liked the game, fun combat and a large range of quests to do. Even though these quests and combat can be buggy at times. The story is what really ruined this game, it was jaded and i had no idea what was going on at times and i did not like the story at all. 6/10 Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    This is almost too awful. I am bewildered with this high rating this has received. Dead Island was a half ass game with many bugs and an awfulThis is almost too awful. I am bewildered with this high rating this has received. Dead Island was a half ass game with many bugs and an awful story, but it was filled with enough action to make it a kinda game. I wanna ask what they were thinking when they were beginning for part two. I didn't buy Riptide for a couple months because I wasn't interested and I had other games to play, but eventually I got to it. I played this with a friend and it still was god awful. With all the bugs and animations in the world in this one game, you could tell I wasn't having fun. Plus most of the action was gone. Now the zombies seem like more of a distraction from getting a f***ing boat engine. Basically no new or unique weapons and we get a s****y map compared to an alright one in the original. This game must have taken a week to make because I see no effort here. I have never given a 0 before but this game takes the cake for worst game of 2013 so far. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews