Dead Island Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 635 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    What is wrong with everyone? I went off and bought the game despite the poor reviews and i am glad i did so. I think this is an organized attempt to bury this game. Great visuals combined with flawless gameplay and rpg elements. Left4dead is a child in comparison to this game. If you want a great zombie experience do yourself a favor and buy or at least rent this game and then buy it. IWhat is wrong with everyone? I went off and bought the game despite the poor reviews and i am glad i did so. I think this is an organized attempt to bury this game. Great visuals combined with flawless gameplay and rpg elements. Left4dead is a child in comparison to this game. If you want a great zombie experience do yourself a favor and buy or at least rent this game and then buy it. I was reading a comment saying that sometimes there are slow texture loading time which are eliminated if you install the game. Some people tend to forget gow 1, me 1 with the slow texture loading times. Ts ts ts... I mean come on, couldnt you find a better reason to bury the game? Hmmm wait...thats a no cause there is no true reason other than you prefer playing cod zombies... A must buy for me. Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Dead Island a solid game from interesting ways to kill zombies and the graphics. The game is just like Left for Dead but with a lot better graphics. The problem with Dead Island is the repetition and lack of variety in game modes. I do like that you can choose different characters but I also don't like that you do the same thing over and over. How long can you do nothing but kill Zombies.
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    If anyone has seen zombie flesh eaters (1979) then you would agree Dead island has similar qualities, most likely due to the fact they both include a tropical island ans zombies. I was very excited for the release of this game but at the same time slightly sceptical, it seemed hard to believe that a rpg with a pretty big free roam map with zombies was too good to be true, but fortunatelyIf anyone has seen zombie flesh eaters (1979) then you would agree Dead island has similar qualities, most likely due to the fact they both include a tropical island ans zombies. I was very excited for the release of this game but at the same time slightly sceptical, it seemed hard to believe that a rpg with a pretty big free roam map with zombies was too good to be true, but fortunately Dead island is just that. The graphics are lush, the storyline is pretty good, the combat system although edgy in some places gets the job done. I do have some criticisms though, like pretty much every game it does get repetitive, and i mean this literally, the same or similar zombies respawn in the same or similar place after they die, it makes this game predictible. What i desire in most games (especially RPG's) is some aspects of realism. The online sector of the game makes the game more enjoyable has having companions gives you a sense of realiability even though the majority of the time actually starting or joining an online party can be annoying has you dont always get connected. But overall Dead island is a pretty good game, has alot of replay value, especially if playing with friends. Also for the record, yeah your character is immune to the infection, but you can still get killed so why should you do all the errands alone, the other survivors should get off their ass and help!! I'll give this game 7/10 (At it's complete maximum) Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    The points responsible for the negative image around Dead Island such as the indifferent characters, bland story, bad voice acting etc. are out-shined by the overall experience, the pure fun offered by the game, the visually beautiful Banoi island and the co-op mode with friends which thanks to the large amount of content, it is able to offer 30 + hours of game-play. I, however, despiteThe points responsible for the negative image around Dead Island such as the indifferent characters, bland story, bad voice acting etc. are out-shined by the overall experience, the pure fun offered by the game, the visually beautiful Banoi island and the co-op mode with friends which thanks to the large amount of content, it is able to offer 30 + hours of game-play. I, however, despite its problems, continue to believe that Dead Island is the most realistic representation of a zombie apocalypse in a video game to date. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2012
    7
    The best way to describe Dead Island would be as the most "realistic" experience of a Role Playing Game from a first player perspective (kind of like Borderlands, but still a world apart) while being set in a post-apocalyptic, zombie outbreak environment. There are four characters to select from, which kind of feels like classes, and a lot of unique objects that you can find and upgrade.The best way to describe Dead Island would be as the most "realistic" experience of a Role Playing Game from a first player perspective (kind of like Borderlands, but still a world apart) while being set in a post-apocalyptic, zombie outbreak environment. There are four characters to select from, which kind of feels like classes, and a lot of unique objects that you can find and upgrade.

    You can find yourself just wandering around the cities and hordes of undead, may it be to complete quests, or just in hopes to find that epic weapon you've always wanted, or maybe you just want to find a material to build it yourself. Or, you are killing bandits to find those dreaded firearm ammunition. Nevertheless, Dead Island is the closest thing you can find to a true zombie survival experience. Despite the fact that there is a main questline, the gameplay isn't especially linear, so you can really get into side quests, or just explore to your own wishes.

    Dead Island isn't a game that is revolutionary in its genre, but rather, is a good mix of multiple good ideas blended into a game that, while it isn't polished and perfectionist to the core, will satisfy a lot of zombie apocalypse game enthusiasts. None of the aspects of the gameplay are mind-blasting, but it's just put in a way that everything just works together, and when you play it, even if you see some flaws, you still get over it and have a good time playing.

    Dead Island may not be the greatest game ever, but it surely is a very interesting take on the zombie-apocalypse RPG setup and will please a lot of gamers, and has a good longevity that makes it worth the shot to play.
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    Great idea, Great Location, Great zombies but just brought together poorly. The resulting game is a mix of epic gaming moments and poor acting LOL. The characters are the main problem with bad voice acting and stupid bad stories. This a great game if you can look passed the flaws.
  7. May 30, 2013
    6
    Dead Island falls a little above average, but not by much. The trailer showed us an epic-packed survival horror adventure, but turned into a zombie rpg. Now, there isn't anything wrong with that, it's just the trailer was misleading. Looking at the game as a whole, it's not nearly as exciting as I hoped. The story might've been interesting if the characters had any characters at all. MyDead Island falls a little above average, but not by much. The trailer showed us an epic-packed survival horror adventure, but turned into a zombie rpg. Now, there isn't anything wrong with that, it's just the trailer was misleading. Looking at the game as a whole, it's not nearly as exciting as I hoped. The story might've been interesting if the characters had any characters at all. My problem is if you don't have characters we can connect to or like, it won't matter how good your story is because we don't care about them. Beyond poor character development, it is just an average rpg with zombies thrown in the mix. Sure, it has co-op, which I am a fan of, but if a game is only fun in co-op, then that just comes off (to me at least) as an excuse not to make the single player nearly as exciting. Overall, you might want to check it out, but I'd recommend you get yourself a discount on this game. Expand
  8. Oct 24, 2011
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The thing with Dead Island is, it starts of very enticing, you want to carry on playing and find out, 'How did this happen?' 'Why am I immune to this disease?' But the more you go through the game, the more you can actually live without knowing. It has a very repetitive style, NPC always asking for something. It's fetch this and fetch that, and halfway through the game you are just feel like saying, 'Go do it yourself!' And the ending left me very disappointed, the cure turning Ryder White into a zombie, oh please! Although admittedly the whole gameplay is very unique and nothing iv seen in a zombie game before, mainly melee combat based to make the game more tricky, but then I wasn't even afraid of dying because you lose some money and then are respawned in exactly the same place, or in some cases at your actual location your going too! Overall its good for about the 1st act before you realise the repetitiveness of it all, combat can be very fun, but sometimes very challenging if you are playing single player rather than multiplayer as you are overwhelmed with zombie (Especially at the church area) but still don't worry, you only lose money! The NPC as well as the PC's are very bland and you don't connect with them, I really couldn't have cared less if they would have all died in the end! (To be honest it would have been a better ending!) The scenery in this game is just amazing and it is fun just to sometimes take time out of doing repetitive quests and just explore the open world! Expand
  9. Sep 6, 2011
    7
    Dead Island is a fantastic game that isn't getting the credit it deserves. However i can understand with the bugs and crashes that are occurring in game. In time with patches it will be the game its supposed to be. The violence is awesome and game play just needs some fixing it will be a true gem just not right now.
  10. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    I'll keep it short and to the point. If your reading all these hate it, love it reviews and your thinking; "I might like this game" then go and buy it. Simple, you will like it.
  11. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    There's good and there's bad about this game, but the bad parts are completely annoying. First of all, lots of bugs to deal with and a complete lack of thought to story plot. The Island is over-run by zombies, so then what's the point of collecting money? I think in reality, money would be worthless in the sake of pure terror for survival sake. Therefore, why not just use XP points forThere's good and there's bad about this game, but the bad parts are completely annoying. First of all, lots of bugs to deal with and a complete lack of thought to story plot. The Island is over-run by zombies, so then what's the point of collecting money? I think in reality, money would be worthless in the sake of pure terror for survival sake. Therefore, why not just use XP points for trading and upgrades? Yeah, the collecting money thing I found quite stupid and lacked any coherent thought. The ratio between your health, energy and how many hits you can take before you die is way off balance. In other words, you die way too easy (only takes a few bites and your down). Of course, having the energy feature is no help when you have about 3 to 4 zombies on you at once. The energy bar goes to zero after whacking 1 1/2 zombies, then you're completely vulnerable to die quickly. The only good thing is when you come back to life, the zombies you did kill are still dead, but get used to seeing a lot of "you're dead" screens, which get extremely annoying. Plus, all dying does is make you lose some money, so why not just make me lose some money as I take hits? It makes more sense than constantly dying and having to see the death screen over and over. Well, again the thing with "money", WTF were they thinking there?

    I've never been a huge fan of first-player action, and this is certainly a game that screams for third person view, being you literally need eyes in the back of your head. Nothing like zombies always sneaking up behind you, and considering it only takes a few bites to die, it's not exactly what I consider fun. And don't count on the mini-map, as it only shows zombies to kill that are in the mission objective; all other zombies do not show up on the map. Need I mention there's no target locking, which is disappointing in my opinion. I understand other gamers don't want target lock, but some gamers do and it would have been nice to at least have the option, especially with limited view area because of your precious first-player view. The best thing in the game is getting in a vehicle and simply running over zombies. Like in any GTA platform, the more damage you do to your car, it eventually dies and you'll need to find another car. Nevertheless, think of it ass the best weapon you have in the start, because boat paddles and broom sticks just don't cut it.

    And bugs galore! There's a bug when getting in and out of cars, my PS3 says to press L2 to kick but sometimes hitting the square button makes the character kick. Nothing like swinging your weapon when you're right up on a zombie, and so are the cross-hairs, yet you literally miss the zombie after a couple swings. Yeah, control wise, not very impressive and more annoying than anything else. Nevertheless, the graphics look great and the zombies are quite disgusting, which is a good thing. Other than that, it's the same old "work your way up the latter" missions. But hey, nothing like wasting $60 on a game that should only be worth $10.
    Expand
  12. Sep 6, 2011
    5
    I had been anticipating this game for some time and I am quite disappointed with what I got for my money. I absolutely LOVED Borderlands, and this game makes a clear attempt to copy many its gameplay mechanics. I also spotted many things adopted from games like Dead Rising 2, Fallout, and Left for Dead 2. However, the developers of this game spent little time truly unifying these variousI had been anticipating this game for some time and I am quite disappointed with what I got for my money. I absolutely LOVED Borderlands, and this game makes a clear attempt to copy many its gameplay mechanics. I also spotted many things adopted from games like Dead Rising 2, Fallout, and Left for Dead 2. However, the developers of this game spent little time truly unifying these various game mechanics and failed in many ways to deliver a solid game.

    Firstly, I have to comment on the atrocious weapon and inventory system. The inventory list is unorganized and is unable to be sorted in any way that truly matters. There is a sort function that displays blocks of items, such as melee weapons, guns, etcâ
    Expand
  13. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed this game, first and foremost. It's an original spin on the zombie outbrake. The combat system in this is very different, and can put a lot of people off. The most fun in this game is playing it with people, that's when I think the best comes out of this game. Average in parts but overall I enjoyed it!
  14. Sep 7, 2011
    5
    A great concept ruined by tons of glitches. The game is fun. But there are too many glitches to make it worth the $60. A patch is coming, but you're probably wise to wait. The problems will be fixed and the price will drop.
  15. Sep 7, 2011
    5
    disregard my previous review, I've only played the PC version. I can't comment on the 360. There should be a way to retract a review!
  16. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    I have been playing this game non-stop since i bought it. It is really fun. i had seen the trailers, and was sold. Sadly this game isn't as awesome as i pictured in my head. There are many issues with this game. (Needed more development) the voice acting/cut scenes are just atrocious. What makes this game stand out is not the story line, or graphics, but the actual feel of being stuck in aI have been playing this game non-stop since i bought it. It is really fun. i had seen the trailers, and was sold. Sadly this game isn't as awesome as i pictured in my head. There are many issues with this game. (Needed more development) the voice acting/cut scenes are just atrocious. What makes this game stand out is not the story line, or graphics, but the actual feel of being stuck in a world with zombies. The zombies in this game are super scary. If they see you they sprint at you and make the most terrifying noises. If you want a shooter though...this isn't the game for you. Use mostly melee weapons. So i do recommend this game, but just want to warn everyone that....it is very sloppy, and defiantly needed more development. Expand
  17. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    First, the game is a lot of fun and the atmosphere is excellent. However, I've played for about an hour and I've already hit a bug. The first side quest I hit involved giving alcohol to an NPC (this is so early in the game and so minor it's hardly a spoiler). Anyway, I tried 4 times and watched the items disappear from my inventory, but no recognition from the game that any progressFirst, the game is a lot of fun and the atmosphere is excellent. However, I've played for about an hour and I've already hit a bug. The first side quest I hit involved giving alcohol to an NPC (this is so early in the game and so minor it's hardly a spoiler). Anyway, I tried 4 times and watched the items disappear from my inventory, but no recognition from the game that any progress was being made. If this is happening so soon, I'm not going to bother going on and I'm just going to wait for a patch that will hopefully come. There are some sub-par graphics glitches, but on the whole I'm really looking forward to continuing to play. There are a lot of real positives with the game. It's a shame that they didn't wait just a little longer and release it in better shape. I can understand issues on a PC, but with consoles you're dealing with a known hardware setup. These issues should not get through QA. Expand
  18. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    A mediocre FPS with fetch-quests will be Dead Island's legacy. I love zombies in games, from Left 4 Dead to Dead Rising, even CoD's Nazi Zombie maps I love, however this title is in a league below those great games. It feels like a great concept that was never fully realized. Everything about this game is what you'd expect from a game in 2011 without offering anything new or innovative.A mediocre FPS with fetch-quests will be Dead Island's legacy. I love zombies in games, from Left 4 Dead to Dead Rising, even CoD's Nazi Zombie maps I love, however this title is in a league below those great games. It feels like a great concept that was never fully realized. Everything about this game is what you'd expect from a game in 2011 without offering anything new or innovative. Being able to collect xp and build your abilities is hardly a new concept, and fetch-quests only compel me to turn off my system. 4 player co-op is fun, but hardly as fresh or exciting as older zombie games with the same feature. Expand
  19. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    This is my revision of my review of Dead Island. I previously gave this game a 8/10. Which is not far off but later in the game i have come across more and more major glitches and this frustrates me (example: I had loaded my last checkpoint in the game and when I did this it had me start in a whole new area that I've never seen up till now). Im afraid even a patch released may only coverThis is my revision of my review of Dead Island. I previously gave this game a 8/10. Which is not far off but later in the game i have come across more and more major glitches and this frustrates me (example: I had loaded my last checkpoint in the game and when I did this it had me start in a whole new area that I've never seen up till now). Im afraid even a patch released may only cover up some of the mess. The game is still fun if you have time to kill but yes it does get frustrating at times as many other people have pointed out. Killing zombies is always fun but more time spent on fine tuning this game and we could have been looking at a game of the year award. Expand
  20. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    Dead Island has a great concept,yet it is poorly implemented.A few months polish could have turned this game into a great one.Online play is ok though a lack of local co-op is unforgivable.Many are comparing D.I to Borderlands or Fallout 3.It may have a few similar game mechanics as the afore mentioned games,but that's the nature of the industry today.Dead Island is an ok game thatDead Island has a great concept,yet it is poorly implemented.A few months polish could have turned this game into a great one.Online play is ok though a lack of local co-op is unforgivable.Many are comparing D.I to Borderlands or Fallout 3.It may have a few similar game mechanics as the afore mentioned games,but that's the nature of the industry today.Dead Island is an ok game that shouldn't be mentioned in the same breath as those titles. Expand
  21. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Dead Island was one of those games everyone thought was going to be PERFECT like Duke Nukem. It was being made for years and trailers promoted it like crazy. I really thought it was going to be better than what it was though, The graphics were pretty bad and the story was horrible. However, the open world was great and the island was large enough to explore and not get bored. I did enjoyDead Island was one of those games everyone thought was going to be PERFECT like Duke Nukem. It was being made for years and trailers promoted it like crazy. I really thought it was going to be better than what it was though, The graphics were pretty bad and the story was horrible. However, the open world was great and the island was large enough to explore and not get bored. I did enjoy Dead island the first 2 times around but it loses it's replay value very easily. Over all I have to give it a 5/10. Expand
  22. Sep 15, 2011
    7
    First off this is a very fun game at times however the inexcusable bugs will take you out f the experience from time to time that can ruin the game for some. The graphics are mixed between the gorgeous island and the beauty of dismembering zombies to how bad a normal person you are talking to can look worse than the undead. The amount of side quest in vast but a good amount of the questFirst off this is a very fun game at times however the inexcusable bugs will take you out f the experience from time to time that can ruin the game for some. The graphics are mixed between the gorgeous island and the beauty of dismembering zombies to how bad a normal person you are talking to can look worse than the undead. The amount of side quest in vast but a good amount of the quest are just your character taking orders from other survivors to fetch them something they want and they get boring very fast. If you can look past these problems their is a good game to be found worth at least a play through. Expand
  23. Sep 16, 2011
    5
    "Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. What starts as a promising zombie sandbox game turns out to be a very linear first person shooter with annoying game mechanics. The quite long story (main story and side quests) starts interesting but loses liability fast. You will find groups of survivors in a lighthouse, in a church, a ware house and in the jungle. But their stories are just"Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. What starts as a promising zombie sandbox game turns out to be a very linear first person shooter with annoying game mechanics. The quite long story (main story and side quests) starts interesting but loses liability fast. You will find groups of survivors in a lighthouse, in a church, a ware house and in the jungle. But their stories are just there to show you places and have you more of these "Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. To the end of the game, everything is just very linear. The maps get tighten up, leave you less routes to take and places to visit.

    More broken are the game mechanics. Zombies, killed seconds ago spawning right in front of you. Weapons which seem to be shorter than a toothpick. Zombies (or ghosts) running right through you and hit you from behind. Somewhat useless guns. And the fact that you loose money when you die, because the game designers probably felt that you need more punishment than just the very very annoying fast and raging zombies. "Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. Those zombies are just hard to kill which makes parts of the game unfair and really frustrating.

    Although, the graphics are nice. Especially the city looks very detailed.

    I have not tried multiplayer because I felt no real incentive in joining another session.

    TL;DR: It's worth to play the game to the end for those who like the genre. But some will stop over too much frustration because of those "Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. And Left 4 Dead keeps the throne!
    Expand
  24. Sep 17, 2011
    7
    I think the reason im giving this a 7 and not a 9 or 10, Is due to the trailer got me so pumped for this game, It looked like a perfect game, But the final product did not live up to my expectations. The game is still good though. I should also note that the bugs are lowering my score, They need to be fixed
  25. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Dead Island, unfortunately, is one of those games that I simply can't love, but really wished I could have.

    You start off this zombie open-world adventure by choosing one of the four main classes, each with their own back story (which to be honest either needed more to it or to be left out entirely.) One of my main issues with the game is right here, with the character selection. The
    Dead Island, unfortunately, is one of those games that I simply can't love, but really wished I could have.

    You start off this zombie open-world adventure by choosing one of the four main classes, each with their own back story (which to be honest either needed more to it or to be left out entirely.) One of my main issues with the game is right here, with the character selection. The characters do not differentiate themselves enough. The best option is the blunt expert because of his regeneration skills, and his fury attack uses only his fists. Choosing any of the other three classes, to me, would feel like a waste of time, since you'll just be better with the blunt expert without a doubt.

    While in the style of Borderlands, the multiplayer is also a bit of a let down. The weapons, and there are a lot of them, all seem to look the same. Combat consists mainly of simply aiming for the head, and I quickly became bored with smashing the same generic enemy types over and over.

    My final point really is the biggest let down, and it is all the poor design choices the developers made. The car driving is extremely boring, with the roads being very narrow and you aren't allowed any 3rd person view. The choice to go primarily melee might have sounded good on paper, but after playing a game like borderlands, with its variety of guns and interesting animations, finding a high level weapon that is merely a stick and then bashing it against a zombie head like you have since the beginning of the game is a massive let down.

    I really did want to enjoy this game with my friends, but I didn't have massive expectations. After watching gameplay months before it came out, i had a feeling this wouldn't be my answer to Borderlands withdrawal. To be honest, this really does take many good mechanics from other good games, such as the loot and coop from Borderlands, the zombies from Left 4 Dead, the open world of a Fallout Game (though it does feel much more constricted than Fallout). But they were executed rather poorly. Pros: *Fun level-based coop game
    *Tons of loot and weapons
    *Big island to explore

    Cons:
    *Combat gets old rather quickly
    *Classes don't differ enough
    *Driving is awful. Just awful.

    7: This game does deserve a 7, because at times it can be fun. But overall the experience felt like a chore, due to a boring story with almost nothing to work towards, and a mediocre combat system that will feel old and tiresome after the first act or 2.
    Expand
  26. Oct 15, 2011
    6
    I was pretty disappointed with this game to be honest. I'd been following it pretty much since announcement and was pretty much ecstatic when the first trailer was released. But this game fell so short of what I expected. There are a lot of major bugs in the game and even more weird animations, the gameplay gets somewhat stale very fast, going from open world to incredibly restrictiveI was pretty disappointed with this game to be honest. I'd been following it pretty much since announcement and was pretty much ecstatic when the first trailer was released. But this game fell so short of what I expected. There are a lot of major bugs in the game and even more weird animations, the gameplay gets somewhat stale very fast, going from open world to incredibly restrictive areas and the story is next to non-existent. The main redeeming factors are the variety in weapons available and the graphics. What I will say is if you enjoyed the style of game-play Borderlands had you'll probably enjoy this a lot more than I did. Expand
  27. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    Play co-op if you don't want this to become a grind. The first 5 hours of this game is amazing. Past that you ,may like I did, will find yourself running past zombies more than killing them. As for the protagonists, each is unique and based on racist and bigamist stereotypes of Black people, Southerners, Asians, and Women. The Southerner is an ex football player who is an alcoholic, thePlay co-op if you don't want this to become a grind. The first 5 hours of this game is amazing. Past that you ,may like I did, will find yourself running past zombies more than killing them. As for the protagonists, each is unique and based on racist and bigamist stereotypes of Black people, Southerners, Asians, and Women. The Southerner is an ex football player who is an alcoholic, the Black male is a rapper from South Central, the Asian is from China and is very subservient to her "fadda," and the Black Woman is a stereotypical b**ch. Other than that, they each play very differently. As for the gameplay, like I said earlier, there is nothing new past the first 5 hours. This game had potential, yet like too many games it languished in development too long and had too much fat tacked onto it. Expand
  28. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    Meh.... I was hoping for the perfect coupling of Dead Rising and Left 4 Dead and what I got was a technical nightmare. Let's start off with what it does right. Fun Co Op play and zombie hacking goodness with a Borderlands like leveling system. But I found that when I played by myself the game absolutely punished me with mobs of zombies I couldn't handle and game glitches with the compassMeh.... I was hoping for the perfect coupling of Dead Rising and Left 4 Dead and what I got was a technical nightmare. Let's start off with what it does right. Fun Co Op play and zombie hacking goodness with a Borderlands like leveling system. But I found that when I played by myself the game absolutely punished me with mobs of zombies I couldn't handle and game glitches with the compass and graphics. I had tons of fun playing with friends except for the part where if one of us died we spawned half way around the world away from everyone else! So at the end of the day it's meh. Good with friends bad by yourself. I think they've been patching the issues but Deep Silver shouldn't have let it been so unpolished. Expand
  29. Apr 5, 2012
    6
    Dead Island is a fun game to play in co-op or even alone. The combat system is quite good but the weapons break a bit too easily. The area(s) are really large and there's plenty to explore and the graphics are quite nice too. Essentially, it's a good game, one thing that I don't like though is the voice-acting of it, it's pretty bad. Some of the quests are just 'fetch this and come back'Dead Island is a fun game to play in co-op or even alone. The combat system is quite good but the weapons break a bit too easily. The area(s) are really large and there's plenty to explore and the graphics are quite nice too. Essentially, it's a good game, one thing that I don't like though is the voice-acting of it, it's pretty bad. Some of the quests are just 'fetch this and come back' quests and that's a bit annoying too. I'd recommend it to people who enjoyed Left 4 Dead, Dead Rising and/or Fallout. Expand
  30. May 10, 2013
    7
    As a zombie game, this one is just so much fun and amazing. The background sound is just so creepy and man I love it. I won't say the game is hard, but you will die a lot, which is a good thing IMO. Oh, the island looks like a real paradise. The combat is solid and full of bloody violence. Although I like this game quite a lot, I just canNOT give this game a higher score. As a RPG game,As a zombie game, this one is just so much fun and amazing. The background sound is just so creepy and man I love it. I won't say the game is hard, but you will die a lot, which is a good thing IMO. Oh, the island looks like a real paradise. The combat is solid and full of bloody violence. Although I like this game quite a lot, I just canNOT give this game a higher score. As a RPG game, it is a total failure. Most of the quests are ridiculous and pointless, all the characters have no depth, the story is crap and the ending is lame. Expand
  31. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    Let me start off by saying this game is fantastic! The story is fun to follow, many side missions are available for extra game play, xbox live co-op is a blast, and the graphics are excellent. My first play through took me 13 hours, and I enjoyed every second.
  32. Mar 2, 2014
    5
    Pros:
    Long. 20 hours or more.
    Fun.
    Addictive in a way.

    Cons:
    Repetitive.
    Cheesy.
    Bad voice acting.
    Bad story.
    Too easy.
    Not scary what so ever.
  33. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Good game which I felt was a cross between left for dead and grand theft auto. The plot is predictable but not boring and the concept of weapon and player development did add depth to the gameplay however where i felt this game stepped up a notch was in the online co-op play which actually gave a feel for the need to co-operate as a team and punished players who tried to kill allGood game which I felt was a cross between left for dead and grand theft auto. The plot is predictable but not boring and the concept of weapon and player development did add depth to the gameplay however where i felt this game stepped up a notch was in the online co-op play which actually gave a feel for the need to co-operate as a team and punished players who tried to kill all zombies/collect all goodies without their teammates.
    A second playthrough may give some further depth to this game and perhaps the upcoming DLC will show something different but either way this is recommended for anybody who enjoys basing zombies to pieces.
    Expand
  34. Jan 31, 2013
    7
    Thanks in large part to the misleading trailer released a few months before the games arrival Dead Island has come in for a lot of criticism. Leading gamers to believe that it was going to aim for a more mature and emotional narrative than other games in the genre it becomes apparent with five minutes of actually playing it that this is simply not the case. In typical unimaginative videoThanks in large part to the misleading trailer released a few months before the games arrival Dead Island has come in for a lot of criticism. Leading gamers to believe that it was going to aim for a more mature and emotional narrative than other games in the genre it becomes apparent with five minutes of actually playing it that this is simply not the case. In typical unimaginative video game style virtually every mission is little more than a glorified fetch quest, most of which are set up by poorly scripted cut-scenes, and even more disappointingly the overall plot involves little more than trying to escape from the titular Expand
  35. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    Dead Island is a fun and unique game which is let down by a poor storyline, repetitive fetch quests and a poorly conceived respawning system. Obviously the thing that catches everyone's eye is the combat in the game which is done remarkably well. Very few games can bring the same satisfaction when you swing an oar into a zombies face or break the arm of a flailing brute with your trustyDead Island is a fun and unique game which is let down by a poor storyline, repetitive fetch quests and a poorly conceived respawning system. Obviously the thing that catches everyone's eye is the combat in the game which is done remarkably well. Very few games can bring the same satisfaction when you swing an oar into a zombies face or break the arm of a flailing brute with your trusty baseball bat and nothing is quite so satisfying as timing a machete swing correctly and perfectly decapitating an infected charging towards you. Many hours can be spent testing out new weapons on Zombies and seeing the satisfyingly gory effects without getting bored. However weapons break down with annoying frequency making for some tense (and often annoying) dashes back to a safehouse to repair them. The magnum opus of the game is it's landscape which is simply breath taking at the times you can stop fleeing from zombies long enough to appreciate it and the open world aspect of the game is rather well done. Something which is less than breath taking is the storyline which offers tantalising questions such as "how did this happen?", "why am I immune?", "who is the mysterious voice on the radio and are they on our side?" but then either completely fails to answer them or does but in a totally ludicrous way. The ending is similar with a plot twist which is so utterly ridiculous that it seems that the writers just threw it in there because they had a checklist and "plot twist" wasn't ticked yet. Similarly some of the side missions are just as poorly thought out [Very Minor Spoiler] as in one a thirsty woman implores you to fetch and bring back water because she is dieing of thirst while she has five or more full cans of drink dotted around her house. [Spoilers End} Similarly the characters are just really annoying and the player feels very little empathy with the at best bland and at worst very annoying personalities of the characters. Another problem is that almost every mission is a fetch and bring back mission, this is made bearable by the fact that driving in the game is rather fun but there is only a certain amount of times I can run over the same 12 respawning zombies on the same stretch of road before going from point A to point B and then back to point A again gets tedious. Another large problem is that there is almost no penalty for dieing, there is a minor penalty for dieing which is that you lose a very small amount of money and then you respawn (often close to your objective). This may not seem like much but it takes away the survival horror aspect of a game which is based on survival horror. While this review probably makes the game sound terrible the first person zombie killing open world based gameplay is actually fun enough to help you get over these horrific flaws in the game. After writing this I have no idea why I like it enough to give it a 7/10 but the game does have a certain charm and the gameplay is a redeeming feature and certainly the "Who Do You Voodoo" song in the intro is worth at least two points all by itself. Expand
  36. Apr 3, 2013
    7
    Dead Island is one of the best zombie games I have ever played. It has some issues, but none of them are really game-breaking.
    The graphics are pretty good at some parts and ridiculous at others.The tropical feeling on a beautiful island was caught quite good though.
    I have expected more from the story after the famous emotional announcement trailer. You are immune to the virus (no one
    Dead Island is one of the best zombie games I have ever played. It has some issues, but none of them are really game-breaking.
    The graphics are pretty good at some parts and ridiculous at others.The tropical feeling on a beautiful island was caught quite good though.
    I have expected more from the story after the famous emotional announcement trailer. You are immune to the virus (no one knows why) and try to escape with mysterious person that somehow has the only helicopter on the holiday island. It's not really original or special in any way.
    The Gameplay itself is where the fun is at: 4 friends on a free-roaming island with zombies. The standalone idea is awesome and worked out well with RPG elements and a sunny tropical island to explore with your friends. I really got to love this game for it's individuality and atmosphere.

    There is a lack of story, but the nice tech, the fresh concept and very enjoyable gameplay make it a fantastic action/roleplaying game that deserves to be played. A Must-Have for every zombie fan in my opinion.
    Expand
  37. Nov 7, 2011
    6
    Where to starttttt, well this game is just bad ass, hands down. The graphics are amazing, the zombies are very realistic, and the campaign is legit. There are soo many different guns and stuff you can customize and they can all do really sweet stuff. This game is just simply amazing!!
  38. Jan 27, 2012
    6
    When I first played Dead Island, I was amazed. The island looked beautiful, and killing zombies was as fun as it still is. But, as the story ran, I began to feel disappointed. Why? Because the whole game is that. The great island, with sewers, a city, and beaches, and the fun behind killing zombies. That's it. All of the 15 hours of gameplay are killing zombies, taking money and energyWhen I first played Dead Island, I was amazed. The island looked beautiful, and killing zombies was as fun as it still is. But, as the story ran, I began to feel disappointed. Why? Because the whole game is that. The great island, with sewers, a city, and beaches, and the fun behind killing zombies. That's it. All of the 15 hours of gameplay are killing zombies, taking money and energy drinks, and then killing more zombies. I mean, that's cool, but what about the rest? Graphics are okay, but the game is glitched everywhere. The different types of zombies are creative, but is so annoying that a zombie can knock you down and you will take 5 seconds to get up without doing anything. Co-op is fun, but lagged. Everything in this game has a "but", and Dead Island gets a 6 because I found myself rushing to finish the story because I was getting sick of doing the same thing for 15 hours: killing zombies. Expand
  39. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Dead Island is some of what it is and some not. This game is a fantastic zombie killing game. It does have fantastic RPG elements with all the upgrading, mods, upkeep, and scavenging needed for each weapon. This game however is not one where you will be immersed in the world, plot, characters, etc. There is really no likable characters, they all have cheesy accents and their stereotypicalDead Island is some of what it is and some not. This game is a fantastic zombie killing game. It does have fantastic RPG elements with all the upgrading, mods, upkeep, and scavenging needed for each weapon. This game however is not one where you will be immersed in the world, plot, characters, etc. There is really no likable characters, they all have cheesy accents and their stereotypical dialogue isn't even laughable its just sad. Nothing story wise about this game is memorable...now that I have that out of the way this game excels at both graphics and audio. This is one of the best looking zombie games I have played. The audio is also top notch, as you can hear bones break as you hit a zombies arm with a baseball bat. This game should be played with 4 people to get a full experience, nothing like killing zombies with a friend. There isn't alot of replay value after you beat the game, joining a lower level players game is laughable because of how slowly you'll rank up. Overall, good game, but could have been better. 7/10 Expand
  40. Oct 15, 2011
    7
    Seeing the game trailer for this so long ago I really expected a gripping fight for your life experience. What was received was a in your face mash em up. This game is fun. Pure and simple. Lacks extremely in story but the sheer game play is very rewarding. With that being said I experienced several bugs with the game. Constant freezing in Co-Op was very frustrating plus the corrupted gameSeeing the game trailer for this so long ago I really expected a gripping fight for your life experience. What was received was a in your face mash em up. This game is fun. Pure and simple. Lacks extremely in story but the sheer game play is very rewarding. With that being said I experienced several bugs with the game. Constant freezing in Co-Op was very frustrating plus the corrupted game saves I encountered made it game breaking. Regardless of the bugs I still had and have a blast with this game. You really can't get over the broken limbs and perfectly timed decapitations. Expand
  41. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    Dead Island is interesting, unconventional and incredibly disappointing. The visuals are great, combat is (usually) responsive and fun, plus you can level up your character. Unfortunately, the story and gameplay become frustrating and repetitive a few hours in, and the glitches certainly don't motivate you to keep playing. Co-Op with friends is fun as long as you keep your charactersDead Island is interesting, unconventional and incredibly disappointing. The visuals are great, combat is (usually) responsive and fun, plus you can level up your character. Unfortunately, the story and gameplay become frustrating and repetitive a few hours in, and the glitches certainly don't motivate you to keep playing. Co-Op with friends is fun as long as you keep your characters the same level. However you and your friends will probably end up having the most fun laughing at the crushingly generic plot. Dead Island isn't bad, hell it may even be worth a rental or a bargain bin purchase, but there are far better alternatives out there. Expand
  42. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    Not the best game i've boughten but it aint the worst. Dead Island is perfect for people who like the Dead Rising franchise and L4D games. Its more like the combination of both. Graphics are great. The itself is kind of short but the quests don't get boring so easily. This game would be my second choice on my list of Games That You Would Recommend To A Friend.
  43. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    Dead Island is a game that I followed from its first appearance online to its release only to feel the slightest bit disapointed in what I have experienced. Being a huge fan of the Zombie genre, I played the game for up to 30 hours in my first two days of owning a copy to detect the similarities in other games that I had noticed in developer interviews online.

    Many people have stated
    Dead Island is a game that I followed from its first appearance online to its release only to feel the slightest bit disapointed in what I have experienced. Being a huge fan of the Zombie genre, I played the game for up to 30 hours in my first two days of owning a copy to detect the similarities in other games that I had noticed in developer interviews online.

    Many people have stated that Dead Island is considered to be a lovechild of Dead Rising and Borderlands, and they aren't wrong. I believe that ALL RPG elements from Borderlands are present within Dead Island, from the Skill trees, weapon rarities, zombie level and health bar present to the "damage dealt numbers" flying out of zombies with each weapon strike. Either Gearbox, as a friend, lent these features to Techland, or they have been darn cheeky about putting these features in. The Dead Rising element here however of attention to zombie killing detail and weapon creation has been taken a step further, with the MOD system being very planned and with a selection of fun MOD's.

    Visually and Audio wise, the game is masterpiece. I often found myself just looking at the trees sway, listening to the sound of sea waves and enjoying the crunch of zombie bones and flesh being torn off zombies. Every environment within Dead Island is flawless and really does set the standard that I believe all zombie games in the future need to rise above or abide by.

    Solo play at first will seem very fun, but as time progresses, you feel overwhelmed and bored with running from mission to mission. Playing with others insures that you will have a 9/10 gaming experience, especially if they are your friends as much fun can be had tormenting zombies with them. Still only 9/10 because of the games story. As for story, a terrible excuse for one. The further you progress in the game, the less of a point it seems to make. The fun to be had here is exploring the beautiful landscapes and finding lots of fun weapons and items to slaughter zombies with your mates.
    Expand
  44. Nov 17, 2011
    5
    Dead island has some of the most impressive and realistic graphics I have seen in a game, far superior to the bland brownness of the Call of duty series. That is the best part of the game, the visuals. The game play could have been fun if you did not have to do the same quests for 20 hours. Seriously, I felt like all I did for the entire game was collect tanks of fuel for people and killDead island has some of the most impressive and realistic graphics I have seen in a game, far superior to the bland brownness of the Call of duty series. That is the best part of the game, the visuals. The game play could have been fun if you did not have to do the same quests for 20 hours. Seriously, I felt like all I did for the entire game was collect tanks of fuel for people and kill zombies! The trailers made it out to have an engaging storyline. It did not! It had terrible character development and a few boring cutscenes. Seriously this game could have taken a leaf out of Fallout's book and been a zombie RPG, it might have been interesting then. The only part I enjoyed was at the very end where there is a prison full of convicts calling you 'brutha'. The only thing that kept me going throughout this hell adventure was Gamer score and the fact I told the guy I borrowed it from I would finish it. I think I'm being quite lenient with giving this game a 5. Expand
  45. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    A new zombie killer for the most enthusiastic gamer that seek new ways of skinning zombies with a bad plot intriguingly, many bugs but with a new level of fun in its friendly and good gameplay and sound effects. Just and only for fans of zombie killing.
  46. Nov 21, 2011
    7
    This is one of those games that could have set the standard on games to come, but eventually falls short in several aspects. While I thouroughly enjoyed the game for the 20+ hours I played it, I felt a bit cheated. The leveling up aspect of your character and weapon classes were a great addition to this, I felt that the weapons fell short. While I loved the fact that when you used yourThis is one of those games that could have set the standard on games to come, but eventually falls short in several aspects. While I thouroughly enjoyed the game for the 20+ hours I played it, I felt a bit cheated. The leveling up aspect of your character and weapon classes were a great addition to this, I felt that the weapons fell short. While I loved the fact that when you used your weapong, they begin to degrade and you have to continually fix them. This added alot of strategy to the game. However, I found it frustrating that melee weapons were so much more powerful than any gun you will come to use in the game. I mean come on, you have to follow zombie rules 101, shoot them in the head and they die, but not this game. It seems to place more emphasis on using melee items, than guns. If you go in to this game as I did, thinking that it may perhaps be a new iteration of Resident Evil, you will be disappointed. But if you play through this game with an open mind, you wont regret it. Even with some of its flaws, its not a game to be missed by fans of zombies, or survival horror. Expand
  47. Jan 23, 2012
    5
    Good intentions, but poor execution: it's hard to go wrong with Zombies in Paradise, but Square Enix does its best to do so. The game is definitely enjoyable, but a mediocre control scheme, a buggy-to-the-point-of-near-uselessness map system, a quest guidance system that has no concept of sealed doors, and a quest system that alternates between leading you by the hand and giving you noGood intentions, but poor execution: it's hard to go wrong with Zombies in Paradise, but Square Enix does its best to do so. The game is definitely enjoyable, but a mediocre control scheme, a buggy-to-the-point-of-near-uselessness map system, a quest guidance system that has no concept of sealed doors, and a quest system that alternates between leading you by the hand and giving you no information at all combine to make a great experience barely tolerable. Throw in the fact that there is no way to save your progress yourself and that autosaves not only kick you back to a safe haven, but occasionally reset progress on quests, and you get a game that probably could have used another month or three in development.

    It does deserve credit for some interesting features: for example, the combination of stamina usage and weapon wear means that you can't just button-mash, and there's a wide enough variety of weapons that you'll rarely find a weapon that must be used above all others. Then again, weapon wear means that you've got to keep workshops in mind when you're out hunting, and of course the map does not distinguish between workshops to which you have access and those you haven't yet unlocked (so then how do you know there's a workshop there?). There is a balance between male and female PCs, and they each appear to have comparable strengths and no glaring weaknesses. On the other hand, the resort-island setting is a convenient excuse for a jiggle show, even if it's a static one (NPCs are generally sitting or standing, not moving around), and female NPCs seem to give you quests that fit a helpless-woman stereotype, while the male NPCs aren't portrayed in quite that light. (It's not like any of them volunteer to help you fight zombies, though.) It's not a bad game, and the challenges and achievements combine with the different playable characters to give you a reason to go back and try it again, but it's hard to avoid the feeling that it could have been so much more.
    Expand
  48. Nov 23, 2012
    7
    This game is quite good, and will you give hours of pleasure if you like a tactical shooter where running and gunning is not the only option (more often, you need to run away and come back later). The breaking weapons aspect is really cool, a bit like in real life (not that i know from experience, I don't own too many weapons. Great graphics & sound, nice story, definitely game youThis game is quite good, and will you give hours of pleasure if you like a tactical shooter where running and gunning is not the only option (more often, you need to run away and come back later). The breaking weapons aspect is really cool, a bit like in real life (not that i know from experience, I don't own too many weapons. Great graphics & sound, nice story, definitely game you should check out Expand
  49. Apr 4, 2012
    6
    I had high hopes for this originally, it seemed the perfect hybrid of Left 4 Dead and Borderlands' online co-op in a free-roaming world with Dead Rising's focus on melee. Unfortunately, I found that Dead Island was the less satisfying than any of those other three franchises. The story is very cut and dry, nothing terribly intriguing. The character leveling system is fun, reminded me veryI had high hopes for this originally, it seemed the perfect hybrid of Left 4 Dead and Borderlands' online co-op in a free-roaming world with Dead Rising's focus on melee. Unfortunately, I found that Dead Island was the less satisfying than any of those other three franchises. The story is very cut and dry, nothing terribly intriguing. The character leveling system is fun, reminded me very much of Borderlands, but nothing about the gameplay makes me want to level everyone up. The good news is there is a ton to do, the bad news is that the gameplay is quite repetitive and I found that it got old very quickly. If you're in my shoes, you'll get bored of the game long before you come close to finishing everything there is to see and do. Expand
  50. Jan 29, 2013
    7
    I see Dead Island as an accomplishment for a studio like Deep Silver. I'm amazed of how large each location is in Dead Island, and the combat is varied and fun. It really feels like a survival horror game meets Borderlands. The gore is a huge plus as well, and the enemies keep surprising me based on newer ones being introduced. I've put in 20 hours so far, and I'm still not done!

    My
    I see Dead Island as an accomplishment for a studio like Deep Silver. I'm amazed of how large each location is in Dead Island, and the combat is varied and fun. It really feels like a survival horror game meets Borderlands. The gore is a huge plus as well, and the enemies keep surprising me based on newer ones being introduced. I've put in 20 hours so far, and I'm still not done!

    My only complaints with the game is the voice acting is horrendous. It's laughable to hear what people have to say, and nothing is taken seriously because of it. The main characters are very generic, and the story is like the life of a dog..."Hey! Go fetch this while I stand here and do nothing!" It gets annoying at times, but overall Dead Island is a good game.
    Expand
  51. Feb 12, 2013
    6
    Good graphics, good combat, beautiful environment to explore. Yet. it really lacks in terms of narrative. As a survival horror it actually works quite well. But it really is a series of hubs, loaded with pointless fetch quests. A real shame that it did not live up to the emotional depth of the trailer. Overall: It is well worth a go simply for the visuals alone. But don't expect too muchGood graphics, good combat, beautiful environment to explore. Yet. it really lacks in terms of narrative. As a survival horror it actually works quite well. But it really is a series of hubs, loaded with pointless fetch quests. A real shame that it did not live up to the emotional depth of the trailer. Overall: It is well worth a go simply for the visuals alone. But don't expect too much in terms of depth and meaning in this game. Just another mindless action horror that just does not live up to its potential. Expand
  52. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    Fun game, but the gameplay can get a little repetitive. Playing w/friends is when the game is at it's best and the plethora of melee weapons/upgrades are pretty neat. Don't waste too much time w/guns though, they are really only needed when fighting other people. DLC is also pretty fun, but like the game, it can get a little old after a while.
  53. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    Okay, lets get some things out of the way. Dead Island's graphics are an awkward mix of beautiful and ugly. Sometimes it looks like crap, other times you're pleasantly surprised. Secondly if you're playing solo, this game gets DIFFICULT. Seriously, you will get your butt kicked.

    Otherwise its an extremely moody and atmospheric horror, with lots of cool weapons to make!
  54. Oct 13, 2014
    7
    For people wondering why this game got a low score from so many users:

    1. The game had a HUGE bug in it when first released. If you don't get the update your save game goes away and you have to start over. Not early in the game though. Really, really late. Imagine how many hours you put in and then your save is just gone. This happened to me and it was infuriating. But I've since
    For people wondering why this game got a low score from so many users:

    1. The game had a HUGE bug in it when first released. If you don't get the update your save game goes away and you have to start over. Not early in the game though. Really, really late. Imagine how many hours you put in and then your save is just gone. This happened to me and it was infuriating. But I've since upgraded my rating to reflect the fixes.

    2. The game can be extremely frustrating at times. There are points where you play and it's just completely unfair (it seems). You get surrounded and you're attacked with no way to defend yourself.

    3. Your weapons break down rather fast. It's pretty unusual that a sword breaks down. Some people may not like this feature.

    All in all though this is a good first person Zombie killing game if you ignore some of the flaws.
    Expand
  55. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    Full disclosure: I picked up "Dead Island" as a "free" Games with Gold download. "Dead Island "starts out fairly well. The beach resort part of the island is open for exploration and zombie fighting. This is certainly my kind of game. Then the game meanders into a partially closed off slum. Well, I can at least explore the slums, I guess. Soon enough, we enter the slum's sewer system.Full disclosure: I picked up "Dead Island" as a "free" Games with Gold download. "Dead Island "starts out fairly well. The beach resort part of the island is open for exploration and zombie fighting. This is certainly my kind of game. Then the game meanders into a partially closed off slum. Well, I can at least explore the slums, I guess. Soon enough, we enter the slum's sewer system. Seriously, I have to spend my time in a sewer system of slum! Then we go to the jungle. It's mostly a closed off fixed path but at least it's no sewer. Now we end in a prison, with a brief jaunt in the prison's sewer. What started out as an open world game ended as a corridor shooter. Not cool.

    The game's weapon system is also somewhat of a lie. You can modify any weapon you like, assuming you have scrounged or traded for all of the necessary parts. I used about 15% of the possible modifications because that was all I had available. That means the developer wasted 85% of its efforts on weapon art assets and balancing. It also means the weapons were 85% boring. Here's a tip for first time players: pick the character who uses guns. A majority of the necessary fights are against NPCs with guns and the toughest zombies are easily taken out at a distance with guns and grenades.

    Also, the synopsis for this games says "A couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash." This does not describe the game at all. All the player characters are drunken party goers with awful fashion sense and even worse personalities. I skipped most of the cut scenes to avoid them, and I really should have skipped the final cut scene as well. Most of the cutscenes and some of the dialogue assume you have a party of 4 co-op players. The game will seemlessly match you with players working on the same mission. This cuts both, though, because sometimes a random person will finish your mission and take the mission reward. In the later levels where you are grinding through sewers and prisons, there are no other players to offer help. Based on my observation, I hypothesize that most players give up on "Dead Island" shortly after the excellent beach resort segment of the game.

    Let's recap the lessons to be learned. For the developers, do not turn your fun open world game into a boring corridor shooter; co-op is a nice addition to single player but not a feature of single player; and if you let characters specialize in blunt weapons, do not populate the world with pistol shooting militiamen. And for the players, never leave the beach resort.
    Expand
  56. Mar 1, 2014
    7
    This game was enjoyable. It was fun doing all the side quests and missions and my friends played the sh1t out of this game. I you have a xbox 360 with gold I don't know why not to pick this game up when it was free 2 months ago.
  57. Mar 29, 2014
    7
    There are many things I like and dislike about Dead Island. I like the free-roam aspect to this game, and how the zombies level up along with you, so it's always a challenge. However, this same point is also one reason I don't like this game. With the zombies leveling up along with you, it renders the extra health you get almost pointless, as they just do more damage to it. Also, you getThere are many things I like and dislike about Dead Island. I like the free-roam aspect to this game, and how the zombies level up along with you, so it's always a challenge. However, this same point is also one reason I don't like this game. With the zombies leveling up along with you, it renders the extra health you get almost pointless, as they just do more damage to it. Also, you get overrun with infected almost instantly unless you have a team of friends with you, making the singleplayer rather difficult. As far as glitches go, I can't complain too much. I've seen a good number of glitches, but they're mostly funny, inconsequential things. As far as game-breaking glitches go, I've only seen one so far, which has become somewhat inevitable in my playthroughs. All in all, it's not a bad game. Expand
  58. Jun 21, 2014
    7
    The setting really makes Dead Island shine with it's beach resorts and poolside bars, but once you handle the basic mechanics of the game, it becomes very boring, VERY QUICKLY. Even with all it's fancy weapon modding, you always find yourself dismembering, decapitating and decimating zombies as your next objective, right through to the last mission. This game does have a lot of potentialThe setting really makes Dead Island shine with it's beach resorts and poolside bars, but once you handle the basic mechanics of the game, it becomes very boring, VERY QUICKLY. Even with all it's fancy weapon modding, you always find yourself dismembering, decapitating and decimating zombies as your next objective, right through to the last mission. This game does have a lot of potential however. 7/10 Expand
  59. Jan 26, 2015
    7
    Dead island is not a bad game in fact, I had a lot of fun with it. But I will admit this I felt like the game could have done better much better. The trailer for it was amazing, but the game itself could've been better.
  60. Dec 27, 2016
    7
    Dead Island é um jogo divertido, tem um mundo aberto interesante, um enredo mediano e bem cliche até, e o jogo pega muitos elemento do excelente Left for Dead, os personagens que são jogaveis nao chegam a ser profundos, mais sao personagens legais, e cada um tem a sua vantagem, o grafico é bom, mais eu sofri muitos bugs, a dificuldade é boa, tem momentos dificeis, o trabalho de voz é bom,Dead Island é um jogo divertido, tem um mundo aberto interesante, um enredo mediano e bem cliche até, e o jogo pega muitos elemento do excelente Left for Dead, os personagens que são jogaveis nao chegam a ser profundos, mais sao personagens legais, e cada um tem a sua vantagem, o grafico é bom, mais eu sofri muitos bugs, a dificuldade é boa, tem momentos dificeis, o trabalho de voz é bom, a fisica é bem fraca, e a trilha sonora é legal, é um jogo legal. Nota 7.2 Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    93
    Dead Island is a hell of a ride from start to (near) finish and is a zombie game that stands out from the rest of the pack.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2011
    55
    A wasted opportunity - frustrating to play and too ugly to love. [Dec 2011, p.98]
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    I admit that I was not expecting much from Dead Island, given the oversaturated subject matter and the delayed development time. And while the game definitely has its share of weaknesses, it is pleasantly surprising in its own right.