Dead Island Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 636 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 8, 2012
    10
    This game is pure genius!In the end after you analyze this game in every way,put in over 30 hours,you realize that other zombie games are in the dark ages compared to this game.Left 4 dead 2 and Dead Rising:Off the record are the #2 and 3 next best zombie games ever, but this game trumps it,Ace of spades style!10
  2. Jul 21, 2012
    4
    Okay, what they've tried to do seems great on paper, but its not executed properly.

    This game is repetitive and unsatisfying. It should be possible to have way more fun, but it just seems like the combat is the only aspect to this game. Kick over a zombie and bash its head in. Gets old pretty fast. But, what really bugs me is this game is supposedly an RPG. Is that meant to be a
    Okay, what they've tried to do seems great on paper, but its not executed properly.

    This game is repetitive and unsatisfying. It should be possible to have way more fun, but it just seems like the combat is the only aspect to this game. Kick over a zombie and bash its head in. Gets old pretty fast.

    But, what really bugs me is this game is supposedly an RPG.

    Is that meant to be a joke!? You get to pick from four stock characters and that's it.

    There's absolutely no character customisation and you've no interaction with NPCs other than choosing whether or not to accept mission, but I suppose even if you could actually say stuff to them, you wouldn't want to because they're all the same tired, melodramatic clichés we've seen a million times before and yet ANOTHER game with Steve Blum doing the same voice.

    Oh and there's no Day/Night cycle. In an 'open world' zombie game? That's ridiculous.
    Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    There's no way that this game deserves below an 8 from anybody who even played it for more than 1 hour. First, let me establish EXACTLY what kind of game Dead Island is, since so many other user critics fail to describe it accurately. Take the brutal and intense co-op zombie-slaying action of Left 4 Dead, the open-world exploration of Fallout/Oblivion, and the addicting looting of DiabloThere's no way that this game deserves below an 8 from anybody who even played it for more than 1 hour. First, let me establish EXACTLY what kind of game Dead Island is, since so many other user critics fail to describe it accurately. Take the brutal and intense co-op zombie-slaying action of Left 4 Dead, the open-world exploration of Fallout/Oblivion, and the addicting looting of Diablo to form Dead Island. I don't understand why people can complain about Dead Island "ripping off" other games...It simply takes proven formulas and combines them into a new, superb one. Please disregard any user score below an 8, as most of them are utterly wrong in their reviews...not to mention that they're all written at an elementary school grammar level, which should tell you a little something about the writer. I have to stress to you that while the game is still extremely addicting even when playing by yourself, the amount of fun is literally multiplied for each additional friend you're playing with. Sounds cheesy, but is nonetheless true. The storyline is about what you would expect from a zombie game, consisting of the survivors attempting to get off of the island. It consists of about 30 hours of gameplay, excluding much exploration. The game's RPG elements are a nice touch, making me feel like all of the zombie-killing has more purpose than just good fun. I wouldn't describe the game's RPG elements as light, but they're about as straightforward and novice as you can get. You level up by doing quests and killing things, unlocking one skill point every level to spend on your character. Each character has 3 skill trees with about 15 or so skills per tree. You can spend this point to either unlock a new skill, or improve upon a current one. The skills aren't immensely deep, consisting of skills such as "Improved Weapon Durability", or an increased chance to kill a zombie in one hit. There are other skills that are much more exciting than the ones I described, but the core ones are generally passive that overall improve your characters combat skills. The four playable characters all represent some standard RPG classes, which are tank, leader/firearms expert, assassin, and throwing weapons specialist (who's also the "Jack of all Trades"). Combat in Dead Island is some of the most addicting melee combat ever implemented into a game. I highly recommend going to the Options at the main menu and switch your combat style over from "Digital" to "Analog". Digital consists of you mashing Right Trigger over and over, while Analog allows you to utilize precision with your melee swings. You use the Right Analog Stick to literally swing your weapon, allowing you to target various limbs. It takes a little time to get used to, but after a few minutes, it's fantastically addicting. The visceral mutilation is amazing graphic-wise, and the blood effects are astounding. In fact, the entire game possesses phenomenal graphics and the world is never bleak or dull. The looting on this game, as I mentioned, is very Diablo-esque, and never ceases to stir up excitement when I discover another weapons chest that may or may not contain that next godly machete or sledgehammer. You can attach various mods to any of your weapons, allowing them to cause even more destruction. Since this game revolves around melee combat, I had anticipated the shooting to be clunky and boring. I couldn't have been more wrong. The gunplay is extremely fun, and is not cumbersome to utilize whatsoever. Scoring that sick headshot on an unsuspecting zombie with a shotgun or magnum is a breeze. However, ammo is scarce throughout the game, but you can craft it later on with the necessary materials. Aside from all of these positives, I do have some gripes. The normal enemy zombies are called Walkers, with the next step up being called Infected. However, I think the Infected are some of the cheapest enemies in the game. They rush you furiously without any regard for their own life, and will literally chase you halfway across the map. As if that didn't tire them out, they're a ball of energy when they finally reach you, flailing their arms in all directions and scoring multiple devastating hits on you. The most annoying part is when you are in Act 2, and you're required to proceed through the "Quarantined" area, where the Infected literally spawn every 5 seconds nearby, forcing you to either die or fight an army of them. My biggest gripe of this game is weapon degradation. Your weapons degrade at astonishing rates, forcing you to repair quite frequently. This wouldn't be a problem if it wasn't so expensive to repair them. Couple that with the 10% of your cash penalty you receive when you die (which is often), and you've got yourself an annoyance to induce rage to even the most stoic of gamers. Overall, easily one of the best co-op experiences available on consoles, and in my opinion, a frontrunner for Game of the Year. Expand
  4. Sep 7, 2011
    8
    I feel that this game is not quite as good as the Left For Dead series, but not quite as bad as Deadrising. The graphics are decent, the gameplay is fairly smooth, the option to do whatever missions you would like without too much of a time limit makes it feel more open ended. I have not played the multiplayer yet, but it does not seem to be promoted too much in the menus, you have tooI feel that this game is not quite as good as the Left For Dead series, but not quite as bad as Deadrising. The graphics are decent, the gameplay is fairly smooth, the option to do whatever missions you would like without too much of a time limit makes it feel more open ended. I have not played the multiplayer yet, but it does not seem to be promoted too much in the menus, you have too look hard to even figure out how to access the multiplayer instead of having it prominently displayed. If you are a zombies or undead fan, you will like this game, if not, probably not your top pick going into the gaming season. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    It's sa to see the 35 negative reviews that came without justification. This is the stuff that kills jobs. This isn't a perfect game, but what it did do was create an experience that is completely it's own. The vistas are gorgeous despite ugly character models. The combat is frantic and exciting, but occasionally frustrating. That said the package is something fresh in a year of constantIt's sa to see the 35 negative reviews that came without justification. This is the stuff that kills jobs. This isn't a perfect game, but what it did do was create an experience that is completely it's own. The vistas are gorgeous despite ugly character models. The combat is frantic and exciting, but occasionally frustrating. That said the package is something fresh in a year of constant sequels. I bought this game knowing it was new IP and I stand by that knowledge a better man for having supported a company that took a chance. Not perfect, but deeply satisfying, Dead Island makes me happy to struggle to survive in a zombie breakout unlike anything I've ever seen. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Ive never been less interested to play a game after the first 20 minutes than Dead Island. Sure the concept is good but the gameplay and features have been done to death with zombie games. As a new franchise, they needed something different in the zombie genre in order to take flight. Dead Island doesn't deliver anything we haven't seen in previous zombie titles. This is pretty muchIve never been less interested to play a game after the first 20 minutes than Dead Island. Sure the concept is good but the gameplay and features have been done to death with zombie games. As a new franchise, they needed something different in the zombie genre in order to take flight. Dead Island doesn't deliver anything we haven't seen in previous zombie titles. This is pretty much Dead Rising on an island. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    This game is pretty awesome. Gameplay and graphis are good. Super gory and creepy at times. The cgi cutscenes were downright awful though. Many of them appeared to be unfinished and they sometimes referenced things that had not yet happened. The developers should have left them out entirely. This game's plot was pretty weak anyway. That said, the gameplay and overall experience was solidThis game is pretty awesome. Gameplay and graphis are good. Super gory and creepy at times. The cgi cutscenes were downright awful though. Many of them appeared to be unfinished and they sometimes referenced things that had not yet happened. The developers should have left them out entirely. This game's plot was pretty weak anyway. That said, the gameplay and overall experience was solid and kept my interest. It's a fallout-esque, super violent zombie game. Expand
  8. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    Rough around the edges like an old-school PC game, but no major show stopping bugs. The graphics and sound are generally pretty amazing looking with some spectacular island scenery. Though at the same time it can also look bland and texture-less in a few places though that is easily overlooked due to the great sound design that helps to keep you immersed. Game-play wise, the game is veryRough around the edges like an old-school PC game, but no major show stopping bugs. The graphics and sound are generally pretty amazing looking with some spectacular island scenery. Though at the same time it can also look bland and texture-less in a few places though that is easily overlooked due to the great sound design that helps to keep you immersed. Game-play wise, the game is very addictive, with visceral melee combat and fairly in-depth RPG mechanics. There are drivable vehicles which feel quite nice and are very useful for getting around the island. The gun combat is a bit weak, and I don't like how firearms have been implemented in that Diablo organised by quality way, but I guess they do the job. There are tons of quests on offer which are genuinely fun and non repetitive, but the main plot (of which there is little) is sub par by today's standards. It has little in common with that awesome emotional trailer, but that doesn't mean the atmosphere isn't thick and eerie, it really is. The game works best not as a narrative game, but as a zombie survival simulator. And for that it really succeeds like no other zombie game has. Its a great game that I would recommend to any zombie fan. Expand
  9. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    What is wrong with everyone? I went off and bought the game despite the poor reviews and i am glad i did so. I think this is an organized attempt to bury this game. Great visuals combined with flawless gameplay and rpg elements. Left4dead is a child in comparison to this game. If you want a great zombie experience do yourself a favor and buy or at least rent this game and then buy it. IWhat is wrong with everyone? I went off and bought the game despite the poor reviews and i am glad i did so. I think this is an organized attempt to bury this game. Great visuals combined with flawless gameplay and rpg elements. Left4dead is a child in comparison to this game. If you want a great zombie experience do yourself a favor and buy or at least rent this game and then buy it. I was reading a comment saying that sometimes there are slow texture loading time which are eliminated if you install the game. Some people tend to forget gow 1, me 1 with the slow texture loading times. Ts ts ts... I mean come on, couldnt you find a better reason to bury the game? Hmmm wait...thats a no cause there is no true reason other than you prefer playing cod zombies... A must buy for me. Expand
  10. Sep 23, 2011
    9
    I'll start off by saying that I would give Dead Island a 9.5 if I were able. Dead Island is a fantastic game on all fronts. I'm blown away by the graphics, Im not going to lie, I had my doubts going in, but I can safely say that if you have an HDTV, this game does not disappoint. Killing zombies by decapitation and cutting off their limbs NEVER gets old due to the realism of theI'll start off by saying that I would give Dead Island a 9.5 if I were able. Dead Island is a fantastic game on all fronts. I'm blown away by the graphics, Im not going to lie, I had my doubts going in, but I can safely say that if you have an HDTV, this game does not disappoint. Killing zombies by decapitation and cutting off their limbs NEVER gets old due to the realism of the effects of the aftermath/cutting of the limbs. Getting to level 50 is right where you would want it, not too close but not too far away. What really makes the game last are the skill trees that you invest points in to become the ultimate zombie killer/survivor. The story is a little weak but really it is just there to give you an excuse to kill zombies all day long, which is fine by me. Think of Borderlands in that way, no good story but endless hours of looting and killing. The game can get a little tough sometimes, even when playing cooperatively because zombies are a tough fight and occasionally they really start to cluster you. All the reports of glitches are so far unknown to me (I recommend a download to your hard drive because I have had no issues at all, minus a few game freezes when things get real hectic). Bottom line is that Dead Island offers tons of hours of gameplay, which are accompanied with beautiful visuals and tons of looting. Its a big world to explore and should go down as one of the best games of 2011. Ignore the reports of "game breaking bugs" and also ignore Edge Magazine's review because I think a retard wrote it. They were looking for stuff to hate and threw out whatever they found and made it sound awful, which it is not. I hate wasting my money on video games and I did not with Dead Island. Highly recommend. Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    If you like Zombies this is the game to get, yes it does have a lot of flaws but it's still one of the most fun Zombie games I've ever played, and isn't how fun the game is that matters? sure you could complain that it has some bugs and could use polish in several areas, but when you only focus on the negative you'll never realize how fun this game is, it play like a mix of Left 4 Dead andIf you like Zombies this is the game to get, yes it does have a lot of flaws but it's still one of the most fun Zombie games I've ever played, and isn't how fun the game is that matters? sure you could complain that it has some bugs and could use polish in several areas, but when you only focus on the negative you'll never realize how fun this game is, it play like a mix of Left 4 Dead and Borderlands with a touch of Fallout 3 and Dead rising 2, so in other words it's a lot of fun, tons of quests, fantastic co-op multiplayer, and the ability to play through it again with your leveled up character means this game could keep you busy for possibly hundreds of hours, my only real complaints are that the story and cutscenes are not very interesting, and the four main characters you have to choose from all come across as selfish, unlikable jerks, and it could use a better save system, one like Fallout 3's would be nice, but even with it's flaws this is still a fantastic game that I can recommend to any and all gamers and Zombie lovers. Expand
  12. Sep 14, 2011
    8
    I really dont know why someone come here to give anything less them a 8 to this game. This is a great game. I really love it. Very good graphics, great gameplay. It have some minor bugs but nothing that can male u give a low score to the game. I've been waiting a log time to play a good Zombie game and this is is better them I have expected. Great game.
  13. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    I never experienced all of the bugs these people are talking about. Not once, even before the patch was released. I played by myself off and on through out the game. Let me tell you, my friend and I started the game together via xbox live after we got past the hotel. We had a BLAST!!!! Then my two other good friends joined us a couple days later and it was just amazing. The graphicalI never experienced all of the bugs these people are talking about. Not once, even before the patch was released. I played by myself off and on through out the game. Let me tell you, my friend and I started the game together via xbox live after we got past the hotel. We had a BLAST!!!! Then my two other good friends joined us a couple days later and it was just amazing. The graphical glitches are VERY and I mean VERY RARE! The graphics of the game are beautiful. 8.5/10. The combat is absolutely Gorey, unique, satisfying, and entertaining. 9.5/10. Open world environments are split up into 4 areas, all of which you can fast travel between. Although, since I am used to oblivion, morrowind, and borderland open worlds, I believe the whole map should be traversed by foot, land or boat and not just fast travel. Also not everything in the open world is interactive or you cant pick up every item. IF it were a bethesda game, you can bet you can go into every building and pick up any item you see and not be fixed to the ground or be a useless prop. I give that a 7/10 for average. The items, upgrading, repairing, and modding weapons are more than what I expected from an open world zombie RPG. It is creative crafting system and I give that a perfect 10/10. Music and sound effects fit the situation and etc. I give it a 8/10. Multiplayer is just AWESOME and gives it replay value. For the first time, It actually makes me want to replay the game even when I have beat it. I give this a 10/10. A lot of people complain about how the zombies level up with you. Do you realize how easy it would be if they didnt?!?! I joined a friends game, I was level 30 and he was level 15. Literally, one hit to a zombie killed it. It wasnt satisfying. I told him to join my game instead. The point is to level up, and get as many skills as you can get. Skills make your combat situation easier thus making you feel more powerful when you do fight zombies that are the same level as you. Skill trees are pretty well thought out and since dead island is the first of its kind, it did an excellent job. I'm pretty sure there is room for improvement but they did the best they could. I give it a 10/10. Story isnt all that gripping. I give it a 6/10. In this game, it really doesnt matter as the story isnt what draws you in, its the combat, multiplayer, crafting aspects that keep you playing. what does a story matter when you are going to be replaying the game over and over again(cause it has awesome replay value)? So my total scoring average is 8.6 out of 10. Now, since we have no-life nerds who come on here and COMPLAIN about everything...kinda pisses me off. Get out of your mothers basement and get a job. Maybe if you do that you wont be OVERLY picky on a game that deserves credit. WHA they level up with you, WHAAW there are bugs here and there, WHAAW there is money in a game when you dont need money, WHAAA WHAAA WHAAA WHAAA. I wont talk about the good stuff....because I am a little spoiled brat. If it were halo, gears of war 3, and any other popular title.....I would give it a perfect 10 out of 10 regardless if it is the same quality as dead island. So, since my average is 8.6 out of 10. I am forced to give this a 10 out of 10 to combat the lamers on here. Expand
  14. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Finally a zombie game that brings strategy to the table. Put together elements of fallout mixed with a dash of left 4 dead and dead rising and you've got Dead Island. This game is nowhere near perfect but I cannot stop playing it. Left 4 Dead 2 before this game was my favorite zombie game. This is now my new favorite one because you can't merely hack and slash in a corner as compared toFinally a zombie game that brings strategy to the table. Put together elements of fallout mixed with a dash of left 4 dead and dead rising and you've got Dead Island. This game is nowhere near perfect but I cannot stop playing it. Left 4 Dead 2 before this game was my favorite zombie game. This is now my new favorite one because you can't merely hack and slash in a corner as compared to Valves hit series l4d. you actually have to use skill and prior encounter experience for this game. I would compare this game to fallout greatly in the way that it is not only an fpsrpg, but also a rough game with graphical problems. Fallout has much more bugs than Dead Island has yet people talk **** about this game yet not fallout because fallout has settled itself within the gaming community. Because it is developed by an almost unknown company it will never be praised the way it should be. I would also like to include that the coop is fantastic, the mechanics are fascinating, and the analog combat style is a neat feature. The only complaint I have is that you cannot look behind you or use mirrors in vehicles. This game I could play over and over with my friends. The beautiful, yet dark at the some time setting of Banoi is really visually stunning and emotionally captivating. This game really brings out the teamwork in you and your friends. I recommend this game to anybody who loves fps', RPGs, and don't mind playing a game that is not 100% perfect. This game will never get the credit it deserves. The complete opposite of the cod franchise. Cod is a horrible series that gets overthrows while this is a fantastic game that will be underrated. Expand
  15. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    Its really sad how a game with this potential turned out so annoying, first of all you take too much damage, weapons break after you kill about 3 zombies,and the whole concept of money is dumb, why do i need money to fix my stuff ? why do i need money at all on this situation? You can't interact at all with the scenario everything seems to be nailed to the floor, except for beach ballsIts really sad how a game with this potential turned out so annoying, first of all you take too much damage, weapons break after you kill about 3 zombies,and the whole concept of money is dumb, why do i need money to fix my stuff ? why do i need money at all on this situation? You can't interact at all with the scenario everything seems to be nailed to the floor, except for beach balls which are the only thing you can interact with, but the physics are horrible.
    Combat is extremely repetitive it doesn't change from start to end, in Dead Rising you got sweet skills and upgrades every level, that actually made you feel how you character is getting stronger, on Dead Island skills are pretty much useless as Zombies actually get stronger while you get a skill that allows you to do more damage while drunk, the skills would help somewhat if zombies didn't get stronger, Why do Zombies even get stronger ? i find no reason, are they are capable of learning?, their bodies are able to build muscles ? in that case are they even different to the non infected or my character is paranoid and sees them as zombies while there is actually no infection? that would be a sick plot for a psychological thriller . Runners are faster than you, you cant escape and also you cant fight cause they come in groups and chances are when they charge at you they will miss, leaving you surrounded and hopeless,also you character seems to have no weight to him, he gets knocked down way to frequently. There's no plot whatsoever, quests are dumb i feel no motivation to help someone find her Teddy Bear, that's an actual quest found in the game, a grown woman asks you to risk your life for a god damn Teddy Bear, also rewards aren't worth it , this wouldn't matter in a game like Borderlands where combat is fun and rewarding, but in this game you don't really want to fight, you want to get things done, cause its impossible to enjoy getting killed over and over again, even worse if you know there's nothing different you could have done as combat is extremely simple you literally have 2 abilities, kick and swing, you can also throw, but its useless, as I said before you cant learn abilities, you are stuck with kick and swing for the whole game.
    A zombie punch seems to be way stronger than bullets, if a zombie hits you, you loose about 1/3 of your life, but you loose about a 1/25 when you are shot. Your character is a tool, he gets bossed around like no one else, people even say things at you like "What are you waiting for" after you accept their quest, they don't have the slightest of gratitude.
    You get in situations where you HAVE to do what the tell you, in main quest a guard asks you to look for his friend "Ken" who is most likely death, if you don't he wont let you pass, a guard makes you risk your life for a dead man. people in the island have no interest in helping you, but the still demand your help... , In Fallout you would have been able to kill the guard to advance to the next area, at the cost of loosing Karma, but not in this game, you are as good a Jesus and are forced to be a tool.
    This is kind of a personal point but, Zombies walk around with their flesh ripped off, still they complain when you hit them, Zombies don't feel pain, i know they are fictional characters but still there's a pattern to follow.
    Expand
  16. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    Dead Island has a great concept,yet it is poorly implemented.A few months polish could have turned this game into a great one.Online play is ok though a lack of local co-op is unforgivable.Many are comparing D.I to Borderlands or Fallout 3.It may have a few similar game mechanics as the afore mentioned games,but that's the nature of the industry today.Dead Island is an ok game thatDead Island has a great concept,yet it is poorly implemented.A few months polish could have turned this game into a great one.Online play is ok though a lack of local co-op is unforgivable.Many are comparing D.I to Borderlands or Fallout 3.It may have a few similar game mechanics as the afore mentioned games,but that's the nature of the industry today.Dead Island is an ok game that shouldn't be mentioned in the same breath as those titles. Expand
  17. Sep 9, 2011
    10
    I have been waiting for this game since the 2008 trailer came out, and I have not been disappointed. The combat is very unique and challenging, especially the analog fighting style. The sheer amount of zombies that you run into is a perfect amount for four player co op. The scenery is breathtaking and simply well done. And when you are roaming around the island with only a baseball bat inI have been waiting for this game since the 2008 trailer came out, and I have not been disappointed. The combat is very unique and challenging, especially the analog fighting style. The sheer amount of zombies that you run into is a perfect amount for four player co op. The scenery is breathtaking and simply well done. And when you are roaming around the island with only a baseball bat in hand and you hear a ferocious roar from in front of you, it makes you want to run away. There are so many great things about this game, like the modification, the character progression throughout the whole game and the gratuitous amounts of opponents is a suffice challenge. I have no idea why people are rating a game that is this original and well done so poorly. This game does have a few problems like the lack offline co-op, but that doesn't mean that it should be so poorly rated. I have had extremely few problems with the game with the 26 hours that I have logged in. Just because its a challenging that game that some people have trouble with doesn't mean it should have a low score. Expand
  18. Sep 11, 2011
    1
    To me, it's extremely ODD that many posted user-reviews spend so much available text-space berating and reviewing OTHER user reviews. . . Any review is merely an opinion and to overtly and mistakenly judge that certain user reviews are more credible than others is, yet, another opinion. -"My dad can beat up your dad" argumentation is silly and does NOT contribute to any meritoriousTo me, it's extremely ODD that many posted user-reviews spend so much available text-space berating and reviewing OTHER user reviews. . . Any review is merely an opinion and to overtly and mistakenly judge that certain user reviews are more credible than others is, yet, another opinion. -"My dad can beat up your dad" argumentation is silly and does NOT contribute to any meritorious discussion about this novel, new mess from Techland via their half-baked Chrome engine. . . DEAD ISLAND is a buggy, often broken, beta-quality muddle of concepts and it, routinely, makes NEW VEGAS, at its earlier launch, look like a storied and pristine example of flawless game design and implementation. /cough. Trollery aside, with droll fetch quests bordering on the inane, erratic AI, pop-in, FPS swings, insta-spawing zombies in familiar places, repeat-spawning of cash inside treasure chests; er, suitcases, paying-a-workbench to upgrade a pipe, or whatever, DEAD ISLAND is DOA with its many bugs, glitches and half-done Q&A. Aside from the released Steam version being an incorrect XBOX beta version and then being patched so that users would lose their DLC, savegames, etc; the following PS3 patched-version would then erase all Trophy support and create yet another set of diverse oddities, while the XBOX patch is under review, prior to any release; DEAD ISLAND was shipped incomplete, beta-quality, shoddy. Some users have claimed that they have not experienced ANY anomalies with the game, minimal bugs, no weirdness, just grand game design all-around; although, if that were strictly accurate, WHY would so many diverse users on various systems report similar strangeness when encountering the same quests and traversing much of the same terrain? To be sure, as an open world, each player would find their own way, use their own weapons concoctions and approach questing in a random manner; BUT, why then does Techland's FIRST patch have nearly 40 admitted corrections and adjustments if everything is so wunderbar in Banoi? DEAD ISLAND will be soon forgotten, like BRINK. . . Expand
  19. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    This is the best current gen Zombie game to date.... It takes aspects of both fallout and borderlands and combines them into a very enjoyable co-op rpg. Its nothing like led or dead rising aside from zombies and crafting weapons... It has bugs but they dont ruin the game or experience imo
  20. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    When I first saw Dead Island's debut CGI trailer, it gave me a feeling to what I was expecting to see from the game. When I finally got my hands on the game, I was a bit disappointed, but the game itself was enjoyable.

    You get to choose between four playable characters who are fighting to survive a zombie outbreak on the beautiful island of Banoi. The four characters consist of Xian
    When I first saw Dead Island's debut CGI trailer, it gave me a feeling to what I was expecting to see from the game. When I finally got my hands on the game, I was a bit disappointed, but the game itself was enjoyable.

    You get to choose between four playable characters who are fighting to survive a zombie outbreak on the beautiful island of Banoi. The four characters consist of Xian Mei, an undercover cop working as a desk clerk at the Royal Palms Resort hotel, Logan, a former football star who had his career ended in a tragic crash during a dangerous street race which killed his passenger, Sam B, a one-hit wonder rap star booked by the hotel for a gig, and Purna, a former member of the Sydney Police deparment who was sacked after shooting a child molester who could not be touched, before becoming a bodyguard for VIPs all over the world.

    Each character also represents a certain class:

    Logan Jack of All Trades
    Xian Mei Assassin
    Sam B Tank
    Purna Leader

    While guns are usable in the game, Dead Island is primarily focused on melee combat. As you explore the world, you'll come across a wide variety of objects that can be used as weapons, and this can be anything from a paddle to a baseball bat or from a knife to a machete. You also earn money as you complete side-quests or from loot, and this money can be used to buy new equipment from traders, or can be used to repair/upgrade your weapons. Be careful though, you'll lose 10% of your cash for every time you die.

    You may find items that at first, you may think are useless, but save them, as they could be used to modify your weapons to be made even more deadlier (for example, a machete modified to deal shock damage, or a baseball bat modified to deal bleeding damage to your foes.). As you earn XP, you level up, earning 1 skill point for every level to achieve, and these skill points can be spent on various skills that'll enhance your character in several ways. There are only 60 levels though, so make sure you spend your points wisely. There are guns to be found and used in the game, but since this game is melee-focused, ammo is limited and hard to find, so save your ammo when you don't need it.

    Each character also specializes in one specific type of weaponry each:

    Xian Mei Sharp weapon expert
    Logan Throwing expert
    Sam B Blunt weapon expert
    Purna Firearms expert

    Each character also has a specific Fury attack that offers deadly results when usable.

    The main story should take anywhere between 10 to 15 hours to complete, but the game is littered with side-quests, so full completion should roughly take about 30 hours. While the game can be played alone, the game's strong point is cooperative gameplay. Up to four players can join up together and play through the story as a team, or explore the world and complete various side-quests together. There's no restrictions on multiplayer, however (you might be a level 10 character, and somebody joins as a level 45 character, or you might have 4 players that are an Assassin, Tank and Leader but no Jack of All Trades.).

    Graphically, the game looks great, but there are various glitches to be found throughout the game (if you look carefully!). The game is not as buggy as it was now, but I can still remember one cutscene that suffers greatly from glitches.

    I liked the music from the game, but voice acting is a bit shoddy, IMO. There's not even enough audio from the main characters to make them interesting either, I'm afraid. There are mainly one-liners in gameplay, but apart from cutscenes (and there's not many, to be honest) there's not really enough audio to make them great characters (They're likeable, but not interesting, IMO.)

    If you put aside main bad things in this review, Dead Island is an enjoyable title that's made primarily for co-op. It may not be what we all expected it to be after that trailer, but the game works in most ways, and could count as one of the best titles in an over-saturated genre.
    Expand
  21. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    So far 50% of the people knew what they were buying and enjoyed their purchase...and 50% of the people didn't do their research and though they were buying the reveal CG trailer, found out it was just a regular game and started raging. If you like exploring, and fighting zombies this game is a must have. If on then other hand you'd like to run and gun through a meat shield of ragingSo far 50% of the people knew what they were buying and enjoyed their purchase...and 50% of the people didn't do their research and though they were buying the reveal CG trailer, found out it was just a regular game and started raging. If you like exploring, and fighting zombies this game is a must have. If on then other hand you'd like to run and gun through a meat shield of raging zombies on easy, this is probably not the game for you. For those that like to do both and enjoy a good distraction this is a solid buy or rent. Expand
  22. Sep 12, 2011
    8
    This game is like a litmus test for reviewers, showing who played through it and who only played for about 10 hours before going "I've got the gist of it" and writing an article. I think Game Informer hit it on the head with an 8.5/10, the strange thing about this game is that it actually gets progressively better as you play through it, it's almost as if Deep Silver created this game inThis game is like a litmus test for reviewers, showing who played through it and who only played for about 10 hours before going "I've got the gist of it" and writing an article. I think Game Informer hit it on the head with an 8.5/10, the strange thing about this game is that it actually gets progressively better as you play through it, it's almost as if Deep Silver created this game in the order that you play through it, and the later portions are the result of the developers learning from their mistakes in building the first portion of the game. I feel that this game probably suffered from poor pre-production planning, and could have used a couple more months of polish. Expand
  23. Sep 9, 2011
    4
    This game has neat concept, open world zombie game, but wrapped up in mediocre gameplay and tons of glitches. There are save glitches that breaks the game. Random awkward respawn for cheap deaths, and tons of other glitches, missing animation. techland promised fixes but now they saying September 29th ie before they release their DLC. Also this game is a bore fest solo, if you are thinkingThis game has neat concept, open world zombie game, but wrapped up in mediocre gameplay and tons of glitches. There are save glitches that breaks the game. Random awkward respawn for cheap deaths, and tons of other glitches, missing animation. techland promised fixes but now they saying September 29th ie before they release their DLC. Also this game is a bore fest solo, if you are thinking of going solo you better rent first, this game is definitely made with co-op in mind. With that the co-op causes all kinds of other glitches and it's hard to connect to people even your friends through online. The system link works great though but who has time to lug around their consoles to friends houses. This game reminds me of homefront, great concept in MP action but ultimately ruined because of glitches and bad netcode. and that game had empty promises of fixes as well. If you are thinking of getting the game try to find it used or wait till at least October to see if they came through with their fixes. As of now I just can't recommend this game for the full $60 . If the game was more polished I would probably give it a 6 or 7. Expand
  24. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Dead Island a solid game from interesting ways to kill zombies and the graphics. The game is just like Left for Dead but with a lot better graphics. The problem with Dead Island is the repetition and lack of variety in game modes. I do like that you can choose different characters but I also don't like that you do the same thing over and over. How long can you do nothing but kill Zombies.
  25. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    I have been playing this game non-stop since i bought it. It is really fun. i had seen the trailers, and was sold. Sadly this game isn't as awesome as i pictured in my head. There are many issues with this game. (Needed more development) the voice acting/cut scenes are just atrocious. What makes this game stand out is not the story line, or graphics, but the actual feel of being stuck in aI have been playing this game non-stop since i bought it. It is really fun. i had seen the trailers, and was sold. Sadly this game isn't as awesome as i pictured in my head. There are many issues with this game. (Needed more development) the voice acting/cut scenes are just atrocious. What makes this game stand out is not the story line, or graphics, but the actual feel of being stuck in a world with zombies. The zombies in this game are super scary. If they see you they sprint at you and make the most terrifying noises. If you want a shooter though...this isn't the game for you. Use mostly melee weapons. So i do recommend this game, but just want to warn everyone that....it is very sloppy, and defiantly needed more development. Expand
  26. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    I want to start by saying that this is an easy 8/10 game at least. In my opinion,this is THE most definitive Zombie game ever made,& by far best does the iconic Zombie justice,better than any other game to date,bar none,& does exactly what it says on the tin.The game does have alot of bugs & glitches at launch though,it has to be said,which is unecceptable.I'm sure they'll be fixed,butI want to start by saying that this is an easy 8/10 game at least. In my opinion,this is THE most definitive Zombie game ever made,& by far best does the iconic Zombie justice,better than any other game to date,bar none,& does exactly what it says on the tin.The game does have alot of bugs & glitches at launch though,it has to be said,which is unecceptable.I'm sure they'll be fixed,but thats not the point.Also,to get one more thing out out of the way.Enough of the complaining that the game is not like the 'CGI' trailer!.. Honestly,what game IS like their CGI trailer? But i dont hear complaints about them. I'm not sure what kind of game some where expecting due to this trailer,but as the trailer suggested,this game is about a Zombie outbreak on an Island Resort.Moving on though,the game itself is great fun to play.Not sure why people have criticised the graphics,they are as good,if not better than just about every other free roaming game out there.The frame rate is solid,with no noticable slowdown & sound is great,with those Zombie growls causing tension,especially when they're chasing you.
    Where this game excels though,& what sets it apart from any other Zombie game,is the combat,& the pace of it.I never really got on with Left4Dead,because the pacing was too fast,meaning there was no tension,& it was all about 'pray N spray' shooting,mowing down Zombies sprinting at you.Thats not a proper Zombie game as far as i'm concerned.I much prefer Dead Rising(Moreso No2)myself.It was closer to that Zombie game i always wanted,with its slower pace,& 'Proper' slower Zombies,with much more emphisis on melee weapons.Still wasnt my ideal Zombie game though,due to its slightly zaney & cartoony violence,& the humour with things you could wear,& the music.
    No,Dead Island is the real deal! It is LITERALLY that Zombie game i always wanted.The Zombie,as an enemy,is treated with respect,& is a genuine threat if taken lightly in this game.In fact with the excellent combat mechanics in this game,every Zombie is kind of a fight in its own right.When taking on a Zombie,you have to go in,get in a hit or two,then get out before it hits you back,or get it to swing at you first,THEN attack.Theres more to it than that though,as you can target anywhere on the Zombies limbs or body,by having your crosshair on that part when you attack(its easier than it sounds),Which gives you options in every single fight you have.Do you go for a tricky head blow,to take the enemy out quickly,or try to break or sever(depending on wether your carrying a blunt or edged weapon respectively)an arm to make their attacks less effective,or legs to slow them down? Or risk kicking them to the floor to pound them while they try to get up.Kick them into some water,or off the edge if there is one.The choice is yours,depending on your circumstances,like how many enemies you are taking on.Running is also a very real option if things get too hot,or your heath low.Now if all that sounds very cool,then believe me,it is.The Zombies visually show damage where your hitting them too,which is awesome,especially when you've cut a limb off,or you've broken it,& their limb flopping about,rendered impotent.Guns do come into the game later on too,so if you like shooting your Zombies too,you can,though its not the focus of this game.
    This is a BIIIIG game too,with a big play area,& many main & side quests thrown at you Borderlands style,& i havnt even gone into the leveling up of your character,gaining skills,Finding,trading,repairing,upgrading & constructing weapons.. Being able to trade objects & weapons with the other players,& heal them,& the great 4 player Co-Op in general.
    So yes,this is by far the best Zombie game to date,but as i said,at time of launch(& writing this)theres bugs to fix,some are worse than others,but once they are fixed,the game will be one of the best experience to be had out there,& so for that reason,it gets a 9 from me.Should've been released without the glaring bugs & glitches though,theres no getting around that..Tut Tut Techland.
    Expand
  27. Oct 24, 2011
    7
    Good game which I felt was a cross between left for dead and grand theft auto. The plot is predictable but not boring and the concept of weapon and player development did add depth to the gameplay however where i felt this game stepped up a notch was in the online co-op play which actually gave a feel for the need to co-operate as a team and punished players who tried to kill allGood game which I felt was a cross between left for dead and grand theft auto. The plot is predictable but not boring and the concept of weapon and player development did add depth to the gameplay however where i felt this game stepped up a notch was in the online co-op play which actually gave a feel for the need to co-operate as a team and punished players who tried to kill all zombies/collect all goodies without their teammates.
    A second playthrough may give some further depth to this game and perhaps the upcoming DLC will show something different but either way this is recommended for anybody who enjoys basing zombies to pieces.
    Expand
  28. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    This is my revision of my review of Dead Island. I previously gave this game a 8/10. Which is not far off but later in the game i have come across more and more major glitches and this frustrates me (example: I had loaded my last checkpoint in the game and when I did this it had me start in a whole new area that I've never seen up till now). Im afraid even a patch released may only coverThis is my revision of my review of Dead Island. I previously gave this game a 8/10. Which is not far off but later in the game i have come across more and more major glitches and this frustrates me (example: I had loaded my last checkpoint in the game and when I did this it had me start in a whole new area that I've never seen up till now). Im afraid even a patch released may only cover up some of the mess. The game is still fun if you have time to kill but yes it does get frustrating at times as many other people have pointed out. Killing zombies is always fun but more time spent on fine tuning this game and we could have been looking at a game of the year award. Expand
  29. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Great game!.

    This game can remember you another games like fallout, oblivion or similar, but the story and the maps are not bigger than these games. The game has some fails, but its really addictive and the new abilities that you are learning across the game are great. You have a lot of secondary histories and a cooperative game with another 3 people, so the game life grows. The
    Great game!.

    This game can remember you another games like fallout, oblivion or similar, but the story and the maps are not bigger than these games.

    The game has some fails, but its really addictive and the new abilities that you are learning across the game are great.

    You have a lot of secondary histories and a cooperative game with another 3 people, so the game life grows.

    The graphics are really great, and the music and ambient are great too!.
    Expand
  30. Sep 15, 2011
    8
    Dead Island's strong points lie not in its story, but in its unique gameplay that provides some of the most intense combat in a zombie game, requiring you to watch your teammates backs, and they to protect you as well. With the crafting of diverse weapons, a mixture of more in-depth Dead Rising crafting, and Borderlands-esque weapon modification system, and a beautiful and dangerous worldDead Island's strong points lie not in its story, but in its unique gameplay that provides some of the most intense combat in a zombie game, requiring you to watch your teammates backs, and they to protect you as well. With the crafting of diverse weapons, a mixture of more in-depth Dead Rising crafting, and Borderlands-esque weapon modification system, and a beautiful and dangerous world to explore, and tons of skill combinations to experiment with in combat, this game provides a thrilling experience that's both horrifying and satisfying at the same time; a near-perfect zombie-survival experience. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    93
    Dead Island is a hell of a ride from start to (near) finish and is a zombie game that stands out from the rest of the pack.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2011
    55
    A wasted opportunity - frustrating to play and too ugly to love. [Dec 2011, p.98]
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    I admit that I was not expecting much from Dead Island, given the oversaturated subject matter and the delayed development time. And while the game definitely has its share of weaknesses, it is pleasantly surprising in its own right.