User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 552 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    So...first off, I am definitely blown away. While I was excited about this game, I was a bit worried as to what the final product would be like and I can honestly say it turned out quite amazing. From the beautiful visuals to the blood curdling screams of the zombies, the island feels alive. It really comes alive though when you're allowed to explore at you're leisure. Taking on side quests can be a bit overwhelming as there are many to take on at any given safe zone, but they all do a great job at wrapping you up in the world and the affairs of it.

    The game isn't without flaws, but fortunately, they are only minor. I experienced a respawn bug when playing a session with my buddy and a couple other texture loading bugs but these are things the developers have said would be fixed in a day one patch so those shouldn't be of concern. In the end, the game's a lot fun. The weapons really feel like you connect when you're beating down a zombie and the degradation of weapons makes each common oar or plank feel like a brand new weapon you're stockpiling to fight with. Playing with a buddy (or 3) is great and even though they're not a whole lot of tutorial pop ups to help you with everything, you learn pretty quickly how everything works and can easily get connected to the game. It's the largest scale zombie rpg I've seen yet and, to me, it definitely doesn't disappoint. I love the realistic touches and the added difficulty some of it presents and I for one will be having fun with this game for a long time
    Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    You take the role of one of four playable characters who survived the first wave of a zombie outbreak at the luxury Royal Palms resort on the holiday island of Banoi. What caused this outbreak, as well as why you are immune to the zombie infection, is just one of the mysteries in a grindhouse â
  3. Sep 7, 2011
    4
    I really, really, REALLY wanted to like Dead Island. 15 hours later, I can tell you that I don't at all. 5 1/2 years of development gave them enough time to "borrow" elements of game play from other (far superior) games in an attempt to emulate the glory of these titles. Whether you're talking about the the Co-op of Left 4 Dead (Dead Island started development as a single player game), the inventory of Borderlands (500 different pistols with barely discernible stat differences and names), or the crafting of Dead Rising 2 (get a blueprint, collect pieces, assemble at a workbench), Dead Island tries and resoundingly fails to utilize these in any way that does justice to the titles it lifted them from. (PROS)
    30+ hours of gameplay.
    Ambient audio and soundtrack are both surprisingly top notch.

    Beating a zombie to death rarely looks as satisfyingly devastating as it does in this game. (CONS)
    Matchmaking is broken on Xbox LIVE at the time of this writing. You are not able to join into games with people who are not on your friends list. Even if you are friends with someone it is more than likely that you will be unable to invite them to your game (or vice versa); regardless as to whether or not you are in the same Chapter/Area/Level Range.
    30+ hours of fetch quests. The vast majority of the missions (at least in the first 15 hours of play) involve an NPC telling you they need something (or 5 of something) and that they expect you to fetch it. This is fun for the first hour or so, but it's novelty wears off very quickly. Especially considering the amount of time that you will spend backtracking through familiar and well trod areas to turn in quests. A narrative that does not immerse you in the world. You stumble across an NPC that is dying of thirst. They ask you to fetch some water from across the island. You scratch your head and wonder what is wrong with the six cans of "Energy Drink" at their feet (or, for that matter, the bottles of water across the room). The game is rife with idiosyncratic narrative elements that absolutely destroy and suspension of disbelief. Game mechanics that depend on you feeling as though you're low on resources to make any sense at all. All the items that you can pick up in the game, be they weapons, money, healthpacks, crafting components etc respawn very rapidly. When your weapon takes damage over time (which is does very rapidly) You don't have to be concerned as You have more than enough money to repair it, a new weapon to replace it with and enough snack bars and energy drinks lying around to make it very hard to find yourself in a situation with any tension related to the "Survival horror".

    Enemies that respawn in exactly the same number/location/configuration every time you pass through an area. Since you'll spend a lot of your time on the island backtracking to places you've already been it won't take long for you to know which bodies are dead and which are zombies, where the super zombies spawn, and how many times you need to fight the exact same three zombies before you're ready to turn your makeshift club on yourself. Inconsistent graphical presentation. The Chrome engine that Techland employs in this title is terrible at rendering shadows and vegetation. This makes it especially terrible at rendering tropical locales. When you combine this with the overabundant bloom, inconsistent texture resolutions, and last gen environmental effects it makes for a game that is at times pretty; and at other times so ugly that I would gnaw my own arm off to escape were I to wake up next to it in the morning after a night of heavy drinking.
    Terrible, stilted animations. While not readily apparent on the zombies (as they are supposed to look unnatural when they move) this becomes quite atrocious when watching any NPC perform any animation whatsoever. I would be surprised if motion capture technology was used at all in this games animation process. Broken collision detection. For a game where the primary focus is beating zombies to death you figure that they would have spent more time refining this core element of gameplay. Sometimes your swinging weapon will decapitate a zombie that was clearly out of range of your attack and other times it will pass right through a zombie torso (allowing them to close the distance and attack). Lots of frustrating combat missteps as result of this.
    (Final Thought)
    In closing, I would like to say that a certain kind of gamer will love this. It is a mindless open world beat 'em up and a lot of people don't play games for style or substance. If you were expecting a AAA title in line with some of the other releases this coming this fall, you'd be better served not playing it, renting it, or waiting the month it will take for this to find it's way into the bargain bin.
    Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Dead Island is a Open world, first person view, zombie survival horror with item collection and character skill advancement trees. Its as If Borderlands and Dead Rising got together and had a baby, that baby would be dead Island. This game has rich four player co-op, simple yet effective story, a deep weapon crafting and character customization system. Do you love zombies? Exploration? character advancement? item collections? co-op? then dead Rising is a no brain-er. The only reason this game doesn't get a ten is due to a slightly bugged user interface that should be fixed this week with a patch. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I don't care what other people say. The game is simply amazing. I was scared like hell and I still hear the screaming zombies behind my back. I have to admit that I have never played game like this: huge world to explore, beautiful environments, lots of action that you can not predict and above all that crashing feeling that you may die soon... Just WOW!!!!
  6. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Played this since midnight on monday until now. BEST ZOMBIE GAME I've ever played! Take the freedom of Dead Rising and mix it with left 4 dead's uneasy feeling of "what comes next" and drape it with a Borderlands feel and you have Dead Island. It takes getting used to as it's def something all it's own but those on the fence of whether this is up your alley only need to check a couple boxes. 1) Did you play and enjoy Fallout 3 or Borderlands? 2.) Do you enjoy co-op games? 3.) Do you like zombie games/films? If you said yes to all three questions go buy this right now I guarantee you will have a blast. Critics are being really harsh on this game but it truly is worth every cent of your purchase. My friends and I are loving every minute of it. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    What is wrong with everyone? I went off and bought the game despite the poor reviews and i am glad i did so. I think this is an organized attempt to bury this game. Great visuals combined with flawless gameplay and rpg elements. Left4dead is a child in comparison to this game. If you want a great zombie experience do yourself a favor and buy or at least rent this game and then buy it. I was reading a comment saying that sometimes there are slow texture loading time which are eliminated if you install the game. Some people tend to forget gow 1, me 1 with the slow texture loading times. Ts ts ts... I mean come on, couldnt you find a better reason to bury the game? Hmmm wait...thats a no cause there is no true reason other than you prefer playing cod zombies... A must buy for me. Expand
  8. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    It's sa to see the 35 negative reviews that came without justification. This is the stuff that kills jobs. This isn't a perfect game, but what it did do was create an experience that is completely it's own. The vistas are gorgeous despite ugly character models. The combat is frantic and exciting, but occasionally frustrating. That said the package is something fresh in a year of constant sequels. I bought this game knowing it was new IP and I stand by that knowledge a better man for having supported a company that took a chance. Not perfect, but deeply satisfying, Dead Island makes me happy to struggle to survive in a zombie breakout unlike anything I've ever seen. Expand
  9. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Zombie games redefined. Outstanding mood and game-world. After gameplay movies I was a bit worried about melee fighting. Its just hard task. And what happened? I am playin it for 7 hours. Melee fighting is a masterpiece. Good work Deep Silver.

    BTW - City of Moresby is giving me the best survival experience in my life.
  10. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I really can't understand why there are so many people rating this game badly. It's so fun! I think that the ones that aren't liking it just can't like this type of game. My anticipation was really high and I was so worried about it not living up to my expectations/hopes. It really does in a big way. I've only played for a couple of hours so far so maybe it's not fair for me to praise it so much, but even if the story and everything else that I haven't seen isn't any good, it wouldn't bother me because I'm having so much fun with just running around killing zombies. I loved both Dead Risings, but this has a completely different feel to me. It's more realistic in some ways, but I find it doesn't frustrate like some games like that do, (trying to be too realistic). I wasn't sure about the stamina meter and the upgrades and things along those lines, but I really think the developer kept right in the middle of what they were going for, so it works great!

    I think if you like the game play trailers, you'll have fun with this. I have high hopes for the story too, (I like it so far), but as I said... if it isn't that great, I'll have fun watching zombies drowning as they take water into their ugly heads, as well as everything else that I've seen/done so far. I've also read complaints about the visuals and character models as well. I thought everything was done great. I can't speak for what you see/experience later in the game, but so far I think it looks and plays amazingly.

    I think that people are either trying to give it a bad score for some reason without even trying it, or they just don't like this kind of game. I'm not sure, but I'm pretty convinced that the ones that are loving it will keep loving it for quite sometime.

    Awesome game!
    Expand
  11. Oio
    Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Well, its zombie game, but its completely different than L4D or Dead Rising - in my opinion: much better, much more adult and interesting. It has great climate and that's more important, right?
  12. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Finally a zombie game that brings strategy to the table. Put together elements of fallout mixed with a dash of left 4 dead and dead rising and you've got Dead Island. This game is nowhere near perfect but I cannot stop playing it. Left 4 Dead 2 before this game was my favorite zombie game. This is now my new favorite one because you can't merely hack and slash in a corner as compared to Valves hit series l4d. you actually have to use skill and prior encounter experience for this game. I would compare this game to fallout greatly in the way that it is not only an fpsrpg, but also a rough game with graphical problems. Fallout has much more bugs than Dead Island has yet people talk **** about this game yet not fallout because fallout has settled itself within the gaming community. Because it is developed by an almost unknown company it will never be praised the way it should be. I would also like to include that the coop is fantastic, the mechanics are fascinating, and the analog combat style is a neat feature. The only complaint I have is that you cannot look behind you or use mirrors in vehicles. This game I could play over and over with my friends. The beautiful, yet dark at the some time setting of Banoi is really visually stunning and emotionally captivating. This game really brings out the teamwork in you and your friends. I recommend this game to anybody who loves fps', RPGs, and don't mind playing a game that is not 100% perfect. This game will never get the credit it deserves. The complete opposite of the cod franchise. Cod is a horrible series that gets overthrows while this is a fantastic game that will be underrated. Expand
  13. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    So far 50% of the people knew what they were buying and enjoyed their purchase...and 50% of the people didn't do their research and though they were buying the reveal CG trailer, found out it was just a regular game and started raging. If you like exploring, and fighting zombies this game is a must have. If on then other hand you'd like to run and gun through a meat shield of raging zombies on easy, this is probably not the game for you. For those that like to do both and enjoy a good distraction this is a solid buy or rent. Expand
  14. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    First off.. i was worried about this game but i just could not resist buying it.... My worries were immediately erased when i played it! The biggest complaint i have seen is how it has picked popular qualities from other games. But seriously is that such a bad thing? Man This game is pure survival & though i wouldn't call it scary as hell this game has managed to make me jump & get very nervous from close calls. I really enjoy the crafting mechanics in the game and the way your weapon will actually show its wear and tear from use & they did not leave it to just having a health bar! what can i say i love the little things. Also i was caught off guard by the bloody size of the skill trees you use to get tougher & more capable. I will never get bored of throwing a knife into a zombie & pulling it back out while it tries to grab me than just stab the heck out of it :P Expand
  15. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! A must have for any fan of zombie/horror games. The perfect mix of action and suspense. My advise, buy this game, turn off the lights and hook up surround sound!
  16. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    First off, I hate, HATE zombie games. I'll be 100% honest, I picked up Dead Island because of all the hype and because people mentioned it was "Fallout 3 with zombies". Well, with Fallout 3 being one of my favorite games in existence, and me being a sucker for anything like it, I had to give this a chance. So yeah I bought into the hype, but bottom line, it's a really awesome game. I think Dead Island deserves a 9/10 across the board. The graphics and sound are both over the top good, the core game is a TON of FUN, and the feeling you get while playing is worth the price of admission. Throw a few online friends into the mix, turn your speakers up, and watch the blood fly. You'd have to be dead to not enjoy this game. Expand
  17. Sep 6, 2011
    7
    Dead Island is a fantastic game that isn't getting the credit it deserves. However i can understand with the bugs and crashes that are occurring in game. In time with patches it will be the game its supposed to be. The violence is awesome and game play just needs some fixing it will be a true gem just not right now.
  18. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Woohoo! An open world zombie slasher with impeccable graphics and fresh gameplay. It has some glitches so I'm still waiting for that patch but otherwise it's exactly the game I've been waiting for. Weapon decays is balanced as long as you loot useful stuff (as you would being a survivor in a zombie apocalypse), the enemies have enough variety to stay entertaining but it's still obvious that they're zombie variations.
    Melee combat is unique, especially when you switch the oddly named 'fight type' to analog. Then you control the melee swings by swinging the right analog stick. And one more thing: PLAY IN CO-OP!!
    Expand
  19. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    This is the best current gen Zombie game to date.... It takes aspects of both fallout and borderlands and combines them into a very enjoyable co-op rpg. Its nothing like led or dead rising aside from zombies and crafting weapons... It has bugs but they dont ruin the game or experience imo
  20. Sep 6, 2011
    5
    I had been anticipating this game for some time and I am quite disappointed with what I got for my money. I absolutely LOVED Borderlands, and this game makes a clear attempt to copy many its gameplay mechanics. I also spotted many things adopted from games like Dead Rising 2, Fallout, and Left for Dead 2. However, the developers of this game spent little time truly unifying these various game mechanics and failed in many ways to deliver a solid game.

    Firstly, I have to comment on the atrocious weapon and inventory system. The inventory list is unorganized and is unable to be sorted in any way that truly matters. There is a sort function that displays blocks of items, such as melee weapons, guns, etcâ
    Expand
  21. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    This game is just downright fun. Multiplayer is a joy with friends. Sure, there are technical issues, but that doesn't stop this game from being fun. This isn't a story driven experience. For all of you douchebags who give this game a low rating because of the story, go read a book. This game is for gore lovers and anyone who enjoys a good cooperative experience.
  22. Sep 7, 2011
    6
    There's good and there's bad about this game, but the bad parts are completely annoying. First of all, lots of bugs to deal with and a complete lack of thought to story plot. The Island is over-run by zombies, so then what's the point of collecting money? I think in reality, money would be worthless in the sake of pure terror for survival sake. Therefore, why not just use XP points for trading and upgrades? Yeah, the collecting money thing I found quite stupid and lacked any coherent thought. The ratio between your health, energy and how many hits you can take before you die is way off balance. In other words, you die way too easy (only takes a few bites and your down). Of course, having the energy feature is no help when you have about 3 to 4 zombies on you at once. The energy bar goes to zero after whacking 1 1/2 zombies, then you're completely vulnerable to die quickly. The only good thing is when you come back to life, the zombies you did kill are still dead, but get used to seeing a lot of "you're dead" screens, which get extremely annoying. Plus, all dying does is make you lose some money, so why not just make me lose some money as I take hits? It makes more sense than constantly dying and having to see the death screen over and over. Well, again the thing with "money", WTF were they thinking there?

    I've never been a huge fan of first-player action, and this is certainly a game that screams for third person view, being you literally need eyes in the back of your head. Nothing like zombies always sneaking up behind you, and considering it only takes a few bites to die, it's not exactly what I consider fun. And don't count on the mini-map, as it only shows zombies to kill that are in the mission objective; all other zombies do not show up on the map. Need I mention there's no target locking, which is disappointing in my opinion. I understand other gamers don't want target lock, but some gamers do and it would have been nice to at least have the option, especially with limited view area because of your precious first-player view. The best thing in the game is getting in a vehicle and simply running over zombies. Like in any GTA platform, the more damage you do to your car, it eventually dies and you'll need to find another car. Nevertheless, think of it ass the best weapon you have in the start, because boat paddles and broom sticks just don't cut it.

    And bugs galore! There's a bug when getting in and out of cars, my PS3 says to press L2 to kick but sometimes hitting the square button makes the character kick. Nothing like swinging your weapon when you're right up on a zombie, and so are the cross-hairs, yet you literally miss the zombie after a couple swings. Yeah, control wise, not very impressive and more annoying than anything else. Nevertheless, the graphics look great and the zombies are quite disgusting, which is a good thing. Other than that, it's the same old "work your way up the latter" missions. But hey, nothing like wasting $60 on a game that should only be worth $10.
    Expand
  23. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    I've read too many whiny reviews about this game and how "it erases my game" or "my kicking leg changes length" or my favorite " waaaahhh!!! Items respawn!!!." These things alone are enough for you to drop this game to a 1/10. I will daresay that you gamers are quite petty. This game is absolutely what the gaming world needs. First I applaud this game for making me actually sit on the edge of my seat while I struggle for my life at almost every turn which completely makes up for the fact that the floater I fought last night disappeared into the floor before I could collect my exp. NO BIG DEAL! Second I found the world of Dead Island so graphically beautiful that it easily rivals other open world rpgs such as Oblivion and the Fallout series. And last of all I found the weapons to be very cool indeed. I was skeptical at first when I grabbed a paddle and sent my first zombie to Hell, (good things come to those who wait) and now I'm wielding weapons that absolutely devastate my foes. So, I say to all you people who are at home counting each pixel on your screen so you can argue about how the screen resolution isn't perfect; get the hair out of your crack... sit down...put this game in...and just have fun with it. Ignore the zombie who glitches once every blue moon, assume your character's leg gets shorter and longer because he/she is actually Mr. Fantastic, and just chill. Expand
  24. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Good fun = good game. It's as simple as that. Even if the game is not flawless I can recom-mend it without hesitation and all because of its incredible survival horror experience. I'm not fan of the genre but I was carried away with action and atmosphere. I also truly appreciate the fantastic environments and really nice zombie. And one thing more: the soundtrack is phenomenal. All in all, it is a decent product that scored 95% on my scale. Expand
  25. Sep 7, 2011
    9
    This is the best zombie game ever made by humanity, ever. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10 is that some minor glitches need to be fixed with a patch. Otherwise it's simply mindblowing! The island is huge but it's not just the beach, there is a city, jungles and much more. I'm in the middle of my second playthrough. Cooperative is the way to with this one. Not like there's anything wrong with single-player but sharing the horrors of the zombie invasion with other players is what XBL was invented for LOL! Expand
  26. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    I'll start simply by saying this is my first ever review on metacritic. I had to speak up! I followed this game for awhile and I will admit the trailer with the little girl was quite misleading. I'm also not going to go comparing this to all the games it's not and how similar it is to others. I picked it up on launch, before reading any reviews. I'm shocked to see the scores. Dead Island is FUN!!! It seems a lot of the reviewers that gave bad scores have not played the game that far, a few only referencing the first or second quest. The controls are spot-on and the first person view is amazing. There has been more than a few times I jumped because a zombie is about to eat my face off. Aiming with a melee weapon shouldn't be locked on for guaranteed success. Guns seem to do a lot more damage than a baseball bat, as they should! After leaving the initial area I was shocked how much your style of play has to change, due to non-zombie enemies (don't want to spoil). The AI of these new challengers is spot on and refreshing compared to the lumbering zombies. This was an interesting twist i was not expecting and enjoyed! The sound is also great in surround sound. Being able to tell what direction a zombie is running full blast at you from is very useful. The lack of music is also a great decision by the developers. Sometimes just the sounds of your footsteps is enough to polish the immersion. Graphics are ok, by far not the best to date. They do a good enough job for an occasional "wow" moment. The damage effects on the zombies is nice. You actually see a radius and an ulna when you chop at their arms! There is a lot of "delivery" quests and some lack of flair with the characters. I do however feel the pull to want to keep leveling up, despite the lackluster back story. I hope more people try this game out and ignore some of the baffling bad reviews. I can't wait to play more! Expand
  27. Sep 6, 2011
    3
    The 360 version features broken matchmaking for the vast majority of players. One should not be surprised at the broken network code, considering that these are the same artisans that shat out the deplorable Call of Juarez: The Cartel (47/100 on Metacritic at the time of this writing). The Chrome engine is dated and can't handle spawning more than 5 zombies at a time. There is no suspense, as money is plentiful and all the loot respawns with a great frequency. Do not buy this game before reading the Edge Magazine review. If, after reading their litany of (spot on) complaints you still feel like playing it, rent it from Gamefly (or, better yet, check yourself into an institution). I don't generally write reviews for games (especially negative ones) but this is the most ripped off I have felt with a game purchase in the last 5 years. I had my reservations, but seeing the fairly positive reviews, swallowed them and went ahead and got it. Should have gone with my gut. As an added bonus, if your pre-ordered the game on Steam, you got a broken dev version that they now have to repair (making your DLC, save games, and game data corrupt in the process). That is the general level of competency you can expect from Techland and Deep Silver. Expand
  28. Sep 11, 2011
    0
    I am blown away at how bad this game this. Seriously. Before I begin, let me address the positive reviews that say "Do not believe the negative reviews": Nearly 1/3 of reviews of this game are extremely negative. We should not be ignored.

    The game is ridiculously bad on so many levels. It starts with an amazing concept that has infinite possibilities, except, it somehow makes it
    childish, clunky, and boring. I was promised an interactive sandbox. What I got was a world in which I can look, but can not touch. While Dead Rising offered a third person world where everything was a weapon, Dead Island offers a first person world where nearly nothing is a weapon and anything that is a weapon breaks strangely easily.

    The game opens by violently ripping the individual who tends to obey and respect the law from the game. None of the characters (that can be played as) have backgrounds that are relate-able, all of them are pretty much deserving of getting eaten by a zombie. The game just comes across as lazy: every single time you need energy, you have to chug one of the many energy drinks that can be found. For those of us that don't care for energy drinks, it makes one wonder, why can't we have other food be used as energy? Is this laziness by the developers or is this supposed to be some sort of humor, playing on the "energy" in "energy drink"? The mechanics are simply clumsy. Aim for the zombies head; hit his leg; that is to say if you do not miss entirely. The missions given to you by the NPC are extremely tiring. Not because they are boring, but because I find no motivation in finding spark plugs for some guy who just opened his garage door and yelled "hey you! I have a job for you!" And, reflecting on the main story, the developers do not attempt to explain why I was spared while everyone else dies (besides that I got black out drunk and passed out in my hotel room while everyone is eaten alive). Furthermore, I can not see why I my immunity to the virus is, at all, essential to the NPCs surviving, as they claim it is.

    Then there are the portions of the game that are just childish. In the first hour, it became glaringly obvious that every single female NPC was in a bikini and was well proportioned. Every time that the main character is referenced, it is as "he," even if you play as a female. There is even a bungalo where a dead gore-ified naked woman, tied down to the bed posts, with cameras surrounding her. I understand that many games tend to show females with sexist stereotypes, but this game does so in a glaringly obvious fashion that reeks of immaturity. The fact that one of the females is rough and tough body guard does not balance out the before mentioned.

    It took me two hours to become extremely bored of this game. I returned it immediately to my local GameStop, taking a $28 loss. This game is so bad that I would rather take an immediate $28 loss than have it all around my house. This game had so much potential, yet, what I got was a clumsy looking glass that showed me an world that I could look at, but barely touch.
    Expand
  29. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    There's no way that this game deserves below an 8 from anybody who even played it for more than 1 hour. First, let me establish EXACTLY what kind of game Dead Island is, since so many other user critics fail to describe it accurately. Take the brutal and intense co-op zombie-slaying action of Left 4 Dead, the open-world exploration of Fallout/Oblivion, and the addicting looting of Diablo to form Dead Island. I don't understand why people can complain about Dead Island "ripping off" other games...It simply takes proven formulas and combines them into a new, superb one. Please disregard any user score below an 8, as most of them are utterly wrong in their reviews...not to mention that they're all written at an elementary school grammar level, which should tell you a little something about the writer. I have to stress to you that while the game is still extremely addicting even when playing by yourself, the amount of fun is literally multiplied for each additional friend you're playing with. Sounds cheesy, but is nonetheless true. The storyline is about what you would expect from a zombie game, consisting of the survivors attempting to get off of the island. It consists of about 30 hours of gameplay, excluding much exploration. The game's RPG elements are a nice touch, making me feel like all of the zombie-killing has more purpose than just good fun. I wouldn't describe the game's RPG elements as light, but they're about as straightforward and novice as you can get. You level up by doing quests and killing things, unlocking one skill point every level to spend on your character. Each character has 3 skill trees with about 15 or so skills per tree. You can spend this point to either unlock a new skill, or improve upon a current one. The skills aren't immensely deep, consisting of skills such as "Improved Weapon Durability", or an increased chance to kill a zombie in one hit. There are other skills that are much more exciting than the ones I described, but the core ones are generally passive that overall improve your characters combat skills. The four playable characters all represent some standard RPG classes, which are tank, leader/firearms expert, assassin, and throwing weapons specialist (who's also the "Jack of all Trades"). Combat in Dead Island is some of the most addicting melee combat ever implemented into a game. I highly recommend going to the Options at the main menu and switch your combat style over from "Digital" to "Analog". Digital consists of you mashing Right Trigger over and over, while Analog allows you to utilize precision with your melee swings. You use the Right Analog Stick to literally swing your weapon, allowing you to target various limbs. It takes a little time to get used to, but after a few minutes, it's fantastically addicting. The visceral mutilation is amazing graphic-wise, and the blood effects are astounding. In fact, the entire game possesses phenomenal graphics and the world is never bleak or dull. The looting on this game, as I mentioned, is very Diablo-esque, and never ceases to stir up excitement when I discover another weapons chest that may or may not contain that next godly machete or sledgehammer. You can attach various mods to any of your weapons, allowing them to cause even more destruction. Since this game revolves around melee combat, I had anticipated the shooting to be clunky and boring. I couldn't have been more wrong. The gunplay is extremely fun, and is not cumbersome to utilize whatsoever. Scoring that sick headshot on an unsuspecting zombie with a shotgun or magnum is a breeze. However, ammo is scarce throughout the game, but you can craft it later on with the necessary materials. Aside from all of these positives, I do have some gripes. The normal enemy zombies are called Walkers, with the next step up being called Infected. However, I think the Infected are some of the cheapest enemies in the game. They rush you furiously without any regard for their own life, and will literally chase you halfway across the map. As if that didn't tire them out, they're a ball of energy when they finally reach you, flailing their arms in all directions and scoring multiple devastating hits on you. The most annoying part is when you are in Act 2, and you're required to proceed through the "Quarantined" area, where the Infected literally spawn every 5 seconds nearby, forcing you to either die or fight an army of them. My biggest gripe of this game is weapon degradation. Your weapons degrade at astonishing rates, forcing you to repair quite frequently. This wouldn't be a problem if it wasn't so expensive to repair them. Couple that with the 10% of your cash penalty you receive when you die (which is often), and you've got yourself an annoyance to induce rage to even the most stoic of gamers. Overall, easily one of the best co-op experiences available on consoles, and in my opinion, a frontrunner for Game of the Year. Expand
  30. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    I want to start by saying that this is an easy 8/10 game at least. In my opinion,this is THE most definitive Zombie game ever made,& by far best does the iconic Zombie justice,better than any other game to date,bar none,& does exactly what it says on the tin.The game does have alot of bugs & glitches at launch though,it has to be said,which is unecceptable.I'm sure they'll be fixed,but thats not the point.Also,to get one more thing out out of the way.Enough of the complaining that the game is not like the 'CGI' trailer!.. Honestly,what game IS like their CGI trailer? But i dont hear complaints about them. I'm not sure what kind of game some where expecting due to this trailer,but as the trailer suggested,this game is about a Zombie outbreak on an Island Resort.Moving on though,the game itself is great fun to play.Not sure why people have criticised the graphics,they are as good,if not better than just about every other free roaming game out there.The frame rate is solid,with no noticable slowdown & sound is great,with those Zombie growls causing tension,especially when they're chasing you.
    Where this game excels though,& what sets it apart from any other Zombie game,is the combat,& the pace of it.I never really got on with Left4Dead,because the pacing was too fast,meaning there was no tension,& it was all about 'pray N spray' shooting,mowing down Zombies sprinting at you.Thats not a proper Zombie game as far as i'm concerned.I much prefer Dead Rising(Moreso No2)myself.It was closer to that Zombie game i always wanted,with its slower pace,& 'Proper' slower Zombies,with much more emphisis on melee weapons.Still wasnt my ideal Zombie game though,due to its slightly zaney & cartoony violence,& the humour with things you could wear,& the music.
    No,Dead Island is the real deal! It is LITERALLY that Zombie game i always wanted.The Zombie,as an enemy,is treated with respect,& is a genuine threat if taken lightly in this game.In fact with the excellent combat mechanics in this game,every Zombie is kind of a fight in its own right.When taking on a Zombie,you have to go in,get in a hit or two,then get out before it hits you back,or get it to swing at you first,THEN attack.Theres more to it than that though,as you can target anywhere on the Zombies limbs or body,by having your crosshair on that part when you attack(its easier than it sounds),Which gives you options in every single fight you have.Do you go for a tricky head blow,to take the enemy out quickly,or try to break or sever(depending on wether your carrying a blunt or edged weapon respectively)an arm to make their attacks less effective,or legs to slow them down? Or risk kicking them to the floor to pound them while they try to get up.Kick them into some water,or off the edge if there is one.The choice is yours,depending on your circumstances,like how many enemies you are taking on.Running is also a very real option if things get too hot,or your heath low.Now if all that sounds very cool,then believe me,it is.The Zombies visually show damage where your hitting them too,which is awesome,especially when you've cut a limb off,or you've broken it,& their limb flopping about,rendered impotent.Guns do come into the game later on too,so if you like shooting your Zombies too,you can,though its not the focus of this game.
    This is a BIIIIG game too,with a big play area,& many main & side quests thrown at you Borderlands style,& i havnt even gone into the leveling up of your character,gaining skills,Finding,trading,repairing,upgrading & constructing weapons.. Being able to trade objects & weapons with the other players,& heal them,& the great 4 player Co-Op in general.
    So yes,this is by far the best Zombie game to date,but as i said,at time of launch(& writing this)theres bugs to fix,some are worse than others,but once they are fixed,the game will be one of the best experience to be had out there,& so for that reason,it gets a 9 from me.Should've been released without the glaring bugs & glitches though,theres no getting around that..Tut Tut Techland.
    Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    93
    Dead Island is a hell of a ride from start to (near) finish and is a zombie game that stands out from the rest of the pack.
  2. A wasted opportunity - frustrating to play and too ugly to love. [Dec 2011, p.98]
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    I admit that I was not expecting much from Dead Island, given the oversaturated subject matter and the delayed development time. And while the game definitely has its share of weaknesses, it is pleasantly surprising in its own right.