User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 636 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    7
    First, the game is a lot of fun and the atmosphere is excellent. However, I've played for about an hour and I've already hit a bug. The first side quest I hit involved giving alcohol to an NPC (this is so early in the game and so minor it's hardly a spoiler). Anyway, I tried 4 times and watched the items disappear from my inventory, but no recognition from the game that any progressFirst, the game is a lot of fun and the atmosphere is excellent. However, I've played for about an hour and I've already hit a bug. The first side quest I hit involved giving alcohol to an NPC (this is so early in the game and so minor it's hardly a spoiler). Anyway, I tried 4 times and watched the items disappear from my inventory, but no recognition from the game that any progress was being made. If this is happening so soon, I'm not going to bother going on and I'm just going to wait for a patch that will hopefully come. There are some sub-par graphics glitches, but on the whole I'm really looking forward to continuing to play. There are a lot of real positives with the game. It's a shame that they didn't wait just a little longer and release it in better shape. I can understand issues on a PC, but with consoles you're dealing with a known hardware setup. These issues should not get through QA. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    A mediocre FPS with fetch-quests will be Dead Island's legacy. I love zombies in games, from Left 4 Dead to Dead Rising, even CoD's Nazi Zombie maps I love, however this title is in a league below those great games. It feels like a great concept that was never fully realized. Everything about this game is what you'd expect from a game in 2011 without offering anything new or innovative.A mediocre FPS with fetch-quests will be Dead Island's legacy. I love zombies in games, from Left 4 Dead to Dead Rising, even CoD's Nazi Zombie maps I love, however this title is in a league below those great games. It feels like a great concept that was never fully realized. Everything about this game is what you'd expect from a game in 2011 without offering anything new or innovative. Being able to collect xp and build your abilities is hardly a new concept, and fetch-quests only compel me to turn off my system. 4 player co-op is fun, but hardly as fresh or exciting as older zombie games with the same feature. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    This is my revision of my review of Dead Island. I previously gave this game a 8/10. Which is not far off but later in the game i have come across more and more major glitches and this frustrates me (example: I had loaded my last checkpoint in the game and when I did this it had me start in a whole new area that I've never seen up till now). Im afraid even a patch released may only coverThis is my revision of my review of Dead Island. I previously gave this game a 8/10. Which is not far off but later in the game i have come across more and more major glitches and this frustrates me (example: I had loaded my last checkpoint in the game and when I did this it had me start in a whole new area that I've never seen up till now). Im afraid even a patch released may only cover up some of the mess. The game is still fun if you have time to kill but yes it does get frustrating at times as many other people have pointed out. Killing zombies is always fun but more time spent on fine tuning this game and we could have been looking at a game of the year award. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2012
    4
    Okay, what they've tried to do seems great on paper, but its not executed properly.

    This game is repetitive and unsatisfying. It should be possible to have way more fun, but it just seems like the combat is the only aspect to this game. Kick over a zombie and bash its head in. Gets old pretty fast. But, what really bugs me is this game is supposedly an RPG. Is that meant to be a
    Okay, what they've tried to do seems great on paper, but its not executed properly.

    This game is repetitive and unsatisfying. It should be possible to have way more fun, but it just seems like the combat is the only aspect to this game. Kick over a zombie and bash its head in. Gets old pretty fast.

    But, what really bugs me is this game is supposedly an RPG.

    Is that meant to be a joke!? You get to pick from four stock characters and that's it.

    There's absolutely no character customisation and you've no interaction with NPCs other than choosing whether or not to accept mission, but I suppose even if you could actually say stuff to them, you wouldn't want to because they're all the same tired, melodramatic clichés we've seen a million times before and yet ANOTHER game with Steve Blum doing the same voice.

    Oh and there's no Day/Night cycle. In an 'open world' zombie game? That's ridiculous.
    Expand
  5. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    Dead Island has a great concept,yet it is poorly implemented.A few months polish could have turned this game into a great one.Online play is ok though a lack of local co-op is unforgivable.Many are comparing D.I to Borderlands or Fallout 3.It may have a few similar game mechanics as the afore mentioned games,but that's the nature of the industry today.Dead Island is an ok game thatDead Island has a great concept,yet it is poorly implemented.A few months polish could have turned this game into a great one.Online play is ok though a lack of local co-op is unforgivable.Many are comparing D.I to Borderlands or Fallout 3.It may have a few similar game mechanics as the afore mentioned games,but that's the nature of the industry today.Dead Island is an ok game that shouldn't be mentioned in the same breath as those titles. Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2013
    8
    When I first saw Dead Island's debut CGI trailer, it gave me a feeling to what I was expecting to see from the game. When I finally got my hands on the game, I was a bit disappointed, but the game itself was enjoyable.

    You get to choose between four playable characters who are fighting to survive a zombie outbreak on the beautiful island of Banoi. The four characters consist of Xian
    When I first saw Dead Island's debut CGI trailer, it gave me a feeling to what I was expecting to see from the game. When I finally got my hands on the game, I was a bit disappointed, but the game itself was enjoyable.

    You get to choose between four playable characters who are fighting to survive a zombie outbreak on the beautiful island of Banoi. The four characters consist of Xian Mei, an undercover cop working as a desk clerk at the Royal Palms Resort hotel, Logan, a former football star who had his career ended in a tragic crash during a dangerous street race which killed his passenger, Sam B, a one-hit wonder rap star booked by the hotel for a gig, and Purna, a former member of the Sydney Police deparment who was sacked after shooting a child molester who could not be touched, before becoming a bodyguard for VIPs all over the world.

    Each character also represents a certain class:

    Logan Jack of All Trades
    Xian Mei Assassin
    Sam B Tank
    Purna Leader

    While guns are usable in the game, Dead Island is primarily focused on melee combat. As you explore the world, you'll come across a wide variety of objects that can be used as weapons, and this can be anything from a paddle to a baseball bat or from a knife to a machete. You also earn money as you complete side-quests or from loot, and this money can be used to buy new equipment from traders, or can be used to repair/upgrade your weapons. Be careful though, you'll lose 10% of your cash for every time you die.

    You may find items that at first, you may think are useless, but save them, as they could be used to modify your weapons to be made even more deadlier (for example, a machete modified to deal shock damage, or a baseball bat modified to deal bleeding damage to your foes.). As you earn XP, you level up, earning 1 skill point for every level to achieve, and these skill points can be spent on various skills that'll enhance your character in several ways. There are only 60 levels though, so make sure you spend your points wisely. There are guns to be found and used in the game, but since this game is melee-focused, ammo is limited and hard to find, so save your ammo when you don't need it.

    Each character also specializes in one specific type of weaponry each:

    Xian Mei Sharp weapon expert
    Logan Throwing expert
    Sam B Blunt weapon expert
    Purna Firearms expert

    Each character also has a specific Fury attack that offers deadly results when usable.

    The main story should take anywhere between 10 to 15 hours to complete, but the game is littered with side-quests, so full completion should roughly take about 30 hours. While the game can be played alone, the game's strong point is cooperative gameplay. Up to four players can join up together and play through the story as a team, or explore the world and complete various side-quests together. There's no restrictions on multiplayer, however (you might be a level 10 character, and somebody joins as a level 45 character, or you might have 4 players that are an Assassin, Tank and Leader but no Jack of All Trades.).

    Graphically, the game looks great, but there are various glitches to be found throughout the game (if you look carefully!). The game is not as buggy as it was now, but I can still remember one cutscene that suffers greatly from glitches.

    I liked the music from the game, but voice acting is a bit shoddy, IMO. There's not even enough audio from the main characters to make them interesting either, I'm afraid. There are mainly one-liners in gameplay, but apart from cutscenes (and there's not many, to be honest) there's not really enough audio to make them great characters (They're likeable, but not interesting, IMO.)

    If you put aside main bad things in this review, Dead Island is an enjoyable title that's made primarily for co-op. It may not be what we all expected it to be after that trailer, but the game works in most ways, and could count as one of the best titles in an over-saturated genre.
    Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2011
    3
    This game would have been so much better if it was delay a few months more to fix the many bugs it has, and this game has more bugs than a bug farm!! Furthermore anyone who says this game is good or even rate it higher than a 6 is not a gamer. 1stly the game is sorta fun but it wears off very fast and the reason is because you do the same time over and over.... for one almost all of theThis game would have been so much better if it was delay a few months more to fix the many bugs it has, and this game has more bugs than a bug farm!! Furthermore anyone who says this game is good or even rate it higher than a 6 is not a gamer. 1stly the game is sorta fun but it wears off very fast and the reason is because you do the same time over and over.... for one almost all of the mission feel the same.... either go to a location , find a item , do this. do that its no variety at all. 2ndly the driving is horrible and lacks any sense of real driving even if its 1st person view . You can even see behind you to reverse. 3rd. no variety in weapons.... yes the game has lots of weapons?? not exactly you get different variations on the weapons... ex. feeble hammer - dangerous hammer n etc. what?? no chainsaws??? flamethrower?? 4th. The enemies you encounter feels lazy and dull ex. the big zombie knocks you back ok fine... why is it that the stray jacket infected knocks you back with the same impact if he is charging at you with full force?? Again you will have fun letting out rage on this game but personally i enjoyed left 4 dead n dead rising a whole lot better than this. I was highly disappointed!!!!! Expand
  8. Oct 12, 2011
    5
    Dead Island was one of those games everyone thought was going to be PERFECT like Duke Nukem. It was being made for years and trailers promoted it like crazy. I really thought it was going to be better than what it was though, The graphics were pretty bad and the story was horrible. However, the open world was great and the island was large enough to explore and not get bored. I did enjoyDead Island was one of those games everyone thought was going to be PERFECT like Duke Nukem. It was being made for years and trailers promoted it like crazy. I really thought it was going to be better than what it was though, The graphics were pretty bad and the story was horrible. However, the open world was great and the island was large enough to explore and not get bored. I did enjoy Dead island the first 2 times around but it loses it's replay value very easily. Over all I have to give it a 5/10. Expand
  9. Sep 12, 2011
    1
    I was on the fence about this game and Resistance 3 so I rented both first for 2 nights each. Let's just say, I purchased Resistance 3 .. EASILY!! Granted, I am not a big RPG fan and if you even remotely do not like RPG's, then don't get this game. It is basically, running from place to place to pick up crap, there are NO weapons ANYWHERE. I played for like a half hour and onlyI was on the fence about this game and Resistance 3 so I rented both first for 2 nights each. Let's just say, I purchased Resistance 3 .. EASILY!! Granted, I am not a big RPG fan and if you even remotely do not like RPG's, then don't get this game. It is basically, running from place to place to pick up crap, there are NO weapons ANYWHERE. I played for like a half hour and only found 2 items to pick up and use as a weapon. I did give it one for some of the visuals but it really is a disappointment to say the least. Expand
  10. Sep 14, 2011
    3
    Why am I not seeing anyone writing about what I believe to be the worst part about this game. The Zombies level-scaling! WTF?!?!?! Seriously? Zombies are dead, the dead decay, therefore, if anything, zombies should get weaker over time. Which I don't think they have to, but keeping even the weakest the zombies just as strong as the player throughout the game? LAME! What's the point ofWhy am I not seeing anyone writing about what I believe to be the worst part about this game. The Zombies level-scaling! WTF?!?!?! Seriously? Zombies are dead, the dead decay, therefore, if anything, zombies should get weaker over time. Which I don't think they have to, but keeping even the weakest the zombies just as strong as the player throughout the game? LAME! What's the point of leveling up or getting and upgrading new and stronger weapons, if it doesn't even freaking matter!?!?!?! Well? Can someone explain the plus to this? Regardless of where you are in the game, and what weapons you have (Aside from firearms later in the game). They are just as hard as the first zombie you beat with a crappy oar. This makes the game feel as if there's no character progression, because you don't get stronger. Well, you do get stronger, but so do the zombies. I can understand making the hordes larger, throwing the new stronger enemy types, but keep the weak zombies in their place, and throw the strong enemies at you. The endless fetch quests area bit annoying, as well. Once again though, if you're not going to feel any stronger after accumulating XP and levels and new weapons, then wtf is the point of even doing the dumb a$$ fetch-side-quests? I'm going to just play through only doing just the main story quests, and probably beat this travesty in 5 hours, considering the game is focused on millions of repetitive crappy side quests to give it any meat. As I mentioned before, no point in doing side quests and leveling up if there's no real reward for doing so, aside from wasting time that could be spent playing a better game. Expand
  11. Sep 15, 2011
    7
    First off this is a very fun game at times however the inexcusable bugs will take you out f the experience from time to time that can ruin the game for some. The graphics are mixed between the gorgeous island and the beauty of dismembering zombies to how bad a normal person you are talking to can look worse than the undead. The amount of side quest in vast but a good amount of the questFirst off this is a very fun game at times however the inexcusable bugs will take you out f the experience from time to time that can ruin the game for some. The graphics are mixed between the gorgeous island and the beauty of dismembering zombies to how bad a normal person you are talking to can look worse than the undead. The amount of side quest in vast but a good amount of the quest are just your character taking orders from other survivors to fetch them something they want and they get boring very fast. If you can look past these problems their is a good game to be found worth at least a play through. Expand
  12. Sep 16, 2011
    5
    "Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. What starts as a promising zombie sandbox game turns out to be a very linear first person shooter with annoying game mechanics. The quite long story (main story and side quests) starts interesting but loses liability fast. You will find groups of survivors in a lighthouse, in a church, a ware house and in the jungle. But their stories are just"Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. What starts as a promising zombie sandbox game turns out to be a very linear first person shooter with annoying game mechanics. The quite long story (main story and side quests) starts interesting but loses liability fast. You will find groups of survivors in a lighthouse, in a church, a ware house and in the jungle. But their stories are just there to show you places and have you more of these "Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. To the end of the game, everything is just very linear. The maps get tighten up, leave you less routes to take and places to visit.

    More broken are the game mechanics. Zombies, killed seconds ago spawning right in front of you. Weapons which seem to be shorter than a toothpick. Zombies (or ghosts) running right through you and hit you from behind. Somewhat useless guns. And the fact that you loose money when you die, because the game designers probably felt that you need more punishment than just the very very annoying fast and raging zombies. "Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. Those zombies are just hard to kill which makes parts of the game unfair and really frustrating.

    Although, the graphics are nice. Especially the city looks very detailed.

    I have not tried multiplayer because I felt no real incentive in joining another session.

    TL;DR: It's worth to play the game to the end for those who like the genre. But some will stop over too much frustration because of those "Neaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhh", *rums, *wumbs, Dead. And Left 4 Dead keeps the throne!
    Expand
  13. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    This game rocks! This is the game you get friends together for and do some kickass co-op. This game is a riot you will be laughing your ass off. Ignore the story, I would probably even skip most cutscenes.
  14. Sep 17, 2011
    7
    I think the reason im giving this a 7 and not a 9 or 10, Is due to the trailer got me so pumped for this game, It looked like a perfect game, But the final product did not live up to my expectations. The game is still good though. I should also note that the bugs are lowering my score, They need to be fixed
  15. Sep 23, 2011
    7
    Dead Island, unfortunately, is one of those games that I simply can't love, but really wished I could have.

    You start off this zombie open-world adventure by choosing one of the four main classes, each with their own back story (which to be honest either needed more to it or to be left out entirely.) One of my main issues with the game is right here, with the character selection. The
    Dead Island, unfortunately, is one of those games that I simply can't love, but really wished I could have.

    You start off this zombie open-world adventure by choosing one of the four main classes, each with their own back story (which to be honest either needed more to it or to be left out entirely.) One of my main issues with the game is right here, with the character selection. The characters do not differentiate themselves enough. The best option is the blunt expert because of his regeneration skills, and his fury attack uses only his fists. Choosing any of the other three classes, to me, would feel like a waste of time, since you'll just be better with the blunt expert without a doubt.

    While in the style of Borderlands, the multiplayer is also a bit of a let down. The weapons, and there are a lot of them, all seem to look the same. Combat consists mainly of simply aiming for the head, and I quickly became bored with smashing the same generic enemy types over and over.

    My final point really is the biggest let down, and it is all the poor design choices the developers made. The car driving is extremely boring, with the roads being very narrow and you aren't allowed any 3rd person view. The choice to go primarily melee might have sounded good on paper, but after playing a game like borderlands, with its variety of guns and interesting animations, finding a high level weapon that is merely a stick and then bashing it against a zombie head like you have since the beginning of the game is a massive let down.

    I really did want to enjoy this game with my friends, but I didn't have massive expectations. After watching gameplay months before it came out, i had a feeling this wouldn't be my answer to Borderlands withdrawal. To be honest, this really does take many good mechanics from other good games, such as the loot and coop from Borderlands, the zombies from Left 4 Dead, the open world of a Fallout Game (though it does feel much more constricted than Fallout). But they were executed rather poorly. Pros: *Fun level-based coop game
    *Tons of loot and weapons
    *Big island to explore

    Cons:
    *Combat gets old rather quickly
    *Classes don't differ enough
    *Driving is awful. Just awful.

    7: This game does deserve a 7, because at times it can be fun. But overall the experience felt like a chore, due to a boring story with almost nothing to work towards, and a mediocre combat system that will feel old and tiresome after the first act or 2.
    Expand
  16. Sep 28, 2011
    4
    I really wanted this game to be a big hit! and when I got the game I did like it. However there were so many glitches it made the game unbearable, but not being one to admit defeat and that Id wasted my money I continued playing the game and for the most part having fun. that is until a glitch which took away all my weapons and my hands occurred and saved that way! And to top it off theI really wanted this game to be a big hit! and when I got the game I did like it. However there were so many glitches it made the game unbearable, but not being one to admit defeat and that Id wasted my money I continued playing the game and for the most part having fun. that is until a glitch which took away all my weapons and my hands occurred and saved that way! And to top it off the tech support was terrible! (even blaming me for not making a back-up!!). Now this game can boast being the only game I have ever taken back! full refund too! :-) Expand
  17. Oct 3, 2011
    3
    Graphically it doesn't look too bad, but fetch quest after fetch quest is enough to put even the most hardened zombie genre fan off. I gave up after about 4 hours.
  18. Oct 15, 2011
    1
    Biggest Disappointment of the year, this game suck more ass then a ass sucking vampire. I really wanted to like this game alot, but its a horrible broken game full of bugs and glitchs and crappy cutscene animations. the game also gets boring and you have to force yourself to play it to the end.
  19. Oct 15, 2011
    6
    I was pretty disappointed with this game to be honest. I'd been following it pretty much since announcement and was pretty much ecstatic when the first trailer was released. But this game fell so short of what I expected. There are a lot of major bugs in the game and even more weird animations, the gameplay gets somewhat stale very fast, going from open world to incredibly restrictiveI was pretty disappointed with this game to be honest. I'd been following it pretty much since announcement and was pretty much ecstatic when the first trailer was released. But this game fell so short of what I expected. There are a lot of major bugs in the game and even more weird animations, the gameplay gets somewhat stale very fast, going from open world to incredibly restrictive areas and the story is next to non-existent. The main redeeming factors are the variety in weapons available and the graphics. What I will say is if you enjoyed the style of game-play Borderlands had you'll probably enjoy this a lot more than I did. Expand
  20. Oct 17, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have really enjoyed playing Dead Island. I love Zombie movies so I guess I am the target demographic. This is a dumb stupid game , in the nicest possible way. Don't look here for knowing social satire a la Romero's peerless trilogy. Rather it is Daw of The Dead- the slick flash remake. More likely it is the even dumber Day of the Dead remake. Yes, that crudely drawn. However the game is great fun. I had no problems with bugs or controls. You have nods to Romero's classic shufflers "walkers", and the fast runners of the 28 Days later and previously mentioned remakes. These "infected" are fantastic as they shriek and rush you. This not a great game but it sure is mighty fun. Expand
  21. Aug 30, 2012
    6
    Play co-op if you don't want this to become a grind. The first 5 hours of this game is amazing. Past that you ,may like I did, will find yourself running past zombies more than killing them. As for the protagonists, each is unique and based on racist and bigamist stereotypes of Black people, Southerners, Asians, and Women. The Southerner is an ex football player who is an alcoholic, thePlay co-op if you don't want this to become a grind. The first 5 hours of this game is amazing. Past that you ,may like I did, will find yourself running past zombies more than killing them. As for the protagonists, each is unique and based on racist and bigamist stereotypes of Black people, Southerners, Asians, and Women. The Southerner is an ex football player who is an alcoholic, the Black male is a rapper from South Central, the Asian is from China and is very subservient to her "fadda," and the Black Woman is a stereotypical b**ch. Other than that, they each play very differently. As for the gameplay, like I said earlier, there is nothing new past the first 5 hours. This game had potential, yet like too many games it languished in development too long and had too much fat tacked onto it. Expand
  22. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    Meh.... I was hoping for the perfect coupling of Dead Rising and Left 4 Dead and what I got was a technical nightmare. Let's start off with what it does right. Fun Co Op play and zombie hacking goodness with a Borderlands like leveling system. But I found that when I played by myself the game absolutely punished me with mobs of zombies I couldn't handle and game glitches with the compassMeh.... I was hoping for the perfect coupling of Dead Rising and Left 4 Dead and what I got was a technical nightmare. Let's start off with what it does right. Fun Co Op play and zombie hacking goodness with a Borderlands like leveling system. But I found that when I played by myself the game absolutely punished me with mobs of zombies I couldn't handle and game glitches with the compass and graphics. I had tons of fun playing with friends except for the part where if one of us died we spawned half way around the world away from everyone else! So at the end of the day it's meh. Good with friends bad by yourself. I think they've been patching the issues but Deep Silver shouldn't have let it been so unpolished. Expand
  23. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    An absolutely fantastic game. It presents you with a lot of first person action horror/ thriller which will keep you engaged throughout the game. There are a mix of missions, Side missions and continuous activities. It is virtually impossible to become bored with this game until you finish it where the free roam element is withdrawn from the game causing you to restart the game from theAn absolutely fantastic game. It presents you with a lot of first person action horror/ thriller which will keep you engaged throughout the game. There are a mix of missions, Side missions and continuous activities. It is virtually impossible to become bored with this game until you finish it where the free roam element is withdrawn from the game causing you to restart the game from the begging or simply not to play it. The story in this game is undeniably one of the best stories you'll come across for a long time. The characters are very realistic in which you have people from across the world with accents which work very well with the person talking. Overall I give this game a 9/10 and not 10 because it lacks the ability to free roam at the end of the game which is down to the way the story ends but still a disappointing feature. And that the game doesn't present you with that feeling that you want to play it through again. Expand
  24. Nov 26, 2011
    4
    this is the worst zombie game i've played,it's not scary,it's not even funny.it fails at what it was supposed to do-be fun.the weapons break to easily,yes its supposed to be realistic but i dontnwant my machete which cost £2000 to repair be broken in 3 hits!theres never enough zombies at the right time,and when there are they're impossibly hard and there about 30 of themthis is the worst zombie game i've played,it's not scary,it's not even funny.it fails at what it was supposed to do-be fun.the weapons break to easily,yes its supposed to be realistic but i dontnwant my machete which cost £2000 to repair be broken in 3 hits!theres never enough zombies at the right time,and when there are they're impossibly hard and there about 30 of them crowding you.missions are reptative always going to get something for someone(i had to get a teddy once),guns are okay once you get a decent amount of ammo(which is hard to find in most of the game)overall this is a very poor game.only buy it when it's reduced to £10. Expand
  25. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    Amazing, if you love zombies this is a must buy, i have over 100 hours in this game and i still love it, the combat is deeper then what you see in gameplay movies, its really nice to choose your angles and to get the perfect distance when you play with manually controlls. solid looting system and awsome drop in drop out co-op. in my mind this was better then borderlands.
  26. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Dead Island is one of the greatest zombie games to have ever been created. Dead island is an FPS & RPG. You don't use guns for the most part its normally melee but there are guns. What makes Dead Island so interesting is that it is a zombie game that is open world map. Before this the closest game was Dead Rising but in that game you where still forced to finish main quests within aDead Island is one of the greatest zombie games to have ever been created. Dead island is an FPS & RPG. You don't use guns for the most part its normally melee but there are guns. What makes Dead Island so interesting is that it is a zombie game that is open world map. Before this the closest game was Dead Rising but in that game you where still forced to finish main quests within a time limit. Another is the weapon customization. You can create so many things such as a clever that shoots electric currents through your foes bodies as you slice through them. There are also 4 players to choose from which gives better replay value. Multi-player on this game is amazing and has never let me down. Down sides are there are some bugs but they don't take away from the game so much, texture takes a while to load sometimes, and the voice acting isn't too well done. Get this game especially when it is the price it is now! Expand
  27. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Its a pretty good zombie game, it sets the atmosphere real well of an island, my only problem is, when you think zombies, you think hordes, at least I do. In this game the zombie hordes that do show up, are unstoppable, and real harsh. I do enjoy that the game seems realistic, such as not giving u loads of bullets to throw at zombies, but maybe I'm in a Romero mindset and I wanna see themIts a pretty good zombie game, it sets the atmosphere real well of an island, my only problem is, when you think zombies, you think hordes, at least I do. In this game the zombie hordes that do show up, are unstoppable, and real harsh. I do enjoy that the game seems realistic, such as not giving u loads of bullets to throw at zombies, but maybe I'm in a Romero mindset and I wanna see them shambling in mass. That is just a personal quirk however and won't detract from the score here. Overall, the zombies can be scary and the situations are realistic, except for the psycho zombie in the straight jacket, that is a little far fetched, but still lovable...in a zombie way. The real con's I guess are having to repair items almost constantly after combat. You could say the fights are to hard, but I think this adds to the realism of the game itself. Everyone in this world isn't some hulking badass who can take down the zombie menace with a butter knife. Controls are pretty good, I find the skill trees to be a bit to linear. Let me explain, you can get an unlock skill, but its down one of the trees, which means if you want to unlock boxes, you have to go down that tree to do that. I just didn't like the skill trees. Overall it was a fun game, and I'd play a second one, for some reason I remember hitting a tree with a machete and it bleeding, and I have seen a few bugs but nothing game breaking. Finally, the rapper sounds kinda like Morgan Freeman when he says his backstory :D Expand
  28. Apr 5, 2012
    6
    Dead Island is a fun game to play in co-op or even alone. The combat system is quite good but the weapons break a bit too easily. The area(s) are really large and there's plenty to explore and the graphics are quite nice too. Essentially, it's a good game, one thing that I don't like though is the voice-acting of it, it's pretty bad. Some of the quests are just 'fetch this and come back'Dead Island is a fun game to play in co-op or even alone. The combat system is quite good but the weapons break a bit too easily. The area(s) are really large and there's plenty to explore and the graphics are quite nice too. Essentially, it's a good game, one thing that I don't like though is the voice-acting of it, it's pretty bad. Some of the quests are just 'fetch this and come back' quests and that's a bit annoying too. I'd recommend it to people who enjoyed Left 4 Dead, Dead Rising and/or Fallout. Expand
  29. Jan 16, 2013
    2
    In the 7 years this game was begin developed, every single idea in this game was done and done better. This is the mutant offspring of Borderlands, Dead Rising, and Left for Dead. The game is a mess. If you want to shoot things with crazy weapons get Borderlands. If you want to kill zombies with crazy weapons get Dead Rising. If you want to just kill zombies get COD for all I care justIn the 7 years this game was begin developed, every single idea in this game was done and done better. This is the mutant offspring of Borderlands, Dead Rising, and Left for Dead. The game is a mess. If you want to shoot things with crazy weapons get Borderlands. If you want to kill zombies with crazy weapons get Dead Rising. If you want to just kill zombies get COD for all I care just avoid this game like the zombie plague.

    On a side note, I ignored the story through the entire game and was still left unsatisfied with the ending. The story is bad, the gameplay is awful, and the game is one of the few titles I've actually sold back to Game Stop in the past 5 years.
    Expand
  30. May 10, 2013
    7
    As a zombie game, this one is just so much fun and amazing. The background sound is just so creepy and man I love it. I won't say the game is hard, but you will die a lot, which is a good thing IMO. Oh, the island looks like a real paradise. The combat is solid and full of bloody violence. Although I like this game quite a lot, I just canNOT give this game a higher score. As a RPG game,As a zombie game, this one is just so much fun and amazing. The background sound is just so creepy and man I love it. I won't say the game is hard, but you will die a lot, which is a good thing IMO. Oh, the island looks like a real paradise. The combat is solid and full of bloody violence. Although I like this game quite a lot, I just canNOT give this game a higher score. As a RPG game, it is a total failure. Most of the quests are ridiculous and pointless, all the characters have no depth, the story is crap and the ending is lame. Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    93
    Dead Island is a hell of a ride from start to (near) finish and is a zombie game that stands out from the rest of the pack.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2011
    55
    A wasted opportunity - frustrating to play and too ugly to love. [Dec 2011, p.98]
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    I admit that I was not expecting much from Dead Island, given the oversaturated subject matter and the delayed development time. And while the game definitely has its share of weaknesses, it is pleasantly surprising in its own right.