Dead Island Xbox 360

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 621 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    What is wrong with everyone? I went off and bought the game despite the poor reviews and i am glad i did so. I think this is an organized attempt to bury this game. Great visuals combined with flawless gameplay and rpg elements. Left4dead is a child in comparison to this game. If you want a great zombie experience do yourself a favor and buy or at least rent this game and then buy it. IWhat is wrong with everyone? I went off and bought the game despite the poor reviews and i am glad i did so. I think this is an organized attempt to bury this game. Great visuals combined with flawless gameplay and rpg elements. Left4dead is a child in comparison to this game. If you want a great zombie experience do yourself a favor and buy or at least rent this game and then buy it. I was reading a comment saying that sometimes there are slow texture loading time which are eliminated if you install the game. Some people tend to forget gow 1, me 1 with the slow texture loading times. Ts ts ts... I mean come on, couldnt you find a better reason to bury the game? Hmmm wait...thats a no cause there is no true reason other than you prefer playing cod zombies... A must buy for me. Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    I really can't understand why there are so many people rating this game badly. It's so fun! I think that the ones that aren't liking it just can't like this type of game. My anticipation was really high and I was so worried about it not living up to my expectations/hopes. It really does in a big way. I've only played for a couple of hours so far so maybe it's not fair for me to praiseI really can't understand why there are so many people rating this game badly. It's so fun! I think that the ones that aren't liking it just can't like this type of game. My anticipation was really high and I was so worried about it not living up to my expectations/hopes. It really does in a big way. I've only played for a couple of hours so far so maybe it's not fair for me to praise it so much, but even if the story and everything else that I haven't seen isn't any good, it wouldn't bother me because I'm having so much fun with just running around killing zombies. I loved both Dead Risings, but this has a completely different feel to me. It's more realistic in some ways, but I find it doesn't frustrate like some games like that do, (trying to be too realistic). I wasn't sure about the stamina meter and the upgrades and things along those lines, but I really think the developer kept right in the middle of what they were going for, so it works great!

    I think if you like the game play trailers, you'll have fun with this. I have high hopes for the story too, (I like it so far), but as I said... if it isn't that great, I'll have fun watching zombies drowning as they take water into their ugly heads, as well as everything else that I've seen/done so far. I've also read complaints about the visuals and character models as well. I thought everything was done great. I can't speak for what you see/experience later in the game, but so far I think it looks and plays amazingly.

    I think that people are either trying to give it a bad score for some reason without even trying it, or they just don't like this kind of game. I'm not sure, but I'm pretty convinced that the ones that are loving it will keep loving it for quite sometime.

    Awesome game!
    Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Played this since midnight on monday until now. BEST ZOMBIE GAME I've ever played! Take the freedom of Dead Rising and mix it with left 4 dead's uneasy feeling of "what comes next" and drape it with a Borderlands feel and you have Dead Island. It takes getting used to as it's def something all it's own but those on the fence of whether this is up your alley only need to check a couplePlayed this since midnight on monday until now. BEST ZOMBIE GAME I've ever played! Take the freedom of Dead Rising and mix it with left 4 dead's uneasy feeling of "what comes next" and drape it with a Borderlands feel and you have Dead Island. It takes getting used to as it's def something all it's own but those on the fence of whether this is up your alley only need to check a couple boxes. 1) Did you play and enjoy Fallout 3 or Borderlands? 2.) Do you enjoy co-op games? 3.) Do you like zombie games/films? If you said yes to all three questions go buy this right now I guarantee you will have a blast. Critics are being really harsh on this game but it truly is worth every cent of your purchase. My friends and I are loving every minute of it. Collapse
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Dead Island is a Open world, first person view, zombie survival horror with item collection and character skill advancement trees. Its as If Borderlands and Dead Rising got together and had a baby, that baby would be dead Island. This game has rich four player co-op, simple yet effective story, a deep weapon crafting and character customization system. Do you love zombies? Exploration?Dead Island is a Open world, first person view, zombie survival horror with item collection and character skill advancement trees. Its as If Borderlands and Dead Rising got together and had a baby, that baby would be dead Island. This game has rich four player co-op, simple yet effective story, a deep weapon crafting and character customization system. Do you love zombies? Exploration? character advancement? item collections? co-op? then dead Rising is a no brain-er. The only reason this game doesn't get a ten is due to a slightly bugged user interface that should be fixed this week with a patch. Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    First off.. i was worried about this game but i just could not resist buying it.... My worries were immediately erased when i played it! The biggest complaint i have seen is how it has picked popular qualities from other games. But seriously is that such a bad thing? Man This game is pure survival & though i wouldn't call it scary as hell this game has managed to make me jump & get veryFirst off.. i was worried about this game but i just could not resist buying it.... My worries were immediately erased when i played it! The biggest complaint i have seen is how it has picked popular qualities from other games. But seriously is that such a bad thing? Man This game is pure survival & though i wouldn't call it scary as hell this game has managed to make me jump & get very nervous from close calls. I really enjoy the crafting mechanics in the game and the way your weapon will actually show its wear and tear from use & they did not leave it to just having a health bar! what can i say i love the little things. Also i was caught off guard by the bloody size of the skill trees you use to get tougher & more capable. I will never get bored of throwing a knife into a zombie & pulling it back out while it tries to grab me than just stab the heck out of it :P Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Awesome game! A must have for any fan of zombie/horror games. The perfect mix of action and suspense. My advise, buy this game, turn off the lights and hook up surround sound!
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    It's sa to see the 35 negative reviews that came without justification. This is the stuff that kills jobs. This isn't a perfect game, but what it did do was create an experience that is completely it's own. The vistas are gorgeous despite ugly character models. The combat is frantic and exciting, but occasionally frustrating. That said the package is something fresh in a year of constantIt's sa to see the 35 negative reviews that came without justification. This is the stuff that kills jobs. This isn't a perfect game, but what it did do was create an experience that is completely it's own. The vistas are gorgeous despite ugly character models. The combat is frantic and exciting, but occasionally frustrating. That said the package is something fresh in a year of constant sequels. I bought this game knowing it was new IP and I stand by that knowledge a better man for having supported a company that took a chance. Not perfect, but deeply satisfying, Dead Island makes me happy to struggle to survive in a zombie breakout unlike anything I've ever seen. Expand
  8. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Zombie games redefined. Outstanding mood and game-world. After gameplay movies I was a bit worried about melee fighting. Its just hard task. And what happened? I am playin it for 7 hours. Melee fighting is a masterpiece. Good work Deep Silver.

    BTW - City of Moresby is giving me the best survival experience in my life.
  9. Oio
    Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Well, its zombie game, but its completely different than L4D or Dead Rising - in my opinion: much better, much more adult and interesting. It has great climate and that's more important, right?
  10. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    Finally a zombie game that brings strategy to the table. Put together elements of fallout mixed with a dash of left 4 dead and dead rising and you've got Dead Island. This game is nowhere near perfect but I cannot stop playing it. Left 4 Dead 2 before this game was my favorite zombie game. This is now my new favorite one because you can't merely hack and slash in a corner as compared toFinally a zombie game that brings strategy to the table. Put together elements of fallout mixed with a dash of left 4 dead and dead rising and you've got Dead Island. This game is nowhere near perfect but I cannot stop playing it. Left 4 Dead 2 before this game was my favorite zombie game. This is now my new favorite one because you can't merely hack and slash in a corner as compared to Valves hit series l4d. you actually have to use skill and prior encounter experience for this game. I would compare this game to fallout greatly in the way that it is not only an fpsrpg, but also a rough game with graphical problems. Fallout has much more bugs than Dead Island has yet people talk **** about this game yet not fallout because fallout has settled itself within the gaming community. Because it is developed by an almost unknown company it will never be praised the way it should be. I would also like to include that the coop is fantastic, the mechanics are fascinating, and the analog combat style is a neat feature. The only complaint I have is that you cannot look behind you or use mirrors in vehicles. This game I could play over and over with my friends. The beautiful, yet dark at the some time setting of Banoi is really visually stunning and emotionally captivating. This game really brings out the teamwork in you and your friends. I recommend this game to anybody who loves fps', RPGs, and don't mind playing a game that is not 100% perfect. This game will never get the credit it deserves. The complete opposite of the cod franchise. Cod is a horrible series that gets overthrows while this is a fantastic game that will be underrated. Expand
  11. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    So far 50% of the people knew what they were buying and enjoyed their purchase...and 50% of the people didn't do their research and though they were buying the reveal CG trailer, found out it was just a regular game and started raging. If you like exploring, and fighting zombies this game is a must have. If on then other hand you'd like to run and gun through a meat shield of ragingSo far 50% of the people knew what they were buying and enjoyed their purchase...and 50% of the people didn't do their research and though they were buying the reveal CG trailer, found out it was just a regular game and started raging. If you like exploring, and fighting zombies this game is a must have. If on then other hand you'd like to run and gun through a meat shield of raging zombies on easy, this is probably not the game for you. For those that like to do both and enjoy a good distraction this is a solid buy or rent. Expand
  12. Sep 6, 2011
    8
    You take the role of one of four playable characters who survived the first wave of a zombie outbreak at the luxury Royal Palms resort on the holiday island of Banoi. What caused this outbreak, as well as why you are immune to the zombie infection, is just one of the mysteries in a grindhouse â
  13. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    So...first off, I am definitely blown away. While I was excited about this game, I was a bit worried as to what the final product would be like and I can honestly say it turned out quite amazing. From the beautiful visuals to the blood curdling screams of the zombies, the island feels alive. It really comes alive though when you're allowed to explore at you're leisure. Taking on sideSo...first off, I am definitely blown away. While I was excited about this game, I was a bit worried as to what the final product would be like and I can honestly say it turned out quite amazing. From the beautiful visuals to the blood curdling screams of the zombies, the island feels alive. It really comes alive though when you're allowed to explore at you're leisure. Taking on side quests can be a bit overwhelming as there are many to take on at any given safe zone, but they all do a great job at wrapping you up in the world and the affairs of it.

    The game isn't without flaws, but fortunately, they are only minor. I experienced a respawn bug when playing a session with my buddy and a couple other texture loading bugs but these are things the developers have said would be fixed in a day one patch so those shouldn't be of concern. In the end, the game's a lot fun. The weapons really feel like you connect when you're beating down a zombie and the degradation of weapons makes each common oar or plank feel like a brand new weapon you're stockpiling to fight with. Playing with a buddy (or 3) is great and even though they're not a whole lot of tutorial pop ups to help you with everything, you learn pretty quickly how everything works and can easily get connected to the game. It's the largest scale zombie rpg I've seen yet and, to me, it definitely doesn't disappoint. I love the realistic touches and the added difficulty some of it presents and I for one will be having fun with this game for a long time
    Expand
  14. Sep 7, 2011
    4
    I really, really, REALLY wanted to like Dead Island. 15 hours later, I can tell you that I don't at all. 5 1/2 years of development gave them enough time to "borrow" elements of game play from other (far superior) games in an attempt to emulate the glory of these titles. Whether you're talking about the the Co-op of Left 4 Dead (Dead Island started development as a single player game), theI really, really, REALLY wanted to like Dead Island. 15 hours later, I can tell you that I don't at all. 5 1/2 years of development gave them enough time to "borrow" elements of game play from other (far superior) games in an attempt to emulate the glory of these titles. Whether you're talking about the the Co-op of Left 4 Dead (Dead Island started development as a single player game), the inventory of Borderlands (500 different pistols with barely discernible stat differences and names), or the crafting of Dead Rising 2 (get a blueprint, collect pieces, assemble at a workbench), Dead Island tries and resoundingly fails to utilize these in any way that does justice to the titles it lifted them from. (PROS)
    30+ hours of gameplay.
    Ambient audio and soundtrack are both surprisingly top notch.

    Beating a zombie to death rarely looks as satisfyingly devastating as it does in this game. (CONS)
    Matchmaking is broken on Xbox LIVE at the time of this writing. You are not able to join into games with people who are not on your friends list. Even if you are friends with someone it is more than likely that you will be unable to invite them to your game (or vice versa); regardless as to whether or not you are in the same Chapter/Area/Level Range.
    30+ hours of fetch quests. The vast majority of the missions (at least in the first 15 hours of play) involve an NPC telling you they need something (or 5 of something) and that they expect you to fetch it. This is fun for the first hour or so, but it's novelty wears off very quickly. Especially considering the amount of time that you will spend backtracking through familiar and well trod areas to turn in quests. A narrative that does not immerse you in the world. You stumble across an NPC that is dying of thirst. They ask you to fetch some water from across the island. You scratch your head and wonder what is wrong with the six cans of "Energy Drink" at their feet (or, for that matter, the bottles of water across the room). The game is rife with idiosyncratic narrative elements that absolutely destroy and suspension of disbelief. Game mechanics that depend on you feeling as though you're low on resources to make any sense at all. All the items that you can pick up in the game, be they weapons, money, healthpacks, crafting components etc respawn very rapidly. When your weapon takes damage over time (which is does very rapidly) You don't have to be concerned as You have more than enough money to repair it, a new weapon to replace it with and enough snack bars and energy drinks lying around to make it very hard to find yourself in a situation with any tension related to the "Survival horror".

    Enemies that respawn in exactly the same number/location/configuration every time you pass through an area. Since you'll spend a lot of your time on the island backtracking to places you've already been it won't take long for you to know which bodies are dead and which are zombies, where the super zombies spawn, and how many times you need to fight the exact same three zombies before you're ready to turn your makeshift club on yourself. Inconsistent graphical presentation. The Chrome engine that Techland employs in this title is terrible at rendering shadows and vegetation. This makes it especially terrible at rendering tropical locales. When you combine this with the overabundant bloom, inconsistent texture resolutions, and last gen environmental effects it makes for a game that is at times pretty; and at other times so ugly that I would gnaw my own arm off to escape were I to wake up next to it in the morning after a night of heavy drinking.
    Terrible, stilted animations. While not readily apparent on the zombies (as they are supposed to look unnatural when they move) this becomes quite atrocious when watching any NPC perform any animation whatsoever. I would be surprised if motion capture technology was used at all in this games animation process. Broken collision detection. For a game where the primary focus is beating zombies to death you figure that they would have spent more time refining this core element of gameplay. Sometimes your swinging weapon will decapitate a zombie that was clearly out of range of your attack and other times it will pass right through a zombie torso (allowing them to close the distance and attack). Lots of frustrating combat missteps as result of this.
    (Final Thought)
    In closing, I would like to say that a certain kind of gamer will love this. It is a mindless open world beat 'em up and a lot of people don't play games for style or substance. If you were expecting a AAA title in line with some of the other releases this coming this fall, you'd be better served not playing it, renting it, or waiting the month it will take for this to find it's way into the bargain bin.
    Expand
  15. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I don't care what other people say. The game is simply amazing. I was scared like hell and I still hear the screaming zombies behind my back. I have to admit that I have never played game like this: huge world to explore, beautiful environments, lots of action that you can not predict and above all that crashing feeling that you may die soon... Just WOW!!!!
  16. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    I was initially turned off from this game after watching gameplay on YouTube and reading reviews, but decided to get the game in an Xbox 360 Console bundle; this is mainly because the rest of the games were garbage, such as Black Ops. I am ever so glad that I chose this... don't make the same mistake as me, BUY THIS GAME! It has the best graphics of any FPS game i have ever seen, theI was initially turned off from this game after watching gameplay on YouTube and reading reviews, but decided to get the game in an Xbox 360 Console bundle; this is mainly because the rest of the games were garbage, such as Black Ops. I am ever so glad that I chose this... don't make the same mistake as me, BUY THIS GAME! It has the best graphics of any FPS game i have ever seen, the visuals are quite honestly STUNNING (If there were no zombies I would still quite happily sit around and look at the breathtaking visuals). The contrast between the chaos of a zombie apocalypse and the tranquility of the island really hits hard and immerses you from the minute you begin the game. Expand
  17. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    Seriously do yourself a favour and buy this game! It is not perfect, but all of the technical or gameplay complaints, that seem to mar other reviewers experience so much, just pale into significance against the sheer FUN to be had in game. If you enjoy open world and/or zombie games then I would definitely recommend this!
  18. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This game is a masterpiece! I love it. Good atmosphere, great combat and ALLOT to do. The game even looks fantastic. Really hope that they will make a sequel. Thank you
  19. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    This game is simply amazing on the 360, the good game engine allows a unique approach to the zombies genre, by a rpg first person survival perspective. This game has so far been very satisfying with loot system and killing zombies and levelling, i have had no bugs interfere with the game and gameplay itself. I am really suprised that the mean user review score is only 6.7. and only 7.1 byThis game is simply amazing on the 360, the good game engine allows a unique approach to the zombies genre, by a rpg first person survival perspective. This game has so far been very satisfying with loot system and killing zombies and levelling, i have had no bugs interfere with the game and gameplay itself. I am really suprised that the mean user review score is only 6.7. and only 7.1 by the game reviewing organisations. I have heard of some gameplay issues with texture load/ saving/ AI troubles and a variety of other stuff, however this hasn't occurred to me so far. I was a big fan of fallout 3, and i've played borderlands (which was alright) and this game implements components of each of these games into one in a very good way. Expand
  20. Sep 11, 2011
    10
    You can see an entire walkthrough of the game here:http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL19C772559E876B8E&feature=viewall

    Perfect hybrid of Dead Rising, Left 4 Dead and Borderlands(a little bit of Fallout as well). Leveling up with a skill tree, scavenging and looting, weapon mods, melee madness, guns and explosives, co-op, and a long single player experience makes this one of the best
    You can see an entire walkthrough of the game here:http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL19C772559E876B8E&feature=viewall

    Perfect hybrid of Dead Rising, Left 4 Dead and Borderlands(a little bit of Fallout as well). Leveling up with a skill tree, scavenging and looting, weapon mods, melee madness, guns and explosives, co-op, and a long single player experience makes this one of the best zombie games ever. However one of the best things about this game is probably the difficulty. The game starts out pretty easy but as you level up so do the zombies. As you progress through the game you encounter stronger types of zombies that are pretty difficult to take down. The game even warns you that certain areas of the island are very dangerous to traverse alone bringing the emphasis on playing the game in co-op.

    This is the true zombie survival horror game that we have all been waiting for. The promise of death in a few seconds in the event of a zombie encounter adds to the atmosphere and the realization of the ever impending doom of the zombie apocalypse. Anxiety and fear take over as you traverse the city where you are severely outnumbered around every corner and your best chance of survival is to just run. However you cannot always escape because you must manage your stamina. Using too much of it to run away from encounters will get you winded and in the event that you get cornered, not being able to defend yourself will provide you with a quick death. Having said that the combat in the game is exceptional. Mostly relying on melee weapons, it adds a great mechanic into the mix: being able to sever or break limbs to cripple the enemy. This alone adds a skill gap to the combat system that rewards accuracy and tactical thinking.

    All in all it is a great game that has a relatively long single player experience that can be shared with 3 other players online. You will die a lot in this game and that just makes it that much better because it adds to the atmosphere of the zombie apocalypse. This is one game where you are rewarded for your skills in combat as well as tactical thinking otherwise you're "dead meat".
    Expand
  21. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    Firstly, this is an amazing game. As you might of read already the environment outside is breath taking and is really stunning, the storyline is very entertaining at most parts but sometimes can feel kinda predictable. This game is defiantly for Co-op play however if you don't have on-line, don't worry as single player is also bad-ass. The skills and levelling up system is simple yet itFirstly, this is an amazing game. As you might of read already the environment outside is breath taking and is really stunning, the storyline is very entertaining at most parts but sometimes can feel kinda predictable. This game is defiantly for Co-op play however if you don't have on-line, don't worry as single player is also bad-ass. The skills and levelling up system is simple yet it works, The story is 20-22 hours long excluding MOST of the side quests. Lastly the re-playablity of this game is VERY HIGH so if you have anything planned over the weekend.. Reschedule as you might be busy. I would recommend this game to anyone who enjoys having fun with their friends and wants to waste a couple of hours a day kicking zombie butt. Expand
  22. Sep 16, 2011
    8
    Rough around the edges like an old-school PC game, but no major show stopping bugs. The graphics and sound are generally pretty amazing looking with some spectacular island scenery. Though at the same time it can also look bland and texture-less in a few places though that is easily overlooked due to the great sound design that helps to keep you immersed. Game-play wise, the game is veryRough around the edges like an old-school PC game, but no major show stopping bugs. The graphics and sound are generally pretty amazing looking with some spectacular island scenery. Though at the same time it can also look bland and texture-less in a few places though that is easily overlooked due to the great sound design that helps to keep you immersed. Game-play wise, the game is very addictive, with visceral melee combat and fairly in-depth RPG mechanics. There are drivable vehicles which feel quite nice and are very useful for getting around the island. The gun combat is a bit weak, and I don't like how firearms have been implemented in that Diablo organised by quality way, but I guess they do the job. There are tons of quests on offer which are genuinely fun and non repetitive, but the main plot (of which there is little) is sub par by today's standards. It has little in common with that awesome emotional trailer, but that doesn't mean the atmosphere isn't thick and eerie, it really is. The game works best not as a narrative game, but as a zombie survival simulator. And for that it really succeeds like no other zombie game has. Its a great game that I would recommend to any zombie fan. Expand
  23. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    I never experienced all of the bugs these people are talking about. Not once, even before the patch was released. I played by myself off and on through out the game. Let me tell you, my friend and I started the game together via xbox live after we got past the hotel. We had a BLAST!!!! Then my two other good friends joined us a couple days later and it was just amazing. The graphicalI never experienced all of the bugs these people are talking about. Not once, even before the patch was released. I played by myself off and on through out the game. Let me tell you, my friend and I started the game together via xbox live after we got past the hotel. We had a BLAST!!!! Then my two other good friends joined us a couple days later and it was just amazing. The graphical glitches are VERY and I mean VERY RARE! The graphics of the game are beautiful. 8.5/10. The combat is absolutely Gorey, unique, satisfying, and entertaining. 9.5/10. Open world environments are split up into 4 areas, all of which you can fast travel between. Although, since I am used to oblivion, morrowind, and borderland open worlds, I believe the whole map should be traversed by foot, land or boat and not just fast travel. Also not everything in the open world is interactive or you cant pick up every item. IF it were a bethesda game, you can bet you can go into every building and pick up any item you see and not be fixed to the ground or be a useless prop. I give that a 7/10 for average. The items, upgrading, repairing, and modding weapons are more than what I expected from an open world zombie RPG. It is creative crafting system and I give that a perfect 10/10. Music and sound effects fit the situation and etc. I give it a 8/10. Multiplayer is just AWESOME and gives it replay value. For the first time, It actually makes me want to replay the game even when I have beat it. I give this a 10/10. A lot of people complain about how the zombies level up with you. Do you realize how easy it would be if they didnt?!?! I joined a friends game, I was level 30 and he was level 15. Literally, one hit to a zombie killed it. It wasnt satisfying. I told him to join my game instead. The point is to level up, and get as many skills as you can get. Skills make your combat situation easier thus making you feel more powerful when you do fight zombies that are the same level as you. Skill trees are pretty well thought out and since dead island is the first of its kind, it did an excellent job. I'm pretty sure there is room for improvement but they did the best they could. I give it a 10/10. Story isnt all that gripping. I give it a 6/10. In this game, it really doesnt matter as the story isnt what draws you in, its the combat, multiplayer, crafting aspects that keep you playing. what does a story matter when you are going to be replaying the game over and over again(cause it has awesome replay value)? So my total scoring average is 8.6 out of 10. Now, since we have no-life nerds who come on here and COMPLAIN about everything...kinda pisses me off. Get out of your mothers basement and get a job. Maybe if you do that you wont be OVERLY picky on a game that deserves credit. WHA they level up with you, WHAAW there are bugs here and there, WHAAW there is money in a game when you dont need money, WHAAA WHAAA WHAAA WHAAA. I wont talk about the good stuff....because I am a little spoiled brat. If it were halo, gears of war 3, and any other popular title.....I would give it a perfect 10 out of 10 regardless if it is the same quality as dead island. So, since my average is 8.6 out of 10. I am forced to give this a 10 out of 10 to combat the lamers on here. Expand
  24. Oct 3, 2011
    7
    Dead Island a solid game from interesting ways to kill zombies and the graphics. The game is just like Left for Dead but with a lot better graphics. The problem with Dead Island is the repetition and lack of variety in game modes. I do like that you can choose different characters but I also don't like that you do the same thing over and over. How long can you do nothing but kill Zombies.
  25. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    If anyone has seen zombie flesh eaters (1979) then you would agree Dead island has similar qualities, most likely due to the fact they both include a tropical island ans zombies. I was very excited for the release of this game but at the same time slightly sceptical, it seemed hard to believe that a rpg with a pretty big free roam map with zombies was too good to be true, but fortunatelyIf anyone has seen zombie flesh eaters (1979) then you would agree Dead island has similar qualities, most likely due to the fact they both include a tropical island ans zombies. I was very excited for the release of this game but at the same time slightly sceptical, it seemed hard to believe that a rpg with a pretty big free roam map with zombies was too good to be true, but fortunately Dead island is just that. The graphics are lush, the storyline is pretty good, the combat system although edgy in some places gets the job done. I do have some criticisms though, like pretty much every game it does get repetitive, and i mean this literally, the same or similar zombies respawn in the same or similar place after they die, it makes this game predictible. What i desire in most games (especially RPG's) is some aspects of realism. The online sector of the game makes the game more enjoyable has having companions gives you a sense of realiability even though the majority of the time actually starting or joining an online party can be annoying has you dont always get connected. But overall Dead island is a pretty good game, has alot of replay value, especially if playing with friends. Also for the record, yeah your character is immune to the infection, but you can still get killed so why should you do all the errands alone, the other survivors should get off their ass and help!! I'll give this game 7/10 (At it's complete maximum) Expand
  26. Sep 16, 2011
    7
    The points responsible for the negative image around Dead Island such as the indifferent characters, bland story, bad voice acting etc. are out-shined by the overall experience, the pure fun offered by the game, the visually beautiful Banoi island and the co-op mode with friends which thanks to the large amount of content, it is able to offer 30 + hours of game-play. I, however, despiteThe points responsible for the negative image around Dead Island such as the indifferent characters, bland story, bad voice acting etc. are out-shined by the overall experience, the pure fun offered by the game, the visually beautiful Banoi island and the co-op mode with friends which thanks to the large amount of content, it is able to offer 30 + hours of game-play. I, however, despite its problems, continue to believe that Dead Island is the most realistic representation of a zombie apocalypse in a video game to date. Expand
  27. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    I like my zombie games from time to time and IMO this is my favourite one yet. So to start with the visuals which aren't that great, they look best in the first act with the beaches but they look rather ugly elsewhere. I noticed that the draw distance is not very good either and seeing a beach ball spawn in front of a zombie was a tad weird. The story is also not very good with some awfulI like my zombie games from time to time and IMO this is my favourite one yet. So to start with the visuals which aren't that great, they look best in the first act with the beaches but they look rather ugly elsewhere. I noticed that the draw distance is not very good either and seeing a beach ball spawn in front of a zombie was a tad weird. The story is also not very good with some awful accents and a genuinely boring plot with no suspense, same goes with the mission and side quest which should all be renamed to fetch the item because that is all it is. When I played it took me about 31 hours to finish which is a bit longer then most but I do like to explore and kill zombies. Now onto the gameplay which is where Dead Island shines, there is nothing better then whacking a zombie in the head with a baseball bat and seeing his head implode in SLOW MOTION, the melee weapons all feel nice and kill zombies in great ways and that is before there modded. Firearms fall short and are not as great to use and don't give the same good feeling a machete will. The RPG elements are also done well with the skill trees all making sense and I always found my self wondering which skill to go for next. Now the modding is actually a lot better then I thought it would be with some pretty good weapons to make which pack a hell of a punch such as the sledgehammer with the Tesla mod which literally sends zombies flying. The Co-op side of things work rather well and you wouldn't really think you had left single-player, I only experienced a problem once and even that was minor.
    In conclusion this is definitely a game you should take a look at and with about 50 hours on the clock for me, it sure is worth the cash.
    Expand
  28. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    A First Person Openworld Zombie game with RPG elements seemed like the holy grail for me as soon as i heard about Dead Island. Sadly, for ME Dead Island just didn't deliver the hype. While the graphics looked good to say at least, in a game like this, storytelling and character development means much for me but i just couldn't care for the story or characters, cause this all felt flat.A First Person Openworld Zombie game with RPG elements seemed like the holy grail for me as soon as i heard about Dead Island. Sadly, for ME Dead Island just didn't deliver the hype. While the graphics looked good to say at least, in a game like this, storytelling and character development means much for me but i just couldn't care for the story or characters, cause this all felt flat. Then you have gameplay, which usually makes up other flaws. Again, this unfortunately didn't deliver it for me either. While the gameplay and combat was fun for 30 minutes, it just felt too clumsy and kind of sluggish to keep me entertained long enough. Don't let this review keep you away from the game though, cause just because it's a flawed game doesn't mean that nobody will enjoy it. If you love zombie and/or hack and slash games with RPG elements and if you're able to look past good story and character development, then Dead Island might be the game for you! Dead Island was for me personally a flawed game that misses a lot of potential and a game that isn't for everyone. Based on how i felt, i would give Dead Island a 6/10. Expand
  29. Aug 14, 2012
    8
    Dead Island is not a game for everyone. Some may be turned off by the constant texture pop in, spikes in difficulty, and ugly cut-scenes. However, if you ignore these and find yourself immersed into the enormous landscape and brutal combat, you might find a very fun game to be had. Killing zombies feels very satisfying, and the brutality of it all adds more flavor to it. Upgrading weaponsDead Island is not a game for everyone. Some may be turned off by the constant texture pop in, spikes in difficulty, and ugly cut-scenes. However, if you ignore these and find yourself immersed into the enormous landscape and brutal combat, you might find a very fun game to be had. Killing zombies feels very satisfying, and the brutality of it all adds more flavor to it. Upgrading weapons is also a nice touch because it gives players a chance to experiment and try new things. There's also a lot to discover on the island, and the skill tree adds more to the overall package. Expand
  30. Nov 24, 2012
    8
    This is a very fun game! The combat is a pulse-raiser, zombies look amazing, looting is nice, and the atmosphere is great! The only downsides are the story and the textures. The story is very predictable and silly and the textures are pretty bad for a 2011 game. However, the fun factor is great and the replayability is great until somewhere around 60 hours. This game is very fun to playThis is a very fun game! The combat is a pulse-raiser, zombies look amazing, looting is nice, and the atmosphere is great! The only downsides are the story and the textures. The story is very predictable and silly and the textures are pretty bad for a 2011 game. However, the fun factor is great and the replayability is great until somewhere around 60 hours. This game is very fun to play with friends. This is a recommendation for zombie and survival-horror lovers. Expand
  31. Sep 6, 2011
    0
    Played this since midnight on monday until now. BEST ZOMBIE GAME I've ever played! Take the freedom of Dead Rising and mix it with left 4 dead's uneasy feeling of "what comes next" and drape it with a Borderlands feel and you have Dead Island. It takes getting used to as it's def something all it's own but those on the fence of whether this is up your alley only need to check a couplePlayed this since midnight on monday until now. BEST ZOMBIE GAME I've ever played! Take the freedom of Dead Rising and mix it with left 4 dead's uneasy feeling of "what comes next" and drape it with a Borderlands feel and you have Dead Island. It takes getting used to as it's def something all it's own but those on the fence of whether this is up your alley only need to check a couple boxes. 1) Did you play and enjoy Fallout 3 or Borderlands? 2.) Do you enjoy co-op games? 3.) Do you like zombie games/films? If you said yes to all three questions go buy this right now I guarantee you will have a blast. Critics are being really harsh on this game but it truly is worth every cent of your purchase. My friends and I are loving every minute of it. Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    93
    Dead Island is a hell of a ride from start to (near) finish and is a zombie game that stands out from the rest of the pack.
  2. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2011
    55
    A wasted opportunity - frustrating to play and too ugly to love. [Dec 2011, p.98]
  3. Nov 23, 2011
    85
    I admit that I was not expecting much from Dead Island, given the oversaturated subject matter and the delayed development time. And while the game definitely has its share of weaknesses, it is pleasantly surprising in its own right.