Dead Island Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 636 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash. Take on a harrowing quest to find your lost wife. Enter into the dark world of a devastated tropical paradise now plunged into chaos. It's a place where the word "dead" has an entirely new meaning. FaceA couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash. Take on a harrowing quest to find your lost wife. Enter into the dark world of a devastated tropical paradise now plunged into chaos. It's a place where the word "dead" has an entirely new meaning. Face the nightmare and fight for survival. Explore the secrets hidden in the darkest regions of the island and fight your way through. Survival is your main goal! Dead Island is a non-linear FPP (First Person Perspective) survival horror title. The ultra-realistic combat system will ensure that every confrontation is a thrilling experience. Use anything you find in your surroundings as a weapon. Make decisions that influence the entire world around you. Take advantage of opponent behavior and game physics. Dead Island is a mix of intense action and chilling horror environments in an engaging, strikingly realistic story. [Techland] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dead Island - All Fight Together Co-Op Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    93
    Dead Island is a hell of a ride from start to (near) finish and is a zombie game that stands out from the rest of the pack.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    84
    Dead Island surprised us by being a tightly crafted experience, full of interesting locales and intriguing missions. It can lose its way at times, but you will find yourself coming back for one more go time and time again, as crippling zombies and saving bikini clad females never gets dull. Losing yourself on Banoi will feel like the vacation from hell, but you'll love it.
  3. 80
    The first few hours can be a little slow, but once Dead Island gets going, it's hard to put down. It's blend of genres ensures that it's not just another zombie game, and the excellent co-op support is the icing on the cake.
  4. Sep 9, 2011
    75
    Dead Island already divided reviewers into two camps. One thinks it's a mediocre, unfinished game, while others see it as a well-produced game - not perfect but deserving your attention because of the amount of work put into it and a few sparks of genius. We tend to prefer the latter camp - you won't feel cheated after buying a ticket to Banoi.
  5. Sep 5, 2011
    70
    As with Dead Rising before it, the complaints cannot come close to outweighing the sheer anarchic fun to be had, the instant gratification Dead Island offers, or the amount that Techland has managed to achieve here despite punching well above its weight.
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    65
    Dead Island's teaser trailer made it look as if the game was going to be one to actually bring the emotional conflict to the forefront, something they almost achieve in once instance out of many. Instead, the game's released as but another vehicle for insipid violence.
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    30
    The world doesn't have the charm to warrant forgiveness, and progress-halting bugs prevent it anyway. With regular AI freezes and vanishing items, a mistimed autosave can prove fatal. Ultimately it all invites the refashioning of another line from Romero. When there's no more room in development hell, the dead losses will walk the Earth.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 232
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    So...first off, I am definitely blown away. While I was excited about this game, I was a bit worried as to what the final product would beSo...first off, I am definitely blown away. While I was excited about this game, I was a bit worried as to what the final product would be like and I can honestly say it turned out quite amazing. From the beautiful visuals to the blood curdling screams of the zombies, the island feels alive. It really comes alive though when you're allowed to explore at you're leisure. Taking on side quests can be a bit overwhelming as there are many to take on at any given safe zone, but they all do a great job at wrapping you up in the world and the affairs of it.

    The game isn't without flaws, but fortunately, they are only minor. I experienced a respawn bug when playing a session with my buddy and a couple other texture loading bugs but these are things the developers have said would be fixed in a day one patch so those shouldn't be of concern. In the end, the game's a lot fun. The weapons really feel like you connect when you're beating down a zombie and the degradation of weapons makes each common oar or plank feel like a brand new weapon you're stockpiling to fight with. Playing with a buddy (or 3) is great and even though they're not a whole lot of tutorial pop ups to help you with everything, you learn pretty quickly how everything works and can easily get connected to the game. It's the largest scale zombie rpg I've seen yet and, to me, it definitely doesn't disappoint. I love the realistic touches and the added difficulty some of it presents and I for one will be having fun with this game for a long time
    Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Wow what a game.. I heard the guy and a wannabe GameStop clerk bash this game by saying you equip a stick and a canoe oar.. We'll afterWow what a game.. I heard the guy and a wannabe GameStop clerk bash this game by saying you equip a stick and a canoe oar.. We'll after playing the game they were right. You're 1st weapon is the only thing available at you're feet= a stick. Butt hat lasted 5 mins and that begins my review--
    To help the undecided decide---
    ---this game was SOO much fun in a borderlands Meets fallout kind of way.
    --the leveling is identical to borderlands. I love the impact the new perks have in combat and explore,
    --character diversity. You have you're tank,ranged, badass sword Chinese chick, and a black female no nonsense cop(firearms specialist..
    ---the game is hit or miss it seems. I played it 3.5 times. I didn't finish the cop chicks run through,,but 4 months and I was done with D. I.
    --chest/rare uber weapon chest farming is soooooooo addicting,,and the internet is loaded with guides and tips and tricks and routes to farm..
    --never ending respawn means you can grind exp and resources anywhere and anytime..
    --the game consist of 3 Main maps, and 2 other maps..
    -the 3 are
    The island tourist attraction suburbia, think Disneyland beach type beauty..starting map
    --second is the games bread & butter. The urban city of Moserby.. Buildings and homes galore. The people are holed up in a church and you do is ions for each person you come in contact with for either money,exp or a rare weapon..
    --the 3rd map is the str8 up jungle. Where the zombies are more advanced,numerous and the humans are tribal pirates like Vos pirates from farcry3...

    --weapon custom--every weapon you get gets upgraded permanently at a workbench.. You use materials you buy or scavenge.. And you can level the weapon 4 times(usually all at once) and then you use the hundred schematics you find in the game like a Zeus baseball bat,. A wooden bat with metal wires hooked up to a invisible power source.. The zombies get whacked and they shake and you can watch or easily decaputate em.. And there's perks for mega exp or money for everything. Like 100 decaputate ones,,then 500 on and on and on.. I think it's infinite like borderlands2...

    Look this is a pretty awesome game. It confuses me why a open world tropical paradise with awesome 1st person mechanics isn't rated higher.. The bugs are NOT game altering.. I never used any glitch to cheat besides classic luring zombies onto a mine or whatev....

    Riptide continues in the same exact mold. So that's a dream come true for fans of dead island and a complaint of some. Riptide uses same exact everything only slightly enhanced. Think of maddens improvements. That's how riptide is.. So that's another incentive IMO..
    --I'm hoping I can motivate 1 person to play this game.. They will repay the debt by convincing another to play and so on.....
    Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Wow i really cant believe what mixed reviews this game received by the critics. For one i personally have not encountered either A. a gameWow i really cant believe what mixed reviews this game received by the critics. For one i personally have not encountered either A. a game ruining glitch, B. The incredibly frustrating battles, or a boring storyline. Sure you spending your time just concentrating on the main story will yield you only a few hours of gameplay. But what true gamer actually only plays the game to beat the story? What gamer does not take the time to explore every nook and cranny of gameplay that the developers busted their butts for you to enjoy?. As soon as i got the game the first thing i noticed were the great graphics that push the current gen consoles to the limit. The second thing i noticed was the massive maps that you get to play in the game, split up into several acts may i add. This game feels like what Fallout 3's gameplay system should have been. A true mix of great elements, you got a little bit of FPS for the action junkies, A dash of RPG elements for the harder to please crowd, And did i mention ZOMBIES. The gameplay takes a little time to master but once you do, its a riot. Given you may not like the game as soon as you pick up the controller, but if you do give it a chance you will not regret it. Im so addicted to this game right now :D Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    "Dead Island" was something I really wasn't expecting. It's a little rough around the edges, but it pulls enough punches to be a really"Dead Island" was something I really wasn't expecting. It's a little rough around the edges, but it pulls enough punches to be a really freaking good game.

    PROS: Good story. Nice variety of weapons to use. LOVE the customization options for the weapons. The graphics are great to look at. Great exploration factor. Game rewards you for completing tough challenges.

    CONS: Game is a little light on character development for everyone but the main quartet. Some of the special zombies feel like they were ripped straight out of Left 4 Dead. Puzzles can be infuriating at times, especially in tight spaces. Banoi is a little too big, it could've used a downsizing.

    OVERALL: "Dead Island" is a fun, fast-paced zombie RPG that will have you on the edge of your seat. It may be rough in some spots, but the good sides are enough to make up for it.
    Expand
  5. Dec 27, 2016
    7
    Dead Island é um jogo divertido, tem um mundo aberto interesante, um enredo mediano e bem cliche até, e o jogo pega muitos elemento doDead Island é um jogo divertido, tem um mundo aberto interesante, um enredo mediano e bem cliche até, e o jogo pega muitos elemento do excelente Left for Dead, os personagens que são jogaveis nao chegam a ser profundos, mais sao personagens legais, e cada um tem a sua vantagem, o grafico é bom, mais eu sofri muitos bugs, a dificuldade é boa, tem momentos dificeis, o trabalho de voz é bom, a fisica é bem fraca, e a trilha sonora é legal, é um jogo legal. Nota 7.2 Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    6
    This is my revision of my review of Dead Island. I previously gave this game a 8/10. Which is not far off but later in the game i have comeThis is my revision of my review of Dead Island. I previously gave this game a 8/10. Which is not far off but later in the game i have come across more and more major glitches and this frustrates me (example: I had loaded my last checkpoint in the game and when I did this it had me start in a whole new area that I've never seen up till now). Im afraid even a patch released may only cover up some of the mess. The game is still fun if you have time to kill but yes it does get frustrating at times as many other people have pointed out. Killing zombies is always fun but more time spent on fine tuning this game and we could have been looking at a game of the year award. Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    0
    Really terrible. An awful idea that has been done to death executed poorly, this is the best thing I can say about this boring collaborationReally terrible. An awful idea that has been done to death executed poorly, this is the best thing I can say about this boring collaboration of design flaws. The trailer for this game also shows the problems with videogame marketing as it made the game look quite arty but no. Expand

See all 232 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.