Dead Island Xbox 360

Dead Island Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 626 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash. Take on a harrowing quest to find your lost wife. Enter into the dark world of a devastated tropical paradise now plunged into chaos. It's a place where the word "dead" has an entirely new meaning. FaceA couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash. Take on a harrowing quest to find your lost wife. Enter into the dark world of a devastated tropical paradise now plunged into chaos. It's a place where the word "dead" has an entirely new meaning. Face the nightmare and fight for survival. Explore the secrets hidden in the darkest regions of the island and fight your way through. Survival is your main goal! Dead Island is a non-linear FPP (First Person Perspective) survival horror title. The ultra-realistic combat system will ensure that every confrontation is a thrilling experience. Use anything you find in your surroundings as a weapon. Make decisions that influence the entire world around you. Take advantage of opponent behavior and game physics. Dead Island is a mix of intense action and chilling horror environments in an engaging, strikingly realistic story. [Techland] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    93
    Dead Island is a hell of a ride from start to (near) finish and is a zombie game that stands out from the rest of the pack.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    84
    Dead Island surprised us by being a tightly crafted experience, full of interesting locales and intriguing missions. It can lose its way at times, but you will find yourself coming back for one more go time and time again, as crippling zombies and saving bikini clad females never gets dull. Losing yourself on Banoi will feel like the vacation from hell, but you'll love it.
  3. 80
    The first few hours can be a little slow, but once Dead Island gets going, it's hard to put down. It's blend of genres ensures that it's not just another zombie game, and the excellent co-op support is the icing on the cake.
  4. Sep 9, 2011
    75
    Dead Island already divided reviewers into two camps. One thinks it's a mediocre, unfinished game, while others see it as a well-produced game - not perfect but deserving your attention because of the amount of work put into it and a few sparks of genius. We tend to prefer the latter camp - you won't feel cheated after buying a ticket to Banoi.
  5. Sep 5, 2011
    70
    As with Dead Rising before it, the complaints cannot come close to outweighing the sheer anarchic fun to be had, the instant gratification Dead Island offers, or the amount that Techland has managed to achieve here despite punching well above its weight.
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    65
    Dead Island's teaser trailer made it look as if the game was going to be one to actually bring the emotional conflict to the forefront, something they almost achieve in once instance out of many. Instead, the game's released as but another vehicle for insipid violence.
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    30
    The world doesn't have the charm to warrant forgiveness, and progress-halting bugs prevent it anyway. With regular AI freezes and vanishing items, a mistimed autosave can prove fatal. Ultimately it all invites the refashioning of another line from Romero. When there's no more room in development hell, the dead losses will walk the Earth.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 234
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    So...first off, I am definitely blown away. While I was excited about this game, I was a bit worried as to what the final product would beSo...first off, I am definitely blown away. While I was excited about this game, I was a bit worried as to what the final product would be like and I can honestly say it turned out quite amazing. From the beautiful visuals to the blood curdling screams of the zombies, the island feels alive. It really comes alive though when you're allowed to explore at you're leisure. Taking on side quests can be a bit overwhelming as there are many to take on at any given safe zone, but they all do a great job at wrapping you up in the world and the affairs of it.

    The game isn't without flaws, but fortunately, they are only minor. I experienced a respawn bug when playing a session with my buddy and a couple other texture loading bugs but these are things the developers have said would be fixed in a day one patch so those shouldn't be of concern. In the end, the game's a lot fun. The weapons really feel like you connect when you're beating down a zombie and the degradation of weapons makes each common oar or plank feel like a brand new weapon you're stockpiling to fight with. Playing with a buddy (or 3) is great and even though they're not a whole lot of tutorial pop ups to help you with everything, you learn pretty quickly how everything works and can easily get connected to the game. It's the largest scale zombie rpg I've seen yet and, to me, it definitely doesn't disappoint. I love the realistic touches and the added difficulty some of it presents and I for one will be having fun with this game for a long time
    Expand
  2. Aug 8, 2014
    10
    Wow what a game.. I heard the guy and a wannabe GameStop clerk bash this game by saying you equip a stick and a canoe oar.. We'll afterWow what a game.. I heard the guy and a wannabe GameStop clerk bash this game by saying you equip a stick and a canoe oar.. We'll after playing the game they were right. You're 1st weapon is the only thing available at you're feet= a stick. Butt hat lasted 5 mins and that begins my review--
    To help the undecided decide---
    ---this game was SOO much fun in a borderlands Meets fallout kind of way.
    --the leveling is identical to borderlands. I love the impact the new perks have in combat and explore,
    --character diversity. You have you're tank,ranged, badass sword Chinese chick, and a black female no nonsense cop(firearms specialist..
    ---the game is hit or miss it seems. I played it 3.5 times. I didn't finish the cop chicks run through,,but 4 months and I was done with D. I.
    --chest/rare uber weapon chest farming is soooooooo addicting,,and the internet is loaded with guides and tips and tricks and routes to farm..
    --never ending respawn means you can grind exp and resources anywhere and anytime..
    --the game consist of 3 Main maps, and 2 other maps..
    -the 3 are
    The island tourist attraction suburbia, think Disneyland beach type beauty..starting map
    --second is the games bread & butter. The urban city of Moserby.. Buildings and homes galore. The people are holed up in a church and you do is ions for each person you come in contact with for either money,exp or a rare weapon..
    --the 3rd map is the str8 up jungle. Where the zombies are more advanced,numerous and the humans are tribal pirates like Vos pirates from farcry3...

    --weapon custom--every weapon you get gets upgraded permanently at a workbench.. You use materials you buy or scavenge.. And you can level the weapon 4 times(usually all at once) and then you use the hundred schematics you find in the game like a Zeus baseball bat,. A wooden bat with metal wires hooked up to a invisible power source.. The zombies get whacked and they shake and you can watch or easily decaputate em.. And there's perks for mega exp or money for everything. Like 100 decaputate ones,,then 500 on and on and on.. I think it's infinite like borderlands2...

    Look this is a pretty awesome game. It confuses me why a open world tropical paradise with awesome 1st person mechanics isn't rated higher.. The bugs are NOT game altering.. I never used any glitch to cheat besides classic luring zombies onto a mine or whatev....

    Riptide continues in the same exact mold. So that's a dream come true for fans of dead island and a complaint of some. Riptide uses same exact everything only slightly enhanced. Think of maddens improvements. That's how riptide is.. So that's another incentive IMO..
    --I'm hoping I can motivate 1 person to play this game.. They will repay the debt by convincing another to play and so on.....
    Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    9
    Seriously do yourself a favour and buy this game! It is not perfect, but all of the technical or gameplay complaints, that seem to mar otherSeriously do yourself a favour and buy this game! It is not perfect, but all of the technical or gameplay complaints, that seem to mar other reviewers experience so much, just pale into significance against the sheer FUN to be had in game. If you enjoy open world and/or zombie games then I would definitely recommend this! Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    It could have been better, the characters seen dead in their facial expressions and are real weird when moving sometimes, and forget aboutIt could have been better, the characters seen dead in their facial expressions and are real weird when moving sometimes, and forget about that "Hell in Paradise" thing, the Resort is just the first scenario and the others are just too boring and don't live to the promise of fighting zombies in an Tropical Heaven, but it's a great and addicting game in the end, I even got 100+ in-game hours in it Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2015
    7
    Dead island is not a bad game in fact, I had a lot of fun with it. But I will admit this I felt like the game could have done better muchDead island is not a bad game in fact, I had a lot of fun with it. But I will admit this I felt like the game could have done better much better. The trailer for it was amazing, but the game itself could've been better. Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    Full disclosure: I picked up "Dead Island" as a "free" Games with Gold download. "Dead Island "starts out fairly well. The beach resort partFull disclosure: I picked up "Dead Island" as a "free" Games with Gold download. "Dead Island "starts out fairly well. The beach resort part of the island is open for exploration and zombie fighting. This is certainly my kind of game. Then the game meanders into a partially closed off slum. Well, I can at least explore the slums, I guess. Soon enough, we enter the slum's sewer system. Seriously, I have to spend my time in a sewer system of slum! Then we go to the jungle. It's mostly a closed off fixed path but at least it's no sewer. Now we end in a prison, with a brief jaunt in the prison's sewer. What started out as an open world game ended as a corridor shooter. Not cool.

    The game's weapon system is also somewhat of a lie. You can modify any weapon you like, assuming you have scrounged or traded for all of the necessary parts. I used about 15% of the possible modifications because that was all I had available. That means the developer wasted 85% of its efforts on weapon art assets and balancing. It also means the weapons were 85% boring. Here's a tip for first time players: pick the character who uses guns. A majority of the necessary fights are against NPCs with guns and the toughest zombies are easily taken out at a distance with guns and grenades.

    Also, the synopsis for this games says "A couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash." This does not describe the game at all. All the player characters are drunken party goers with awful fashion sense and even worse personalities. I skipped most of the cut scenes to avoid them, and I really should have skipped the final cut scene as well. Most of the cutscenes and some of the dialogue assume you have a party of 4 co-op players. The game will seemlessly match you with players working on the same mission. This cuts both, though, because sometimes a random person will finish your mission and take the mission reward. In the later levels where you are grinding through sewers and prisons, there are no other players to offer help. Based on my observation, I hypothesize that most players give up on "Dead Island" shortly after the excellent beach resort segment of the game.

    Let's recap the lessons to be learned. For the developers, do not turn your fun open world game into a boring corridor shooter; co-op is a nice addition to single player but not a feature of single player; and if you let characters specialize in blunt weapons, do not populate the world with pistol shooting militiamen. And for the players, never leave the beach resort.
    Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    0
    Really terrible. An awful idea that has been done to death executed poorly, this is the best thing I can say about this boring collaborationReally terrible. An awful idea that has been done to death executed poorly, this is the best thing I can say about this boring collaboration of design flaws. The trailer for this game also shows the problems with videogame marketing as it made the game look quite arty but no. Expand

See all 234 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.