Dead Island Xbox 360

Dead Island Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 622 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash. Take on a harrowing quest to find your lost wife. Enter into the dark world of a devastated tropical paradise now plunged into chaos. It's a place where the word "dead" has an entirely new meaning. FaceA couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash. Take on a harrowing quest to find your lost wife. Enter into the dark world of a devastated tropical paradise now plunged into chaos. It's a place where the word "dead" has an entirely new meaning. Face the nightmare and fight for survival. Explore the secrets hidden in the darkest regions of the island and fight your way through. Survival is your main goal! Dead Island is a non-linear FPP (First Person Perspective) survival horror title. The ultra-realistic combat system will ensure that every confrontation is a thrilling experience. Use anything you find in your surroundings as a weapon. Make decisions that influence the entire world around you. Take advantage of opponent behavior and game physics. Dead Island is a mix of intense action and chilling horror environments in an engaging, strikingly realistic story. [Techland] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 75
  2. Negative: 1 out of 75
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    93
    Dead Island is a hell of a ride from start to (near) finish and is a zombie game that stands out from the rest of the pack.
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    84
    Dead Island surprised us by being a tightly crafted experience, full of interesting locales and intriguing missions. It can lose its way at times, but you will find yourself coming back for one more go time and time again, as crippling zombies and saving bikini clad females never gets dull. Losing yourself on Banoi will feel like the vacation from hell, but you'll love it.
  3. 80
    The first few hours can be a little slow, but once Dead Island gets going, it's hard to put down. It's blend of genres ensures that it's not just another zombie game, and the excellent co-op support is the icing on the cake.
  4. Sep 9, 2011
    75
    Dead Island already divided reviewers into two camps. One thinks it's a mediocre, unfinished game, while others see it as a well-produced game - not perfect but deserving your attention because of the amount of work put into it and a few sparks of genius. We tend to prefer the latter camp - you won't feel cheated after buying a ticket to Banoi.
  5. Sep 5, 2011
    70
    As with Dead Rising before it, the complaints cannot come close to outweighing the sheer anarchic fun to be had, the instant gratification Dead Island offers, or the amount that Techland has managed to achieve here despite punching well above its weight.
  6. Sep 9, 2011
    65
    Dead Island's teaser trailer made it look as if the game was going to be one to actually bring the emotional conflict to the forefront, something they almost achieve in once instance out of many. Instead, the game's released as but another vehicle for insipid violence.
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    30
    The world doesn't have the charm to warrant forgiveness, and progress-halting bugs prevent it anyway. With regular AI freezes and vanishing items, a mistimed autosave can prove fatal. Ultimately it all invites the refashioning of another line from Romero. When there's no more room in development hell, the dead losses will walk the Earth.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 234
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    So...first off, I am definitely blown away. While I was excited about this game, I was a bit worried as to what the final product would beSo...first off, I am definitely blown away. While I was excited about this game, I was a bit worried as to what the final product would be like and I can honestly say it turned out quite amazing. From the beautiful visuals to the blood curdling screams of the zombies, the island feels alive. It really comes alive though when you're allowed to explore at you're leisure. Taking on side quests can be a bit overwhelming as there are many to take on at any given safe zone, but they all do a great job at wrapping you up in the world and the affairs of it.

    The game isn't without flaws, but fortunately, they are only minor. I experienced a respawn bug when playing a session with my buddy and a couple other texture loading bugs but these are things the developers have said would be fixed in a day one patch so those shouldn't be of concern. In the end, the game's a lot fun. The weapons really feel like you connect when you're beating down a zombie and the degradation of weapons makes each common oar or plank feel like a brand new weapon you're stockpiling to fight with. Playing with a buddy (or 3) is great and even though they're not a whole lot of tutorial pop ups to help you with everything, you learn pretty quickly how everything works and can easily get connected to the game. It's the largest scale zombie rpg I've seen yet and, to me, it definitely doesn't disappoint. I love the realistic touches and the added difficulty some of it presents and I for one will be having fun with this game for a long time
    Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2016
    10
    Awesome game! RPG zumbi!!! I see people complaining that weapons break fast and it's hard , but what makes it so fun. Dead Island offers 4Awesome game! RPG zumbi!!! I see people complaining that weapons break fast and it's hard , but what makes it so fun. Dead Island offers 4 characters with unique skills , giving the player the opportunity to build your character according to your playing style. It is a strategy game you can not go around killing zombies without equip weapons and seek equipment , the problem is that it has some lazy who think this game is LF4 is that the game will give you weapons and ammunition without any effort , I spent hours to climb from level to get XP to build my character this game is wonderful for those who like RPG !!, very last thing this game was made for people who enjoy slow and difficult rhythm game, if you like frantic games type dying light pass away . Expand
  3. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Wow i really cant believe what mixed reviews this game received by the critics. For one i personally have not encountered either A. a gameWow i really cant believe what mixed reviews this game received by the critics. For one i personally have not encountered either A. a game ruining glitch, B. The incredibly frustrating battles, or a boring storyline. Sure you spending your time just concentrating on the main story will yield you only a few hours of gameplay. But what true gamer actually only plays the game to beat the story? What gamer does not take the time to explore every nook and cranny of gameplay that the developers busted their butts for you to enjoy?. As soon as i got the game the first thing i noticed were the great graphics that push the current gen consoles to the limit. The second thing i noticed was the massive maps that you get to play in the game, split up into several acts may i add. This game feels like what Fallout 3's gameplay system should have been. A true mix of great elements, you got a little bit of FPS for the action junkies, A dash of RPG elements for the harder to please crowd, And did i mention ZOMBIES. The gameplay takes a little time to master but once you do, its a riot. Given you may not like the game as soon as you pick up the controller, but if you do give it a chance you will not regret it. Im so addicted to this game right now :D Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    8
    "Dead Island" was something I really wasn't expecting. It's a little rough around the edges, but it pulls enough punches to be a really"Dead Island" was something I really wasn't expecting. It's a little rough around the edges, but it pulls enough punches to be a really freaking good game.

    PROS: Good story. Nice variety of weapons to use. LOVE the customization options for the weapons. The graphics are great to look at. Great exploration factor. Game rewards you for completing tough challenges.

    CONS: Game is a little light on character development for everyone but the main quartet. Some of the special zombies feel like they were ripped straight out of Left 4 Dead. Puzzles can be infuriating at times, especially in tight spaces. Banoi is a little too big, it could've used a downsizing.

    OVERALL: "Dead Island" is a fun, fast-paced zombie RPG that will have you on the edge of your seat. It may be rough in some spots, but the good sides are enough to make up for it.
    Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2014
    7
    For people wondering why this game got a low score from so many users:

    1. The game had a HUGE bug in it when first released. If you don't
    For people wondering why this game got a low score from so many users:

    1. The game had a HUGE bug in it when first released. If you don't get the update your save game goes away and you have to start over. Not early in the game though. Really, really late. Imagine how many hours you put in and then your save is just gone. This happened to me and it was infuriating. But I've since upgraded my rating to reflect the fixes.

    2. The game can be extremely frustrating at times. There are points where you play and it's just completely unfair (it seems). You get surrounded and you're attacked with no way to defend yourself.

    3. Your weapons break down rather fast. It's pretty unusual that a sword breaks down. Some people may not like this feature.

    All in all though this is a good first person Zombie killing game if you ignore some of the flaws.
    Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    Full disclosure: I picked up "Dead Island" as a "free" Games with Gold download. "Dead Island "starts out fairly well. The beach resort partFull disclosure: I picked up "Dead Island" as a "free" Games with Gold download. "Dead Island "starts out fairly well. The beach resort part of the island is open for exploration and zombie fighting. This is certainly my kind of game. Then the game meanders into a partially closed off slum. Well, I can at least explore the slums, I guess. Soon enough, we enter the slum's sewer system. Seriously, I have to spend my time in a sewer system of slum! Then we go to the jungle. It's mostly a closed off fixed path but at least it's no sewer. Now we end in a prison, with a brief jaunt in the prison's sewer. What started out as an open world game ended as a corridor shooter. Not cool.

    The game's weapon system is also somewhat of a lie. You can modify any weapon you like, assuming you have scrounged or traded for all of the necessary parts. I used about 15% of the possible modifications because that was all I had available. That means the developer wasted 85% of its efforts on weapon art assets and balancing. It also means the weapons were 85% boring. Here's a tip for first time players: pick the character who uses guns. A majority of the necessary fights are against NPCs with guns and the toughest zombies are easily taken out at a distance with guns and grenades.

    Also, the synopsis for this games says "A couple flying to the vacation of their dreams is torn apart by a violent plane crash." This does not describe the game at all. All the player characters are drunken party goers with awful fashion sense and even worse personalities. I skipped most of the cut scenes to avoid them, and I really should have skipped the final cut scene as well. Most of the cutscenes and some of the dialogue assume you have a party of 4 co-op players. The game will seemlessly match you with players working on the same mission. This cuts both, though, because sometimes a random person will finish your mission and take the mission reward. In the later levels where you are grinding through sewers and prisons, there are no other players to offer help. Based on my observation, I hypothesize that most players give up on "Dead Island" shortly after the excellent beach resort segment of the game.

    Let's recap the lessons to be learned. For the developers, do not turn your fun open world game into a boring corridor shooter; co-op is a nice addition to single player but not a feature of single player; and if you let characters specialize in blunt weapons, do not populate the world with pistol shooting militiamen. And for the players, never leave the beach resort.
    Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    0
    Really terrible. An awful idea that has been done to death executed poorly, this is the best thing I can say about this boring collaborationReally terrible. An awful idea that has been done to death executed poorly, this is the best thing I can say about this boring collaboration of design flaws. The trailer for this game also shows the problems with videogame marketing as it made the game look quite arty but no. Expand

See all 234 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.