Dead or Alive 4 Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Dec 29, 2005
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 211

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Goss
    Jan 16, 2006
    3
    Bouncing Breasts lots of bouncing breasts, surly by puting bouncing breasts into a game that is a poomans fighting game it will sell and guess what it does sell only because its the only decent fighting game on the 360, personally if you put dead or alive fighting mechanics up against the likes of Tekken street fighter or Soul Caliber then this game falls flat on its back in the first Bouncing Breasts lots of bouncing breasts, surly by puting bouncing breasts into a game that is a poomans fighting game it will sell and guess what it does sell only because its the only decent fighting game on the 360, personally if you put dead or alive fighting mechanics up against the likes of Tekken street fighter or Soul Caliber then this game falls flat on its back in the first round and it stays down. so if you like bouncing breasts your gonna love this game but if you like fighting games then this is a stinker, again the only reason this game is getting the scores that its getting is only because its the only fighting game out there. Expand
  2. JohnnyA.
    Mar 30, 2006
    2
    Yah the graphics are nice for the game but this game sucks. There is no depth in this game. I cant believe this game is being rated over 5. Keep away from this one and rent it first.
  3. ShaneS.
    Sep 12, 2006
    0
    DOA4's fighting system is wonderfully complex, and deep. There are over a hundred moves per character. The problem is that the controls are so touchy that it's nearly impossible to perform the same move twice. The result is nothing but button mashing. The game has no special moves of any spectacular effect. No fireballs ala Streetfighter II or anything like that. One of the most DOA4's fighting system is wonderfully complex, and deep. There are over a hundred moves per character. The problem is that the controls are so touchy that it's nearly impossible to perform the same move twice. The result is nothing but button mashing. The game has no special moves of any spectacular effect. No fireballs ala Streetfighter II or anything like that. One of the most annoying things about the game is that there's no jump button. To jump you have to hit punch and diagonall up/back at the same time. The controls are so touchy though that you'll perform a quick jab instead of jump backwards. Ever try to perform a fatality in MKII or MKIII? Imagine trying to do that button input, and distanceing mid combat. Good luck. Expand
  4. Adultgamer
    Dec 15, 2005
    0
    Crap.
    Im just glad ive now sold my 360 to some complete idiot who was willing to pay £800 for this eggbox.
    and i cant belive that £49.99 is the asking price for these games. get real people compair these games to there PC versions and you will notice 2 things. 1. the PC version looks better and is smoother 2. considering that the games are better looking on the PC they
    Crap.
    Im just glad ive now sold my 360 to some complete idiot who was willing to pay £800 for this eggbox.
    and i cant belive that £49.99 is the asking price for these games.
    get real people compair these games to there PC versions and you will notice 2 things.
    1. the PC version looks better and is smoother
    2. considering that the games are better looking on the PC they are also more than £20 cheaper.
    so it has nothing to do with developing the games its all to do with microsoft selling you a cheap consol and charging you an extra £20 for there games just so they can get there money back. I was realy taken for a complete idiot when i got my 360. im just glad i got rid of it before it cost me anymore money.
    Expand
  5. IanW.
    Jan 28, 2006
    4
    It's not terrible, but it's not a 9 either. I've played it lots over the last nine days, and I want to like it, it's fast it and looks good. But, going back to playing DOA3, and I'm thinking, ok, it's not quite as pretty. So it's not really doa 4 is it, it's more a DOA 3.2 It's prettier, but doesn't really add much to the earliar games. If It's not terrible, but it's not a 9 either. I've played it lots over the last nine days, and I want to like it, it's fast it and looks good. But, going back to playing DOA3, and I'm thinking, ok, it's not quite as pretty. So it's not really doa 4 is it, it's more a DOA 3.2 It's prettier, but doesn't really add much to the earliar games. If you loved them, you'll love this, but if you're waiting for a great fighter game on the 360, then I'd suggest you wait. Expand
  6. Shane
    Feb 7, 2006
    3
    this game is good atm, but when VF5 comes out it will suck. and if l thats the most power of xbox 360 games can do ime going for the PS3.. they have not even masted the hair of the toons and its a bit of a boutton bash. can u realy stay with the xbox 360 for 5 years with them graphics, ime waiting for nintendo rev and ps3:)
  7. JamesL.
    Mar 16, 2006
    3
    I realy liked DOA 3 but this I REALY hated. I dont care what anyone else says I hated this game. One major problem is the fights are over to quick.
  8. FaTaliTy
    May 5, 2006
    1
    Miong you got this one wrong buddy but this game is terrible. Fights are over to quick, the gameplay is below average and the characters are terrible. I think if you want a crappy fighting game then buy this but if you want your moneys worth save it. Just pure crap.
  9. JaceN.
    Jul 11, 2006
    4
    Once again Tecmo proves that they dont know what the "Easy" difficulty setting is. As a result DOA4 plays worse than their much ciriticised Ninja Gaiden games for its relentless cheap million-attack-a-second gameplay that leaves base human reflexes unable to get a word in edgeways! Theres just no time for moves...no time for throws...no time for counters...theres barely enough time for Once again Tecmo proves that they dont know what the "Easy" difficulty setting is. As a result DOA4 plays worse than their much ciriticised Ninja Gaiden games for its relentless cheap million-attack-a-second gameplay that leaves base human reflexes unable to get a word in edgeways! Theres just no time for moves...no time for throws...no time for counters...theres barely enough time for button mashing...easily one of the best ways to get through the game as it leaves the CPU no opportunity to interrupt with an endless combo! So if you enjoy being so frustrated you could howl...putting down your controller in despair mid-match...and cursing the name of Tecmo and the blue haired japanese gaming gods they exclusively cater for...DOA4 is for you! Expand
  10. BobX
    Dec 14, 2005
    0
    Basing my review of the glitchbox 360 title: dead or alive 4 off of the same technique gamepro did for their 100. I'm not playing the game and making it up(the game isn't finished and has been delayed 3 times now since gamepro put together their review). Looks like microsoft does't mind buying their reviews...
  11. Deuce
    Nov 19, 2006
    4
    this game looks really good doesnt it....news flash team ninja..graphics dont make a good game...n i thought games were entertainment(as in they provide fun)...there is no fun in this game except for multiplayer...team ninja slaps half naked girls, good graphics and good cg together n call it dead or alive 4...this game is harder than ninja gaiden black...it doesnt work on skill but on howthis game looks really good doesnt it....news flash team ninja..graphics dont make a good game...n i thought games were entertainment(as in they provide fun)...there is no fun in this game except for multiplayer...team ninja slaps half naked girls, good graphics and good cg together n call it dead or alive 4...this game is harder than ninja gaiden black...it doesnt work on skill but on how well u can counter..the computer is abusively agressive n the seem to know wut move ur gonna do even the perfectly timed grabs...the moment you choose to block you can expect to be grabbed(its rediculous)its an unfair fight..its not challenging its fustrating...im sure the guy whose in charge of team ninja cant play this game either, but hey sex sells so ur gonna see the girls...and ur gonna buy this game and ur blood pressure is gonna rise that itagaki is so full of himself..why dont you make a game thats fun to play and not fun to watch!!!!...i gave this game a 4 because i wouldnt take it for free if i new what was waiting for me. Expand
  12. WayneTheGamer
    Feb 11, 2006
    0
    Possibly the most poorly thought through DOA in the series. They basically mash as many characters as possible into one story line, which they give you absolutely no background to, so it makes no sense. Then the remaining characters don't really have a story, they're just they're because the new Teken 5 would have way more characters if they weren't in the game. ThePossibly the most poorly thought through DOA in the series. They basically mash as many characters as possible into one story line, which they give you absolutely no background to, so it makes no sense. Then the remaining characters don't really have a story, they're just they're because the new Teken 5 would have way more characters if they weren't in the game. The game play is very poor. It's nothing more than a button basher and nothing else. Anyone claiming you need skill to play it is delusional! The computer can hit you when, where and for however long it wants to, regardless of weather or not you block, try to reverse or, god fore bid, actually attack! If you throw a quick two punch combo, the first will land, but before you can even land the second one, the computer will block, reverse the on coming attack, punch quicker, or just simply teleport behind you and just destroy you. The computers strikes always takes more energy than you can, and can generally keep combos going for an unrealistic time length. It gets to the point where you can't even fall over you're being hit so much. Winning each round is simply a question of weather or not the computer lets you or, you just get lucky and win by accident. Fighting the boss will involve many, many continues. It is obvious that Microsoft just wanted a new DOA for the 360, no matter how rushed and awful it was. To be honest the whole 360 experience is a bit of a let down. It has the potential to be good, but Microsft ignored us Europeans again. I live in Ireland, the second biggest consumer of games and electronics in the world, per capita, second only to Japan. And what do we get with our Platinum 360's? A smaller remote that only works the DVD player and a very sever price tag! Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 76 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 76
  2. Negative: 0 out of 76
  1. 100
    If looks could kill, DOA4 would be called Murderer's Row. This game is beautiful; even while you're beating the tar out of your opponent, you'll notice that your surroundings are among the finest you've seen in any fighting game... Hands down the best installment in the series. [Jan 2006, p.38]
  2. 90
    The counter system is less forgiving and will definitely challenge fans of the series, especially those fond of DOA3. This affects every other area of the game. The harder characters to master are even more powerful now, and there is more of a ground game, in addition to careful use of the backgrounds.
  3. 90
    It's still "just" a fighting game, albeit an incredibly polished and finessed fighting game, but it won't open your eyes to things you've never seen before. It will bring the fighting game community together, however, thanks to its online functionality, and that's a good thing.